FB Twitter

Cobnut

Cobnut

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Yet another return visit

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Heath Farm is like an oasis. It's beautifully designed, lovingly constructed, excellently fitted and there are wonderful walks in the magical grounds. No wonder we keep coming back!

Matthew from Old Windsor stayed at Cobnut for 4 nights in July 2019


Mon Barbour replied 14 days ago
Thank you so much for the great review, it's very much appreciated and gives us confidence that we're on the right track! We strive to create a haven of peace, tranquility and comfort for our guests and continually look at ways of making additions which will help our guests. We have a pretty Herculean task maintaining our cottages, grounds and courtyard to the exacting standards we set ourselves but most of the time we feel we succeed. Recent additions have included smart T.V's and Roberts DAB radios with alarms. In the past year we have also updated fridges, sinks, microwaves and orthopedic mattresses in all cottages. We do hope you return again when I'm sure you'll find even more additions. I avoid the word "improvements" as we feel we can't improve Heath Farm but can merely add to it. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Amazing cottage in beautiful grounds

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't agree with the previous reviewer, We've just returned from a week in Cobnut cottage, and wish we could have stayed longer! The cottage is warm, clean and beautifully appointed throughout, with super-comfy beds, quality fixtures and appliances and lots of thoughtful extras (eg dishwasher tablets, toiletries, etc).
The cottages are set in lovely grounds where you can wander freely; the games lawn is a real bonus (we loved the giant jenga!) and the indoor games room is great for a rainy day. Hosts are friendly and helpful. Would love to return in future and would recommend.


Sarah from Altrincham stayed at Cobnut for 7 nights in June 2019


Mon Barbour replied 14 days ago
Thank you so much for the 5 star review, it's very much appreciated and gives us confidence that we're on the right track! We strive to create a haven of peace, tranquility and comfort for our guests and have made a large number additions such as the games rooms & games lawn. It's great to hear you enjoyed the giant Jenga blocks we made and made full use of the games room which as you know is packed with games, DVD's, computer & projector, table tennis, dart board, pool table, books, walking & cycling information, telescope, artist easels, music & keep fit equipment, a kids corner with wooden toys, Lego and even a dressing up box! We have a pretty Herculean task maintaining our cottages, grounds and courtyard to the exacting standards we set ourselves but most of the time we feel we succeed. Recent additions have included smart T.V's and Roberts DAB radios with alarms. In the past year we have also updated fridges, sinks, microwaves and orthopedic mattresses in all cottages. We do hope you return again when I'm sure you'll find even more additions. I avoid the word "improvements" as we feel we can't improve Heath Farm but can merely add to it. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

The cottage seemed to be in a time warp as compared with our visit a few years ago.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Overall very disappointing.
Arrival: Having arranged that we could arrive at 3.00 pm we were surprised when we arrived at that time to be told we had arrived earlier than expected.
Compared with other cottages we have stayed at the 'Welcome Pack' was poor.
Problem with shower - hose fitted incorrectly. Quickly corrected.
No clocks around the property.
No TV or radio in the bedrooms.
WiFi/Internet connection very hit and miss.
Patio area scruffy - weeds growing out of the brickwork.
We had forgotten how small and cramped the kitchen area was.
No fault of the owners but we also chose one of the wettest weeks of the year. In the circumstances we left a couple of days early.


David from Malton stayed at Cobnut for 7 nights in June 2019


Mon Barbour replied 63 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Cobnut cottage and apologies your stay was not satisfactory for you. To respond to your points: Arrival - I had noted in the calendar your arrival time. Unfortunately when you arrived I was working outside and you were greeted by Nena (my mother) who hadn't check the calendar. The cottage was all ready for you and it was an oversight on her part - apologies if it caused distress. Welcome pack - They were updated only 2 months ago with new information including details about all aspects of the cottage, a new brochure of the farm including a map, fire procedures, local restaurants, pubs and food shops, internet instructions, accessibility guide, terms & conditions and equipment manuals. So am unclear what is "poor" about it. We do also provide a welcome cake and hand picked flowers. Unlimited firewood is also on offer. Shower - As with all issues, if we are told about them we do all we can to rectify them asap. No clocks - we purposely do not have clocks in cottages as we like to create a "timeless" atmosphere, we will review this policy. There are clocks on the ovens and most people have the time on their watch or mobile device, No TV or radio in bedrooms - If you had requested one we would have supplied one immediately for you as stated in the first paragraph of the welcome pack. We will soon be purchasing new DAB radios for each cottage. We will also look into providing TV's in bedrooms where practical. We have just replaced all T.V's for new smart TV's in all cottages. WiFi Hit & Miss - Due to the stone construction of the cottages it is very hard to get a signal in every part of the cottages, we are in a rural area and have had to get a special microwave signal from a specialist rural provider. The service is exceptionally better than what we previously had. We have been told it is affected by heavy rain which is why the signal was intermittent during very heavy showers. Patio area scruffy - apologies but we had just bought an electric weed killing device as we are no longer using chemicals anywhere on the farm due to environmental concerns. Due to constant rain we were unable to use before your stay. Cramped kitchen - We have floor plans and good shots on our website and are just about to add 3D shots so that guests can "walk around" the cottage online. This should help considerably. Although kitchens are not particularly large we consistently have great reviews stating how well equipped they are compared to other cottages. Wet weather - You were very unfortunate with the weather which is why we offered you an extra night free of charge on your next visit. Time warp - in our opinion our cottages had stood the test of time very well, there is a timeless quality about them which I describe as "Natural Luxury". I have been at the farm working for my parents for the past 3 years and in that time we have made a huge number of additions including building a games room and games lawn. The cottages have been updated with new orthopedic mattresses & smart T.Vs throughout. New fridges, sinks, ovens, microwaves have been replaced where needed too. We also have just installed an E.V charging point for electric vehicles so I can't understand how you can state we are in a time warp but you are obviously entitled to your opinion. We take great care and pride in our accommodation and facilities and strive to make improvements where needed so your feedback has been greatly appreciated. Kind Regards The Barbour family

Cobnut

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely and comfortable cottage in beautiful surroundings. We had a very enjoyable stay and I can whole heartedly recommend it.

Guest from Southampton stayed at Cobnut for 5 nights in May 2019


Mon Barbour replied 74 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review. It's our reward knowing that we have given our guests a memorable holiday to cherish. We do hope you come back and stay with us again, do bear in mind it's far better value to stay for a week as our short term pricing is based on a percentage of our weekly price. We also give discount for repeat customers and also for longer term rentals. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Weekend break over Easter

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Heath Farm, extremely comfortable and relaxing. We will be returning for a third visit I'm sure!

Kirsten from London stayed at Cobnut for 3 nights in April 2019


Mon Barbour replied 96 days ago
An absolute delight to see another 5 star review on one of our properties! Thank you once again for taking the time to leave us such a great review. We look forward to seeing you again one day. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Goegeous cottage in beautiful countryside

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Cobnut cottage with our 8 and 4 year old boys. They loved playing on the trampoline, exploring the grounds and using the ride on toys. We loved the comfort and luxury of the cottage (beautiful with exposed stone and brickwork) It was spotless with everything we needed, set in peaceful surroundings and great as a base for exploring the region. Bourton on the Water is a great day out as is the garden centre with play area at Burford and Chipping Norton is also nearby. The hosts were welcoming and friendly without being intrusive and obviously took pride in the cottages and surrounding grounds. Thank you for your hospitality. We will be back!

Suzy from London stayed at Cobnut for 4 nights in April 2019


Perfect break away

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with my husband daughter and parents, and it was the most beautiful short stay we have ever had. This place forces you to be in the moment with all its beauty! The cottage was stunning. You can clearly see the hard work gone into renevating it, with such thought and character. The welcome was lovely and relaxed, and we fortunately met some of the family. For us it was a break to relax and simply be together. But there are plenty of things to do and discover. We will hopefully be returning in the summer.

Amanda from Swindon stayed at Cobnut for 2 nights in January 2019


Mon Barbour replied 214 days ago
Thank you so much for giving us such a fantastic review. It's warming to hear back from guests who appreciate all the hard work, attention to detail and quality of the craftsmanship. We do hope you return again one day. Please note that it's fa better value to stay for longer breaks with us and or short break prices are a percentage of our weekly price. We also give automatic discounts on stays of 8 days and over. Kind Regards The Barbour family

Wonderful Christmas in heart of North Oxfordshire

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful Christmas stay at Heath Farm. Cobnut is incredibly comfortable, spacious with a warm atmosphere and beautiful views, well equipped kitchen, We also had the welcome surprise of a decorated tree with lights and a Christmas hamper full of lovely Heath Farm edibles (best Christmas nuts ever). Boxing Day morning stroll around the fields and through the woods was really enjoyed. Looking forward to returning in 2019. Many thanks to the Barbour family (owners) for making our Christmas.

Fiona from Brentwood stayed at Cobnut for 3 nights in December 2018


Mon Barbour replied 230 days ago
Thank you so much for the fantastic review. We're so happy you had such a good time and appreciated the added touches of the Christmas tree and hamper of Heath Farm produce. It truly is a special place to enjoy the festive season with loved ones. The Barbours

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a super stay here and felt very welcomed and looked after. We enjoyed taking walks and lighting the fires in the evening.

Guest from Stratford on Avon stayed at Cobnut for 5 nights in December 2018


Mon Barbour replied 235 days ago
Thank you so much for your perfect review! We're very grateful for your feedback and are encouraged to know that you felt welcomed and looked after. We hope to see you again in 2019. Kind Regards The Barbours

Unique beautiful experience

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Heath Farm was truly unique, in a positive way! We felt just like in a British novel. The surrounding, with nut trees, apple trees, animals, ... is stunning for walks. The cobnut cottage was not ‘luxurious’ but everything is ‘real’. All furniture locally made for example. And the view from the windows beautiful. The owners live next door and are very welcoming. In short, we had a very nice stay and would go back.

Guest from stayed at Cobnut for 1 nights in October 2018


Mon Barbour replied 313 days ago
Thank you so much for your glowing review! Heath Farm is a truly unique and beautiful place. We appreciate your comments and accept that we place more emphasis on the craftsmanship and 'realness' of our cottages. Our more natural version of luxury does though ensure a timeless quality and feel that's hard to match elsewhere which may be part of the reason we have such a high proportion of returning guests. We are also in the process of upgrading our cottages with new TV's, stereos plus replacing worn items such as sinks, etc. We do hope you return again one day

Another excellent stay at Heath Farm

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've lost count the amount of times I've been to Heath Farm and like all other times it has delivered, Cobnut was spotless, hosts really friendly and knowledgable, ventured to some different places this time, Broadway Tower a hit, amazing views across many a county, Sunday Lunch at The Five Alls in Filkins in one not to miss.

See you in January!


Kay from Poole stayed at Cobnut for 4 nights in September 2018


Mon Barbour replied 313 days ago
Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We know it's been a hard decision to write a review as we also know you really don't want too many others knowing about us!! X

Total Pleasure

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coming to the Cobnut property on Heath Farm Holiday Cottages is so special from the enormous welcome from the family members to the great comforts of the cottage and the beauty of the area in which it sits and closer to home the outstandingly beautiful courtyard which joins all the properties, including the Farmhouse in a most harmonious way. There is a Rill that bubbles down the middle of the courtyard to an arch through which you can sit for hours (Chimnea and firewood provided if you want to bring a bottle of wine.) looking in the distance at the beautiful undulating hills of North Oxfordshire.

Once inside the property, you are struck by the beauty of the design, the warmth of the old locally sourced woods used in the windows, doors, shutter, and flooring, all made and designed by the family. A woodwork shop was set up by the owner and all parts were manufactured on site. With the entire property, you cannot but note the attention to detail and every eventuality has been thought through making the entire time living at Cobnut a positive experience.
All furnishings, beds, appliances, bathrooms are of the finest quality. After finding a blender and a garlic press in the kitchen store I realized that I had come to a better-equipped kitchen than my own

t
This is our second time staying here this summer. And we would stay indefinitely if we could. The first thing that hit me was the quality of the work done on the property. The family carried out the conversion of the cottage rfrom where Granfmaother lived using old wood that had been sourced locally. It is beautifully done with wide plank elm wood floors and hand crafted wooden shutter and doors. It's mellow colour lending to the soft tones of the

It is beautifully laid out with views over the countryside even as you stand at the kitchen sink. The furnishings and kitchen appliances are of superb quality. There is nothing that has been forgotten in the kitchen, it is fully appointed, even with an electric blender and garlic press.
Two bedrooms and bathrooms upstairs, are beautiful


Diane from London stayed at Cobnut for 13 nights in August 2018


Mon Barbour replied 347 days ago
Thank you so much for such a thoughtful and extensive review of Cobnut and the farm history! Great care and attention was taken whilst designing and constructing the cottages and thereafter with the constant maintenance of the cottages, and our grounds. It's a great reward to know that our customers appreciate all the hard work and fine detail that goes into making a stay at Heath Farm so special. We hope you return again one day. Kind Regards. The Barbour family

The perfect place for the perfect area

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cant fault this property and location, central for many places to visit. Very relaxing and tranquil our third visit and it was a gem to find.

Malcolm from South Shields stayed at Cobnut for 7 nights in July 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review, it's very much appreciated! If you do decide to come back to stay in any of our cottages do make sure you state you are a returning customer so that we can apply a loyalty discount to your booking. Kind Regards

Excellent week

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Heath Farm many,many times over the years. Cobnut is our favourite of all the cottages and we have booked to come again in September.
When making the original booking I asked Mon if there was a fan available in the cottage. There wasn't, but after a discussion with Nena they arranged to get one. I used it many times over the week!!
Would recommend Heath Farm and its lovely grounds to anyone wanting to visit the Cotswolds.q


Doug & Judith from Sunderland stayed at Cobnut for 7 nights in June 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the glowing review! It's very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in September. Kind Regards The Barbours

Lovely Set of Comfortable Cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My stay at Cobnut was quite lovely. The people were welcoming and took excellent care of my special requests. The site itself is remarkable as are the cottages. The decor is warm and welcoming in Cobnut. I only wish that the second bedroom had a standing shower -- handheld tub showers simply do not work well. What I found a bit off-putting about the site was the approach. While the drive in is lovely through a double row of trees, you then must negotiate a rather strange gaggle of business with large trucks/lorries loading and unloading and a row of craft houses that were not retail sites. Heath Farms should develop a scenic way around this and put in a more scenic parking area.

Jayne from Gleneden Beach stayed at Cobnut for 3 nights in June 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review which we very much appreciate. With regard to your comment about the back bedroom overhead shower in the bathroom, we will be installing grab rails in all bathrooms shortly to help with mobility issues. Where space allows such as in Walnut cottage we do provide a separate walk in shower next to the bath. With regard to the driveway which is shared with the businesses located on our farm unfortunately there is no easy way around this issue. We have one large company which uses large lorries on a daily basis. They are relocating so we are actively looking for new tenants who will not have such a detrimental impact on our guests when they arrive at Heath Farm. Kind Regards The Barbours

Fabulous Heath Farm

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't quite remember how many time we have stayed at Heath Farm - and now in all the 'cottages' - every holiday has been really enjoyable, in all weathers!! We will be there again for Christmas.

When friends ask 'why do you go to the same place again and again?' Our answer is simply because we know the quality and the welcome you always receive.



Peter & Carol from Leatherhead stayed at Cobnut for 6 nights in June 2018


.

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed every moment we spent in Cobnut and had a marvellous week. The layout of the cottage is superb with marvellous views over the countryside. We would certainly repeat this experience.
.


Monica from Leatherhead stayed at Cobnut for 7 nights in May 2018


Wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a brilliant stay with a gang of friends - the cottages were gorgeous and the grounds beautiful. Mon and family were very welcoming and helpful and we’re all planning to come back! Highly recommended.

Tara from London stayed at Cobnut for 2 nights in May 2018


Amazing Short Family Break

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No other words than amazing!!
One of the best self-catering cottage I have ever and probably will ever stay in. We loved every moment from the roaring log fire to the super views across the hills.
The Barbours the very best hosts and nothing is too much trouble.
Our children of 10 and 11 loved the games room and have made us promise what we can return one day very soon.
Sheer relaxing delight.



Simone from stayed at Cobnut for 4 nights in February 2018