FB Twitter

Walnut

Walnut

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 36 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Wonderful location and great with kids

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very spacious and cosy accomodation. Lovely views and lots of things to do on the terrain! The games room was a big success for the kids as well as the outside play area. A good starting point for some great trips in the cotswolds.

We enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend this place for some rural luxury.


Marthijn from Heiloo stayed at Walnut for 8 nights in April 2022


Mon Barbour replied 3 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such an amazing review! Great to hear your children enjoyed our games rooms, games lawn and our stunning grounds. Great to hear you were able to visit some of the many beautiful attractions nearby in the Cotswolds. We hope you back back and stay again! Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Not enough superlatives…..

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We continue to return to Heath Farm time after time for the simple reason this is the perfect place to stay in the Cotswolds. From the quality high end accommodation to the beautiful grounds and location to the fabulous homely welcome from the Barbour family. We have one single complaint - having to leave. It’s always a wrench to come away from Heath Farm. But always a joy to come back. Thank you again for allowing us to enjoy your wonderful home and for making us feel so welcome. x

Wendy from Houghton-le-Spring stayed at Walnut for 6 nights in April 2022


Mon Barbour replied 30 days ago
What an amazing review! When the only complaint is having to leave then you know you're keeping your wonderful guests happy! Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Luxury in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Walnut Cottage which was pure luxury! The accommodation was exceptional and the hosts go above and beyond to make sure every detail of your stay is top notch. The barbecue and jacuzzi in the private garden were much used on sunny days, while we also loved having picnics on the grounds, fishing in the dam, and admiring the beautiful farm. Kudos to the team, we will be back!

Kim from London stayed at Walnut for 6 nights in March 2022


Mon Barbour replied 47 days ago
A huge thank you for your five star review! It's always great to have such appreciative guests who also make best use of all the extra little touches we provide in the cottage and on the farm. We sincerely hope to see your family again at some point in the future! Kind Regards The Barbour Family

A magical weekend in the countryside

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s hard to adequately sum up our experience but ‘magical’ comes close.
100% recommend, especially for those with young kids (our 4 year old loved it).
Brilliant amenities, lovely staff happy to help and outstanding rustic luxury.
We’ll be back!


Ben from Wakefield stayed at Walnut for 2 nights in February 2022


Mon Barbour replied 95 days ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We hope to see you again one day at Heath Farm.

Perfect place to unwind

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived at Walnut at Heath Farm Cottages we were made to feel welcome and felt instantly at home. Once our excitement had subsided from seeing how stunning Walnut was and that there was a great record collection for us to rifle through we felt ready to relax and unwind. The main living area is a great size, the handmade wooden fittings and furniture are beautiful. The three big comfy sofas to relax on in front of the fire were to be used extensively throughout our stay! A great place to read books or play chess (games compendium supplied). The bedroom upstairs is super cosy and has amazing views over the paddock down to the pond. Loved the bathroom, huge bath and great walk in shower and lovely eco friendly products. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. But what makes this cottage completely perfect is the private garden and hot tub! Nothing quite like sitting in a hot tub under a beautiful tree watching the sun set. The farm has extensive grounds with plenty of great walks through the woodland and several crazy pheasants to take you by surprise! The location of Heath Farm Cottages is fantastic as a base for visiting the beautiful Cotswold villages, towns and countryside. We only managed to drag ourselves away from the luxury of Walnut for one day though! Heath Farm is committed to practising eco friendly practices which is clear to see around he farm and in the cottages. Overall, stunning accommodation, great location and lovely hosts. Can't wait to go back!

Julie from Poole, Dorset stayed at Walnut for 6 nights in January 2022


Mon Barbour replied 107 days ago
Wow! This is by far the best and most comprehensive review I've seen for some time! Thank you so much for all the amazing compliments about the cottage, grounds and us. We get immense pleasure from receiving such high accolade from guests and it's the reward we need to continue to maintain and develop our business. We sincerely hope we do see you again at some point in the future. I'm hoping to make a few extra improvements to Walnut this year, most notably a new fridge freezer, new outdoor staircase and a hand crafted hardwood gazebo roof for the hot tub to stop the pine needles going in the hot tub! Kind Regards Mon Barbour

Walnut Wonderland

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a week in Walnut just before Xmas and loved the magical atmosphere and woodlands. Feeding the lake trout, spotting muntjacs in the forest mist, enjoying the silence by the fire-it was a truly peaceful and rehabilitating time. Worth seeing the old abandoned railway viaducts in Hook Norton and the standing stones in Rollright. The cottage is beautifully designed with top class fittings and every effort to make a comfortable stay is made.
We have rebooked for next Xmas already


David from Shoreham By Sea stayed at Walnut for 7 nights in December 2021


Mon Barbour replied 158 days ago
What a wonderful review! Thank you so much for your appreciation of all the hard work, care and diligence we take in looking after for our little oasis in the Cotswolds. We look forward to seeing you again next December if not before! Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Beautiful place in a lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The pictures on the website do not do this place justice, it is really stunning. The staff were super helpful responding to all my questions in advance and were very welcoming on arrival. Would certainly recommend to friends. Tip tho: book dinner reservations well in advance or you may be hungry!

James from Purley stayed at Walnut for 2 nights in October 2021


Mon Barbour replied 192 days ago
Dear James Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review! We strive to provide the very best in self catering accommodation and pride ourselves on every aspect of running a spotless ship. Great to hear your expectations were exceeded and sorry if you had issues booking space at nearby restaurants/pubs. The Boxing Hare is particularly important to book in advance as it's hugely popular. We hope to see you again one day and we'd recommend staying for longer as it's far better value fr money the longer you stay as our prices are based on a percentage of our weekly price and not a nightly rate. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

The perfect place to relax and recharge!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If your looking for a place to relax this is the place for you! Set in wonderful surroundings and peace and quiet Heathfarm has it all!

Beautiful walks and close to many lovely Cotswold villages to explore and then back to relax in a cottage with “everything” you need.

Cannot recommend Heathfarm highly enough I can guarantee you will want to return again.





Ann from Solihull stayed at Walnut for 5 nights in October 2021


Mon Barbour replied 192 days ago
It's even better when we get returning guests leaving such consistently amazing reviews so thank you so much for that! We look forward to seeing you again next year. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Walnut was very enoyable, the accommodation is very well equipped and the bed was really comfortable. We enjoyed our evening dips in our own hot tub and alfresco dining with a lovely fire in the chiminea, all in our own private garden. The location is ideal for easy access to Oxford and Blenheim Palace or just relax in the lovely surroundings of Heath Farm. A real bonus for us as EV drivers was the access to on site charging. David and his family were very welcoming.

Janet from Martock stayed at Walnut for 7 nights in September 2021


Mon Barbour replied 250 days ago
We're so happy you had a great time at Heath Farm. It sounds like you made best use of the new private garden with hot tub! Evenings in the garden whilst the sun sets are truly special! Our free E.V charger is starting to gain popularity with more and more guests switching to electric vehicles which is what we like to see. We hope to see you again one day. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

A wonderful way to emerge from lockdown

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Going to Heath Farm was my first trip away from home for 2 years. I am sure that the holiday would have been memorable at any time, but for me it also served as a beautiful transition. I felt both safe and adventurous. The grounds were a perfect place to regain my confidence and the location meant that there were some great places to visit once I had.

Gillian from Littlebourn stayed at Walnut for 3 nights in July 2021


Mon Barbour replied 320 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review, very much appreciated! It means a great deal to us that you felt safe during your stay and it's so good to hear your stay with us helped your confidence after such traumatic year or so. We do hope you come back and stay with us again at some point in the future. Kind Regards The Barbour family

A Great Short Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Of the 5 cottages, we chose the Walnut primarily because it had a walk in shower as we struggle with the in-bath showers. The owners were really helpful and responded quickly to our questions (regarding EV charging) and were on hand when we arrived. The cottage itself is spacious, comfortable, well appointed and cleaned to a very high standard and we felt very safe and comfortable there. The grounds were quite extensive with various amenities such as croquet nearby. The one black mark against it is that the shower can only be described as pathetic and the hot water never got really hot. For those of a certain age the loo being downstairs from the bedroom could be an issue but, for the majority of people, the Walnut should offer a nice relaxing break on the edge of some splendid countryside.

Doug from Bury St Edmunds stayed at Walnut for 3 nights in May 2021


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great and informative review. We're very happy you enjoyed the experience with us and hope you return again one day. We're aware about the water pressure in the shower and we've been looking to fit a power shower to that bathroom for some time but it's not a straight forward job but we will continue to see how we can best improve the situation. For future reference both Beechnut cottage and Cobnut cottage have walk in power showers which are both fantastic. There are just two stairs to negotiate in Beechnut cottage between bathroom and bedroom and with Cobnut there's a single stair. Both of these cottages also have light sensors which turn a subtle light on if you need the loo in the middle of the night. We hope to see you again one day. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Idyllic stay in the countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay throughout and am very intent on returning! Every aspect was superb- from the cabin layout and finish, tjr cleanliness, the amenities available , the fireplace, the hot tub, the games room and most of all the warmth and attention to detail by Mon to ensure we had a first class experience (flowers and cake on arrival). We were a couple with a toddler and an infant celebrating a birthday with a getaway - and it was perfect!!

Guest from London stayed at Walnut for 3 nights in May 2021


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Daphna Thank you so much for your amazing review! It gives us great pleasure to know we've helped create a wonderful and memorable holiday for our guests. We strive to do the best we can to ensure our high standards are maintained and are constantly looking at new additions which could enhance the experience for our guests. We do hope you can return again one to day. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Terrific stay at Heath Farm Cottages to celebrate our daughter in laws birthday. As well as being supremely comfortable, Walnut Cottage comes with a private garden and hot tub. Excellently situated for Oxford, Blenheim Palace and Bicester Village retail complex with some fine eating establishments near by. All round, first class.

Michael from Withnell, Chorley stayed at Walnut for 4 nights in April 2021


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful 5 star review. It gives us great pleasure to know we've helped create a fantastic space for our guests to be able to unwind, relax and enjoy. The new garden with hot tub is certainly a great addition in Walnut. We hope to see you again one day. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Pure bliss!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family stayed at Heathfarm, just after the Covid Lockdown ended in April 2021, and we cannot recommend Walnut cottage highly enough! This was our second time at Heathfarm and once again everything needed was on hand to enjoy our stay.

Walnut is a beautiful cottage, designed to meet all your needs and more. So much space to enjoy and relax and all the luxury the cottage gives you. You will be totally impressed with the care that the owners have taken to ensure you have a wonderful stay.

A new addition this year are two hot tubs and beautiful little gardens to relax in where you can watch the sun set and add to the whole experience in such special surroundings.




Ann from Solihull stayed at Walnut for 5 nights in April 2021


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review! As a returning guest it's of the highest compliment that we have managed to make additions to the facilities to make your stay even more enjoyable than before! The hot tubs seemed to be very well received as did the improvements to the games room. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Amazing idyllic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time. The cottage was cosy yet spacious with amazing views from every window. There is also plenty to explore on the farm, our son had an amazing time looking at the sheeps, fishes and running in the fields. He even see a deer. Will definitely be coming again. Thank you to the family for also being so welcoming.

Aisha from London stayed at Walnut for 5 nights in December 2020


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a 5 star review! It's wonderful to know your family really appreciated the cottage and grounds. Wildlife teems in all seasons and wintertime is no exception! As hosts we try to be as helpful and welcoming as we can to enure you feel at home & relaxed. We do hope you return again one day maybe to experience nature in another season.

An amazing place

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time that we have stayed at Heath Farm and loved it just as much. The properties are beautiful, well equipped and we had a wonderful time. Thank you.

Sharee from Marlborough stayed at Walnut for 3 nights in October 2020


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the 5 star review, It's especially rewarding as even second time around it's just as great for you! We hope to see you again. Kind Regards The Barbour family

Fabulous location and beautiful cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a long weekend and everything was perfect. Wonderfully clean beautiful furniture and everything we needed and beyond to enjoy your stay! Games outside was a bonus and also a play barn. We will be back and totally can recommend.

Guest from Solihull stayed at Walnut for 3 nights in October 2020


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review! We're so happy you managed to make the most of the games lawn & games room! It's a great combination for youngsters having the space and freedom to play outside and to use all the equipment in the games shed and also being able to have a games room to enjoy when the weather isn't so great. We especially appreciate your glowing comments on our furniture which was all made in our own joinery shop here at Heath Farm. We hope you return again one day and hopefully next time for a week (which is better value too!) so you've more time to relax, unwind, explore and rejuvenate! Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfectly lovely, the place was absolutely beautiful and we very much enjoyed our stay. We didn't want to go home and will certainly be back.

Hollie from Dawlish Warren stayed at Walnut for 3 nights in October 2020


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and even better that you liked it so much you want to return! Hopefully next time you'll be able to stay much longer, you'll also find it's far better value for money the longer you stay as our prices are based on a percentage of our weekly price, once you get beyond 3 days you're only paying 6% of the weekly price for each extra day you stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

A lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was perfect and ideal to be able to charge our electric car. Lovely stay, would go again

Leanne from London stayed at Walnut for 3 nights in August 2020


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
A big thank you for leaving us a 5 star review. It's good to see the complimentary E.V car charger getting used! Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Still our favourite Cotswolds home

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time in Walnut and it didn’t disappoint. Very spacious and comfortable, and with everything you would want from a holiday home. Mon and the family are perfect hosts. Everything was sorted to ensure the cottage was Covid secure which gave us confidence even before we arrived. The bedroom is upstairs and provides for a lovely and cosy night’s sleep. The spacious dining and sitting area is so lovely to come back to after a busy day out and about. The bathroom is amazing with a deep bath tub and a wonderful walk in power shower. We love Heath Farm and have already booked to return next year. Thank you again Mon and family for letting us stay in your beautiful home. An absolute gem in the heart of the Cotswolds.

Wendy from Houghton Le Spring stayed at Walnut for 14 nights in July 2020


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for another wonderful review! We're so happy you had a great time back with us again but in a new cottage for yourselves. We've taken great care over the Covid pandemic and are constantly evolving our procedures to ensure everyone remains as safe as possible without compromising on the extra little touches we add to the cottages. Hopefully by next year Walnut & Chestnut will have their private gardens completed and with Hot Tubs! See you next year. Kind Regards The Barbour Family xxx

Fantastic.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation and surroundings, I can’t recommend it highly enough. A return visit is definitely on the cards.

Barry from Penicuik stayed at Walnut for 2 nights in January 2020


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5 star review! We constantly maintain and care for our cottages in order to make sure our high standards of cleanliness and detail are upheld. We hope to see you again one day in the future. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heath Farm is always a favourite self-catering holiday for us. We have stayed in all ‘cottages’ and all are as excellent as each other.

Peter from Leatherhead stayed at Walnut for 6 nights in October 2019


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Great to welcome you back home again! Thank you for all your praise and 5 star review, very much appreciated. So glad you had another excellent stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Our stay in The Walnut

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Top location in the Cotswolds. Everything one need can be found in the Walnut. Only point of attention is to improve WiFi / Internet connection.

E from Riethoven stayed at Walnut for 7 nights in September 2019


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review! We very much appreciate you taking the time to reward us with a fine review and also to provide valuable feedback. We take great pride in providing superior crafted and maintained cottages and it's always rewarding to receive high praise over the cleanliness, service, comfort and idyllic location of the cottages and farm. We may not be the cheapest but we think we are among the best! I have today contacted a specialist company who will be visiting us this week to upgrade our internal WiFi network to resolve the WiFi issues as we currently actually have a 100Mbs connection coming into the farm. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

One night stay in Walnut

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although we only stayed the one night, the Walnut cottage was very lovely and had everything you would need for a full week stay. The family who owned Heath Farm couldn’t be more helpful and friendly.
Lovely location and very close to some result nice pubs.


Richard from stayed at Walnut for 1 nights in June 2019


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review which is greatly appreciated. Our prices for 1-2 night stays are rather expensive as we really target people staying for longer. This is mainly due to the high standards of cleanliness we offer, Walnut cottage takes at least 6 hours to clean a and prepare each time which is reflected in the price for super short stays. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Warm, Comfortable Country Setting

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a quaint country setting in the Cotswolds for our Holiday. The Walnut Apartment at Heath Farm fit the bill. The space is ample with a lovely living and dining area downstairs and two sleeping areas upstairs. It would certainly work well for a family with two children, although we only used the master bedroom. The craftsmanship of the apartment is astounding with the wood and stone working. The vistas from the windows are striking and well planned. A few minor critiques, one unfixable, one known to the owner and one that might be corrected. The luxurious bathroom is downstairs necessitating a walk down the staircase at night, not the most convenient option. The apartment has no direct access to the signature courtyard, you must walk around. Originally, there was to be a staircase for direct ingress and egress from the courtyard, but cost constraints tabled the project. Time to move forward with it in our opinion. Finally, there was no simple area for ladies to do their hair and makeup. The bath lacks the necessary electrical outlets and the beautiful window in the master bedroom is also somewhat removed from electrical outlets and needs a chair or sitting place for ladies to put on make up/do their hair. The Barbour family (owners) are wonderful and accommodating hosts - we could not have asked for better. The grounds are large and meticulously maintained offering many options for walks and adventures. If desiring a holiday in the north Cotswolds, we would recommend Heath Farm without reservation.

Wendy from Tampa stayed at Walnut for 7 nights in May 2019


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and detailed review. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had such a great time here at Heath Farm. I was particularly grateful for the feedback about the three minor critiques you pointed out. The first one, the bathroom is certainly something that won't change and it is an inconvenience to have to walk downstairs at night compared to having an en-suite bathroom for sure. The direct access to the courtyard I hope will be resolved within the year. We have to locate and install a cast iron spiral staircase from the French Door in the living room. It's very high on the priority list! The final critique is something which we will sort out within the month as all the rest of the cottages do have a seating area with power points and a mirror. Once the cottage is empty for more than a day or two we will carry out alterations to the bedroom in order to create a suitable space for doing hair & make up. Without such feedback we can't make additions to our cottages to enhance the next guests stay. Thank you so much and do please come back again! All the best The Barbour family

Peaceful beyond belief

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage within beautiful surroundings, everything we hoped it would be and more, only had a few nights but would have loved to have more. Well equipped you won’t be disappointed if you book here, we certainly weren’t and if your looking for peace and quiet look no further .

Aaron from Croydon stayed at Walnut for 2 nights in February 2019


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a perfect review! We get great satisfaction knowing we've helped create a perfect holiday for our guests. We strive to make sure our exacting standards are kept and all necessary updates and maintenance are carried out in a timely manner. We do hope you manage to come back again one day. The Barbour family.

Walnut is a beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends & I love walnut cottage!

The decor, the setting, the fire, the grounds of Heath Farm all made for a wonderful haven for my birthday weekend with friends. I can’t wait to visit again!


Morven from St.albans stayed at Walnut for 2 nights in November 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
A huge thanks for leaving a perfect review. Great to hear you had a wonderful birthday break and we look forward to your return! Do make sure you state you're a returning guest when booking again so we can apply discounts. We very much appreciate it when our guests enjoy the wonderful surroundings and grounds as well as the craftsmanship and cleanliness of the cottage itself. Many Thanks The Barbours

Fantastic.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights here and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Beautiful cottage, the Walnut itself being absolutely everything I’d been looking for during my search of a place to stay. David and the family were very pleasant and helpful, and the condition of the place couldn’t be faulted at all. The atmosphere was just spot on, and the cottage is no more than 10 minutes in the car from quaint and lovely nearby towns.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, would 100% reccomend it to anyone, and would love to stay again.


Dylan from Newbiggin By The Sea stayed at Walnut for 4 nights in November 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a fantastic review about Walnut Cottage, it's very much appreciated. We're so happy you had an amazing break and that the cottage lived up to your expectations. We hope you manage to come back again for another special occasion! Thank you The Barbours

Great place

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Made really welcome by the owners, clean and tidy self contained cottage with plenty of room,smaller kitchen but had all you need in it to fend for yourself.
The place is set in beautiful surroundings.
nice to be welcomed as a group of lads working away from home, really impressed would recommend to anyone whether on business or pleasure


Brett from Southsea stayed at Walnut for 4 nights in November 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! It's very much appreciated and we're happy you had a relaxing stay even though it was for work. We hope you can make it back again sometime. Kind Regards The Barbour family

Tranquility in the Costwolds

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Walnut Cottage for four nights for my son and me to have a short break. Heath Farm is a charming bolt hole set in well-kept, extensive grounds. My son was delighted to discover there was a flying strip too for R/C planes, so we spent a wonderful evening up there until the sun went down. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t conducive to flying again, but that gave us the excuse to light the fire in the cottage and crack open a bottle of red.

The location is ideal – so many favourite places in the Costswolds to visit within a 10 to 20-minute drive. The Barbour family clearly works very hard to keep everything running smoothly and make guests feel extremely welcome.


Helen from Haywards Heath stayed at Walnut for 4 nights in September 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. It always pleases us to know that we've given someone a special and memorable holiday. We hope that you come back again one day so that your son can make better use of our model aircraft and kite flying strip. There's so much to do on the farm and nearby that one trip just isn't enough! We do also recommend staying for a week as our pricing structure means it's much better value for money than shorter breaks plus you'll have more time to unwind, relax and enjoy all that's on offer here at Heath Farm and the surrounding area.

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heath Farm is a great place to stay - very helpful and friendly owners and lovely grounds to explore, but also really peaceful and quiet. The cottages are well furnshed and also have lots of character. Location is quite remote - one of the attractions for us - but a good base from which to explore the Cotswolds.

Richard from Leeds stayed at Walnut for 7 nights in August 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We're happy you managed to have a peaceful time at the farm even in the school holidays! We hope you make it back again some time as there's so much to do, see and explore in the Cotswolds. Kind Regards

A beautiful property in amazing Cotswolds

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in the "Walnut" cottage at Heath Farm Holidays Cottages for 3 days in June. It was one of the best stays during our holiday in UK. Our girls, 11 and 6 years old totally enjoyed the woods and the grounds. It was absolutely quiet and serene. Property is very well maintained and cottage was very well equipped. Nena and the staff have put in lot of thought and care in preparing the cottage for our stay. It was very comfortable and spacious. The only thing that was missing was a fan since it was extremely hot and was a bit unbearable in the nights. Otherwise, we had the most amazing time at Heath Farm Cottages.

Vini from Singapore stayed at Walnut for 2 nights in June 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a glowing review, it certainly is very much appreciated and it's reassuring to know our standards of cleanliness and preparation are noticed. It's also great to know your girls enjoyed the grounds and woodland where they could run riot! The new games shed up by the croquet lawn has certainly been popular with the children who've stayed this season. We're sorry to hear you experienced discomfort due to the exceptional high heats last week, even with windows open on three sides of the building and the thick stone walls it was still very warm. This was the first time in 25 years of running the cottages that this has happened. If we had known or foresaw the situation (or you had requested one on the first night) we would have supplied fans for you. One of which resides in the games room opposite the entrance to Walnut Cottage. We have now adjusted our website descriptions on all cottages to state "Fans available upon request." to help avoid such a situation again. I hope we get the opportunity to greet you back again one day. Kind Regards Kind Regards

A magical place!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting,wonderful accommodation, peaceful and calming atmosphere. Lovely hosts. Lots to see and do in the surrounding area.

Pip & Stephen from Holmrook stayed at Walnut for 7 nights in June 2018


Wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a brilliant stay with a gang of friends - the cottages were gorgeous and the grounds beautiful. Mon and family were very welcoming and helpful and we’re all planning to come back! Highly recommended.

Tara from London stayed at Walnut for 2 nights in May 2018


Cotswold holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a warm welcome on our arrival from Peter (the owners were themselves on holiday) who showed us the accommodation and answered our questions. The equipment was easy to use and the accommodation everything we wanted, the bed was really comfortable and waking to birdsong was a real tonic. As we had arrived at the end of March to celebrate our birthdays as well as an Easter break, we did not expect great weather, we had 2 warm evenings where we could sit out in the lovely garden but after that made use of the log fire. Heath farm is well located for loads of National Trust properties as well as the lovely villages in the area, we even had a day trip to Bletchley Park, about an hours drive away. We made good use of onsite Cotswold bakery, his cakes were fabulous. We also made use of the photo shoot option, the walk around the grounds for photos with Ivor was great and we have a lovely canvas to remind us of our stay. We hope to be back and would recommend Heath Farm and walnut cottage.

Patricia from Wallsend stayed at Walnut for 10 nights in March 2018


Relaxing country hideaway

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Walnut cottage is a beautiful and well crafted “cottage” which is situated in the the upper 2 floors of a barn conversion. It has a wonderful light and spacious feel while still being very cosy. We stayed when it was snowing and the real wood fireplace with unlimited wood was an amazing touch and used throughout our stay.The kitchen was very well equipped and the bathroom luxurious with a great soaking tub and stone shower. The farm itself was beautiful with plenty of activities and walks on offer but make sure you take wellingtons! We didn’t think to and it can be quite muddy! The service we received was very friendly, informative and yet unobtrusive. Would definitely love to return and experience the farm in different seasons.

Anthony from London stayed at Walnut for 3 nights in March 2018