FB Twitter

Beechnut

Beechnut

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


A True country escape." 90/100

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The planning and layout of these cottages is obvious and a great deal of thought has gone into the whole setting. Bravo! The attention to creativity is followed into the cottages. All necessary amenities are to hand and the discreet help fro the owners is to hand when needed.
A truly relaxing few days in October. We have booked another 5 days over Christmas !


Nigel from Grindelwald stayed at Beechnut for 5 nights in October 2019


Mon Barbour replied 14 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your great review. The fact that you've already booked a return stay speaks volumes! It gives us great pleasure knowing we've created an idyllic retreat which creates lasting memories for our guests. Do please contact us before your next stay to give your recommendations in order for us to improve our service, condition and comfort scores. Feedback particularly from our returning guests is invaluable information for us to continue to provide first class accommodation. Thank you. The Barbour family

un angolo di paradiso.....

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grazie a un caro amico abbiamo conosciuto questo angolo di paradiso… non saprei come chiamarlo in altro modo. Stare per qualche giorno in questo luogo ha avuto su di noi un effetto, oltre che di relax, di gioia vera. Gli spazi esterni sono curatissimi con fiori, alberi, orto, laghetto e prati verdissimi (per piedi nudi) mentre l’interno è una continua sorpresa…. oltre alla comodità del letto, della sala (con caminetto!) e della cucina, la casa è piena di soluzioni architettoniche originali, a volte sorprendenti (vedi doccia in stile mudéjar) ma sempre equilibrate e soprattutto piene di “anima”.
Un saluto e un grazie a Nena per la sua gentilezza (e per la torta senza glutine)
Paola e Alice (da Bologna,Italia)


Guest from Chipping Norton stayed at Beechnut for 4 nights in July 2019


Mon Barbour replied 59 days ago
Dear Paola & Alice Thank you so much for giving us an amazing review! We're so happy you had such a relaxing and memorable time here. We also really appreciate your comments about the style, architecture and feel of the cottage and our grounds. We take great care and pride in maintaining our property (inside and out) to the highest standards we can and it's a great reward when this is appreciated by our guests. We do hope you come back again to our little corner of heaven. Kind Regards The Barbour Family

Beechnut cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent holiday cottage in every way in a superb location. The owners made us feel very welcome and we will return and highly recommend Beechnut

Keith from Mansfield stayed at Beechnut for 3 nights in July 2019


Mon Barbour replied 96 days ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We take pride in knowing we have created a haven for our guests to enjoy and have a truly memorable break from normality. We look forward to seeing you return again one day.

Fantastic. Loved everything and it was just an amazing place to stay with beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wouldn’t hesitate in recommending Heath Farm to anyone as it it so lovely and ideally situated to explore a lovely part of the UK

Russell from Rosebud stayed at Beechnut for 5 nights in May 2019


Mon Barbour replied 137 days ago
Thank you so much for your fantastic 5 star review! It gives us great pleasure knowing we've given our guests a truly memorable and relaxing stay. We hope you return again one day. The Barbour Family

Holiday in the Country

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time in England (from US) and we intentionally selected this location to make the most of the beautiful country villages throughout the Cotswolds as part of our itinerary. Heath Farm location, accommodations and generous host did not disappoint! We thoroughly enjoyed the well equipped cottage and surrounding sites/sounds of a beautifully kept farm. The cottage had everything we needed and we appreciated the homey details. Because we arrived after a week in Budapest staying in a city hotel, the country was a wonderful, relaxing, retreat. Waking up to the sound of various birds in the morning and coming back in the afternoon to see sheep grazing outside the back windows was delightful.

The location was perfect for us to take in all the local landmarks and villages of the Cotswolds, We were within minutes of grocery stores, pubs, restaurants and site seeing of every sort.

Thank you for a wonderful holiday experience. We hope to be back someday!

Bill and Bobbie Redington
Canby, Oregon USA



Bobbie from Canby stayed at Beechnut for 4 nights in March 2019


Mon Barbour replied 199 days ago
Dear Bill & Bobby Thank you so much for your outstanding review! It gives us great pleasure in knowing we've helped guests have a fantastic experience when visiting us. A great deal of thought, care and attention was put into creating the cottages and courtyard and it's wonderful when our guests appreciate what we created. We do hope that you come back again one day. Kind Regards The Barbour family

First class cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed before at Heath Farm and keep on coming back. Our stay for Christmas 2018 in Beechnut was so peaceful and exactly what we needed. If you haven't been before please look at the website - everything is excellent.

Peter from Leatherhead stayed at Beechnut for 6 nights in December 2018


Mon Barbour replied 294 days ago
A huge thank you for the 5 star review, perfection in a nutshell! So great to see you again and to know you have a wonderful & peaceful stay over the festive season. We look forward to seeing you again one day. The Barbour Family

Beechnut Break

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Looking forward to a relaxing break and Beechnut did not disappoint, lovely setting peaceful and calm so you can feel restored away from the busy world. Will definitely be returning - this was our third visit.

David from Telford stayed at Beechnut for 7 nights in September 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
It's great to know you had another great and relaxing break in Beechnut cottage. We're in the process of a few renovations and upgrades to our cottages so hopefully by the time you visit again you'll be able to appreciate the new Smart T.Vs and stereos. We're also planning to add shower seats to certain bathrooms including Beechnut which will hopefully add to your relaxing experience. Do make sure you state you area returning customer next time you book so that we can add your loyalty discount before you pay your balance.

Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed more than once at Beechnut Cottage this summer so this is the second review that I am writing. And I can only say that it was perfect. The cottage is charming in the way that it has been converted. It has been beautifully furnished and the kitchen well fitted out. It is a wonderful development of 5 cottages around the farmhouse, all beautifully converted with the work being done by the owner and the joinery shop that he set up to do the conversions. The central courtyard design was conceived and directed by a family member and I would think very patient workmen. The detail is outstanding with a rill running down the center that leads to a carp pool. The multicolor bricks are laid in various patterns combined with local stones make this area beautiful with the English garden plants. Comfortable seating and an umbrella table are supplied for equally outdoor living.
You must go and see for yourself.


Diane from London stayed at Beechnut for 2 nights in August 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you again for yet another fantastic review, it's very much appreciated that you've taken the time for a second review. We hope that the extra handrails we installed in the walkway made your stay even more comfortable and accessible. You are correct in assuming the workmen were patient and they certainly took their time getting the courtyard and cottages just right. The bricked courtyard, rill and carp pond were the last parts to be constructed and the features of the courtyard do every bit of justice to the setting. We do hope you come back and stay again soon. Kind Regards The Barbour family

Perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beechnut is one of five cottages in this beautiful oasis of country cottages, it is entirely different from the others. It has its own style which is more Moroccan in feel than the others....oh, so charming!. Beautifully appointed, using the best appliances, fittings and furnishings. There is simply nothing that they did not think of when fitting out the kitchen.
You are welcomed in the most friendly way and you feel immediately that you belong.
I could not recommend it more and this seems to be true of others that were visiting for many were on their 3rd and one their 8th visit. We shall return as soon as possible. You must come. You too will enjoy it.


Diane from London stayed at Beechnut for 6 nights in July 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your perfect review! Beechnut cottage certainly has it's own unique charm with more of a Moroccan feel due mainly to the bathroom but also the terracotta tiled floor. As with each of our other cottages, we have taken as much care and time creating a space where one feels totally at peace and relaxed. This may well explain why we have so many returning guests each year. Kind Regards The Barbour family

Summer Mini Break

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place! We stayed for three nights with our 9 month old and 5 year old, there is so much to do, we didn't really need to leave the farm. There is so much to do onsite that our 5 year old was not ever bored. The accommodation is cosy, comfortable and well equipped. We will definitely be coming back for another visit :)

Kirsten from London stayed at Beechnut for 3 nights in August 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
HI There Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's very much appreciated! Do make sure you let us know you are a returning customer if you book again as we do look after our returning guests. We hope by the time you return there will be a few more additions both inside the cottages and also on our grounds. Kind Regards

Recommended - Will surely book again

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice setting. Cottages are spacy enough, fully equiped. Somewhat difficult to keep them cool inside when it's hot (eg no outside window blinds). Beautifull garden, very nice to enjoy sunny evening barbecues. Friendly owners. Recommended.

Peter from Oedelem stayed at Beechnut for 7 nights in July 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your excellent review of Beechnut Cottage. We're sorry your comfort was compromised by the heat. we certainly got a bit caught out by the extended heatwave we've had this summer. We've now purchased some fans for the cottages after another recent guest had similar problems in one of the other cottages. We've also added it to our cottage details of extras that can be requested free of charge. If we had known after your first night that the heat was an issue we could have supplied you with a fan to help cool the room a bit. We'll also take a look at your idea of shuttered windows as it is a feature in two of the other cottages (Walnut & Chestnut). We will also feed back to our cleaners regarding the cleanliness rating given as we do pride ourselves on high standards which may well not have been kept to with your visit. If you do decide on a return visit again some day do make sure you state that you are a returning guest as we offer a loyalty discount plus we'll do something special for you to make up for the slip on our usually high standards of cleanliness. Kind Regards

Couldn't have done more for us

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heath Farm and our hosts, Mon and his family, could not have made us more welcome and Heath Farm exceeded our expectations by miles!
Our cottage was Beechnut which is absolutely beautiful. We were amazed and delighted by how thoughtful our hosts were. Often, when staying in self-catering accommodation, you have to supply your own essentials like washing up liquid! This is not the case at Heath Farm. Absolutely everything you need for a perfect stay has been provided, even dishwasher tablets, napkins and herbs. The list is endless. Anything and everything you needed was there.
On arrival I asked where I could put my bike. No problem, and Mon showed me the secure bike store which also included a workshop pump. The games room is next door with table tennis, snooker and a host of board games and a customer laundry next door to that.
The setting and the outside courtyard area around the cottages is beautiful and the entire plot extends to 70 acres so there is lots to explore. The immediate countryside around The Tews is classic Cotswolds with Oxford and Stratford within an easy 35-minute drive.
Our week’s holiday could not have been more perfect, and it was made complete when we returned on the last afternoon to find a punnet of fresh strawberries on our doorstep. We will return, and a winter break would be as delightful as a Summer stay.


Mike and Jackie from Richmond stayed at Beechnut for 7 nights in June 2018


Excellent short break

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an amazing and relaxing place to be. Lovely people as well and we are already working out when we can go back!

Peter from Rushden stayed at Beechnut for 3 nights in May 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the review, great to know you had a relaxing time and you'll be coming back. Do let us know you're a returning customer when you book as we'll then apply discount dependent on how many times you've visited us. Do let us know how we could have made your stay more comfortable for next time too. Kind Regards

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a brilliant stay with a gang of friends - the cottages were gorgeous and the grounds beautiful. Mon and family were very welcoming and helpful and we’re all planning to come back! Highly recommended.

Tara from London stayed at Beechnut for 2 nights in May 2018


Mon Barbour replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We're so happy your group had a wonderful and eventful time here at Heath Farm. We certainly hope you'll come back again one day! Kind Regards

As always!!

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you, we had another really super week in Beechnut. Celebrating Christmas and a special Birthday and we woke to snow one morning which made it all look quite 'magical'.

Peter & Carol from Leatherhead stayed at Beechnut for 6 nights in December 2017