FB Twitter

The Writer's Cottage

The Writer's Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


The Writer's Cottage, in Deal, Kent is a cosy holiday cottage sleeping 4 people in 2 bedrooms. This child friendly cottage also allows pets and has a private sunny garden, making it the perfect family seaside getaway.

Mrs Lorraine Scales

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Writers Cottage was in an ideal location for a relaxing week in Deal. We have been to Deal numerous times but have never stayed in the town centre. We discovered many more pubs bars and restaurants away from the seafront. The cottage was immaculate as always, if a bit small for 4 adults! Thank you for an fabulous stay.

Lorraine from Coggeshall stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2022


Nice place in Deal with every comfort and garden.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very nice stay in this well equiped house with nice garden. It's dog friendly and the organisation is very good. Ideal if you want to spend some time on the coat.

Dirk from Gent stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 2 nights in June 2022


A pleasant, well located cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Special thanks to the very helpful staff of Keepers Cottages for arranging this cottage at short notice.
Location -very good, easy walkable distance to beach, shops and dog-friendly pub.
A nicely furnished and well equipped modernised property.
The shower floor needs an optional shower safety mat as it was alarmingly slippery when wet, for us oldies!
We were unable to access any table linen or mats as they were presumably kept in the adjacent locked cupboard?
Some confusion over rubbish bin - no access via back gate which was padlocked.
Note to owner: the instructions for the TV were inaccurate as the input to be selected was HDM1, rather than HDM12.


Bryan from Enfield stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 3 nights in June 2022


Cottage house with garden at the coast

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice place. Dogfriendly. All comfort. Garden. A little bit expensive. Good location. Helpful team.

Dirk from Belgium stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 2 nights in May 2022


Charming, perfect house in heart of Deal

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a lovely house right by Deal High Street, this place is perfect. It’s on a quiet street with a backyard but inches away from the coffee shops and restaurants that make Deal a fun place to visit. The house itself is charming and is beautifully designed and furnished. An ideal place for a couple or a family of 4.

Guest from Brooklyn stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 2 nights in March 2022


Break in Deal

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortabale house with garden. Well equiped. Nice for exploring the beaches and cliffs in the region. Dog-friendly. Very good communication.

Dirk from Gent stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 2 nights in February 2022


A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed a long weekend at the Writer's Cottage. A cosy place in an ideal location to explore Deal and the great things it has to offer from history to dining out. The Cottage was immaculately clean, lots of nice extra touches, well stocked with appliances and all you need stuff. Lovely garden. Could not fault this place and would highly recommend it.

Sean from East Barnet stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 4 nights in February 2022


Beautiful cottage with tonnes of charm

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It would take a week's holiday to merely find all the various books around at the appropriately named Writer's Cottage! There is a luxurious bath and a cute garden, and the well-stocked honesty bar was a lovely touch. Bonus points for being on the more independent and foodie end of the High St.

Max from stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Wonderful Cottage in the Centre of Deal

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in The Writers Cottage. Perfect for 4 plus dog. The garden was such a luxury in the centre of Deal and lovely to be able to walk to the restaurants and beach so easily.
The cottage had everything we needed, with lovely touches around the place.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.


Guest from London stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 4 nights in July 2021


A delightful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Although we know Deal very well, this was the first time we have stayed in the centre of town and we loved it. The cottage was very welcoming and, for once, the sofas were comfortable with good support for the back. We liked the garden, but would have preferred the lawn to have been mowed. The kitchen ware was excellent and we really valued having a toilet on the same floor as the bedrooms.

Deal was as great as ever and Miretti's cakes and coffee still wonderful.

PS We parked in the Market place car park for approx £5 a day. As Londoners, used to expensive parking, this was fine. There is also a car park around the corner in West Street.


Heather from stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Typical Deal cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jun 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just spent two days in this small but comfortable cottage close to the High Street and short walk to sea front. Car parking (£6/day) close by.
Well equipped kitchen in basement as well as spacious bathroom with bath and excellent shower.
Double bedroom was tight but bed was comfortable. Larger twin bedded room.
Ground floor lounge was fine and garden looked inviting through the rain!!
Stairs, in common with most cottages in or near to historic centre were narrow and steep.
We enjoyed our stay there and Keepers staff as usual responded immediately when contacted about minor issue


John from Shorne stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 2 nights in June 2021


Lovely time at the Writer's Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great location for exploring Deal, almost on the High Street but without the hustle and bustle (too close to the fishmongers and French deli if you are planning on leaving the same size as you arrived!) and very close to the seafront. Considering it is in town it is remarkably quiet. I was lucky to experience a mini heat wave when I first arrived so I can see the sheltered garden off the kitchen would be fab for outdoor dining in the summer. Then came the north wind, it was pretty cold out on the seafront (snowed one day !) but sooooo cosy in the cottage it was super to come back after every outing.
The Writer's Cottage has everything you could need for a fantastic break in Deal, I would very much recommend it and also the service received from the Keepers Cottages.


niamh from stayed at The Writer's Cottage for 14 nights in March 2021