FB Twitter

The Nest

The Nest

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 125 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


This large 1-bedroom apartment has been created on the ground floor of the old factory part of the Mill. The kitchen retains a huge iron drive shaft! Views to the front and back, The Nest also has a sheltered terrace with barbecue, tables and chairs, directly overlooking the 'tail race' (the downstream side of the millstream). A step from the terrace leads to a further terrace which provides a perfect spot for fishing. Inside, a recital-quality grand piano is available for visitors to use.

A perfect space for two!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two of us stayed at The Nest while our larger family group were in another property, so we didn't spend much time in it, but the property is perfect for two. Comfy sofas, well-equipped kitchen and a generous space in all respects - nothing poky here! The courtyard garden at the back is perfect for a sunny morning coffee, and the piano - the main reason we came to Mendham Mill - was wonderful. The house was very generously supplied with more than the basics and Nick and James were the perfect hosts. We can't wait to come back!

Karen from Beverley stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in July 2022


Mendham again .

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having visited Mendham yet again for a long weekend in early May with some of our family we needed a rest so booked a stay in “The Nest “ for a week in June,our sixth visit! James & Nick (and Lewis) obviously have the right formula of great accommodation pleasant helpfulness & lovely location.Back again in September.

Terence from Essex stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in June 2022


Paradise in Harleston Norfolk

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit here the weather has been fantastic Beautiful location very Peaceful- tranquil surroundings- accommodation & facilities 1st class. Nick & James very welcoming, friendly, helpful, excellent hosts. No wonder people keep returning back here.

Colin from Brentwood stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in June 2022


Superb all round. A fabulous place to stay: idyllic location; thoughtful hosts; perfect all round.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most perfect weekend: idyllic romantic setting with superb facilities. Most comfortable bed ever. Nick and James are kind thoughtful hosts. Even a fully equipped gym and a wonderful games room. Lots of information about local amenities and places to see. Wish I could stay longer.

Fiona from Durham stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in May 2022


The Nest

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed staying at The Nest for the weekend. The cottage had everything we needed and was comfortable.We love the location as it is very peaceful and enjoyed taking the canoes out and the games room. Thanks to James and Nick for being great hosts. This is the sixth time we have stayed at Mendham Mill although usually in the other cottages as family have always come. Can’t wait to return.

Matthew from Lingfield stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in April 2022


A very comfortable Nest

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose the Nest because of the piano and were delighted with the place itself. Well supplied with everything we needed and in a good location for exploring Suffolk and Norfolk. We would certainly go again.

Guest from Haltwhistle stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in April 2022


Our stay at The Nest, Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed six previous holidays at Mendham Mill - the first stay at The Lodge and then five at The Nest.
Always very comfortable here and with welcoming hosts. Plenty of local places to visit and the coastal resorts within 20 miles,


Christopher from Ely stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in October 2021


First stay at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A excellent facility with very welcoming hosts, James and Nick. The apartment was very well presented and equipped. We took our own coffee machine but otherwise it have everything we needed. Managed to complete a jigsaw which keep us occupied. One suggestion would be to have a framed map of the area. We belong to another holiday group and each of their apartment and villas, whether in the UK or abroad have this which I find very helpful if your not familiar with the area. However several OS maps of the area were in the apartment. Shall definitely consider this as a holiday location in the future.

Robert from Meopham stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in October 2021


Perfect stay at the Nest

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect stay at the Nest .
The mill the gardens and the views are outstanding!
The accommodation very comfortable ,clean and well equipped
James and Nick very welcoming
Will definitely return


Karen O’dwyer from Maidstone stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2021


A special place

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill is a very special place. The nest is cosy, well equipped and nicely furnished. We particularly enjoyed the terrace overlooking the mill stream. Nick and James are great hosts. The weather was against us but we highly recommend the Mill and would love to come back in the Summer.

Jean from Carnforth stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2021


Amazing!

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and great hosts. This was our second stay at The Nest. We have already rebooked for next year.

Guest from Dagenham stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2021


Suffolk’s hidden jewel

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very hard to put in words beautiful location fantastic outlook very peaceful feel totally relaxed plus the added bonus of the fishing !
James & Nick very welcoming absolutely lovely hosts explaining everything & nothing seemed to be to much trouble. Even advised of the different places to fish ( James took a photo of one of the many fish I caught & put it on instagram account )
Although this was our first visit this won’t be the last as we will be returning next year. Nick even knocked one morning to ask if I would like to buy some fish as a fishmonger was due as he calls every Tuesday so very thoughtful of him.
Massive thank you to James & Nick on how hard they must work to maintain the grounds.
See you next year
Colin & Marilyn


Colin from Brentwood stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in September 2021


Anniversary Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed a lovely relaxing weekend at Mendham Mill, a beautifully renovated building, very comfortable and clean, would highly recommend, and a warm welcome from the hosts James and Nick, thank you.

Barry from Kings Lynn stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in September 2021


Laid back and totally relaxed.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Greeted upon our arrival by Nick and James the owners. The accommodation was excellent fully equipped with good quality stuff. Good base for coastal visits. The 8 acre surroundings are well manicured with each property having its own private space. An excellent games room extremely useful if you are unfortunate with the weather. Rest assured you will not be disappointed.



Joseph from St Albans stayed at The Nest for 14 nights in August 2021


The Nest

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was as we wanted. James and Nick were very friendly and helpful. The location was brilliant. We had a very enjoyable stay

Jonathan from Eastleigh stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2021


Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really warm and helpful welcome from friendly owners. Beautiful gardens and lots of lovely walks and cycle rides from Mendham mill.
.


Kenneth from Holmfirth stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in July 2021


The Nest Revisited

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just as wonderful as our first visit 6 years ago. Idyllic setting that would be difficult to find anywhere else.

Toni from Maidstone stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in June 2021


A cliché, but the pictures really don’t do it justice!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s true, whilst the pictures are good and helped us choose this place, they really don’t do it justice. The Nest is a truly great place to stay and we loved our fortnight there. Idyllic setting, tranquility, abundant wildlife, no traffic noise! We spent many days just pottering around by the Mill, resting and refreshing. The terrace is spacious and a lovely spot looking over the mill stream to the river and fields beyond. We happily sat and watched the birds and damsel flies and occasionally read our books! The duck and swan families provided plenty of entertainment.
One of us needed to work on one day, by Zoom, and the WiFi was up to the task, which was a relief!
Our hosts, Nick and James, were friendly, welcoming, and always helpful, but never intrusive.
We highly recommend a gentle paddle along the river by canoe. We went out a couple of times, (the weather precluded more) and loved gliding almost silently along enjoying the lovely countryside from a different angle.
Wild swimming in the river was fun, and a great way to cool off at the end of the hottest day of our holiday.
We’d happily return to Mendham Mill if holidaying in the area again and highly recommend it.


Angie from Oxford stayed at The Nest for 14 nights in June 2021


Superb staycation

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Splendid accommodation and facilities in a beautiful and tranquil setting.
Fabulous hosts in James and Nick who compliment the brilliance of Mendam Mills. We would thoroughly recommend a stay there.


Cliff from Coulsdon stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in June 2021


Superb

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful and tranquil setting, comfortable and well appointed, good local walks and food shops and lovely canoeing on one's doorstep. Add to that a warm welcome from James and Nick and the good fortune of glorious sunny weather – and our stay was as close to perfect as it's possible to be.

Sally from Haddenham stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in May 2021


A cosy and well equipped nest!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The setting is idyyllic and our hosts were charming and extremely helpful. The Nest was cosy and well equipped and we spent a very happy week there. Sadly the weather was not good enough for us to spend long sitting on the patio or in the gardens enjoying our glorious sorroundings

Mary from Southwell stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in May 2021


The Nest

Review submitted on Sat, 15 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a much needed midweek break at Mendham Mill. The one bedroom apartment was delightful, very comfortable, clean and had everything you could want for a relaxing stay. The weather was very kind to us so was able to use the outside terrace for breakfast and a barbecue. Sitting outside overlooking the river was very special. Can't wait to stay again.

Susan from Stevenage stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in May 2021


Very relaxing short break in lovely surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 07 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last minute break, & despite Covid restrictions & pretty wet weather, had a lovely relaxing time. Mendham Mill is perfect in many ways. Great location, stunning grounds, very clean & comfortable cottages, with perfect hosts in James & Nick. We have stayed here before, back in 2014, & promise to come back again, sooner next time.

Chris from Wakefield stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in May 2021


One very beautiful place!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Nest because of a personal recommendation - and because of the piano :-) We had just a short break here, but it was a rich few days of rest and recuperation in the most beautiful location. River views front and back of the house, grounds to walk in and unwind, and a very comfortable living space which proved to be more spacious than the photos suggested. The Nest at Mendham Mill is the perfect place to slow down and enjoy a whole other pace, and the hosts could not be more helpful or personable. With a friendly local pub just five minutes walk away, and a town just 2 miles up the road, everything you could need is pretty close to hand - but you may find you just want to stay put and soak up all the beauty that is literally on the doorstep.

Helen from Rustington stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in April 2021


Another great week

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another excellent visit to Mendham Mill. Lovely place to unwind with super grounds and wonderful hosts. Our thanks yet again to James, Nick & Lewis for making our stay so enjoyable. We look forward to returning in 2022.

Peter from Milton Keynes stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in April 2021


Our stay in the Nest

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time staying here and we thoroughly enjoyed it. James and Nick welcomed us on arrival and were always on hand if needed. The grounds are stunning, and the Nest is very comfortable and equipped with everything you require.
While my husband fished from the deck at the rear I was lucky enough to see a Kingfisher a few times along with other species of birds.
Perfectly positioned for a walk down to the village pub that serves excellent value for money meals.
This will not be our last stay here.

We would highly recommend a stay here at Mendham Mill.


Malcolm from Doncaster stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in October 2020


Peace and serenity in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a change of scenery and Mendham Mill was perfect. A comfortable and quiet place to relax.

Ian from New Milton stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in October 2020


Good break

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Almost spur of the moment booking,
Made very welcome and
Nick and James are approachable and happy to help with ones needs.
Quiet setting and dark skies.
Good supply of hot water and heating
Comfortable and clean, shame neither of us could play the piano


Trevor from Peterborough stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in October 2020


The Nest never fails to impress

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at the Nest and it never fails to impress. The cottage is always spotlessly clean, with lovely luxury touches and in the most beautiful, peaceful setting. We love playing the beautiful grand piano and relaxing in the cosy living room. James and Nick are wonderful hosts and it is always lovely to chat with them. Their new games room is an added bonus! Thank you for another great stay -- we can't wait to visit again soon.

Emma from London stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in October 2020


A lovely location for a break, lots to see and do

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a super find and most tranquil location to explore the delights of Suffolk.

Mendham Mill and its hosts Nick and James are well worth a visit - this is a truly "safe haven" in these strange times of Covid 19.

We relaxed in the lovely grounds and had had a super walk to the little town of Harleston & to the National Trust "Sutton Hoo" with its ancient history and wide open spaces.

In short, a most welcome retreat of peace and calm, we can highly recommend!


Guest from Grantham stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2020


A tranquil haven of calm

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful location and an oasis of calm where we feel relaxed and safe in these strange times.

We cancelled all our holidays this year but had no hesitation to make this our only beautiful UK getaway before the end of 2020.

A beautiful location and a breath of Spring in Autumn. Nick and James are the perfect hosts too.


Guest from Grantham stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in October 2020


Our Second Visit

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd stay at The Nest and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Spotlessly clean and cosy. Fishing from the decking was great and lovely to see the Kingfishers as well this time. Nick and James are the perfect hosts, friendly and helpful. In a year of restrictions it was lovely to know that everything had been done to make you feel safe there. Once again thank you and I'm sure we will be back.

Graham from Chapeltown, Sheffield stayed at The Nest for 11 nights in September 2020


Very peaceful week!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay. The Nest was very well equipped and the welcome very warm.

It was lovely to relax on the terrace and in the grounds. It was one of the most peaceful holidays. Although there are other properties on the site, it feels private and secluded.

It was good to have a piano in the property, which was a key plus for us.


Guest from Croydon stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2020


Perfect place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve been to Mendham Mill several times, this was the first time in the Nest. It’s ideal for two people, spacious but cosy. Beautiful private outdoor patio area overlooking the river. Very well appointed and plenty of nice touches. James and Nick are very welcoming. Lots of things to see nearby. Definitely recommended!!

Lynne from St Leonard’s On Sea stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in September 2020


Lovely relaxing place

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely welcome. Very restful surroundings. Good walks. Fascinating wildlife and kayaking great fun. Been several times and always good

David from Ipswich stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in September 2020


Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Nest. The cottage was spotless and very well equipped. We were given a warm welcome by James and Nick and had a very relaxing few days.

Mary from North Thoresby stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in August 2020


Super relaxing stay in The Nest

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill is a lovely place to stay. We have stayed before in The Lodge but this was our first stay in The Nest and we loved it. Cosy, clean and comfortable with all mod cons and a super comfy bed. Nick and James are wonderful hosts always on hand to make sure everything you need is catered for without being instrusive. A super relaxing break - our first this year due to covid 19 and just what we needed to recharge our batteries. The Mill is in a peaceful location where we were happy to chill out sitting on the patio with a drink and a book overlooking the mill pond. We have already booked to return to Mendham later this year.

Irene from Maidstone stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in July 2020


Another great stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like East Anglia then Mendham Mill is the ideal place to stay. Situated in wonderful and extensive grounds around the river Waveney. Picturesque. The Nest is perfect for any couple. The patio at the rear directly overlooks the river and is a real sun trap in the morning.

James and Nick are the perfect hosts for this idyllic venue.


Ian from Southwell stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2020


Recharge your body & soul at this wonderful Suffolk holiday destination

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time at the mill. A wonderful stay and the owners could not have been more helpful. Can't wait to return.

Sandra from Woodbridge stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2020


A lovely riverside location.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill is a delightful location, very peaceful with lovely views from our terrace across the grounds. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and were on hand if we needed them.
The grounds around the Mill are spacious and there is plenty of communal space as well as our own private space. Altogether a most enjoyable holiday. The local amenities close by were all convenient with friendly staff.


Anthony from Redditch stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in July 2020


A Christmas in Suffolk.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our hosts kindly upgraded our visit to the Lodge. The property was excellent, would recommend to all. Our hosts couldn't have been kinder. Not far from good hostelries. Excellent for bird watching and good walks.

Peter from Norwich stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in December 2019


A perfect place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an ideal short break we left today with great reluctance. Well furnished delightful property with everything provided. Idyllic situation, comfortable beds, stylish furniture and immaculately clean. Wonderful views and extremely helpful and proactive owners.

Catherine from Wallingford stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in October 2019


"Perfect"

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in Mill Race Cottage last week we decided to book The Nest for the weekend. The changeover went smoothly and we found The Nest very comfortable and roomy. Fishing from the decking at the back was just perfect. Once again James and Nick were excellent hosts and always ready for a quick chat when passing. Thank you so much for letting us share your fantastic home you haven't seen the last of us!!

Jane from Chapeltown, Sheffield stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in September 2019


Welcoming owners and comfortable accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Nest is very roomy and well set up for a one bedroom holiday property. We enjoyed the extensive and beautiful grounds. Several footpaths lead from Mendham Mill for exploring the Waveney Valley. We made good use of the 1:25000 OS map provided in The Nest. The Wi-Fi was a helpful bonus. A peaceful and relaxing place to stay.

Pauline from Buckhurst Hill stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2019


Beautiful setting on the River Waveney

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in a peaceful area. The best part of the day was relaxing on the deck overlooking the mill stream.

Guest from Prestwich stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2019


Short Break at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a short break staying in The Nest. The river and gardens are wonderful and full of wildlife including swans (with their signets), ducks (with their ducklings) and kingfishers to name a few. If you're looking for somewhere to totally relax surrounded by nature then this is the place. Nick and James are very friendly and helpful without being intrusive, with nothing being too much trouble. I also enjoyed playing the high quality piano in the lounge.

Guest from Huntingdon stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in July 2019


Brilliant week in the nest at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit. Nick and James made us feel very welcome. The nest is well equipped and comfortable. The garden was a haven of relaxation and the wildlife a pleasure to watch.

Pamela from Reading stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in June 2019


Fourth time

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Nest for the fourth time. Every time we enjoy our stay very much. The place is beautiful, peaceful and comfortable.

Mart And Anita from Lisse stayed at The Nest for 14 nights in May 2019


A lovely return

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit. Just as lovely this time round. Good accommodation, great environment and welcome. Very restful place to be. Enjoyed walks, piano and coffee on the terrace.

David from Ipswich stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in March 2019


A Real Gem

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit. Despite the wintry conditions just as enjoyable as our earlier visits. Mendham Mill is a real gem and is our place of choice when in the area. Nick and James continue to be very very welcoming hosts.

Ian from Southwell stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in January 2019


Our recent stay at The Nest, Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our forth stay at The Nest and just as enjoyable and comfortable as the first stay. The owners Nick and James were excellent hosts and always available for help and advice on where to visit.

Christopher from Ely stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in October 2018


A rare jewel and a special place

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has become a favorite of ours as this is our fourth visit in as many years.

Set in beautiful grounds of Mendham Mill, "The Nest" is the perfect romantic getaway.

A wonderful base to explore the delights of Suffolk and Norfolk and if you never left the grounds of Mendham Mill you would have a truly relaxing and tranquil time watching the bird life and the world go by.


Guest from Grantham stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in October 2018


Lovely position, welcoming hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation lovely, all comforts catered for. Very welcoming hosts who were around to answer any questions. Piano was lovely. Canoeing down the river was a lovely experience. We were able to enjoy the beautiful gardens both from our own patio and the communal areas. Very peaceful, relaxing stay

David from Ipswich stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2018


Fab as always !

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We actually stayed in The Lodge which was lovely. The surroundings are beautiful and the owners are very friendly and helpful. This was our third stay at the Mill and will def not be the last, a piece of paradise !

Pauline from Cambridge stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2018


A magical place

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Mendham this year.
The location of Mendham Mill is truly enchanting with the mill race running under the building and wonderful river frontage and gardens. Fishing and boating are on the doorstep - a pike was caught during our stay. If you want a relaxing place to stay this is it, the peace and tranquility never fail to work their magic. Nick and James are great hosts making every visitor feel really welcome and special - it's like meeting old friends.


Julie from Market Rasen stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2018


A Heavenly Place

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to stay. We arrived to a lovely welcome from James. Both Nick and James were great hosts. The Mill is an outstanding place to stay. Lovely surroundings, garden gorgeous. Lovely experience fishing in the grounds and was there when a giant Pike was landed. Had a brilliant holiday at Mendham Mill, and will certainly be booking again next year hopefully.

Janet from Sleaford stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2018


A pleasant restful stay in the countryside.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The mill to say the least is gorgeous, the area it sits in is stunning and Nick and James are generous hosts. Their knowledge of the local area and help in finding places to visit was invaluable. The accommodation was clean, tidy and well presented.
The area provided many pleasant walks, the local pub was welcoming and the food good just 10 minutes walk away.
No shops in the village but Harleston is minutes away in the car or a pleasant 40 minute walk.
The fishing was also very enjoyable.


Terry from Burbage stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2018


Time slows

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent hosts. The Nest was clean, warm and comfortable. Everything you will need is provided with a few welcome gestures made for a fabulous experience.
The location of the Mill is like stepping back in time to a much more relaxed and tranquil pace. You really can't fail to slow down and relax. The Grounds are so well kept and the love and care put into them shows.
Would recommend without hesitation.


Gilly from Shrewsbury stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2018


Our fourth visit – need I say more?

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hard to believe that it is 10 years or thereabouts since Mendham opened its doors in all its beauty, and James and Nick were revealed as the world's most charming and considerate hosts. A cottage has been added since then, but otherwise remarkably little has changed. It seemed perfect then and it seems perfect now. The Nest feels completely familiar the moment we open the door, and its terrace still offers the best view of the river. The excellent piano remains in situ. What more can one ask for?

H Spedding from Edinburgh stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in June 2018


Attention to detail.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
James and Nick have provided an excellent holiday accommodation. Their attention to detail is thoughtful and comprehensive.






Guest from Lowestoft stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in July 2018


Mostly pleased.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an enjoyable holiday, only problem with accommodation was that being disabled it would have helped considerably if the shower and bath were fitted with handrails, more or less essential if you have difficulty standing or walking.

John from Ipswich stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in July 2018


In praise of Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Mendham Mill. Our hosts, James and Nick were open, helpful and friendly, without ever being intrusive. The view from our terrace of the River Waveney and water meadows was lovely, and the mill itself was clearly a labour of love. This is the perfect rural idyll for a relaxing and peacuful break.

Geoff from Chichester stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in June 2018


A wonderful place!

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time staying in The Nest last month despite the awfully cold weather. Nick and James were so kind and generous and we came home feeling really relaxed. The Nest has everything you could possibly want, in a beautiful location, and all at a very high standard. That the cottage has a piano was a great bonus - I thoroughly enjoyed playing! We would both highly recommend a stay at Mendham Mill!

Peter from Grantham stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in April 2018


Wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love this place. We have just returned from our second stay at Mendham Mill and enjoyed it as much, if not more, than the first. The location is beautiful, the accommodation comfortable and the hosts welcoming and helpful. One of the best places I have ever stayed.

Guest from Southwell stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in May 2018


lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 04 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely place, nice atmosphere, great walking and countryside. could just "veg" if you wanted to. Enjoyed piano. Would like to return

David from Ipswich stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in April 2018


A relaxing break in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Mendham Mill over the new year for a relaxing break and it was perfect for our needs. My husband likes to fish whilst I just like to read and relax for a couple of days. Fishing was available virtually from the back door so we were able to keep in close contact. He caught 4 pike whilst I watched tv, read and chilled out in comfortable and well equipped surroundings.

Rachel from Chesterfield stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in December 2017


Lovely place - comfortable, warm, well-equipped, cosy and tasteful accommodation in nice surrounding

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a lovely stay at the Nest, which I found because of the the excellent piano - a rare find.
The Nest has everything you need, with a well-equipped kitchen, smart tv, and lots of space. It was warm and the bed and sofas were very comfortable. Great lighting everywhere too!
The whole apartment was spotlessly clean and the peace and quiet made for a very restful stay.
Nick was very helpful and thoughtful and had left tea, coffee, milk and biscuits in the kitchen, and gave good advice about the local area.
There are some lovely walks around in peaceful, pretty countryside, and also in Mill's grounds and river. It is a drive to shops - Harleston is a very nice small town.


Tara from London stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in November 2017


A beautiful, peaceful spot

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The welcome is warm, the cottage is well equipped and the outlook is idyllic. What more could anyone want?

Guest from Winkleigh stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2017


Millrace Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived at Mendham Mill, Nick very kindly upgraded us to the two-bedroom Millrace Cottage, which was beautiful. The furnishings were very high quality and everything worked perfectly. Mendham Mill is gorgeous and we enjoyed spending time in the garden outside Millrace, as well as walking around the well-maintained and extensive grounds. Nick & James were extremely welcoming. We had a great stay with them.

Alan from Leyland stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2017


Beautiful location, quality venue

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third year visiting The Nest at Mendham Mill and once again we had a thoroughly wonderful and memorable stay. We love the location, the quality of the venue and the wonderful job that James and Nick do in making us feel welcome.

Tracie from Grantham stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2017


Mendham mill

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location the nest very comfortable and spacious ideal for a couple.Host nick and James very friendly and welcoming

Dave from Grantham stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2017


Mendham Mill - Great choice for our latest visit to East Anglia.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good, spacious accommodation in a wonderful setting. Mendham Mill is a great base from which to explore East Anglia.

Owners, Nick and James welcoming and friendly.

As regular visitors to the area will definitely use Mendham Mill again.


Ian from Southwell stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2017


Mendham Mill visit 1st Sep 2017

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely week spent in the Nest at Mendham Mill with everything you could possibly want.James and Nick are two wonderful hosts who cannot do enough for you.Beautiful grounds with ducks and swans with their young on the river Waveney which is within the grounds.Lots of other wildlife in abundance with lots of various birds and also good fishing with roach,rudd,dace,chub and pike to be had.Local pub Sir Alfred Munnings is good with friendy staff and locals and nice food and only a couple of minutes walk from the mill.No shops in village but Harleston is only five minutes away and has all the shops etc you need.Also worth mentioning Brownes butchers who have superb local meats.In all a really good week and will definately be going again.

Peter from Great Yarmouth stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2017


Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation. Lovely gardens in which to lounge, roam and fish. James and Nick provided a warm and helpful welcome. Hopefully we will visit again soon.

James from Reading stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2017


Lovely place

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were in the Nest for the second time. It will not be the last time. The cottage, the gardens around the Mill, Suffolk and Norfolk are the reasons we will come back again and again. James and Nick are amazing hosts!

Anita from Lisse stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in May 2017


Second visit, as enjoyable as first

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Nest, is extremely comfortable and well equipped with the added bonus of a high quality piano to play on.
The area is delightfully peaceful and quiet and provides a real retreat from the busyness of life.
The owners Nick and James are very welcoming and friendly and are around and accessible to help with any queries you have, or just to enjoy a chat and discover their local inside knowledge.


Katherine from Nottingham stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in October 2016


An excellent peacefull holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth holiday at Mendham Mill. We found plenty to do in the area with new places to visit even after four years.

Christopher from Ely stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2016


Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing 2 weeks here fishing in the river. Our hosts made us feel at home. The gardens are beautiful and very well kept. We look forward to going back in the future.

Mark from Dagenham stayed at The Nest for 14 nights in September 2016


Very comfortable stay in the Nest

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is extraordinary and we enjoyed especially the terrace with its wonderful view.
The owners James and Nick were very friendly and helped us a lot by giving useful information for daytrips.


Carla from Pforzheim stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2016


Relaxing week

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location. Very peaceful and picturesque. Ideal location for visiting Bury St Edmunds, Southwold and the pretty villages of Norfolk and Suffolk. Nick and James are always on hand to offer advice on local attractions and eating places. The grounds are truly relaxing with lots of outdoor furniture for sitting and taking time out away from the hustle and bustle.

Margaret from Holmfirth stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2016


Stunning property in delightful setting

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have never felt quite so relaxed in my life. The owners (Nick & James) are brilliant hosts and within a few minutes we felt like we had known them for years. They each have that ability to make you feel at home, without being in your pocket every 5 minutes.
The Nest is a charming place, the patio overlooks the river. We were luck enough to see a Kingfisher land within 15ft of our seating area (every morning at about 6am).
If you are looking for a relaxing oasis, with lovely gardens, lots of wildlife, pleasing company and very nice accommodation, then this is the place. It's bliss.


John from Dunning stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2016


Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most enjoyable stay at Mendham Mill even though the weather could have been better. The Nest was spacious with everything you would need for self catering. Nick and James were very welcoming and the perfect hosts, they were always at hand to help. The grounds of Mendham were superb due to Nicks green fingers.

I would recommend Mendham Mill as the perfect relaxing holiday, not bad fishing either.


Michael from Fareham stayed at The Nest for 14 nights in June 2016


A week in rural bliss

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
James and Nick made us feel immediately at home when we arrived and were always around if we needed anything. They were a joy to talk with, whether it be about the grounds, the mill or Alfred Munnings.

The Nest is well equipped and includes welcome coffee and biscuits, as well as mundane essentials such as cooking oil and condiments.

We loved having breakfast on the terrace, watching the wrens and grey wagtails to name just a couple of the birds always around.

We had two outings on the river, using the boats provided by James and Nick. We were lucky and saw a barn owl on our first outing.

The time flew by and we were sad to leave out little nest.


Nick from Lymington stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in June 2016


our stay at mendham mill

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All round excellent" plus plus" says it all. It is impossible to find a fault to comment on. The owners have thought of every thing.They even supplied us with 7days of continuous sunshine

Malcolm from Wantage stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in June 2016


A hidden gem

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely quite setting
very helpful hosts
was surprised by the amount of things to do and see in the area
lovely quite walks with plenty of wild life
free use of boat and canoe was a nice added extra


Guest from Huddersfield stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in May 2016


relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb hosts, quintessentially English location, a gem of calm and tranquillity.

Stunning setting of natural beauty with much to explore in the local area.


Guest from Grantham stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in May 2016


A perfect little hide away

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the nest at the same time as other family members were in the Miller's House and Mill Race Cottage. This worked brilliantly, we would recommend it. Lovely to have space to be together, use the boats and the gardens together, but to also have plenty of space and quiet by ourselves.
It is a very well equipped apartment, great kitchen facilities, lovely bath and huge shower, and stunning views out of every window. It really is a completely idyllic setting. We definitely hope to stay again.


Carlie from London stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in April 2016


Pefect

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in “The Nest” for an utterly blissful week. James and Nick have created a lovely haven in the peace and quiet of the Waveney valley. It was the perfect antidote to the bustle and hurly-burly of our city lives. The Nest has been furnished with great care and attention to detail and is extremely comfortable. James and Nick are brilliant hosts and made our stay a most enjoyable experience. I was so very impressed that they even had the piano tuned before we arrived. It’s a lovely Kawai grand in great condition, sonorous and warm with a real range in touch and tone.
As the birth-place of Alfred Munnings, Mendham Mill is a place of some historical interest. The Nest is furnished with prints and all three volumes of the Munnings autobiography, and little by little one is drawn into his world.
I can’t think of a better place to rest and read, sketch and paint, or walk and observe the local wild fowl: swans and a little egret were regular visitors. And if you’re a pianist, this is a marvellous opportunity to keep your technique up while relaxing.


Teresa from Preston stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in March 2016


Relaxing

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A peaceful and relaxing short break, owners very welcoming and helpful. We had the grounds to ourselves, as an added bonus. Thoroughly recommended

Guest from Dursley stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in February 2016


Lovely mill cottage with the piano

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely owners, tranquil place. We got there 9pm on Friday night and he greeted us with warm welcome. The place is clean and tidy. You need a car to get there and move about. They let us use the boat. Very friendly and pleasant hosts. The grand piano is definitely a nice bonus if you are a pianist and is in a good condition.

Maya from London stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in November 2015


Lovely short break

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Nest was as it's title describes- a cosy, comfortable place to retreat to and rest. The piano was excellent and one of the reasons we specifically chose the Nest. Everything else was of high quality and the owners were more than willing to help with any enquiries. The added bonus of a row down the river was terrific. We hope to return.

Katherine from Nottingham stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2015


Mendham Mill, a fantastic spot on the Suffolk/Norfolk borders.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Mendham Mill. Such a wonderfull place, serene and totally relaxing.
The accomodation is excellent, well maintained and in great condition, the grounds to are amazing with the River Waveney running through and around the property.
It is just nice to sit in the grounds and enjoy the views and the wildlife, especially the myriad of birds they frequent them.
We had the grand piano in our accomodation but regrettably neither of us are gifted enough to play it, though some guest have done so.
We are already planning our next visit.


Peter from Milton Keynes stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in October 2015


The name The Nest is just right. ( Anita from Lisse Holland)

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt very comfortable in de The Nest. Everything we expect from a cottage was there: comfort, clean, facilities, beautiful surroundings, very nice hosts. So we have reasons to come back.

Anita from Lisse stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in October 2015


Relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What is there to say, about such a wonderful place..Tranquil, the most equipment ever seen in a holiday cottage, The owners, were so helpful, and welcoming, with little gifts left on our arrival, the place was spotless, the bed, so comfy, we have booked to return next May, it was that good

Kieran from Epping Green stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2015


Fabulous mid week break in the Nest.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
James and Nick are excellent hosts. They go out of the way to make your holiday special without being intrusive. The communal gardens are lovely and very well maintained. The accommodation is exactly as described on the website and perfect for two guests.

Helen from Pulloxhill stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2015


Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill was a lucky choice, and The Nest is perfect for two. The location over the river Waveney over a well kept garden and near the village is lovely and peaceful. The accommodation is spacious for 2, very comfortable and well equipped. The hosts are friendly and offered local knowledge.
An excellent stay.


Guest from Lee On The Solent stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in September 2015


An excellent relaxing holiday at The Nest with plenty of places to visit locally.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We both thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at The Nest. The accommodation was excellent and very comfortable. This was our third stay at Mendham Mill with our first class hosts Nick and James. We liked relaxing on the patio and in the front garden watching the swans & birds and made good use of the catering facilities.
We found plenty of places to visit even on our third stay - including Harleston town with the butchers D A Browne & the Yakety Yak Tea rooms etc, Sir Alfred Munnings in Mendham for Sunday lunch, Orford and the Castle, Southwold Pier, sea front & town centre, Bressingham Garden Centre & Steam Museum and finally the East Anglian Transport Museum at Carlton Colville near Lowestoft.


Christopher from Ely stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2015


Mendham Mill fantastic Holliday

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would love to come again. Very good . Top notch!
Venue excellent ,owners very accommodating , all amounted to a very relaxing holiday .
Excellent river fishing.


Guest from Cambridge stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in July 2015


Mendham Magic

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a total understatement to say we enjoyed our 2 weeks in The Nest. It has been a privilege to stay in such a beautiful venue with a fabulous setting. From the moment we arrived James and Nick welcomed us to this most tranquil and perfect place. The Nest was so comfortable that it was such a pleasure to return everyday after discovering and visiting the numerous surrounding quaint villages and towns. Harleston is definitely worth visiting, the delicatessen and the butchers (Browns) were so friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed Beccles and Southwold where went for a wonderful walk down to the harbour, along the beach to the pier and through the town back to the car. Gorleston is a fantastic beach and a walk around Aldeburgh was calming and relaxing. The visit by the fish van on Tuesday was great with plenty to chose from and as fresh as it could be. The fishing on the doorstep was a brilliant bonus and was enjoyable. Watching the barn owls hunting over the fields was a first and the house martins working hard feeding their young was mesmerising.

We have never felt so welcome in a "holiday" environment before and we reiterate it was a pleasure and privilege to stay in this fantastic accommodation. James and Nick should be extremely proud of what they have achieved and it was inspiring to hear their journey so far.

We have recommended it to all our family and friends as we want them to experience this idyllic, magical setting.


Guest from Maidstone stayed at The Nest for 14 nights in June 2015


Perfect place

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to The Nest and hopefully will not be the last.

Just some of the reasons:

The owners. James and Nick are exceptionally friendly and welcoming, always ready for a chat without ever being in any way intrusive. They are a pleasure to know.

Location. The Mill and its extensive gardens, grounds and surroundings are a dream. The Nest has its own terrace looking down the River Waveney.

The rooms. Spacious living room and well appointed throughout. Convenient kitchen. Very good shower and also a fine bath if you are young and nimble enough to get in and out of it.

The piano. This is a real plus for any pianist, a very good, well-maintained modern grand. Nick was a concert pianist of distinction who recorded some fine CDs of Albeniz, Tippett and others. He is an excellent teacher; book him for a lesson if you can!


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in May 2015


The Nest Haven

Review submitted on Fri, 29 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location in small village, quiet, water and swans, you can stay here, fish, canoe or relax or you can easily explore further afield, great hosts.

Guest from Greenwich stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in May 2015


River Paradise

Review submitted on Sun, 24 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill is an enchanting and beautiful location. The view of the Mill stream and river from our apartment was stunning. The owners go out of their way to make their guests welcome and they keep the enormous grounds in top top condition. It was a sheer delight to have the joy of staying there for our holiday. We took our own 2 man Kayak and had a wonderful trip upstream. We also borrowed the owners canadian canoe another day and had an equally lovely paddle downstream. The River Waveney meanders through tranquil water meadows with lovely views of cattle and their calves.
The Nest is equipped with top quality appliances and is very comfortable. It even has a Grand Piano!
The Mill is so peaceful and tranquil it is a real paradise.


























Guest from Norwich stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in May 2015


Just perfect!

Review submitted on Fri, 22 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th visit to the Mill. It is a beautiful tranquil location with 1st class accommodation and excellent hosts. Without doubt we will be back for our 6th visit before too long.

Guest from Dunvegan, Isle Of Skye stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in May 2015


The Nest at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 15 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a super time at this excellent venue.

The Nest was perfect for us and the concert grand piano enhanced the whole experience as well as the venue being superbly located to explore Suffolk.

James and Nick were excellent hosts and we will certainly return.

Superb!


Guest from Grantham stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in May 2015


Lovely week at The Nest, Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely week in late April exploring the Waveney Valley & southern Broads by bike, foot and canoe!

Superb accommodation - warm, clean, comfortable and quiet. Kitchen well equipped, shower fabulous and grounds outstanding. Hosts approachable, friendly and helpful.

Excellent location for birds and wildlife. Grounds peaceful and relaxing.

Harleston great for independent shops offering local produce.


Thank you James & Nick - we look forward to a return visit.


Guest from Keighley stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in April 2015


Recharge yourself in the nest!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a lovely time whilst staying at the nest. It really is a gorgeous setting and the nest itself is a spacious but cosy haven complete with grand piano and attractive terrace - loved breakfast on there while watching the swans. James and Nick were the perfect hosts and always on hand to give advice and recommendations about the local area - you really must try the Fox and Goose for a first class meal. An idyllic magical place tucked away literally on the Norfolk Suffolk border. Highly recommended!

Guest from Milford stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in April 2015


A good place.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met on arrival, and shown the accomodation. The owner(s) were very attentive without being intrusive. Our stay, though short, was everything we expected - an excellent place! We hope to return.

Guest from Tring stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in February 2015


Perfect!!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Nest is a perfect holiday base, a unique comfortable home set in the countryside with amazing views to the front and back. We stayed over New Year and went on a couple of walks but we would love to visit again when the evenings are lighter to enjoy the canoes and longer walks.

Guest from Maidstone stayed at The Nest for 5 nights in December 2014


Tranquil and relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I wanted a place where we could relax over the Christmas period and 'recharge our batteries'; we couldn't have chosen a better place.

The Nest in Mendham Mill cottages is a cosy but also surprisingly spacious self-catering cottage with part of the river Waveney running directly underneath, so the view from the kitchen window is brilliant.

Nick and James, the hosts were also very nice and accommodating, and very knowledgeable about the history of the Mill and the area in general.

It's a good base for exploring Norfolk if you so wish, or just for sitting back and doing absolutely nothing whatsoever.

Highly recommended.

PS: There's a concert piano in the Nest so, for anyone that knows how to play, it's an added and welcome bonus (the walls are thick enough to keep the sound within the cottage, so no fear of disturbing fellow residents).


Oluwole from Feltham stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in December 2014


Lovely stay at the Nest

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a delightful stay at Mendham Mill's Nest. Thoroughly enjoyed this slice of heaven. Beautiful views, peaceful surroundings, comfortable, clean, well-stocked lodgings. Couldn't be better.

Guest from Stockton stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in October 2014


A pleasant surprise, recommended!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Nest turned out to be much bigger than we expected, so we were very pleasantly surprised. It's a lovely space with well equipped kitchen and delightful patio. On this, our first time at The Nest, we were using it as a base to visit old friends and family in East Anglia, but we hope to go back and actually spend some time relaxing in The Nest and exploring the beautiful surroundings. We were also made to feel welcome in this fascinating place.

Guest from Chippenham stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in November 2014


Honeymoon stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently got married and wanted a peaceful and tranquil honeymoon with fishing included. We found Mendham Mill and it ticked all the boxes. On arrival we were met by Nick and James the owners and shown round. We were absolutely blown away by the grounds and the fact the river flowed practically outside our back door! The room was out of this world, with grand piano taking centre stage!! Every aspect and attention to detail was covered by Nick and James to make our stay comfortable. From supplied coffee, tea, sugar and biscuits to a pint of milk for us in the fridge. We have stayed in a lot of places where fishing is involved but this place beats them all. The only thing you need to take with you for this holiday is your clothes. Everything is already there for you.
Nothing was to much trouble for Nick and James. They are happy to tell you all the local places of interest to visit, the fact a fresh fish van arrives every Tuesday and the best place to get supplies. We intended to go site seeing whilst we where there but quite honestly the grounds and river were all we needed.
Only now and again do you meet someone who is willing to go the extra mile to make your stay a memorable experience but to meet two is a rarity!
Mendham Mill is a place that is an absolute MUST to stay, beautiful mill, country side, wildlife and exceptionally well kept gardens and of course river fishing. THANK YOU NICK AND JAMES FOR MAKING OUR HONEYMOON SO SPECIAL. We will defiantly be returning.


Guest from Northwich stayed at The Nest for 11 nights in October 2014


the cosy nest

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for five nights in a stunning and beautifully located well appointed apartment
which was homely peaceful and tranquil with all the amenities expected. The pleasure of sitting out on the patio watching the sun shining on the stream has to be experienced. We had a lovely and relaxing time. One not to be missed.


Guest from Staines Upon Thames stayed at The Nest for 5 nights in September 2014


Excellent stay in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Nest exceeded our expectations. Nick and James excellent hosts who welcomed us and spent a lot of time explaining the set up and about the area and grounds. Canoeing was a bonus. Grounds beautifully kept. The Nest excellently equipped. You want for nothing. Very clean. If you are pianist, you will have the pleasure of playing beautiful grand piano sited in the apartment. Very quiet and tranquil with lovely walks all around. We hope to return next Summer.

Guest from St Leonards On Sea stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in October 2014


Excellent stay in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Nest exceeded our expectations. Nick and James excellent hosts who welcomed us and spent a lot of time explaining the set up and about the area and grounds. Canoeing was a bonus. Grounds beautifully kept. The Nest excellently equipped. You want for nothing. Very clean. If you are pianist, you will have the pleasure of playing beautiful grand piano sited in the apartment. Very quiet and tranquil with lovely walks all around. We hope to return next Summer.

Guest from St Leonards On Sea stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in October 2014


Expectations fully met

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful location - so close to the river. Very comfortable, clean and well-equipped. Helpful and attentive hosts.

And the weather helped! Tea in the garden in October.

We hope to return


Guest from London stayed at The Nest for 4 nights in September 2014


A very relaxing, comfortable & enjoyable holiday with excellent hosts

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Mendham Mill to stay self catering.
We booked to stay in The Nest in May last year and were upgraded to The Lodge - this also was an excellent holiday.
We were very pleased with our stay in The Nest last week and found all we could wish for.
Our hosts Nick & James made us very welcome. Apart from the wonderful scenery at Mendham Mill we found plenty of places to visit including Southwold, Beccles, Mid-Suffolk Light Railway at Brockford, Kessingland, local churches including bellringing practice nights at Mendham, Starston & Redenham.


Guest from Ely stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2014


Chopsticks at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay in The Nest at Mendham Mill 5th-12th Sept 2014. The accommodation is lovely and cosy. Everything needed for a comfortable stay is provided. White bed linen and towels provided (I don't like it when dark coloured linen and towels are provided as you can't tell if they are clean). A summer duvet was on the bed, but if this was not warm enough there was an autumn/spring duvet in the cupboard (other accommodation we have rented have only provided a winter weight duvet, which is far too hot). There is even a babygrand piano in the property which we wished we could play, but my husband can only play two fingered 'Chopsticks', whilst I can't even do that! There is a lovely private terrace at the back overlooking the mill stream, and beautiful communal gardens to the front. The grounds are fantastic; a gorgeous setting; wildlife everywhere you look; a peaceful haven at any time of the year. Fishing available in the River running through the grounds, and although my husband didn't have much luck, other guests did. Could not have asked for better, and Nick and James are great hosts. Plenty of day trips out if you can tear yourself away from Mendham Mill. One week is just not enough.

Guest from Sheerness stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in September 2014


We love Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Nest at Mendham Mill twice and will go back again. A fantastic place with brilliant hosts. Plenty of places to visit nearby, but our favourite thing is to relax on the terrace watching the river. Brilliant to be able to step out of the kitchen into such a beautiful setting.
We recommended the Mill to family who have also visited more than once.


Guest from London stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2014


A week as 'nestlings'

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from an extremely pleasant week staying in 'The Nest' at Mendham Mill. The accommodation and stay more than met our expectations.

The apartment was well equipped, pleasantly decorated and soon felt like home; with the added advantage of having river fishing available on site; also there were well laid out and maintained gardens and communal areas. All in all, there was hardly any need to leave the Mill other than to get provisions; although we did on occasion venture out as it would have been a shame not to visit some of the interesting places within reasonable travelling distance whilst we were there.

Nick and James were admirable hosts who went out of their way to ensure a carefree holiday, and were also a good source of local information and had some interesting views on a range of subjects.

We went home suitably refreshed and hope that there will be the opportunity to visit Mendham Mill again.

Pat and Maznah from Sussex.


Guest from Hove stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in August 2014


A wonderful place

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay, the weather was amazing and the nest was comfortable and had everything you needed and more. The owner's were so helpful without being intrusive and the grounds were beautiful.

I don't really want to write to good a review because I would like to keep this place a secret but that would be unfair to Nick and James.


Guest from Leeds stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in July 2014


A lovely place, run by welcoming owners

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at 'The Nest' - one of several cottages within Mendham Mill in the Waveney Valley - primarily to use its Kawai grand piano, and have a relaxing break. The owners Nick and James couldn't have been more welcoming, providing all the trimmings (little details such as real coffee and milk there on arrival!), and even burned me CDs of music I'd shown interest in.

'The Nest' was immaculate and spacious, with a sun terrace overlooking the river. Mendham Mill itself is beautiful and well-kept, set in lush, peaceful grounds with a river and boats (for guests' use); the perfect place to either lounge around in peace, chat with other guests or the owners, or to set off for the local attractions, restaurants, or walks through the Waveney Valley.

Both Nick and James were cheerful and charming, checking I had everything I needed. Both were knowledgeable about the area, with Nick's specialised subject being international concert piano recitals, and James' the local great artist Alfred Munnings! :)

I would absolutely recommend Mendham Mill - and any of the accommodations within - as a wonderful spot to either relax and enjoy the grounds, meet other people, or to use as a base to go off exploring the local attractions. A thoroughly good set up!


Guest from Norwich stayed at The Nest for 3 nights in July 2014


A lovely holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Nest at Mendham is very clean and well equipped, a perfect location in beautiful peaceful grounds.
A river for those who like to fish lots of birds to be seen kingfishers, herons and swans. 5 stars .


Guest from Lancaster stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in July 2014


See below

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, Josie, and I went to The Nest a few weeks ago. (Our third visit). It was an excellent holiday and the owners were, as usual, very welcoming. David R .Viles

Guest from St Ives stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in May 2014


Fantastic getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot recommend Mendham Mill and our wonderful hosts Nick and James enough. Fantastic accommodation set within beautiful grounds, this holiday really was the perfect getaway. Thanks and see you again soon.

Guest from Clacton On Sea stayed at The Nest for 7 nights in June 2014