FB Twitter

Walnut

Walnut

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Walnut is a beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends & I love walnut cottage!

The decor, the setting, the fire, the grounds of Heath Farm all made for a wonderful haven for my birthday weekend with friends. I can’t wait to visit again!


Morven from St.albans stayed at Walnut for 2 nights in November 2018


Mon Barbour replied 6 days ago
A huge thanks for leaving a perfect review. Great to hear you had a wonderful birthday break and we look forward to your return! Do make sure you state you're a returning guest when booking again so we can apply discounts. We very much appreciate it when our guests enjoy the wonderful surroundings and grounds as well as the craftsmanship and cleanliness of the cottage itself. Many Thanks The Barbours

Fantastic.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights here and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Beautiful cottage, the Walnut itself being absolutely everything I’d been looking for during my search of a place to stay. David and the family were very pleasant and helpful, and the condition of the place couldn’t be faulted at all. The atmosphere was just spot on, and the cottage is no more than 10 minutes in the car from quaint and lovely nearby towns.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, would 100% reccomend it to anyone, and would love to stay again.


Dylan from Newbiggin By The Sea stayed at Walnut for 4 nights in November 2018


Mon Barbour replied 8 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a fantastic review about Walnut Cottage, it's very much appreciated. We're so happy you had an amazing break and that the cottage lived up to your expectations. We hope you manage to come back again for another special occasion! Thank you The Barbours

Great place

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Made really welcome by the owners, clean and tidy self contained cottage with plenty of room,smaller kitchen but had all you need in it to fend for yourself.
The place is set in beautiful surroundings.
nice to be welcomed as a group of lads working away from home, really impressed would recommend to anyone whether on business or pleasure


Brett from Southsea stayed at Walnut for 4 nights in November 2018


Mon Barbour replied 27 days ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! It's very much appreciated and we're happy you had a relaxing stay even though it was for work. We hope you can make it back again sometime. Kind Regards The Barbour family

Tranquility in the Costwolds

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Walnut Cottage for four nights for my son and me to have a short break. Heath Farm is a charming bolt hole set in well-kept, extensive grounds. My son was delighted to discover there was a flying strip too for R/C planes, so we spent a wonderful evening up there until the sun went down. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t conducive to flying again, but that gave us the excuse to light the fire in the cottage and crack open a bottle of red.

The location is ideal – so many favourite places in the Costswolds to visit within a 10 to 20-minute drive. The Barbour family clearly works very hard to keep everything running smoothly and make guests feel extremely welcome.


Helen from Haywards Heath stayed at Walnut for 4 nights in September 2018


Mon Barbour replied 74 days ago
Thank you very much for your fantastic review. It always pleases us to know that we've given someone a special and memorable holiday. We hope that you come back again one day so that your son can make better use of our model aircraft and kite flying strip. There's so much to do on the farm and nearby that one trip just isn't enough! We do also recommend staying for a week as our pricing structure means it's much better value for money than shorter breaks plus you'll have more time to unwind, relax and enjoy all that's on offer here at Heath Farm and the surrounding area.

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heath Farm is a great place to stay - very helpful and friendly owners and lovely grounds to explore, but also really peaceful and quiet. The cottages are well furnshed and also have lots of character. Location is quite remote - one of the attractions for us - but a good base from which to explore the Cotswolds.

Richard from Leeds stayed at Walnut for 7 nights in August 2018


Mon Barbour replied 108 days ago
Thank you so much for such a glowing review. We're happy you managed to have a peaceful time at the farm even in the school holidays! We hope you make it back again some time as there's so much to do, see and explore in the Cotswolds. Kind Regards

A beautiful property in amazing Cotswolds

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in the "Walnut" cottage at Heath Farm Holidays Cottages for 3 days in June. It was one of the best stays during our holiday in UK. Our girls, 11 and 6 years old totally enjoyed the woods and the grounds. It was absolutely quiet and serene. Property is very well maintained and cottage was very well equipped. Nena and the staff have put in lot of thought and care in preparing the cottage for our stay. It was very comfortable and spacious. The only thing that was missing was a fan since it was extremely hot and was a bit unbearable in the nights. Otherwise, we had the most amazing time at Heath Farm Cottages.

Vini from Singapore stayed at Walnut for 2 nights in June 2018


Mon Barbour replied 131 days ago
Thank you so much for such a glowing review, it certainly is very much appreciated and it's reassuring to know our standards of cleanliness and preparation are noticed. It's also great to know your girls enjoyed the grounds and woodland where they could run riot! The new games shed up by the croquet lawn has certainly been popular with the children who've stayed this season. We're sorry to hear you experienced discomfort due to the exceptional high heats last week, even with windows open on three sides of the building and the thick stone walls it was still very warm. This was the first time in 25 years of running the cottages that this has happened. If we had known or foresaw the situation (or you had requested one on the first night) we would have supplied fans for you. One of which resides in the games room opposite the entrance to Walnut Cottage. We have now adjusted our website descriptions on all cottages to state "Fans available upon request." to help avoid such a situation again. I hope we get the opportunity to greet you back again one day. Kind Regards Kind Regards

A magical place!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting,wonderful accommodation, peaceful and calming atmosphere. Lovely hosts. Lots to see and do in the surrounding area.

Pip & Stephen from Holmrook stayed at Walnut for 7 nights in June 2018


Wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a brilliant stay with a gang of friends - the cottages were gorgeous and the grounds beautiful. Mon and family were very welcoming and helpful and we’re all planning to come back! Highly recommended.

Tara from London stayed at Walnut for 2 nights in May 2018


Cotswold holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a warm welcome on our arrival from Peter (the owners were themselves on holiday) who showed us the accommodation and answered our questions. The equipment was easy to use and the accommodation everything we wanted, the bed was really comfortable and waking to birdsong was a real tonic. As we had arrived at the end of March to celebrate our birthdays as well as an Easter break, we did not expect great weather, we had 2 warm evenings where we could sit out in the lovely garden but after that made use of the log fire. Heath farm is well located for loads of National Trust properties as well as the lovely villages in the area, we even had a day trip to Bletchley Park, about an hours drive away. We made good use of onsite Cotswold bakery, his cakes were fabulous. We also made use of the photo shoot option, the walk around the grounds for photos with Ivor was great and we have a lovely canvas to remind us of our stay. We hope to be back and would recommend Heath Farm and walnut cottage.

Patricia from Wallsend stayed at Walnut for 10 nights in March 2018


Relaxing country hideaway

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Walnut cottage is a beautiful and well crafted “cottage” which is situated in the the upper 2 floors of a barn conversion. It has a wonderful light and spacious feel while still being very cosy. We stayed when it was snowing and the real wood fireplace with unlimited wood was an amazing touch and used throughout our stay.The kitchen was very well equipped and the bathroom luxurious with a great soaking tub and stone shower. The farm itself was beautiful with plenty of activities and walks on offer but make sure you take wellingtons! We didn’t think to and it can be quite muddy! The service we received was very friendly, informative and yet unobtrusive. Would definitely love to return and experience the farm in different seasons.

Anthony from London stayed at Walnut for 3 nights in March 2018