FB Twitter

The Miller's House

The Miller's House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 99 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


This Georgian house was once home to the miller and his family. Thoroughly modernized, but retaining its period charm the house has four bedrooms and three bathrooms. The secure courtyard behind the house is excellent for outside dining with a large table, chairs and gas barbecue. Steps and a gate lead to further private gardens with loungers, and more furniture for al fresco dining beside the river.

Stay at Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing lovely scenery great hosts. All our family love Mendham Mill second year. Probably be third time.

Jenny from stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2022


Superb accommodation in a beautiful spot

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We don't often visit the same place twice, but this is the exception - we are already planning our next stay, and I can see why there are so many return visitors! We were a mixed group, with some of us wanting a lazy break, and others keen to keep active, and Mendham Mill suited us all. The tranquillity of the place is hard to beat, and I spent many happy hours just reading beside the river. The younger members of the party were delighted with the gym and the games room, and we all loved the canoes. Local walks are lovely, and there's lots to do nearby if you can tear yourself away. The house was beautifully equipped, and with some of the most generous supplies that I have come across in a holiday home - there was definitely no need for a rush to the shops for basics. James and Nick were friendly and helpful hosts - they kindly arranged for the sun to shine for us, but even if it hadn't, we'd have been happy in this beautiful spot!

Karen from Beverley stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2022


Millers House

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another pleasant stay with family.Back again in September. Always excellent,welcoming and friendly..

Terence from Essex stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in April 2022


What a great find!

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the Miller's house and could not have asked for anything better you think better. It was definitely worth the wait.

There were 8 of us in total that ranged from 7 to 70 years and it was perfect for us all. There was plenty of space and we didn't feel on top of each other. When we arrived we were met by Nick and I really liked the touch of finding out everybody's names and how we all knew each other. I had left a bag at home with loads of things I needed including my anti bacterial wipes as I have to clean all surfaces etc but I actually didn't need them as the house felt so clean and fresh. Plenty of sofa space for everybody.

My husband and I had the master bedroom and slept with the blinds open so we could see the beautiful view as soon as we opened our eyes in the morning! The grounds were spotless and there was so much open space. We used the canoes as well which was fun. Shower was amazing, very powerful and always hot water.

We were left to get on with our break but knew that Nick and James were around if we needed them. I can't wait to go back there, it is such a beautiful location and the nature is great, woodpeckers, owls, ducklings etc

5 minute walk to a pub which serves food and 5 minutes or less drive to a coop.

Great place and we were made to feel really welcome, thank you James and Nick!


Tracey from Kenilworth stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in April 2022


Beautiful setting

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a treat to be able to stay in a magnificently preserved water mill on the Waveney and enjoy the beautiful Norfolk/Suffolk countyside. The Miller's House is spatious and comfortable with on-site EV charging as well as the ability to take boats out on the river. We came with older children who loved the well equipped games room. James and Nick were super friendly and more than happy to help with any queries. Definitely be back!

Jeremy from Arlesey stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in April 2022


Warm welcome by our hosts. Well presented property in a fab location. Dog and children friendly

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property really clean and all bedrooms were if a generous size. Everything you’d expect to find was there

Games room was a great additional extra.

Grounds really well looked after


Mark from Burwell stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in February 2022


As idyllic as ever!

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A blissful week spent with extended family, their first visit our 4th. James and Nick always greet you like old friends, they are delightful. The new games room was a real added bonus, great fun in the evenings. Weather was beautiful, apart from 3 hours in Harleston we never left the grounds. Why would you want to?

Anne from Deal stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in September 2021


Week of relaxation with the family

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Following a difficult year experienced by all, we decided to meet the children and adult grandchildren at Mendham Mill.
We enjoyed the peaceful and tranquil environment, and the hospitality of James and Nick who ensured everything was prepared for our stay.
James and Nick provided information both in written form and verbally about restaurants, places to visit and anything else we needed.
The Miller's house provided spacious accommodation for the week, and we were fortunate with the weather so we were able to enjoy sitting by the river both at the front and rear of the property. The youngest amongst our group enjoyed their first try at canoeing and James ensured all the health and safety advice and checks were carried out.
It was the most relaxing stay we have experienced in beautiful surroundings.


Guest from Blackpool stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in September 2021


Lovely holiday - well recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for day trips to Southwold and the coast or staying local.

James and Nick are fantastic hosts who provide a quality establishment with quality fittings. Everything you need is available. Well stocked kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine, drying room. Nice TV and comfy sofas.

Kayaking, a games room with top quality pool table and table tennis. A gym being built a during our holiday. Lovely local walks, to Harleston or just around the Waveney valley. BBQs, lots of seating and tables on both sides of the property. Quiet. Secluded. Relaxing.

If you like pizza, go to the Old Kings Head in Brockdish, 15 mins drive away.

The Aviation Museum (free) is ten mins Way towards Bungay and worth a half day visit (open Wednesdays).

We didn’t want to leave and will definitely be coming back…


Stephen from Wigan stayed at The Miller's House for 10 nights in August 2021


PARADISE

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
How lucky I was to find and book the Miller's House for a week in June. Happily, we had glorious June sunshine, but truly we were in paradise! Mendham Mill is so beautiful, the house wonderfully equipped and comfortable. James and Nick are perfect hosts, friendly and discreet - always to be seen working more magic on garden and environs. We swam in the river, we walked, we barbecued, we holidayed. Only trouble is, I need to return for a week every month!

Fiona from London stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in June 2021


Amazing surroundings with lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation in amazing surroundings. We particularly loved the views from the house and taking the canoes on the river whenever we wanted to. We'll definitely be back again sometime.

Cathy from Ampthill stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2021


Holiday at mendan mill

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place for a holiday all our family enjoyed it house so comfortable and homly. Owners great always on hand if we needed anything. Also lots to do in area best holiday we ever had didn't want to come home.

Jenny from stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2021


Great house in an idyllic setting.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Five adults stayed - very well equipped and comfortable house with lots of character. The extensive grounds; the river setting (esp the wild swimming platform) were exceptional. The hosts were extremely helpful and pleasant . All in all a very happy enjoyable stay. Local town and other places to visit on the doorstep. My only regret is we didn't make time to use the boats on the river - too busy exploring the area!

Ed from Saddleworth stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in June 2021


The Millers House

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really great return visit to The Millers House, especially following so many months of lockdowns. James and Nick are such welcoming and helpful hosts We very much enjoyed our canoe trips, meandering along the river enjoying the peace and wildlife.
The garden centre at Weybread is well worth a visit for garden enthusiasts. Also walks and fish and chips at Southwold.


Angie from Weston Longville stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in May 2021


Beautiful Country Escape

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The mill is lovely and surrounded by beautiful countryside. The Miller’s House provided the perfect stay as it had everything you needed. An added bonus of being next to the water was being able to get the family BBQ going after fun kayaking and Paddle Boarding. Would recommend to anyone.

John from Chelmsford stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in May 2021


Great people with excellent hosts!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Nick and James for the warm welcome. Excellent place with great surroundings and peaceful atmosphere to help us relax !!!

Thank you for your amazing hospitality!!
We sure will return soon!


Snehal from Stevenage stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in May 2021


Perfect staycation!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Miller's House was the perfect place to enjoy a relaxing week. The house is very spacious and very well appointed with everything we could possibly need to make our visit as comfortable as possible. It's an idyllic location with stunning views and we particularly loved having access to the Canadian canoes. We loved our trips on the river! There's plenty to do and see in the area too. We can't wait to return.

Guest from Ely, Cambridgeshire stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in May 2021


Millers House

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Mendham Mill on several occasions,this time we took some family (our bubble).James and Nick were their usual helpful selves and the property was immaculate as has always been the case.Our family were captivated by the whole experience and are determined to return.Us two oldies have already rebooked.

Terence from Essex stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in April 2021


2020 Christmas in Lockdown

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
James and Nick are fantastic hosts. I travel regularly and must say this is the best place in the UK I have stayed in. The house, grounds and facilities are exceptional and James and Nick often go above and beyond to make our stay as relaxed and seamless as positive (even though the Mill faced extreme weather conditions). I have already recommended to all of our friends and we can not wait to return in 2021. A truly unforgettable week.

Jack from Colchester stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in December 2020


Paradise

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect location, so tranquil with the only sounds birdsong and the river gurgling in the background. Excellent attentive owners who couldn't do enough to help.
The area is a real find for good food lovers with loads of excellent produce within a few miles.
We don't usually return to places again but we may well have to make an exception in this case!


Alan from Bude stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in December 2020


Great stay, wonderful location and most of all, superb hosts...

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked our stay fairly late due to the current pandemic, and one of the reasons for choosing Mendham Mill and the Miller's House was that James and Nick offered a late cancellation up to 2 days before the day of check-in. Thankfully we did not need to cancel and what a blessing this was as we would not have been able to enjoy this most wonderful property in the most superb setting.

The Miller's House is part of the larger Mendham Mill, and is extremely spacious with four good sized bedrooms, 3 with en-suites. The living accommodation is on the second floor and is a great size, and more importantly offers superb views across the wonderfully kept gardens, excellent job Nick, and the River Waveney, where there is a plethora of wildlife to watch and enjoy.

The Miller's House has its own private garden and courtyard with BBQ facilities. From the garden you can take a kayak or simply relax on one of a number of chairs and sun-beds. Unfortunately the weather during our stay last week (9th to 16th October 2020) was not conducive to sitting out, but I can imagine that it would be idyllic and peaceful in the finer months.

During our stay we travelled across Suffolk and Norfolk, and the location of Miller's House made this extremely easy, and was a good base for everything we had planned. You can be at the coast within the hour.

Lastly, the hosts, James and Nick were delightful and so welcoming. Whilst we were there, we watched the continuing construction of a new unobtrusive and well thought out gym and games facility taking shape, which looks very exciting, with all of the work being done by the owners to a high standard. It is so difficult in the current times to make sure that you have all the correct processes and procedures in place to ensure that people feel safe, and James and Nick have done a fabulous job in this area. The cottage was clean and well equipped with hand-sanitiser readily available within the cottage. The cleaning process for the cottage is very thorough including a socially distanced check-in procedure, all of which made our party feel very safe indeed.

All in all we had a super week, made all the better for the quality of accommodation and friendliness of the owners James and Nick. Thank you.


Jonathan from Woking stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in October 2020


The Miller's House

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
James and Nick were welcoming and helpful hosts. The Miller's House is a beautiful, unique and well equipped property with stunning views. The location was perfect for rural walks and visits to Southwold and Aldeburgh. We enjoyed canoeing and fishing, both being accessible from the gardens. Our stay was only four nights but we arrived home feeling relaxed and refreshed. We look forward to our next visit!

Angie from Norwich stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in September 2020


Such a warm friendly welcome from the owners to a much needed, beautiful, quiet, peaceful place.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for a staycation, beautiful surroundings, lovely accommodation. Warm welcoming hosts. Ideal.

Richenda from Ely stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in August 2020


The Miller's House

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfectly appointed place to spend a week with the family, alfresco dining, canoeing, swimming and fishing. Tranquillity itself.

Andrew from Brough stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2020


Wonderfully relaxing break.

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our extended family has just returned from a wonderfully relaxing break at Mendham Mill and we all had a really enjoyable time. Nick and James are welcoming and friendly hosts who can’t do enough for you, always on hand for advice or just a chat. The grounds are beautiful and well kept and with the river flowing through it’s a real hidden gem. With four canoes available and a dedicated swimming area there was always plenty to do. Inside the house the beds were comfortable and the appliances were all high quality. We really can’t fault this place and will be recommending it to all of our friends. All that’s left to say is that we look forward to returning.

Wesley from Brentwood stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2020


Everything we wanted in a home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Miller's House in July 2020 as a three generational family. Everyone found so much to enjoy. In no particular order there is the beautiful river, tranquility, space to enjoy each others' company and escape, canoes with a range of sizes of buoyancy aids (one canoe has back-rests), a well-equipped kitchen, a convivial dining table, friendly welcoming owners with great taste in everything from furnishings, decorations, gardening and landscaping.
The mill is near enough to our favourite bits of the East Anglian coast for day trips, and is in an area with sweet Mid-Suffolk and Norfolk villages, and wonderful country drives.
Though there are several houses let out, there was little sense of anyone else there throughout our stay and lovely privacy, though the owners were always on hand if we needed anything or wanted some advice.
The Miller's house also had the advantage of bedrooms and bathrooms on the ground and second floor, with the living space on the first floor, so we could separate the older generation from the children at night and wake up at different times. Upstairs there are fantastic views on three sides especially from the master bedroom, and particularly of the river and valley. The beds are very comfy and the rooms on the first and second floor feel spacious and airy. There is a small stretch of river with sun loungers which 'belongs' to those staying at the Miller's House.
We thoroughly recommend staying here.


Sarah from Highgate stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in July 2020


Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in the Miller House. The house was clean and comfortable, and the grounds were stunning. Would definitely recommend.

Guest from Uxbridge stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in July 2020


New Year 2019/2020

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful way to see in the New Year! Hosts very welcoming, house very warm and comfortable, surroundings stupendous.

Sally from Sawbridgeworth stayed at The Miller's House for 5 nights in December 2019


Brilliant short break

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with friends in the Millers House for a long weekend. We all had a fabulous time chilling out, messing about on the river and enjoying the fantastic views. The house was very comfortable with everything catered for. We will definitely be returning for another visit

Tracey from Lowestoft stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in September 2019


Idyllic

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house, stunning location. Pleased all four generations.
A fantastic family holiday, canoeing and swimming in the river, and sunning ourselves on the bank.


Naomi from Essex stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2019


Terrific family holiday at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations (8 + baby) stayed in Miller's House, Mendham Mill, early August 2019. In particular, the grounds and setting gave us a wonderful holiday; with lots of space for sitting, playing games and roaming around - all in a beautiful place. Some of us swam in the river, and the canoes were used a lot. They are very stable and were suitable for our 5-7 year-olds provided an adult was in the canoe as well. James and Nick are very friendly and gave us a good tour and briefing on the place.
Southwold was a great seaside town to visit. There is a large car park by the pier. During the summer there is a large Maize Maze just outside the town plus play area and picnic area which was much enjoyed by all.


James from Macclesfield stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2019


Fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returning again after four years we were not disappointed. James and Nick are the perfect hosts, always on hand for help and advice especially with the canoes.
The house has everything you will need, is comfortable and spacious. The gardens and the grounds are beautiful and if you want a peaceful relaxing break away then please give Mendham Mill a visit. Thank you James and Nick we will definitely be back.


Jayne from Huddersfield stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2019


Millers House

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our party of 7 were pleased with the Millers House. The rooms were a good size. Plenty of room in the lounge and kitchen.Peaceful location with lots of outdoor space.
James and Nick were good hosts.


Philip from Dunmow stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in June 2019


Relax In Beautiful Surroundings.

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a wonderful family holiday in the very comfortable Mill House. The surrounding gardens are beautiful with a variety of wildlife to watch and there are boats to use to explore the river.

Anne from Letchworth Garden City stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in May 2019


Miller’s House

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the Miller’s House. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the ability to use the boats is brilliant. We spent the whole weekend on site, apart from walking to the local pub for dinner one evening. Cannot fault this as a place to get away with family. Thank you to the lovely hosts for sharing this piece of paradise.

Jessica from Bishop’s Stortford stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in May 2019


Magical

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage... Tick
Nick and James ....Tick
Grounds...Double Tick
Amazing Value......... Double Tick
Places to go nearby.... Tick
Would i go back...... Oh Yes

One of the best weekends away we have ever had :)


Debbie from Milton Keynes stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in April 2019


Tranquil setting and ideal for our catch up with friends

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were all delighted to find that we had made a good choice in selecting the Miller's House and The Nest as a location for a grand get together for old friends for a few days [4 couples] to enjoy catching up over breakfast with a view of the river, enjoying an hour or two out on the canoes, set out for a decent walk, to be able to wander down to the pub one evening and not spend too long in our cars to get to Minsmere and Southwold. Organising a date when we can all get together is no mean feat, and the whole ambience and level of comfort meant we were not disappointed and made for a successful gathering. Quality linen, towels, beds, lots of hot water for showers and baths and a really well equipped cook's kitchen - all as you would wish, which made for a very successful break on the Norfolk/Suffolk borders. We bought fish from the visiting van on Tuesday, and had a very convivial dinner in. The birdwatchers amongst us were not disappointed. It's a special place with lots of history. Having missed the fishing season, some were already thinking of a next trip. We will bear it in mind when we have friends coming from overseas to stay with us, as a home from home, set in its own gardens and overlooking the countryside. The morning mist seeping over the river with a couple of swans serenely floating by was just magical.

Tony from Saffron Walden stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in March 2019


Superb venue to celebrate my 65th Birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning Mill in a fabulous location. The boys took their water boards and us girls used the canoe's which were very easy to navigate. No water rescue emergencies !!!! Thank you James and Nick for the very comfortable accommodation. The grounds around the mill were a joy to walk and Ronnie our dog was more than happy with his weekend break. The Fox and Goose on Saturday night was an excellent choice for fine dining. We walked to the Black Swan through the fields and woods following the footpath and enjoyed a warm welcome by the landlord and a great Sunday Lunch. Hoping to return and explore more of the river.


Jill from Nr Great Yarmouth stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in March 2019


40th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place, beautiful scenery. We had 4 generations of 1 family to celebrate my 40th birthday for the weekend. Nick and James are friendly and very helpful. We made some fantastic memories. The only downside was that we had to leave x will be back

Jenny from Southminster stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in October 2018


Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nick & James made us very welcome and were available to advise on accommodation and places of interest. The mill itself was situated in beautiful grounds and had been renovated to a high specification. Canoeing and fishing were an added bonus.
Would recommend the Millers House to anyone looking for a restful break in beautiful surroundings.


Michael from Leics stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in September 2018


Our third visit

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week at the Mill and had a brilliant time canoeing up and down the Waveney. Shared one memorable evening paddle with the barn owl flying backwards and forwards just above our heads.
Thank you once again Nick and James for providing such an elegant, peaceful and comfortable home from home. We look forward to seeing you again next year.


Roger from Worcester stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in September 2018


Great place to stay with a large party

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Party of 15. Split between the Miller’s House and The Lodge. Great chance for indoor comforts mixed with outdoor activities like canoeing, ball games and bbqs. Excellent family holiday from ages 70 down to teenagers! Really welcoming. Can it recommend enough.

Mark from Oundle stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2018


Fantastic location and beautiful house

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners couldn’t have been more helpful. The location is just wonderful if you are after an idyllic restful country break. The cycling was fantastic. Rowing on the river, lovely country pubs and a very well maintained house in beautiful surroundings.

Eddie from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2018


A multi generation holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed during very hot weather, far too hot to take our dog for walks during the day. This wasn’t a problem as the grounds are superb and offered plenty of shade. We all enjoyed trips up the river in the kayaks that are available to borrow. There was even a life jacket and paddle for our two year old grandson to use. He also loved watching the wildlife and counting and feeding the ducklings that were only a few days old.
Nick and James are always on hand to give advice and have thought of everything to make self catering easy and the towels are particularly fluffy!
We look forward to staying again to visit the places it was too hot to go to this time.


Maria from Shoreham By Sea stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2018


The Miller's House July 2018

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Miller's House and environs were perfect - the buildings, gardens, river, landscape and wildlife were all stunning. It was a real treat to stay in the boyhood home of Sir Alfred Munnings. I only have one criticism - I would like to have seen more prints of Sir Alfred Munnings' paintings on the walls.

Michael from Somerton stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2018


Better than we could have hoped for

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a long weekend at The Millers House with 7 of us across different ages and we were all unbelievably impressed from start to finish. The location is beautiful in amazing gardens with flowers and wildlife everywhere, extremely peaceful remote countryside with some small villages and towns close by. The house itself was then exactly what we needed - the kitchen had all utensils possible inc. pots and pans, crockery and cutlery, but also the more unusual things such as a blender, vase, jug, two cafetieres, all of a really good quality for the chefs of the group! The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean with strong hot water pressure, even if we all showered at the same time. James and Nick were so helpful and we are already planning our return trip later this year!

Harolyn from London stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in June 2018


A great find

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great find, tucked away next to the River Waveney which flowed around the property. The experience was great from the moment we arrived and were greeted so heartily by Nick and James. James showed us around the property and explained about the site. They were on hand all the time just in case you needed anything. The property was just as it was described on the website, lovely and bright, beautifully clean and very well equipped. The whole property was a delight, there were beautiful views out of every window. and we had alot of them.We were a family of seven, unfortunately our eighth member was unable to attend due to university commitments, but were all agreed that we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and would highly recommend it to anyone wishing such a holiday. We will certainly try to return to such a beautiful place.

Kevin from Hornchurch stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in May 2018


Wonderful New Year break!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very welcoming owners providing excellent and very comfortable accommodation; everything we could possible need in a very attractive setting. Thoroughly recommend Mendham Mill - we will be back!

Sally from Sawbridgeworth stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in December 2017


Fabulous location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely few days in an idyllic setting and wonderful house. A very well fitted out property with every detail thought of. Many thanks.

Catherine from Burton Upon Trent stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in November 2017


Tasteful, tranquil and terrific :)

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went as a group in two different dwellings - it was absolutely perfect. Any number of people can stay in the various houses and meet up whenever.

They are beautifully styled and equipped with all sorts of kitchen stuff. And the showers are second to none - blinking amazing water pressure :)

The grounds are fantastic and beautiful with ducks, geese and swans, we all wished we could have stayed longer. However we wil be back.


Elizabeth from Holmer Green, High Wycombe stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in October 2017


Millers House

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful weekend getaway for a family reunion. This was a wonderful house with every detail carefully thought about. The lovely gardens and use of canoes made this a very special place to relax together in fact we did n't want to leave. Nick & James were wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Good pubs in the area and access to the coast make this the perfect retreat.This is the kind of place you want to keep secret!

Guest from Brentford stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in September 2017


We loved it!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For us this holiday location had it all. We were 3 couples so had plenty of room in what we felt was an idyllic setting. Admittedly we had great weather over the weekend so were able to use the canoe and the gardens extensively but the overall ambience of the Mill and its glorious location in a bend of the River Waveney make it a wonderful place, especially if you like the simple pleasures of Nature. It's a good location for travelling around as well - we went to Minsmere and visited lots of the local villages as well as building in walks. The owners Nick and James were happy to spend time talking to us about the history of the Mill as well as providing excellent recommendations such as the Fox & Goose restaurant at Fressingfield. They have done a superlative job rescuing the Mill from development so that many more people can enjoy it. I feel sure we will re-visit.

John from Colchester stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2017


A short. Break

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Millers House with friends and everything was as we expected from the well appointed kitchen to the beautiful fluffy bath towels. James and Nick have thought of everything to make your stay memorable We will certainly be back.

Julia from Brentwood stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in September 2017


Everything for everyone in our party!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed for nothing. All the needs for our party were met. Our party's age range went from 1 to 64.For a full week everyone had a smile in their eye and a twinkle in their eye. We fished, rowed, canoed, and lazed about for a full week. Everyone totally enjoyed all aspects for Norfolk/Suffolk life. We were given sound local advice when we needed it. Totally idyllic and we will be coming back very soon.

Michael from Manchester stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2017


A family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a venue that would accommodate all the family - three generations, including three teenagers around 16 years old. and the Miller's House was just right. We especially enjoyed using the boats on the river and the teenagers went off several times on their own after very good safely instructions and gave us a chance to relax in the courtyard and chat. We all had walks around the estate and appreciated the hard work that went into its restoration and maintenance. The owners were friendly, approachable and informative and talked about the estate and its history with enthusiasm. The house was interesting and unusual and very well equipped, roomy and comfortable.The whole place was unbelievably beautiful - a gem. The overwhelmng feeling was the peacefulness - no traffic noise, no sirens - just the sound of the river and the birds. And we all said we would come back again.

Carole from Ipswich stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in June 2017


A very special place

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a fantastic long weekend in the Millers House. Thank you to James and Nick for their warm welcome. The children loved the tyre swing, canoeing and swimming in the river. We all loved the location, the wildlife and the peace and quiet. Hope to see the kingfishers next time!

Clare from Cambridge stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in May 2017


Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful find. A perfect retreat for either a weekend or longer stay. The Millers House was extremely comfortable and well equiped. The views from the sitting room were picturesque over the wellkept gardens and river and we had our own private garden at the back right next to the water You could spend your time watching all the ducks,swans and wildlife and there were even canoes available to explore up river.

The owners were exptremely helpful and friendly. From Mendham you are not far from all the interesting places to visit in Suffolk and Norfolk. We would certainly consider a second visit.


Beverley from Forest Row stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in April 2017


Wonderful!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay, beautiful views all around, superb gardens and facilities, and great hosts.

Mary from London stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in April 2017


Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Mendham Mill.
Lovely place very relaxing
Had fun in the canoes
Nick and James great hosts. Very welcoming.


Heather from Beds stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in April 2017


A birthday in Norfolk

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Millers House was booked so that three generations could celebrate my wife's 70th birthday. The accommodation suited us well the bedrooms were very comfortable with quality bedding and decor. Bathrooms were excellent, roomy, powerful showers and abundant hot water. The kitchen and living room were modern, well equipped and large enough to take all seven of us comfortably. A feature we all enjoyed was the large windows , almost to the floor , which gave excellent views of the stunning location. Nick and James the owners, were the perfect hosts ,always available, helpful and keen that we took full advantage of the location and the area.They put us in touch with a local chef who came to the house to cook a celebration birthday dinner. This was an excellent innovation. There is even the opportunity for the intrepid to venture in canoe onto the river to explore the landscape from the water. The weather in March was kind to us too, so all in all a perfect week.


Wilfred from Southam stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in March 2017


A Wonderful Weekend at Mendham Milll

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations of our family enjoyed a great weekend at the Miller's House. Everything that we needed in the house was provided for and we were very comfortable. The grounds are lovely and the private courtyard to the house is very safe for young children. Nick and James are the perfect hosts and made us feel most welcome.
We hope to return soon.


Valerie from Billericay stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in October 2016


Family weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Picture postcard setting with a warm friendly welcome. We were fortunate enough to have a guided tour with Nick of the other accommodation and all are to the same high standard. Spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped. For our family of 7 this was without doubt the perfect place for us to stay. The fishing didn't disappoint either and we spent several hours catching roach and perch and very nearly a large pike which had latched onto a small perch. I have already recommended this beautiful place to several of our friends and will certainly be back in the future.

Paul from Benfleet stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in September 2016


Long weekend break away

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly recommend the mill for a stay whether short or long ... nick and James went out of their way to think of everything you could need for a home away from home. The accommodation was spotless and warm and inviting, in fact it was a struggle to get the motivation to leave it to explore the nearby area. However it is a lovely area to explore, with many interesting places to visit and many delicious eateries. We will be back as soon as we can manage another break away!

Linda from Essex stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in October 2016


Something special

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous stay in the Miller's House. Really beautiful location with delightful views from every window. The house has the feel of a family home, but tidier! Very tastefully and thoughtfully equipped, with everything you might need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
The gardens are immaculate and clearly a passion for Nick, who is always ready to share his joy in it, if you stop and chat. The access to the river for nature lovers, fishing and boating is an added bonus for those of us who are mad about water!
We ate at three of the recommended hostelries and were most impressed by the Sir Alfred Munnings just up the road for convenience, conviviality and value for money - limited menu but dishes very well cooked and presented.
James and Nick couldn't have been more welcoming, considerate and helpful in every respect, without being intrusive, they are very special people!


Roger from Worcester stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in September 2016


Our long weekend at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just back from a 3 night stay at Mendham Mill with 7 close friends. The grounds are absolutely wonderful with plenty of space, wildlife and scenery. Fishing at the Mill house was unexpectedly good for the time of season. The owners James & Nick were very welcoming and friendly. Our accommodation was very spacious (plenty of room to eat & chill) and in very good condition overall.
Had a great time.


Michael from Welwyn Garden City stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in September 2016


Great location and lovely cottage for our family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just enjoyed a weeks stay at The Millers House and there was plenty space for our two families of four. We were blessed with good weather so we could spend time in the beautiful gardens and grounds and go on the rowing boats and canoes on the river. We found plenty things to do with the children all within an hours drive. These included a day at Great Yarmouth, Dinosaur Adventure, Norwich, Pleasurewood Hills, Southwold and boating on the broads from Beccles. We made use of the gas BBQ and outside dining area on a couple of occasions. We ate at the local pub,The Alfred Munnings, which although will never win any awards, was reasonably priced standard pub grub. We had a fantastic meal at The Crown at Pulham Market and would highly recommend a visit. Our hosts James and Nick were very welcoming and were always around to help if needed.

Kim from Leyburn stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2016


August at Mendham

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Mill lived up to our expectations, helped by good weather and other friendly guests. Fishing, birds and wildlife (including sighting of beautiful hare) all helped to make for a relaxing and enjoyable week. Accommodation is top class and overall environment delightful.

Guest from London stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2016


An 80th. Birthday Celebration

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations from two continents and four countries gathered at the Miller's House for a reunion that provided something for everyone - peace and quiet for the Oldies, canoes for the youngsters and lovely smells for Teddy, the dog. This was a holiday that will be happily remembered for years to come. Thank you to our kind and tolerant hosts!

Brigid from Maldon stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2016


Celebratory long weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a long weekend for a birthday celebration. The house was perfect for us. Enough space and comfortable for the whole of our party who ranged from 5 to 65. The house is well equipped and furnished.The gardens and grounds are beautiful and the private gardens for each cottage are lovely. Such a shame that the weather and the flooding stopped us from using the garden but that's the British summer for you! Nick and James are perfect hosts, friendly and easy to chat with, available but not overbearing. We had a great weekend and look forward to returning some time, hopefully to make use of the garden!! :)

Wendy from Oakham stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in June 2016


An idyllic weekend to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm welcome from Nick combined with an efficient and informative tour of the accommodation got us off to a great start and made settling in easy before we were joined by a further 3 couples to help us celebrate my husbands birthday combined with our regular get together with the same group aka "the gang".
Harleston is conveniently located 5 minutes away from where a great Indian Take-away was purloined for our first evening.
The beautiful, tranquil environment complemented by optimal weather was exactly what we had hoped for and we all took pleasure in relaxing outside in the sunshine including when we were eating. Our planned Sunday pub lunch was promptly changed to a barbecue to take advantage of the weather, obtaining meat from a local butcher and using the provided gas barbecue.
The other host James provided the boating briefing and eight of us contained in 2 canoes and a rowing boat spent a very pleasant hour on the river on Sunday morning.
The Sir Alfred Munnings pub was the venu for our Saturday evening dinner with food that did not disappoint,the highlight being a starter called Assiette of Seafood.
All in all we could not find fault with any aspect of our weekend stay and will try hard to return when we have good cause.


Linda from Woodbridge stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in May 2016


Lovely accommodation in a beautiful spot

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house and the gardens were even nicer than they looked on the website. The house was well equipped and had absolutely everything we needed. The Mill and the local area are stunning and it was great being able to get out on the river.

Emma from West Byfleet stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in April 2016


Millers and the Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely marvellous place to stay. The whole party enjoyed everything about the cottages that we stayed in. Wheels are in motion with regards to another visit.

Martyn from Clifton stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in March 2016


A lovely new year break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely mill house where we spent new year. Lots of nice walks around. Fishing on site was particularly great and our teenagers loved it. Really enjoyed the break, the house was lovely. James and Nick were very welcoming. The only criticism if would be there was only one stand up shower in the house - and an upgrade to include a hot tub would be fantastic for the winter. Thank you ever so much.

Fiona from Weybridge stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in December 2015


A gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill is a really lovely place to stay with beautiful grounds and scenery. Nick and James are wonderful hosts and make you feel very welcome and I would highly recommend it. The whole family group of seven ladies thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend and will definitely return. Used the rowing boat and hope to try the canoes next time weather permitting.

Veronica from Cheshunt stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in October 2015


Idyllic spot in Waveny valley

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, swans, kingfisher and other birds enlivened our stay in this extremely comfortable and well appointed rental. The hosts were unfailingly helpful and friendly. Highly recommended.

Caroline from Llandovery stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in September 2015


Get away for 8 adult family members

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we drove on to the drive at Mendham Mill , we where so impressed with the gardens and setting and could not believe our luck to find such magnificent accommodation. We where meet by Nick and he was so proud to show us around (rightly so).The accommodation matched the setting everything was of high quality, from the cotton sheets to the white fluffy towels, the only problem we had was although the lounge furniture was comfortable it was very low, which made it difficult too exit from.
During our stay our host was always available, everyone was most pleasant but never intrusive.
Whilst this accommodation is of a very high standard, it felt very homely , and we felt very quickly very much part of the Mendham Mill community, which made it very difficult to leave.
We would strongly recommended Mendham Mill to anyone that enjoys a quality holiday, in a perfect setting.


Richard from Ely, Cambridgeshire stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in September 2015


The most beautiful place to stay in and old water mill ~ a haven of peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you're looking for excitement and adventure then this place probably isn't for you. But if for peace & tranquillity in the most beautiful water mill surrounded by gardens and water meadows, you will never find anything better than Mendham Mill.

From top to bottom, everything is high quality and well maintained. The beds are the best we have slept on with Egyptian cotton bedding. The furniture is a mixture of antique and tastefully chosen pieces.

With a mixture of private gardens, shared lawns and extensive water meadows there is always something to see and a haven of wildlife too.

The owners, Nick & James are the perfect hosts, both welcoming and informative.

Mendham Mill is well worth a visit if you're looking for somewhere to truly wind down from a busy life.


Guest from Murcott stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2015


A fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow the internet pictures really don't do this beautiful place justice. The grounds are amazing and each property has its own area. The canoes are great for exploring the river and having these right in your back garden is great.
The house is beautiful, with 8 adults in our party the house never felt over crowded.
This is the best equipped holiday let I have ever stayed in, with all the kitchen equipment needed to cook for 8 people for the whole week and the giant gas BBQ is fantastic.
I would recommend Mendham Mill to all my friends and family and will definitely be back. Thank you James & Nick you have a beautiful place to be proud of. Ten out of Ten! Jayne Turner and Family


Guest from Huddersfield stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2015


An excellent family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The setting at Mendham Mill is beautifully well maintained and we found the accommodation perfect for our needs. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and keen to make our stay the best experience it could be. We had a lovely break in which all the different members of our party enjoyed a range if activities.

Julie from Bedworth stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2015


Idyllic

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Miller's House provided a perfect place for a precious family get together with elderly parents. The grounds are breathtaking and the private area of garden next to the river simply invited us to drink that extra glass of chilled wine that none of us needed but all of us enjoyed whilst watching a pair of swans and their cygnets navigate the water. The house and grounds are conducive to simple pleasures such as a BBQ that stretches into the evening; reading on sun loungers in the afternoon sunshine; canoeing in the early evening; a game of cards with the family and a challenging crossword to round off the day. The location is ideal as a base for exploring the Broads and coast but it was rather too difficult to tear ourselves away so we have plenty left to do on our next visit. Many thanks to James and Nick for making us so welcome and sharing their beautiful home with us.

Guest from Yateley stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2015


The Miller's House

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic break at Mendham Mill. It is a tranquil, beautiful and relaxing setting. James and Nick were friendly and welcoming. The house was excellent too.

Guest from Maldon stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in June 2015


magical place, beautiful location, wonderful hosts.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly amazing setting, with wonderful grounds which are immaculately maintained. House was very clean and comfortable with all facilities. 3 generations of family enjoyed it, especially canoes and rowing boat and seeing all the wildlife. It is a hidden gem, off the main tourist route so nice and quiet but easily accessible and convenient to get to attractions through beautiful countryside. So beautiful here, you don't feel like venturing far at all. Thank you for sharing your stunning home James and Nick and for your warm welcome.

Guest from Ulverston stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in May 2015


Gorgeous Location and Grounds!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very sweet owners and Awesome location. Visited as 3 families staying in the Millers House. Utterly satisfied with all services. Wish them well. All the Best to Nick and James

Guest from Chelmsford stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in May 2015


Short spring break with friends

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed staying at the mill, playing games, watching ducklings & bunnies.
The weather was good to us & we used the boats; though be aware of blustery winds helping/hindering progress...


Sarah from Norwich stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in April 2015


A wonderful idyll

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Mendham Mill for four nights and found the house and grounds to be absolutely beautiful. The views from the many windows of the former mill house gave us fabulous views. Our hosts could not have been more helpful and the house was well stocked with everything that we needed. Beds were clean and comfortable, bathrooms were clean and lovely to use. The kitchen, dining and sitting areas were lovely to use, light and very airy. We loved watching the wildlife and hearing the birds in the morning. We could have gone rowing on the river had we wanted to. We travelled to Aldeburgh and also to Dedham to visit the Munnings Art Gallery which we found interesting. I would happily recommend this wonderful house to other people.

Guest from Bedford stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in April 2015


Review of the Millers house Feb 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Millers house is set in a tranquil spot surrounded by beautiful gardens and stream, you could just sit and admire the view all day long. The House has a small courtyard garden and then a little gate led you to the stream behind the house where you could take a canoe and paddle down stream or just go for a walk and explore the extensive gardens if you you wished. The owners are helpful and live nearby , if you have any questions they are not far away. The house is extremely well equipped with everything that you could possibly need. The beds were comfortable the sheets pristine white and the towels extremely soft. The water pressure in the showers was very good. All the bedrooms are a good size and comfortably furnished. We brought our dog and a large of towels were supplied for muddy paws by the owners. There are many country walks and country pubs close by you are spoiled for choice and the lovely little town of Harleston is only 10 minutes drive away.
The Millers cottage is a little peace of heaven and I would definetly come and stay again.


Guest from London stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in February 2015


splendid weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We got together as a family to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday and despite pretty atrocious weather we had a really good time. The Miller's House was beautifully situated, stylish and comfortable and James, the owner, was welcoming and very helpful. The younger ones enjoyed kayaking too. Would love to return in the sunshine!

Tina from Royston stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in November 2014


splendid weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We got together as a family to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday and despite pretty atrocious weather we had a really good time. The Miller's House was beautifully situated, stylish and comfortable and James, the owner, was welcoming and very helpful. The younger ones enjoyed kayaking too. Would love to return in the sunshine!

Tina from Royston stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in November 2014


Short break at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location by river with built in fishing/boating if required.
Very welcoming hosts. Initial supply of basics included.
Comfortable. Good pub.



Guest from Welwyn stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in October 2014


Peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Miller's House is in a beautiful location and is also beautifully and comfortably furnished. It is also very well equipped. For example, it is both a little unusual but very refreshing to find such attention to detail in the provision of items such as dish washer tablets, tea cloths, dish cloths etc. Not glamorous but essential and so easy to forget!

The only point to emphasise for any other dog owners is that dogs do have to be kept on a lead in the communal garden areas but I found the use of an extension lead meant my dog could still explore. There is also a 'freedom field' where dogs can be left off the lead and there will be other places around where dogs can be free while being aware of any livestock etc. although our group did not walk in the immediate area so cannot be sure of this. This does lead to the only (very) slight criticism which is that some information on walks/public footpaths in the area would be helpful.

The owners are extremely helpful and are warmly welcoming. They will also give guidance about good places to eat and to visit. Overall a truly delightful stay.


Guest from Kempston stayed at The Miller's House for 3 nights in October 2014


Peace and quiet and beautifull surroundings.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Five busy women took time out from family and career to escape to the country at Mendham Mill.

The Mill is extremely attractive and set in beautifull gardens and rolling countryside. The only noise you hear is from the many birds and the flow of water through this lovely mill. There are streams, ponds and fields all around.

Great fun was had as five women took to the rowing boat on their last day and attempted to navigate the river and stream at the back of 'The Mill House ' somewhat disturbing the the peace temporarily!

Our house was clean, comfortable and spacious. We also appreciated the constant hot water and heated towel rails.



Guest from Hassocks stayed at The Miller's House for 4 nights in September 2014


A little bit of peaceful heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill is one of the loveliest places we have stayed Not only are the grounds superbly kept and managed together with the river areas the accommodation is absolutely superb Everywhere is spotlessly clean and in the bathrooms sensible things had been added like hand wash, body wash, plenty of extra toilet rolls (very rare to find) and lovely soft towels and flannels. The kitchen was beautiful with everything you could imagine supplied and how lovely to see caddies full of coffee, sugar and tea bags (again very rare) when you arrive. The beds are extremely comfortable and the textiles throughout the accommodation are very tasteful and matching in a lot of rooms. A real 'gem' in every respect and the owners cannot do enough to make sure your stay is everything you hoped it would be!!

Guest from Felixstowe stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in September 2014


Our stay at The Miller's House.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at The Miller's House was a very enjoyable week's holiday. The accommodation was first class and very comfortable.
The ground's were stunning and well looked after. We also enjoyed the fishing with our family get together.
I would recommend this property to anyone wishing to have a relaxing holiday.
The Gregory Family.


Guest from Notts stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2014


The Miller's House

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were warmly greeted by the owners, James and Nick, who made us feel very welcome. The property was well equipped and was set in lovely gardens with the river flowing through the gardens.

Guest from St. Albans stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2014


A Summer Break at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful week at Mendham Mill in the beautiful Waveney Valley. The Miller's House was very comfortable and clean, and, as usual, owners James and Nick were on hand with a warm welcome and helpful advice whenever needed.

Guest from London stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2014


A hidden gem

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week long stay. A real hidden gem with something for everyone. Beautiful scenery and superb accommodation. The hospitality from James and Nick was exceptional. Would highly recommend.

Kate from Ilkeston stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in August 2014


A Family Holiday at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
James and Nick,our two hosts,gave us a very warm welcome with lots of information about the layout of the accommodation and the grounds and were always at hand if we had any queries. Twelve of us,three generations shared The Miller's House and The Lodge.Being able to seat twelve around one table for an evening meal was a great plus. Also plenty of places to sit around in beautiful surroundings and a very efficient barbecue with a big table again for eating.

We all enjoyed being able to canoe on The River Waveney and the two young boys spent a lot of time fishing despite not catching anything. (Another guest spent the whole week fishing with a lot of success including a five pound pike) The grounds have some very interesting trees,shrubs and plants and the mill still has the original waterwheel. The Sir Alfred Munnings connection is very strong.

The nearby little town of Harleston is almost a throwback to the fifties with hardly any of the usual chain stores and a pleasure to shop in.Lots of pleasant little villages to pass through and some interesting places on the coast such as Southwold. We really didn't have enough time to do everything as Mendham Mill and grounds were so relaxing and enticing that it was difficult to leave. Just the place to recharge your batteries. In all, a lovely place to spend a week's holiday.


Guest from Penryn stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2014


family together

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful week in every respect.The location was beautiful.The cottage could not be better.The hosts were charming and most welcoming.A perfect stay.

Guest from Market Harborough stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in July 2014


Go on, treat yourself!

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently spent a week in The Millers House. It was like our home away from home with every comfort we could think of. It felt more like our own home than holiday accommodation and it is not often that we feel this way.The gardens were lush, green and well tended ,a joy to behold.
Our charming hosts Nick and James gave us a warm welcome and were always on hand with help and a friendly chat.
We were so happy with our choice of self catering accommodation, and loved every moment of it, even the swim in the river Waveney after a canoe trip went slightly wrong.
We can highly recommend Mendham Mill. Go on, treat yourself! You will not regret it.







Guest from Highveld stayed at The Miller's House for 7 nights in June 2014