FB Twitter

Templars Cottage

Templars Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 65 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


This ground floor apartment is part of the historic Old Templars Hall and is only 60 metres from the sandy beach of Spittal, Berwick-upon-Tweed. Decorated in contemporary style it has been awarded GOLD by Visit England and so a high standard is assured. Free WiFi and a 'smart tv' is provided, with a 2nd tv in the bedroom. This is a great location for exploring the beautiful coastlines of Berwickshire and Northumberland.

The apartment sleeps two in the double bedroom and there is a sofa bed in the lounge which can be used by a third guest. There is an enclosed courtyard garden with bbq for relaxing

Pet friendly and are welcome on the beach

Perfect for the beach

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great autumn half term break in the cottage. John and Christine provide a very attentive service and some lovely local treats to welcome you on arrival. The cottage is well fitted out, very clean and there was ample sleeping space for the 4 of us. It’s easy to find and no difficulties with parking. We chose it for proximity to the beach walking into Berwick and as a jump off point for day trips to Alnwick Castle ( Harry Potter and the gardens) and Holy Island. We ended up spending most of our time on the gorgeous local beach as it was only 100m from the cottage. The easy beach access makes it brilliant for exploring with kids and dogs with the ability to pop back indoors for if the borders’ weather becomes a little too bracing! Great stay and will aim to return



Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accomodation very clean, fully equipped. Very close to the beach. Would recommend. Owners very friendly and helpful.



Lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Templars is a clean, warm, and well equipped cottage, a real home from home, and the welcome basket was a really nice gesture. The cottage is not really pet friendly, there is no garden, only a small yard which can only be reached by leaving the cottage then through a padlocked gate. Being so close to the beach the location of this cottage is good.



Christine replied 82 days ago
Thanks for the review. Glad you liked the flat. During the Winter we hope to get planning permission to make an entrance direct to the courtyard.Its great for pet owners having the beach only 50 metre away and they like the welcome items provided for pet guests too. Its one of the reasoins why we have so many guests returning again and and again

A hidden gem by the sea

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location so close to the sea and the beautiful countryside of Northumberland and Scottish Borders. The cottage has everything you could possibly need and a lot more beside with lovely touches. The welcome basket was appreciated as was the personal greeting. Thank you.



Ideal Beach apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Templars Cottage. Less than a minute to Spittal Beach and walking distant to town centre and easy access to neighbouring towns and villages. It was well looked after and perfect for my husband and I and our infant daughter. Highlights being how dog friendly the property and surrounding area was. Great attention to detail with dog supplies so our dog was fully catered for too. The welcome hamper was a lovely touch and to meet the owners on arrival helped settle us into our stay. We made use of the drawer full of visitor attraction leaflets and the walking route maps and this helped us plan our trips each day. Thanks again Christine and John.



Lovely little house in a great spot

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed here two years in a row now and will be back again. Location is brilliant! The fact that it is dog friendly is just fantastic as our little dog loves the beach so much. We get up very early and go straight out to see the sunrise.



Templar's Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely small apartment in a great location very close to the beach. Made very welcome by the owners, who even provided some toys and treats for the dog!



Great base for exploring Northumberland

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped apartment in a good location, everything we needed as a base to explore the area.
Bed could be improved.




May have taken eye off the ball!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely cottage in good location and facilities and equipment good.
However when I pay top buck as this cottage is, I expect it to be perfect.
Lights not working flashing clock constantly in the bathroom, not fixed before a new customer arrives is not acceptable for this standard of acomodation, the garden area was not inviting at all and clearly had not been maintained in some time with tired looking garden furniture and the moss covering the patio slabs will testify, that did,nt grow overnight.
Pity but gets great reviews as it should but looks like complacency is setting in here....eye off the ball deffinately.
I've put a yes to recommend this property because I think they may sort things out.




Home away from home

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Templars Cottage and could easily stay here again. The welcome basket of goodies was a surprise and we were very grateful for the tips and suggestions from our hosts.



Lovely little bolt hole

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideally located within a two minute walk to the beach. The property is immaculately clean and everything is provided including a welcome basket. A perfect base for exploring the beaches of Northumberland with parking on the road to the side of the property which is a rarity with most holiday rentals. It has the added bonus that pets are also welcomed.



Lovely cosy cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Situated just across the river from the town of Berwick-upon-Tweed the cottage is ideally situated for visiting both the Northumberland coast & the Scottish borders.
Very well equiped the cottage is suitable for a couple to use as a base & the hosts are very welcoming & full of information about the area.




A true home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was so lovely to have a break away at Templars Cottage. Brilliantly located in the quiet area of Spittal and the beautiful beach and promenade can be seen from the front door. Less than 2 minutes walk away are regular buses into Berwick and a great base for many lovely walks. The apartment was beautifully done and the little extras such as a welcome hamper, tea, coffee and dishwasher tablets were hugely appreciated. Really beautiful apartment, we'd definitely come back, thank you!



Short stay break

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay, lovely accomadation, attention to detail very good, the local area was very good, everyone friendly.



A home from home on the sea

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 2nd time we've stayed at this cottage. It is in the perfect location, right on the beach, and an easy walk into Berwick upon Tweed. There are supermarkets (Tesco, ASDA, M&S) really close by plus shops, restaurants, cafes and pubs not too far either. The cottage is well equipt, comfortable and feels very homely. The little local produce care package was very much appreciated too. We will definitely stay at Templar's again.



Great accommodation and great location.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely apartment in excellent location for Berwick and nearby attractions, like Bamburgh, Alnwick, Edinburgh and Holy Island. Fantastic base. Perfect for dog owners with a dog-friendly beach practically on the doorstep. Friendly host; nice to have a welcome basket with some local produce, and milk in the fridge.



A wonderful and much needed break

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous place! Clean, comfortable and an excellent base for visiting the wonderful places Northumberland has to offer. We will be returning in the not too distant future



Short Break with dogs

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent central location to visit Northumberland coastline. Great little home from home with everything you would possible need. Dogs loved location beach less than 1 minute walk so they were in their glory. Found all people in area very friendly especially with dog and very accommodating when it came to eating out a very dog friendly area.



A lovely break in a tastefully refurbished period building.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in Templars Cottage. The cottage is warm, cosy and fully fitted out with everything you could possible want. From the time of making the booking Border Holidays provided excellent customer service and the welcome basket of local foods was a really nice and weldcomed touch.
We spent three lovely day in the area and throughly enjoyed oursleves despite the storm that was hitting the east coast. An added bonus was that we were able to bring our cat along for the break which was just Purrrrrfect (sorry couldn't resist).




Amazing stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing holiday cottage this was! So close to the beach and a short walk to Berwick which the dog loved! Apartment was spotless and had everything we could have asked for and more! The finishing touches such as a welcome basket with local produce and the dog towels and biscuits were fabulous! Can't wait to return!



Christine replied 302 days ago
Thanks for the super comments. It s lovely to have such caring guests who looked after the flat so well.

Three night stay at Old Templars Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage and location, nothing bad to say at all, everything you will need is provided and owners are very helpful and attentive
Highly Recommended




Christine replied 318 days ago
Even in the Winter the Scottish Borders and Northumberland are great to visit. Templars cottage is really warm and comfortable when you return from the sandy beach. thanks for your review

Excellent but small cottage near the sea

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Templars cottage is a small but excellent place to stay. The inside is new, clean and very welcoming and the effort from the owners to make you feel welcome is great. The cottage is a 100 yards from the beach, an excellent place to stay if the sea is the place for you!



Christine replied 324 days ago
Thanks for your lovely comments. The best prices are for direct bookings so if you return you will geta special 10% discount

Christmas break 2016

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely wee break at this flat. A stunning property seconds from the beach, and a stones throw from the pub which meant everything thing on your doorstep. Clean, modern and very welcoming. The basket of local goods on arrival was a nice touch. Highly recommended this flat you will not be disappointed.



Clean and comfortable holiday cottage in excellent location

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The templars cottage is the cleanest holiday cottage we have ever stayed in, it is very comfortable, well equipped. Very close to the beach, the dogs loved it. Great location to explore. Highly recommended



lovely flat great location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely flat everything you need, bed comfy, plenty of room not small a real gem and the beach just a few step's away



Another great stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked my mum in here, and once again she had a fantastic stay at Templars Cottage. Brilliant location, and brilliant accommodation. Will definitely be back.



I would rate it a 10 out of 10.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful cottage with an amazing view. The place was shining clean. Would surely recommend it to anyone visiting Berwick.



Great little cottage in fabulous location

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful little find.
Cosy, well equipped and inviting against inclement weather.
Great location to head out to many areas on coast or in town. Beautiful beach
DOG AND CHILD FRIENDLY
Will return with gusto and fond memories.
John and Christine, great, knowledgeable and flexible hosts.
:)




Fantastic Short Break

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic short break at Templars Cottage! Met on arrival by a lovely woman called Christine who took the time to show us around the cottage and also provided a welcome basket with some essentials and treats. Cottage was lovely, very clean and cosy and 30 yards from Spittal beach where our small dog had a ball. We will definately be back.

Chris Nairn.




Perfect seaside accomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time I have stayed in a Border holiday home and I have always been impressed, welcome basket and always a clean friendly welcoming home from home staying here. Templars is perfect for beach lovers and my dog enjoyed herself too. Love the fact my furry companion can go with me, thanks



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks once again for booking one of our pet friendly cottages. Templars has just received a Gold award for 2017. Do come again and receive a Returning Guest discount

Possibly the best self-catering place we have ever stayed in.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Possibly the best self-catering place we have ever stayed in. Capped by the location - so very close to the sea front.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We were overwhelmed at the very kind words and appreciative comments. I do hope that you will come again very soon. You receive a Returning Guest discount at any of our four properties on your next visit

Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage located in a very quiet part of spittal, and just a hundred yards from the seafront. Very clean, comfortable and modern. I would highly recommend it.



Lovely 5* accomodation

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Templars cottage is ideally located to explore the surrounding area and just a stones throw from the beach. A lovely little cottage, very clean and beautifully furnished with everything you could ever need!



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for leaving your appreciative review. Guests love the beach being only 50 yards away and the cliff walks nearby. Do come again soon. thanks

templars cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideally located for sightseeing the borders area. The cottage is situated so close to the beach. However, it could do with some small repairs. The bed is extremely soft,some of the kitchen items could do with being renewed, the tiles at the back of the sink need resealing and the waste bins are not best suited for a kitchen. That said we had plenty of towels, beach towels and a very warm welcome from the owners parents who couldn't do enough for us.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking time to leave your comments. I am glad that you generally had a had a good holiday. Both John and I were surprised that you found the bed 'soft' as it is a high quality back care divan. I wonder if the five star pillow topper mattress was not to your taste and comfort as you mentioned that you had some mobility problems. Thanks too for pointing out the small area that needs resealing in the kitchen. This has been repaired now.

great holiday apartment for two

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
all good , great TV , good shower , nice bedroom comfy bed , great kitchen area , on street parking no problems , living room /sitting area on the small side but nice and warm , great location ,plan to return .



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is appreciated by future guests and us. If you come here or any other of our cottages then you will receive a 10% discount as a Returning Guest

Short Stay at Templars Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Response to our request to book the cottage was very quick and further details about the cottage and directions were also sent. Cottage was just as described lovely and very clean with a well equipped kitchen. Welcome basket was great with samples of local produce. It was nice to walk a few minutes from the cottage and be able to walk along the beach. Berwick upon Tweed was only a short drive away and had some really good places to eat.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave your helpful comments. Do come again to any of our four properties a recive a 10 % Returning Guest Discount on any direct booking 01890 817186

Good break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went to Templars Cottage to rest and it was the perfect venue for this. The owners were vigilant and responded to any of our requests immediately and these requests were only in relation to practicalities. The cottage is located in a rally quiet area . Parking was excellent.



Fantastic!!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this for my mum, after previously staying there myself. Mum was was over the moon with Templars Cottage. She didn't want to go home. Everything that you could possibly need is supplied. Absolutely superb. Location to the beach is second to none.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for leaving this lovely review. We try hard to make everything as good as we possibly can. It's great when the efforts are appreciated. Do come again

A Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful all ground floor apartment for 2 in a historic building.. Very clean and tastefully decorated.
A small hamper with samples of local produce was a great idea..
You can see the sea with crashing white waves from the front door - it is a lovely stroll down the prom to set you up for the day. A general stores only a short stroll away and supermarkets a short drive.
This location was perfect to explore the north east I would stay here again.




Christine and Charlotte replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking time to review. You painted a very exciting picture of the waves and beach. Do come again to Templars or another and receive a Returning Guest Discount

4 nights in Berwick

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked to stay 4 nights at Templars Cottage in Spittal near Berwick. It was a bit last minute but the pictures were very inviting and we were not disappointed. The liaison with the owners was very easy and the instructions for our arrival so straighforward. The cottage is lovely, very well appointed, clean and cosy. It has everything you would need and more, the bathroom is luxurious and the bedroom very comfortable. Although the weather was very wet, we were able to relax in warm surroundings and being able to bring our two dogs was great. The cottage is an easy walk into Berwick and being located so near to the beach is wonderful for our Hounds. The local people were friendly and we would like to return, hopefully when the weather has improved.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the lovely comments.You can have a lovely Winter break walking along the sandy beach as long as you wrap up. Thank goodness no snow

Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a place to stay for a peaceful break and we had a brilliant time. There was everything we could need in the accommodation and the location was good for a walk on the beach and to get to other nice places.



Home from Home!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous cottage with excellent facilities and Central Heating which was essential in November. Wonderful personal welcome from Christine who gave great local information that really made our stay as we took her advice on the Coastal Walk and seal watching at Eyemouth which were huge highlights of the trip. Would love to come back next year-thank you!



short stay in Templars Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was warm and cosy and in a good location close to the sea. We chose this particular cottage because of the location to the sea and the fact that it had an enclosed garden. Unfortunately the garden is not accessed directly from the cottage making letting the dog out a bit of a performance especially as it rained most of the time. The gate on the garden didn't have a catch and couldn't be closed! The dryer came in very useful as we had a lot of wet clothes due to the weather.



christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the comments. I am sorry that we couldn't arrange for better weather for you. We shall replace the catch on the gate asap We are investigating the possibility of converting a window into a French door so that the courtyard can be accessed from the lounge. It is a listed historic building so getting the permissions for change takes time. Do come again as we have two other pet friendly properties

Stunning!!

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing cottage, so close to the sea. The little touches like the welcome basket made it very special. We loved the honey so much, that we spent a small fortune at the honey farm!! I cannot praise this little gem of a place highly enough. Beautiful!!!



Smart flat

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice flat with plush fittings & furnishings. A 'Smart' TV too. Very close to the beach (great for dog) but just set back enough to avoid the sea air!



Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything you need for a comfortable stay. The cottage is well maintained and tastefully furnished. We enjoyed our short stay and would book again still lots we haven't explored in Berwick.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to add a comment. We are all pleased that you liked the cottage and the area. If you have any suggestions to enhance the comfort or amenities then please let us know and we will try to include your suggestions

A nice well appointed holiday cottage. Good quiet location.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent holiday home. Lovely clean beach but promenade could do with some cleaning. Lots of dog dirt.
Good area for touring around Nothunberland and district. People friendly enough.




Our stay at Spittal.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Templar's Cottage. It was an excellent base from which to explore the area, and enabled us to see nearly all the attractions we had planned to visit. As we have a small dog with lots of energy the close proximity to the sandy, dog friendly beach was an added bonus.

We appreciated the welcome pack on our arrival, and found that as there were so many supermarkets just a short drive away, food shopping was never a problem.

We were fortunate to have fine weather throughout our stay so we were out a lot. Our only observation would be that as the cottage is on the ground floor, if one was housebound because of the weather, whilst one would certainly be cosy, it might be a bit gloomy. However, this wouldn't put us off re-booking in the future.




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. The courtyard is very sunny and pleasant for bbq or a quiet glass of wine if you don't want to be out and about. There are many stately homes, such as Paxton House, that are interesting if the weather is poor

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place. Very high quality.Ideal for the 3 of us. (1 being our dog Scarlett!). lovely and clean. A very small walk down the road to the beach. The beach is very clean and dog friendly. Thanks for a great holiday.



Great Value!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
After travelling for hours it was not welcoming to arrive at a holiday home that was still in the process of being cleaned and refurbished from the previous tenants, We were told that we could arrive at 2.30pm and in fact we arrived at 3.30pm, so there should have been plenty of time between 10.00am and 2.30pm to get Templars ready. Apologies were made to us saying that the previous holiday makers had overstayed. I'm afraid that this decision did spoil the start of our holiday and first impressions are very important,

Unfortunately the property is located between a Day Nursery and Primary School which were frequently noisy, which is not ideal if you are looking for a quiet relaxing stay,

Templars was a great base to see the surrounding areas and to explore the Borders, We packed a lot into our two week stay and thankfully the weather was kind to us. Unarguably the property is excellent value for money.




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
I must apologise again for the cottage being not absolutely ready for your arrival. This was not caused by any inefficiency on our part but by the previous guests' delayed departure. I am sorry that you found the noise of children playing noisy. People use the pedestrian only lane, past the front door, to walk to that great sandy beach 50 yards away. It is possible that this was what you found distracting. As you say in your review, Templars' location is great to enable you to see and explore the area. Many guests have returned for second and third visits. I do hope that you will come back too. Since your stay, "Visit England" have given Templars a "Gold Award" again.

Rest and Relaxation

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Templars Cottage at the end of June 2015 - The property was very clean and tidy and the facilities were superb (Smart TV, Blu-Ray player, Well equipped kitchen etc..) Templars cottage is a just 30 second walk from Spittal Beach which seems to be something of a hidden gem - We had two days of blazing sunshine and the place was still nice and quiet We even saw dolphins off the coast first morning out! The surrounding area is fascinating with lots of hidden nooks and crannies to explore. Berwick upon Tweed is a short riverside walk away and has some nice sites of historical interest and some very good pubs/restaurants (The Queens Head is a must)
Further afield, Bamborough Castle and Lindisfarne are a short hop down the coast and Edinburgh is approx. 45x minutes away by train. I also recommend a boat tour around the Farne Islands which leaves from Seahouses most days - The wildlife is fascinating. Templars Cottage is a dream break for walkers, history nuts, dog lovers of any combination of the three. Thanks, Ian




Holiday in Spittal

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay here in this very close to beach apartment. The apartment was like being at home. It had all we needed for our holiday. All the finishing touches made it a very nice place to stay. A lovely comfortable bed gave us a relaxing sleep. We would definitely stay there again.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting others know about this fantastic apartment and its close to beach location. Our guests love the coastal path that runs close by going towards Holy Island.

A great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, very high standard cottage... If to change anything, the window overlooking the patio could be a French door...
We all had a great holiday.. ( Hudson our Lab included)..




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the reply. I think your comment about converting the window into a French door is good but the building is graded and so changes to the exterior are not allowed. I hope that you can come again. We have two other pet friendly cottages too.

Great little find!!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Smashing ground floor apartment with small paved outside space for a couple who like walking and relaxing. The beautiful Spittal beach is practically on the front door and its within easy walking distance of the town centre of Berwick Upon Tweed with its shop and great walks around the ramparts, river and golf course. The Northumberland coastal path with cracking views from the cliff tops is at the end of the promenade. There is a handy shop and a pub minutes from the front door and several takeaways who deliver. Who could ask for more???! Not us! :)



Christine and John replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your terrific review and thanks also for sharing your bottle of wine with us.Do come again and we will share our wine with you

A Real Gem

Review submitted on Fri, 29 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay here during the Berwick 900 celebrations. Location ideal for sea and buses into town. A real peaceful place to recharge the batteries. Would thoroughly recommend to couples wishing to get away from it all and peace and quiet.



Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your very positive and appreciative comments. Charlotte, John and I hope that you will come back very soon.

Lovely apartment in ideal location for the beach

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely long weekend at this charming apartment. Everything was as described if not better. Customer service was friendly and efficient. Really excellent and would recommend for couples and people with pets. However, I must stress that you would not know they allowed pets as the place was absolutely spotless. Thank you



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We are so happy that you loved the apartment and the area. The comments about the cleanliness and dogs is particularly useful to guests who may be thinking of booking. Do come again

Beautiful beach-side base for first trip to Northumberland

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in Templar's Cottage in April to celebrate my birthday and it proved to be a wonderful base for our first trip to Northumberland. The cottage had everything we needed plus the lovely added touches of a welcome basket, pint of milk, even a roll of dog poop bags ready for us when we arrived.

As we brought our dog with us it was fantastic to be so close to the beach. Thirty paces from the front door and we were onto the sand!

My only complaint about the cottage was that the water pressure was quite low so running a bath was quite a long process. This, however, is the only negative thing I can think of!

Would definitely recommend to others!




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Charlotte and I are really happy that you had an enjoyable birthday and loved the flat. It is always good to be so close to the sea. Thanks for writing the review

Great Appartment

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Templars Cottage was a lovely well appointed apartment near to the beach, I particularly enjoyed the welcome basket of local products and the high spec bathroom



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased that you liked the apartment and hope that you managed some good cycling while you were here. If you come again to the area you might enjoy some wonderful rides from Benfield Cottage in Morebattle as the cottage is in the heart of the Cheviots

October Half Term

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent facilities, especially the kitchen.
Great location. Our 2 year old enjoyed the walk to the beach every morning (pedestrians only path and promenade).


Would highly recommend if you have small children as there is plenty of space for a travel cot and proximity to beach is ideal.




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for leaving a review. We are all so pleased that you and your wife and your son had such a wonderful time. Beach, sea and sand are just what children love.Do come again

Just perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in Templars Cottage. We were welcomed by the owners on arrival and shown around. It was spotless, modern and had everything you could possibly need! definitely a home from home. The welcome basket was a lovely touch... And a hop skip and a jump from the beach. We had a great stay and would definitely come back.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for writing such an amazing review. We love this flat ourselves as it is so close to the beach and the coastal footpath.The dog also loves it. Do come back or try one of our other properties like Benfield in the heart of the Cheviots.

Short Break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our short break at Templar's Cottage in September, parking was handy for the property and cottage was lovely and welcoming. Food hamper is always a nice touch. Would reccomend border holiday homes to anyone. Good value!



Charlotte replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased that you liked our garden flat at Spittal. It is great to be so close to the beach and the cliff walks. I do hope that you will come again

A lovely holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a good week, helped a great deal by the weather. The flat was excellently situated with easy access to northumberland and Scotland and was very clean and well equipped. Would suggest a wooden spoon and tea cups but other than that had everything that we needed. The owner was very welcoming and the welcome basket was brilliant with many local products to try and they were all thoroughly enjoyed...even seeking a jar of local honey to bring home. A great holiday, in a lovely town.



Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review Old Templars Cottage. It is always heplful for prospective guests. I have bought some wooden spoons at your suggestion and added some tea cups. I hope that some gourmet meals will be produced now. Do come again and you will receive a Returning Guest discount whichever cottage you book.

Templars Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Templars Cottage is really an apartment furnished to the highest standards. Ideal for the beach and easily accessible to all parts of the Northumberland and Scottish coastline.



John Ward replied more than 1 year ago
Its really good to have guests who have stayed at three of our places! Mr. and Mrs. Rhodes know our properties well and we're very grateful for what they have to tell us. Do come again soon.

Our stay at Templars Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely break at the apartment. The service was excellent, with thoughtful touches like the welcome basket with a selection of local produce.

The owners were really helpful and even welcomed us at the station when we arrived in Berwick.

The apartment itself was spotless and well presented, with all the amenities close by. Being so close to the sea was also a bonus. We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend it!




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you and your family. The closeness of the beach and the beautiful weather is always a bonus. Thanks for taking the time to make a review and for your very positive comments

Ideal location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is in a ideal location being very close to a clean sandy beach and plenty of coastal walking north and south of Berwick. Very comfortable for 2 people and dog friendly make this an ideal holiday base for seeing the area.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to add a review for our brand new property addition, Old Templars Cottage. We welcome comments as we want to maintain and improve our GOLD grading. Do come again