FB Twitter

Orchard Barn

Orchard Barn

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 66 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Our 4* Gold Orchard Barn with its open plan bedroom/bathroom, spiral staircase and underfloor heating throughout is very popular with couples. It has a large enclosed patio and a private 4 seater hot tub. Dogs are welcome in Orchard

A relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lots of places to visit. The barn is in a good location.
Barn itself was very well thought out. Hot tub very welcoming after our daily walks




Honeymoon break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Honestly was the most amazing stay! Communication was so good including before we even arrived! Thank you so much to Sylvia who arranged a massage for us in the cottage after I dropped her an email to see if it was an option. The surrounding area is beautiful and so well kept. Our dogs loved running around in the nearby field and paddling through the lovely small river. We had such an amazing time we asked if we could stay an extra night which Sylvia allowed. The cottage itself was spotless and full of character. The hot tub was amazing as well as the garden and the surrounding views! Sylvia also gave great recommendations for dinner and shopping etc! All round a fantastic trip and would definitely go again!



Beautiful holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Orchard Barn is a beautiful cottage and very well equipped. We were welcomed with a home made cake, freshly laid eggs, and a bottle of wine. Amazing and unexpected touch!
Hot tub is not overlooked a d provides a relaxing spot to admire the views over the fields.
Perfect location for exploring Devon and Cornwall.
Highly recommend staying here. Recommend the following pubs to eat at:
Arundel Arms, Lifton
Springer Spaniel
Peter Pavy

Avoid Fox & Grapes!!!




Orchard Barn 3rd July 2021

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my husband enjoyed a wonderful stay at Orchard Barn. The barn was extremely comfortable with extra touches to ensure our stay was a good one. Sylvia, the owner was extremely friendly and was very helpful and on hand at all times. We were welcomed with fresh eggs, wine and a home made cake on arrival, which was lovely. The location was ideal and close to the A30 and the border with Cornwall and close to Dartmoor National Park. I would highly recommend a stay at Orchard Barn.



Relaxation assured

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely getaway for two in a classically beautiful and tranquil Devon valley. The accommodation in the small Orchard Barn was charming and skilfully designed. The welcome was very warm and the unexpected goodies from the hosts were much appreciated . Highly recommended.



Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for peace & quiet this is the place for you. We stayed at Orchard Barn for 5 nights & everything was top draw. Would stay again 100%.



Gorgeous barn

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Orchard Barn for 5 nights and had a fabulous stay.

The barn is beautiful and very well appointed with everything you could possibly need.

The welcome hamper and treats/ a ball for our dog were a lovely touch.

Would highly recommend.




Our Honeymoon

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 5th or 6th time staying we have Re booked for Xmas and 2022 we wouldn’t go anywhere else. Everything is thought of, from the little milk bottle to our four legged friends
Just amazing as always x




Review

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my partner had a lovely time on our short break in orchard barns. We managed to go to the local farm shop, restaurants and long walks all in our short weekend away. The barn was very comfortable to stay in and would 100% come back again



Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stay at Devon Country Barns was excellent in every respect. Very friendly hosts and lots to see and do within an easy drive



Perfect little break

Review submitted on Thu, 06 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the Orchard barn for our mini moon.

We loved the welcome pack with tea, coffee, milk, cake and apple juice. It was lovely to relax watching the birds and the views whilst cooking on the bbq or relaxing in the hot tub. Sylvia was a great host, warm and welcoming.

We visited strawberry fields farm shop several times for supplies and breakfast, very easy to get to if you need some treats.

Thankyou for a lovely stay, we hope to be back in the future.




If you're looking to escape to the country, then look no further

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Orchard Barn could not have been nicer - a wonderfully tranquil and secluded setting with premium fittings and all the amenities you need to be self-sufficient including fresh flowers, coffee, tea and milk, cake, and eggs laid from local hens. The views over the rolling hills are incredible, especially watching the sun set from the jacuzzi in the privacy of the terrace garden. If you're looking for a relaxing countryside escape then this really is the perfect place - located well below the road level, you don't hear any of the passing traffic and the cottages are perfectly spaced and angled from each other which provides wonderful privacy - like being in your own haven. Sylvia is a wonderful host, very helpful with suggestions and really makes you feel welcome. The only minor thing about our cottage is that there is no free standing shower, only a showerhead in the bath which makes washing your hair a little tricky. I believe the other cottages do have standing showers (although I wouldn't trade the view from the Orchard Barn for a showerhead!). Really could not recommend Orchard Barn highly enough and we can't wait to go back!



The perfect getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I rarely ever write reviews but felt compelled to do so, after our stay at the charming Orchard Barn.
To echo others’ comments, it really is the perfect getaway. It is an idyllic location to explore the natural and historic surroundings of West Devon and the barns themselves are so beautifully arranged and in a peaceful setting.
A delicious homemade cake, fresh eggs, milk, freshly cut flowers and a fabulous bottle of red greeted us upon arrival, with a very welcoming host. Sylvia was super quick, efficient and helpful for any queries we had - her children are as wonderful too.
The barn itself is perfectly equipped and we enjoyed relaxing in the private hot tub, whilst watching the sunset.
We were sad to leave...but we’ll definitely return and cannot recommend Devon Country Barns highly enough.




Orchard Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most enjoyable long weekend in Orchard Barn. The cottage was fitted to a very high standard and there was even a Christmas Tree to welcome us. The private hot tub with views over the hillside was a delight, even in the rain. Our dog enjoyed the many trails in the local area and also the underfloor heating! Overall a really lovely cottage.



Really Impressed

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sylvia and family were fantastic hosts, anything you asked wasn’t too much for them.
We was that impressed, a day later we booked again.
Would highly recommended Devon Country Barns too anybody.
Thank you for offering a great service at a good price.




Perfect Romantic Getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in gorgeous location, very cosy and well equipped. Loved the views from the hot tub; the little stove and the great choice of benches for relaxing.

The only downside to Orchard Barn is the absence of a proper shower.

Very relaxing stay , thank you.




Fantastic R&R!

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Orchard Barn for 2 nights as we needed a few days rest and relaxation and it was perfect! The Barn was spot on, exactly as advertised and we highly recommend staying here. The weather was extremely kind to us which made our stay even better especially with the beautiful views. Sylvia and Kristian were lovely, it was a pleasure to meet them.

We would recommend going to Lifton Farm Shop which is a few miles down the road we stocked up on food from there and everything we had was amazing!

Book here and I promise you will not be disappointed!




A beautiful and relaxing get away

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Orchard Barn for a much needed getaway, for a week, and it was just perfect, despite the weather being very wet we relaxed and unwound in the beautiful and comfortable barn and enjoyed, the hot tub was an added bonus. Sylvia made us very welcome, the cake and eggs were delicious! Highly recommended.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely long weekend at Orchard Barn. Stunning views of the Devon countryside, owners fantastically accommodating and a brilliantly relaxed break.



Blissful few days in luxury

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked our stay at Devon Country Barns rather last minute and feel lucky that Orchard Barn was available! We had an amazing few days relaxing in our home away from home. Sylvia was incredibly welcoming and helpful throughout our stay and put us at ease from the beginning. We loved that we could bring our dog with us and it was great that we could let her run around in the fields nearest the barn. It was a slightly expensive stay but given the location, lovely hosts and additional extras (fresh eggs, apple juice from the orchard, treats for our dog and of course the private hot tub!) do make it worth it. We would not hesitate to recommend others to book a stay here and we would love to come back one day.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing weekend at Orchard Barn. It's perfect set up for couples looking for a relaxing break. Beautiful views, lovely facilities and wonderful hosts. Loved watching the chickens pottering around, chilling in the hot tub and relaxing on the comfy sofa. There is a nice footpath (some roadwalking) down to Lifton where you can grab a bite to eat and drink. Lots of great attractions within driving distance too. We will be back!



Perfect Hideaway

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Orchard Barn is just what the doctor ordered. A beautiful relaxing hideaway. Set in beautiful countryside and run by a lovely family and I’m including the extremely friendly chickens In that, who roam freely around during the day. Who are always happy to come a say hello. It’s the perfect place to go to push the reset button whilst you relax in the hot tub and watch the sunset.
We’ve already booked to go again !




A very relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable, quiet and relaxing stay at Orchard barn. The tranquil setting was only interrupted by the bubbles in the hot tub. The scenery made for some idyllic sunsets followed by warm evenings next to the log burner. We will definitely be booking future weekends here.



Very happy customers!!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Orchard cottage was wonderful. It was spotlessly clean and tidy and very welcoming with delicious homemade cake. The setting is incredible with the most beautiful views and the hot tub was a big hit with us. We would highly recommend a stay here to explore Devon and Cornwall and /or just to relax, and the other huge plus is it’s dog friendly which is vital for us.



Bliss

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Came for a break and was totally relaxed, barb was wonderful and peaceful
Lovely hosts
Welcomed with wine, cake and there was crab eggs too
Comfy bed and nice towels a real home from home




Stunning location and a beautiful place to stay. Sylvia and her family were fabulous hosts.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful few days stay at Orchard Barn. Stunning location and a gorgeous place to stay with our 2 dogs. Sylvia and her family were fantastic hosts. The little extra touches of fresh eggs, apple juice from the orchard, milk and a cake was very much appreciated. We could easily of spent our whole time there. However loads to see with being on the Devon and Cornwall border. The only thing we would liked to do is to have been able to stay much longer. Thank you so much we are already looking at dates to come back again.



The perfect post-Lockdown getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My boyfriend booked a 2-night trip to Devon Country Barns for my birthday and I was so thrilled that we were able to go as restrictions were lifted. On arrival the host was welcoming, smiley and helpful and explained that our cottage had been sterilised. On the kitchen table was a bag with 2 face masks, gloves and hand gel that comes in handy when you're out and about. There was also a hand gel on the kitchen counter which we used when we returned back to the cottage. Everything was Covid-friendly but not to the extent where it would ruin any enjoyment from a trip away.

The cottage itself was like a home away from home. It is so well kitted out for guests with everything from tea pots to the game jenga. On the dining room table was a freshly cooked cake and a bottle of apple juice; such a personal touch that really made us feel spoilt! The view from outside was amazing and we were lucky enough to catch a sunset on our first night whilst eating pizza and drinking prosecco.

The bed was so comfy. The bathroom lacked a shower but the bath was lovely.

During the day we explored the surrounding area on our bikes. Lovely views all around and a sweet farm shop nearby also.

Not forgetting the hot tub that faces the view and is not overlooked by other cottages. It's large and kept clean - a real bonus to this wonderful cottage!

We hope to return very soon - definitely a stay for any season.




Perfect break

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location with stunning views the cottage itself was amazing, and to make a fantastic getaway even better the hosts were amazing some of the nicest people we've ever met.
100% we will be going back




Mini Break in Devon

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a wonderful and relaxing stay at Orchard Barn. On arrival into the cosy barn, we were greeted by a sumptuous homemade cake and treats for our dog Daisy. During our stay, we enjoyed some lovely walks and explored the local area. Unwinding in the hot tub throughout our stay was a real luxury, not forgetting the nights curled up on the sofa in front of the log burner. Sylvia and Kristian were such wonderful hosts, thank you for having us. We hope to visit again soon.



It’s Heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying at DCB for the last five years as a holiday retreat.
The new owners are just amazing and make guests feel at home. The mini hampers they leave is a lovely touch not just that but the dogs get a mini hamper too. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
If anyone is thinking about going don’t think just book! Both my partner and I cannot recommend the hospitality and stay highly enough.
It’s really 5*
Thank you both once again for such an amazing serve.




Peaceful Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were truly welcomed by Sylvia and Kristian!!
Orchard Barn was beautifully warm and comfortable. We loved the homemade cake, eggs, teas, coffee and a bottle of champagne.
A lovely touch to find a wrapped present on the doorstep on Christmas morning.
Our dogs enjoyed exploring and playing on the fields around the barns and swimming/ retrieving from the little river and they settled really well.
Absolutely spotless and so well equipped.
Will be hoping to visit again soon.




Relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Devon Country Barns are fantastic, this is our 3rd visit and certainly won't be our last. The place is so peaceful, it is the perfect venue for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. The big bonus for us, apart from the fabulous hot tub, is that our dogs are welcome, we have 4 and finding somewhere as lovely as this that welcomes more than 1 is very rare. The barns are all really well equipped too and the welcome bottle of wine, eggs (fresh from the hens and ducks on site) and flowers are lovely little added extras (we also had ice and a lemon waiting for us because I'd mentioned we would need a gin and tonic by the time we got there (6.5hr journey for us, but well worth it!!), how nice is that! Already looking forward to our next visit.



Room for I pro

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Mostly a sense of luxury, though one or two things could be improved,
Cutlery for one. Cutlery draw dirty.
Electrical dvd equipment had been tampered with and this was not picked up before our visit. Would book a break again, thank you




A little slice of heaven in Devon

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second stay a Orchard Barn and it won’t be the last. It’s in a perfect location for exploring but also if you just need to switch off and relax it has everything you need (just take your own bubbly for the hot tub!) A stunning little barn with loads of character, Sylvia (the owner) is the perfect host with homemade cake and apple juice to welcome you on arrival. The dog even got a treat!




A luxurious break in a stunning barn on the banks of the River Thrushel.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful break in Orchard Barn this August. The barn itself is so beautiful with luxurious treats at every turn. We watched the stars come out while relaxing in the hot tub, watched a kingfisher diving into the river at the bottom of our field and felt ourselves relaxing with happy contentment. Sylvia and Kristien are very warm and caring hosts who just want their guests to have the best possible break....cake, wine and fresh eggs were waiting for us on our arrival along with a vase of red roses and lots of logs for the woodburner. We felt thoroughly spoilt and neither of us wanted to leave! The barns are so dog friendly too, our cocker spaniel loved her time there, especially down by and in the river!! Good times all round and very happy memories.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish our stay was lovely the cake,wine and roses that was left for us, the hot tub,the views, being greeted by the hosts who made us feel very welcome . Would definitely recommend. Looking to book next year.



Fabulous

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Orchard Barn was amazing. Sylvia and her family made us feel very welcome and the cake, wine, eggs and roses on arrival were a lovely touch. The Barn was very peaceful and relaxing, loved the hot tub and the beautiful views. Lovely countryside and coastline to discover. We cannot wait to return.



Fantastic much needed rest

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this as an anniversary gift for my our anniversary. It ticked every box we wanted on line and was worried it wouldn't be as it was on line but it was. Cottage was lovely clean well equipped. On arrival you have a bottle of home made apple juice fresh home made cake and fresh eggs every day if you want them. Owners were lovely view was amazing and hot tubs perfect if I was to rate out of 10 it would be a 10 every time hoping to return soon.



Beautiful location and wonderful hosts.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These 5 barns are beautifully restored and tastefully furnished and decorated. We specifically chose our location due to the hot tub, woodburner and underfloor heating. On arrival, there were fresh flowers, eggs, a cake, a bottle of their own apple juice and firewood all laid on. The owner, Sylvia, is an absolutely lovely lady and nothing is too much trouble for her. As hosts they are very laid back, making the stay so relaxed .... no rules and regulations everywhere and dogs are welcomed with open arms. I would definitely visit again if I could.



Perfect Stay, Perfect Hosts

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely location in Devon ! We had perfect 5 days in Orchard Barn. It is a quiet environment, the house itself is fully equipped and very cosy! And after long walks with the dog : guess what - the hottub is waiting!
The hosts are very kind and flexible, their welcome-package wich contained sweet self-made apple-juice, tasty self baked fruit-cake, a basket with duck-eggs and chicken-eggs, for the dog a ball and a big cookie) was very well received, not only by my wife and me, but by our dog as well!
In nearby Launceston there is a Superstore, the restaurants in the area are very good (and dog-friendly) so really nothing is missing.
We defenitely would like to come back whenever possible




Relaxing Break in May

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed last year for three nights, and loved it so much that we decided to book again. We were very lucky with the weather, which was a bonus, we love walking and also took our 6 month old puppy. There are so many quiet walks in this area, and so it is ideally situated for us. The proximity of the Farm Shop at Lifton is ideal. We love the hot tub, and were in it twice a day, every day for the whole of our weeks stay.

Sylvia and Christian made us extremely welcome, and always had time for a chat. We will definitely return, it's the perfect place for a complete chill-out break.




Fantastic stay at Devon Country Barns

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in The Orchard Barn for a couple of days and had a fantastic time. The Barn itself was beautifully finished and immaculately clean. Sitting on the kitchen table as we arrived was a very tasty lemon drizzle cake and a basket of fresh eggs ready for breakfast the next day which my husband and I thought was a lovely touch. The new owners, Sylvia and Kristian were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We took our cocker spaniel with us and she loved running around the field with is just to the bottom of the barns. She also loved sitting in front of the wood burner which made our stay very warm and cosy, as did the under floor heating. I can't recommend Devon Country Barns highly enough and we certainly will look forward to our next stay.



Relaxation in Devon

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arriving at Orchard Barn, we felt instantly relaxed, with beautiful countryside and a lovely welcome of freshly baked cake, fresh eggs from the chickens and a lovely bottle of Devon wine. The cottage lived up to our expectation, exactly how it was in the photos. We loved the hot tub! Very dog friendly, lovely field at the bottom where you could let your pooch run wild. The perfect stay. Thank you



Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful barn, immaculately clean, lovely location, amazing view from hot tub,home made cake, fresh eggs and milk on arrival they have thought of everything, we love it!




Best accommodation ever.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't fault the standard of this place. Perfect in everyway. Easy to find. Hot tub wonderful. Fresh eggs too.



Thank you Richard & Ute Mchowat For having us on your lovely property, We really enjoyed our stay th

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Richard & Ute Mchowat
For having us on your lovely property,
We really enjoyed our stay there.

It was the same as we expected from the picture of the property “cozy and nice”
Would come back again for sure “highly recommend “ the place





Orchard Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A simply stunning location and cottage. Arrived to fresh scones and eggs! A very cosy cottage where we felt very relaxed, especially with the use of the hot tub and roll top bath! We will be back!



Short break

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely short break in Orchard Barn. The barn is very cosy, comfortable and well appointed. The setting is amazing - very secluded, with lovely views down to the river. It’s an idyllic setting and the owners made us feel very welcome. We’d definitely stay again.



A quirky barn holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Sep 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The barn had everything we needed for our stay.the bed was very comfortable,the water was always hot and the kitchen had everything we needed for our stay.The barn was comfortable but the cushions and rugs could do with replacing.Our springer Spaniel loved running in the bottom field and swimming in the river, unfortunately we had to have him on a lead on the patio as he could get out through the hedge and jump the wall where the sheep were .unfortunately the weather was too rough for us to use the the outside seating but it looked comfortable.the host even supplied a hose pipe to wash muddy paws overall a nice few days with lots places to visit



A beautiful break away from everything

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at Orchard barn. We were welcomed by Ute, a bottle of wine, flowers, fresh eggs and homemade brownies - certainly the warmest welcome we've ever received! The barn was just what we needed with a private patio and hot tub out the back with views over the field and distant trees. We loved exploring west Dartmoor and then returning to the comfort of the barn or a soak in the hot tub after a long walk. We definitely hope to return for another peaceful break away from everything. Thank you Richard and Ute!



Excellent place to get away from it all. Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed four nights at Orchard Barn but wish we could have stayed much more. What a place! Such a beautiful location and so peaceful, without being remote. The barn has been very tastefully converted, is well equipped with plenty of space for two, as well as our black lab. Even though the other four barns on the property were full, we felt quite secluded sitting on the patio looking over the valley and walking the fields to the river below. Ute and Richard are excellent hosts and helped contribute to a very relaxed break. With so much to do in the local area, this is definitely a place worth visiting again and again. Unfortunately we didn't get around to using the sparklingly clean hot tub but have made a note to do so next time.



Relaxing beautiful break

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We both really enjoyed our long weekend at Devon Country Barns. Total peace and quiet with stunning countryside views. The barn was beautifully presented and had everything we needed. Our dogs couldn't believe their luck with the acres of fields they could run in and the river to cool off in. We would definitely recommend Devon Country Barns!



A week away with the dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place, we received a warm welcome with home made cake, eggs, fresh flowers and a bottle of wine.
Our host Richard whent above and beyond to make us feel at home, he even looked after our two dogs on 3 occasions while we went to a few of thier restaurants that Richard recommended.
Thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, whilst overlooking the beautiful scenery. Brilliant place to relax, unwind and reachard your batteries.




Perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t fault Orcchard Barn, beautiful location, stunning views, spotlessly clean and very friendly hosts, not to mention the hot tub!



Surprise Short Break for Anniversary

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the Orchard barn for a surprise weekend away for my Anniversary.

My wife loved it from the moment she seen where we were staying and we both really loved the remoteness of the location.
The hot tub temp was set a bit too high for us (38c) but once in we enjoyed relaxing in it looking over the surrounding fields.




Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property, owners are very helpfull with recommendations for pub’s, cafés, shops, walkingplaces for dog’s, etc..



Three day break

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I spent three days in Orchard Barn, everything we could possibly need was provided, and Ute showed us round so that we were familiar with everything. The bed was comfy, good quality linen and towels, and the extra towels for use with the hot tub was a very thoughtful touch. We made use of the hot tub twice a day, and it was a real treat!

Only one slightly negative comment, the duvet was king-size (I would think) and the cover possibly was super-king, so that there was a flap of unoccupied duvet cover on each side of the bed, just a small thing, and it didn't impact on our stay atall.

The whole experience was peaceful, secluded and thoroughly enjoyable. We love the quirky furnishings and objets trouve used as decorative items, loved the double washbasins, and the bath! We would come again! My only regret was that we forgot to put an entry in the visitors' book!




Lovely cosy get away

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently stayed at the country barns with my partner for 5 days. We had been before so knew how lovely it truly is. We decided to revisit and was not disappointed. We were greeted with local wine and a home made cake to welcome us. The accommodation came equipped with every utensil you would need from a blender to BBQ equipment. The hot tub was delightful with incredible views of the stunning countryside. We do not have dogs but I would imagine they would love the area with lots of private land to explore with a beautiful river. The owners could not have been nicer despite having missed them when entering, we caught them on the way out wishing us a safe journey. We will definitely be going back soon for another relaxing break.



Lovely

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Beautiful barn conversion combines luxury and quality with with lots of charming features. Owners were friendly and helpful, the fresh eggs and cake on arrival were a lovely touch. Watching the sun set from the hot tub was a highlight. Lydford Gorge and Cotehele stunning places to visit. Will definitely recommend and hope to return!



A really beautiful barn with great facilities!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at the barn - wanted to stay for a week rather than a weekend! The hosts were away but did everything to make sure our visit was comfortable and easy. All the little touches were lovely. Only improvement is that a few of the kitchen utensils are broken / blunt (including the knife sharpener!) - not a big issue at all but one that can be easily fixed.



Amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a place. We loved every minute of our stay on Orchard Barn. We will most definitely return hopefully this year and can’t recommend it enough.



‘Our Happy Place’

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing barn overlooking the most spectacular scenery. Everything is beautifully maintained and private. The owners go the extra mile to ensure you have the most perfect stay by providing fresh eggs, a home made cake, wine and flowers on arrival. The hot tub and facilities are amazing. We love it there and already can’t wait to go back!



Fantastic accommodation !

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing weekend at Orchard Barn. The quality and attention to detail of the cottage was first class, and the outlook from the hot tub over the fields was the icing on the cake. Our hosts had provided every thing we could need and there isn’t a thing we would change about the stay (except for wanting to stay longer!). For a relaxing getaway for two, we can’t recommend this cottage enough.



Fantastic place to stay Thank you so much

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing weekend my husband and I and our dog loved every minute. We loved the underfloor heating, the log burner, the hot tub where we spent all Saturday afternoon in the wind and rain. We loved the surrounding fields and river and the bed was so comfortable. The hosts were great with their recommendations for dinner and breakfast. We enjoyed every second, the barn was perfect. Thank you.



Beautiful Orchard

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our second time in Orchard Barn and our forth time at the Devon Country Barns there can only be one resume: Great location, wonderful hosts and beautiful country-/seaside! You will be loving it all.



Most beautiful place we know

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed here for our 6 month anniversary, since 2014 we have been going back and last year was we went for a week just before Xmas.

We are always always welcomed and made to feel at home.
I would always always recommend this place to friends and family that appreciate a slice of idealic country side.

Richard and Ute are very hospitable.
Thank you once again for having us