FB Twitter

Tractor Barn

Tractor Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Tractor Barn is a recent 5* Gold conversion and sleeps six downstairs with two bathrooms, one ensuite. Its large living area upstairs is arrived at via a spiral staircase and has oak flooring and a contemporary woodburner. The living room opens onto an enclosed sun deck and Tractor Barn also has its own garden with a seven seater hot tub. Dogs are welcome in Tractor but the garden is not enclosed.

Fabulous Week in Tractor Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great holiday, Tractor Barn was excellent providing everything we needed and the surroundings were gorgeous. Such a lovely setting in a beautiful valley with the river a short walk away. We enjoyed exploring all the areas surrounding including a boat trip at Plymouth, visited Fowey, spoilt ourselves with Rick Stein's fish and chips in Padstow, explored Dartmoor and had the best cream tea at Lustleigh's amazing Tea Rooms. We enjoyed relaxing at Tractor Barn and the great hot tub too. Highly recommend Elephant's Nest Pub food and the local Farm Shop and Café called Strawberry Fields. Sylvia was very welcoming and helpful and makes great cake plus we enjoyed the eggs, wine and apple juice. We fully intend to come back again when we can!!



Tractor Barn Very Good

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we expected and more. stunning location peace and tranquil. worm welcome on arrival and well informed of when the barn was available on the day. could not have asked for more.



Idyllic surrounding and scrumptious cake!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a truly wonderful stay in Tractor Barn. Immaculate accommodation, idyllic surroundings and safe exercise areas for our dogs. New owners, Sylvia and family, made us feel extremely welcome so we could enjoy our stay as a real home from home. Our dogs had a great time running around the paddock and splashing in the river. On arrival we all enjoyed the scrumptious home baked cake and the dogs even had some doggy treats! Can’t recommend Devon Country Barns enough. Thanks again Sylvia and family.



Tractor Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great short break in the fabulous Tractor Barn. Spotless, spacious and supremely comfortable with a lovely warm welcome from the new hosts. Highly recommended!



Husband’s 50th at the Tractor Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was an absolute pleasure spending the weekend at the Tractor Barn! Would definitely book again. The place ticks all the boxes. It is clean, homely, organised and comfortable. Felt like home away from home! Not to mention the beautiful cake and the fresh eggs that greeted us on our arrival! We loved everything about the place! Highly recommended!



Fantastic place to stay with dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sylvia and Kristien have just taken over and they have maintained the very high standards of Tractor Barn and the other cottages. It is wonderful for dogs with fields and a river to walk to, so I am delighted they are maintaining a dog friendly venue. We will definitely be back and Devon Country Barns is highly recommended.



Beautiful barns and lovely hosts in an incredible setting

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time at Tractor Barn. The site itself is stunning with views across the fields and a lovely country atmosphere. The accommodation was really high quality and provided us with a fantastic break. The hosts couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and welcoming. Can't wait to go back as soon as possible.



Girls weekend at The Tractor Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a very special weekend away with friends at the Tractor Barn. We spent the whole weekend repeatedly saying how amazing the accommodation, location and whole set up was. Beautiful accommodation, stunning hot tub and totally unspoilt views, this house really is a gem!



Beautiful accommodation and stunning views

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from an Easter break having stayed in Tractor Barn. We were warmly welcomed by the new owners and given a tour of the property. It was immaculate, homely and the extra touches of White Company toiletries and fresh eggs from their hens were an added bonus. The setting is absolutely stunning, oh so tranquil yet conveniently has a wonderful farm shop with cafe five minutes drive away. Tractor Barn is fully kitted out with all amenities to prepare and cook family meals but when we wanted a break we ventured to The Cornish Arms in Tavistock (20 minute drive) where we found the food and service to be exceptional and the Sunday Lunch at The Springer Spaniel near Launceston was delicious!

During our stay we visited Bude which has a magnificent sandy beach which was a 40 minute drive (not bad considering it was an Easter weekend) and Ledford Gorge - 15 minutes drive which is definitely worth a visit! A huge benefit of the barn is the hot tub which we are quite happy to admit we spent a great deal of time in just taking in the breathtaking views (with a glass of bubbly in hand) and at night stargazing!!! Our memories of Tractor Barn will be cherished for many years to come - there is nothing better than being with family in a beautiful environment in glorious sunshine! We will definitely be recommending it to friends and we hope to return soon!




New Year Break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is 2nd time we’ve stayed at Devon Country Barns and it didn’t disappoint again!

We have stayed in Cow Barn, now Tractor Barn and we are booking up Apple House for Easter.

We love this place, it is exactly want you want to get away from things and relax!




New Years stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful and more than adequate for our needs. Beautiful setting and very peaceful. The owners were more than accommodating and the hot tub was amazing.



Amazing fantastic

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired 3 of the cottages for my daughter 40th birthday , amazing .

We had just one thing we would have liked more and that would have been able to go for a walk from the cottages.




Wonderful Weeks' Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful week, this is our fourth visit to the Tractor Barn and the whole family love it. If there were any negatives to mention it would have to be the lack of an upstairs toilet and TV in the bedrooms. It would also have been nice if someone had visited us after our arrival to see if everything was okay. Having said all that, we would have no hesitation in future visits.



Richard replied 337 days ago
Hi Phil, Apologies for not coming down to see if everything was ok - I think we assumed that as this was your 5th visit and we know that our properties are tip-top that you wouldn't want to be disturbed by us knocking on the door! We'll make sure we do next time. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we see you again next year, Kind regards, Richard

A really luxurious cottage with plenty of space

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are coming back to Tractor Barn for several years now and we are outright enjoying it. The landlords Ute and Richard are more than friendly and helpful, eg when we needed a vet, Richard drove us there.The barn itself and the whole estate are very clean and tidy. Our two Flat Coated Retrievers loved it, especially the river at the bottom field.

Situated right at the border of Devon and Cornwall there is plenty to do and see: coast and beaches, stately homes and gardens, romantic fishing ports and plenty of excellent restaurants.




Wieder wunderschön

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir waren im Mai zum 7. mal in Devon Country Barns und kommen im nächsten Jahr gerne wieder. Es stimmt einfach alles und Ute und Richard sind die besten Gastgeber, die man sich nur wünschen kann. Wahrscheinlich, weil sie von ihrem erfahrenen Team, fünf Flatcoated Retrievern und Herrn Fred stets kompetent unterstützt werden. Das Gelände ist herrlich, ein Paradies für Mensch und Tier. Die Häuser sind liebevoll und sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet, es fehlt an nichts. Unsere Waschmaschine war defekt, schon nach einem Tag war das Problem gelöst. Die Umgebung, Gastronomie und das Dartmoor sind traumhaft schön, wir entdecken immer wieder Neues.



A truly amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time staying at Devon Country Barns and our first time in Tractor Barn. Once again, it was a fantastic break. We arrived to a home made cake and nice bottle of wine and Ute had kindly unpacked our food shopping which was delivered before we'd arrived. The accommodation was spacious and very comfortable with amazing views from every window. We took our dog this time and it offered the perfect surroundings with a huge field next to the barns for him to run around.

We enjoyed the hot tub and log fire each evening.

The farm shop in Lifton is amazing, offering a delicious range of meats, cheeses, cakes and chutneys.

It was a shame to have to leave so we are already looking at when we can go back!

Devon Country Barns is a definite recommendation for anyone looking for a relaxing and luxurious country getaway.




Perfect Christmas getaway.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent our Christmas week in Tractor Barn - our 2nd stay at Devon Country Barns. A lovely, homely barn with everything you could possibly need. Loved the extra touches that Richard and Ute provide - there are always home baked goods and fresh eggs on arrival and I always enjoy The White Company toiletries that are provided. Whatever the weather, we can always pop our dog down for a run around near to the river at the bottom of the field and we always enjoy the hot tubs that come with each barn! Richard and Ute are the perfect hosts - warm and friendly. Our whole family love it here - including the dog, who loves to play with the 5 other Flat-Coated Retrievers and the adorable Terrier who lives in the big house.



A long November weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely barn in great condition, warm and cosy when we arrived with a cream tea for us all. We enjoyed listening to owls and star gazing from the hot tub (it’s at the end of the garden from tractor barn so take your flip flops to save a painful walk across the gravel!)
Kitchen was well stocked with gadgets and very good quality ovens which made cooking for everyone easy.
Super comfy beds in all of the rooms which were immaculate, extra towels provided for the hot tub which was great and white company toiletries were a nice addition.
We had a lovely weekend and would definitely go back.
Two small things which could be improved (but very very small things it’s picking holes really!)
- cream tea was lovely on arrival but a pint of milk instead of UHT cartons would have been great
- we couldn’t find any kindling to make the fire with or an axe to chop kindling, we made do with lots of firefighters though so it didn’t affect our enjoyment.