FB Twitter

Hazelnut

Hazelnut

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Best weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I went there for a girly weekend away, I cannot fault the place! The place was perfect and immaculate, the owners were lovely and the views are breathtaking. I’m returning next year and I cannot wait

Ellie from Gravesend stayed at Hazelnut for 3 nights in September 2019


Wonderful family stay at a cozy lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A couple + baby, we had a delight staying at the farm. The cottage itself is warm and nice, contains all that’s needed - we baked and cooked and had lots of fun. The surroundings of the farm was also very beautiful, our baby daughter enjoyed the sheep and the geese so much

Shahar from Petah Tikva stayed at Hazelnut for 10 nights in August 2019


Mon Barbour replied 104 days ago
Thank you so much for giving us a five star review. We take great pride in knowing we've given our guests such a memorable stay and your review is our reward. We do hope you come back again one day. The Barbour family

Mov over Swallows and Amazons

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent time was had by all (this review covers Hazelnut and Beechnut). Beautiful location and the owners have made the best out of the location. excellent, well designed and maintained cottages. Well equipped , comfortable, and any problems just talk to the owners on site. Slight problem with transferring luggage and parking when fully booked. But just talk to the owners.

Well positioned for Oxford - try the Park and Ride. Very well positioned for Chipping Norton which has a Sainsburys. an excellent Co-Op, and just out of town an excellent (and very well supported) Aldi. All in easy reach. Free parking in Chipping Norton which also has a very good department store, Beales. God restaurants/pubs around if a tad expensive.
As to my Swallows and Amazon reference. the owners have made the most of the surrounding 70 acres with 'on site' walks. lovely forest, archery, football goals, trampoline. All designed for the kids (and the occasional adult) Perfect for all ages but around 10 excellent.



Robert from Manchester stayed at Hazelnut for 4 nights in July 2019


Mon Barbour replied 131 days ago
A huge thank you for such a fantastic review! We get great pleasure in hearing that we've given our guess a truly relaxing and memorable holiday. We take great care and attention to making sure the cottages are scrumptiously clean, comfortable and have all we can think of a guest would need whilst they stay with us. Our extensive grounds are constantly mown and cared for so that even those with limited mobility have a chance to explore our grounds and enjoy the wonderful diversity of nature to be found. We hope we see you return again one day. All the best The Barbour Family

Very comfortable home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location, quiet, lots of parking. the hazelnut has all you need for a happy holiday, the welcome gifts of cut flowers and locally made cake only add to the experience.

A walk around the farm is a joy with the animals, orchards, fields, woodlands, vegetable and flower gardens.


Raymond from Knokke- Heist stayed at Hazelnut for 6 nights in May 2019


Mon Barbour replied 128 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review. It gives us great pleasure to know our guests appreciate the wonderful grounds and have managed to truly relax. Apologies if you felt the cleanliness, condition were not 5 star, it would have been good to know what we could improve to make it more comfortable. All the beds have new pocket sprung mattresses and new smart T.V's and DAB Roberts Radios were recently added. We will give the cottage a thorough inspection and see if there are any repairs or other renewals required. Many Thanks & Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Our 7th visit to Heath Farm - which says it all really

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location and lots to do. Walked around the farm which took about an hour. Visited Hidcote gardens and other NT properties which are all nearby. We love the attention to detail and the little extras and there is always a warm welcome.

Ian from Billericay stayed at Hazelnut for 5 nights in May 2019


Mon Barbour replied 199 days ago
We loved your title! We hope one day you'll write another stating "our 20th visit" !!! A huge thank you for taking the time to give us a wonderful five star review. Reviews like yours are our reward for running our holiday cottages and it's great to know we've consistently given our dear returning customers another wonderful memory. Kind Regards The Barbour family

A perfect location in a perfect part of the world

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I are from Berlin, so going on vacation is sometimes more about quietness than anything else. And with Heath Farms we found a spot that was incredibly quiet with brilliant views and one of the cleanest locations I have ever stayed at. While I believe the other rooms to be occupied during our stay, it would impossible to say for sure as the design (beautifully landscaped courtyard) made us feel like we were all alone and the room itself was warm and comfortable. My wife and I both thought that we should tack on an additional week just to sit by the beautiful fire (free firewood is so amazing) and read and drink some wine. I couldn't recommend this location enough!

Steven from Berlin stayed at Hazelnut for 4 nights in February 2019


Mon Barbour replied 294 days ago
Thank you so much for your perfect review, we're so happy you were so impressed with your stay with us! Looking after the the cottages, gardens and woodland takes a considerable amount of effort but the reward from our guests pleasure makes it all worthwhile. All our cottages are finished to the same high standard with hardwood furniture and fittings throughout, with beautifully crafted ironwork to compliment. We like to describe the style of them as "Natural Luxury" and this has stood the test of time. We look forward to seeing you again, do make sure you state your a returning customer if you re-book. Kind Regards The Barbours

We enjoyed our stay in the cottage which was cosy and very clean unfortunately we had to leave. due

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Feb 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay in the cottage which was very cosy and cleaner had to leave early due to the adverse Weatherall

Jennifer from Washington stayed at Hazelnut for 2 nights in January 2019


Mon Barbour replied 303 days ago
Thank you so much for your review and feedback by the score given. We're very happy that you gave us 5/5 for cleanliness as this is one of the hallmarks which we pride ourselves on. We're sorry that we didn't mark top for service, condition, location or value for money and would like to make sure that if you do visit us again we have made all necessary improvements. We welcome all guests personally and stress that if there are any issues (or anything needed) to let us know straight away so that we can try to resolve them as they arise. With regard to comfort/condition, we have very recently replaced the mattress (pocket sprung orthopedic) and bedding plus some soft furnishings. Inventory items are checked each changeover to make sure everything is clean and in top working condition or they are replaced. We are just about to replace TV & stereo for newer/better versions. It was a real shame that you left so early on Saturday morning due to weather conditions as even with fresh snowfall the farm is accessible and is an absolute idyllic delight to explore, it shows off the beauty of the Oxfordshire Cotswolds and why it's such a desirable location of the rich and famous to live. Apologies you didn't find us good value for money. We did offer you a free night on your next stay to make up for your short visit this time around due to your concerns about the weather (our other guests managed to visit Stow on the Wold, Chipping Norton and Burford that afternoon), I do believe we also changed your accommodation dates at your request at short notice (against our official policy). We may not be the cheapest around but we do like to think we go the extra mile in order to add value to our guests experience with us. Kind Regards The Barbours

My excellent stay in Hazelnut cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay a Heath Farm cottages. Warm welcome on arrival,with delicious baked cake awaiting us in cottage. Cosy comfort everything you possibly need in the cottage. With scenic views and lovely walks. We will be back again when in the UK.

Margaret from London stayed at Hazelnut for 3 nights in November 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Great to read your review 5 star review, perfection in a nutshell! We're so glad you had another wonderful stay at Heath Farm and look forward to welcoming you again next time you're back in the UK. The Barbours

A Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the most wonderful location in which to have a few quiet days away. The accommodation is excellent, with a beautiful open fire that we sat in front of drinking wine and reading books. Local restaurants are a short drive away and offer excellent choices and value for money. Local shops - especially the Farmer's market in Deddington - provided us with a lovely homecooked meal on the Saturday night utilizing the very well provisioned kitchen. I would recommend this location for anyone at anytime of the year as I can imagine during the summer that lazy BBQs and outside eating would be brilliant.

Michelle from Dunstable stayed at Hazelnut for 3 nights in November 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your amazing review about your stay with us. We especially like it when we hear of our guests exploring the local area and stumbling upon a farmers market or other local attractions. We're also glad to hear the positive feedback about the equipment in the kitchen. We've recently added inventories to each cottage page on our website to give customers a clearer idea of what is provided by us. We do hope you back and stay with us again. It is great in any season but lazy hot days out in the courtyard with the BBQ, swinging in a hammock in the beech trees or a picnic in the meadow with the hamper supplied is my favorite!

A lovely place

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely place for a relaxing break love lighting the log fire in the evening for that extra cosy feel , very good quiet location but plenty of place to visit after a short drive hope to return again

Alan from Rotherham stayed at Hazelnut for 6 nights in October 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's certainly reassuring to know you'd like to return again one day. We'd very much like to know from you what we could do to improve aspects of your stay which you didn't feel were 5/5. We're just starting our annual renewals and maintenance after a very busy summer so we hope we make all necessary improvements and additions we can. We are replacing the mattress, kitchen sink and TV & stereo this month plus are improving the lighting. All floors have been re-waxed, fireplace re-pointed and a super deep clean of the cottage has been carried out. The exterior has been sanded and re-coated in Danish oil too this week. Do please email us at [email protected] with any further suggestions. Kind Regards The Barbours

Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Heath Farm. The cottage was warm and cosy, well equipped with everything one could need, the bed very comfortable and the scenery amazing. We will return.

Brian from Crawley stayed at Hazelnut for 3 nights in October 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review, it's very much appreciated by us. We're also glad to hear you'd like to come back again, if you do please make sure you let us know that you're a returning customer as we do reward returning guests. We apologies if you felt that the condition of the cottage wasn't up to scratch. We are in the process of renovations, updating equipment such as sinks, fridges, T.V's and stereos. We do hope this is all done long before you return! Kind Regards The Barbours

The Hazelnut cottage is a lovely place

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and me enjoyed our stay at the Hazelnut cottage. It is a very comfortable, beautiful and quiet place. The Barbour family is very friendly, they have created a farm that is full of biodiversity and landscape beauty. Congratulations.

Hayo from Le Rheu stayed at Hazelnut for 7 nights in August 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
That you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's very much appreciated by us! We're so glad you had such a wonderful time staying at Heath Farm and loved the biodiversity and landscape of our farm. We go to great lengths to ensure the woodland and grounds are kept in such good condition throughout the year. We do hope you come back and stay again one day. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Idyllic rural escape

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hazelnut is one of the beautiful, individually crafted holiday cottages at Heath Farm. They’re all different and incredibly comfortable. I love the courtyard with its scented flowers, sound of babbling water and views of the meadow. Hazelnut is great for one or two people; really well equipped and thoughtful touches like the Cotswolds Bakery cake to welcome you. It’s a special place to visit with great owners, and perfectly placed for visiting Cotswolds, Oxford, Stratford ... or just relaxing.

Fiona from Brentwood stayed at Hazelnut for 6 nights in August 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We were very happy to welcome you back again. It's great you've been able to experience another one of our cottages as they do all have their own feel and character even though there's a consistency among them all too. Hopefully by your 5th visit you'll have tried each of the different flavour cakes that are supplied to us by Cotswold baking based here at the farm! All the best The Barbour Family

Lovely stay and beautiful surroundings. Just wish we were staying for longer to appreciate the scene

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cozy cottages located in beautiful surroundings with lots to do if you are looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of life.
Very well equipped and very friendly service.

Highly recommended


Jill from Brackley stayed at Hazelnut for 1 nights in August 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review, it's very much appreciated. With regard to our value rating, just to remind you that as I explained whilst you were here you were charged the same rate as a two day stay and we'd be happy to offer you an additional day or two free with any future booking. We also give a percentage discount for each returning visit. Kind Regards

Get yourself a Hazelnut..

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hazelnut has been a familiar place for years for us.
As idyllic as staying. We adore the atmosphere, love the story behind the nuts trees on the farmland, we enjoy the comfort and celebrate our evening as we follow the sunset, in the arch while the sheep and goats enjoying their diner on the paddock.
So much viewing pleasures, the plants, the flowers, the pond in the garden with the water lilies, or to stretch legs in a walk. Variety enough on and off the farmland. And last but not least very warm and friendly owners who make this all possible. We prefer not to tell it any further.


Margon from Sittard stayed at Hazelnut for 11 nights in July 2018


A lovely week at Heath Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable time at Hazelnut cottage in June this year. The location was stunning and we enjoyed walking in the extensive grounds. The cottage had everything in the way of home comforts and was very well equipped. We were lucky with great weather so we’re able to eat outside most days. David, Nina and Mon were brilliant hosts and went the extra mile giving my husband a lovely bottle of fizz and freshly picked strawberries for his birthday - so thoughtful!
Will definately return for another visit as soon as possible.


Fiona from Teddington stayed at Hazelnut for 7 nights in June 2018


Perfection

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heath farm is everything you'd expect and more it is ideal and pure heaven on earth. I loved my stay at Heath Farm it was better than I'd image. The staff was very friendly and made me feel like family and like I belonged and mattered. I will remember my time at Heath Farms for the rest of my life I pray to visit sooner. This was my 30th birthday treat too myself something I'd dreamed of doing and finally done it. The staff went out of their way to educate me on the surrounding areas and places I needed to go they couldn't have been more right.. whether you're first time in England or many times you must visit Heath Farm it's unlike any resort hotel you've stayed at many thanks and lots of love

Elizabeth from Tulsa stayed at Hazelnut for 8 nights in May 2018