FB Twitter

Orchard Barn

Orchard Barn

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Our 4* Gold Orchard Barn with its open plan bedroom/bathroom, spiral staircase and underfloor heating throughout is very popular with couples. It has a large enclosed patio and a private 4 seater hot tub. Dogs are welcome in Orchard

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Devon Country Barns are fantastic, this is our 3rd visit and certainly won't be our last. The place is so peaceful, it is the perfect venue for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. The big bonus for us, apart from the fabulous hot tub, is that our dogs are welcome, we have 4 and finding somewhere as lovely as this that welcomes more than 1 is very rare. The barns are all really well equipped too and the welcome bottle of wine, eggs (fresh from the hens and ducks on site) and flowers are lovely little added extras (we also had ice and a lemon waiting for us because I'd mentioned we would need a gin and tonic by the time we got there (6.5hr journey for us, but well worth it!!), how nice is that! Already looking forward to our next visit.



Room for I pro

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Mostly a sense of luxury, though one or two things could be improved,
Cutlery for one. Cutlery draw dirty.
Electrical dvd equipment had been tampered with and this was not picked up before our visit. Would book a break again, thank you




A little slice of heaven in Devon

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second stay a Orchard Barn and it won’t be the last. It’s in a perfect location for exploring but also if you just need to switch off and relax it has everything you need (just take your own bubbly for the hot tub!) A stunning little barn with loads of character, Sylvia (the owner) is the perfect host with homemade cake and apple juice to welcome you on arrival. The dog even got a treat!




A luxurious break in a stunning barn on the banks of the River Thrushel.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful break in Orchard Barn this August. The barn itself is so beautiful with luxurious treats at every turn. We watched the stars come out while relaxing in the hot tub, watched a kingfisher diving into the river at the bottom of our field and felt ourselves relaxing with happy contentment. Sylvia and Kristien are very warm and caring hosts who just want their guests to have the best possible break....cake, wine and fresh eggs were waiting for us on our arrival along with a vase of red roses and lots of logs for the woodburner. We felt thoroughly spoilt and neither of us wanted to leave! The barns are so dog friendly too, our cocker spaniel loved her time there, especially down by and in the river!! Good times all round and very happy memories.



Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish our stay was lovely the cake,wine and roses that was left for us, the hot tub,the views, being greeted by the hosts who made us feel very welcome . Would definitely recommend. Looking to book next year.



Fabulous

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Orchard Barn was amazing. Sylvia and her family made us feel very welcome and the cake, wine, eggs and roses on arrival were a lovely touch. The Barn was very peaceful and relaxing, loved the hot tub and the beautiful views. Lovely countryside and coastline to discover. We cannot wait to return.



Fantastic much needed rest

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this as an anniversary gift for my our anniversary. It ticked every box we wanted on line and was worried it wouldn't be as it was on line but it was. Cottage was lovely clean well equipped. On arrival you have a bottle of home made apple juice fresh home made cake and fresh eggs every day if you want them. Owners were lovely view was amazing and hot tubs perfect if I was to rate out of 10 it would be a 10 every time hoping to return soon.



Beautiful location and wonderful hosts.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These 5 barns are beautifully restored and tastefully furnished and decorated. We specifically chose our location due to the hot tub, woodburner and underfloor heating. On arrival, there were fresh flowers, eggs, a cake, a bottle of their own apple juice and firewood all laid on. The owner, Sylvia, is an absolutely lovely lady and nothing is too much trouble for her. As hosts they are very laid back, making the stay so relaxed .... no rules and regulations everywhere and dogs are welcomed with open arms. I would definitely visit again if I could.



Perfect Stay, Perfect Hosts

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely location in Devon ! We had perfect 5 days in Orchard Barn. It is a quiet environment, the house itself is fully equipped and very cosy! And after long walks with the dog : guess what - the hottub is waiting!
The hosts are very kind and flexible, their welcome-package wich contained sweet self-made apple-juice, tasty self baked fruit-cake, a basket with duck-eggs and chicken-eggs, for the dog a ball and a big cookie) was very well received, not only by my wife and me, but by our dog as well!
In nearby Launceston there is a Superstore, the restaurants in the area are very good (and dog-friendly) so really nothing is missing.
We defenitely would like to come back whenever possible




Relaxing Break in May

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed last year for three nights, and loved it so much that we decided to book again. We were very lucky with the weather, which was a bonus, we love walking and also took our 6 month old puppy. There are so many quiet walks in this area, and so it is ideally situated for us. The proximity of the Farm Shop at Lifton is ideal. We love the hot tub, and were in it twice a day, every day for the whole of our weeks stay.

Sylvia and Christian made us extremely welcome, and always had time for a chat. We will definitely return, it's the perfect place for a complete chill-out break.




Fantastic stay at Devon Country Barns

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in The Orchard Barn for a couple of days and had a fantastic time. The Barn itself was beautifully finished and immaculately clean. Sitting on the kitchen table as we arrived was a very tasty lemon drizzle cake and a basket of fresh eggs ready for breakfast the next day which my husband and I thought was a lovely touch. The new owners, Sylvia and Kristian were very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We took our cocker spaniel with us and she loved running around the field with is just to the bottom of the barns. She also loved sitting in front of the wood burner which made our stay very warm and cosy, as did the under floor heating. I can't recommend Devon Country Barns highly enough and we certainly will look forward to our next stay.



Relaxation in Devon

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arriving at Orchard Barn, we felt instantly relaxed, with beautiful countryside and a lovely welcome of freshly baked cake, fresh eggs from the chickens and a lovely bottle of Devon wine. The cottage lived up to our expectation, exactly how it was in the photos. We loved the hot tub! Very dog friendly, lovely field at the bottom where you could let your pooch run wild. The perfect stay. Thank you



Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful barn, immaculately clean, lovely location, amazing view from hot tub,home made cake, fresh eggs and milk on arrival they have thought of everything, we love it!




Best accommodation ever.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can't fault the standard of this place. Perfect in everyway. Easy to find. Hot tub wonderful. Fresh eggs too.



Thank you Richard & Ute Mchowat For having us on your lovely property, We really enjoyed our stay th

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Richard & Ute Mchowat
For having us on your lovely property,
We really enjoyed our stay there.

It was the same as we expected from the picture of the property “cozy and nice”
Would come back again for sure “highly recommend “ the place





Orchard Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A simply stunning location and cottage. Arrived to fresh scones and eggs! A very cosy cottage where we felt very relaxed, especially with the use of the hot tub and roll top bath! We will be back!



Short break

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely short break in Orchard Barn. The barn is very cosy, comfortable and well appointed. The setting is amazing - very secluded, with lovely views down to the river. It’s an idyllic setting and the owners made us feel very welcome. We’d definitely stay again.



A quirky barn holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Sep 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The barn had everything we needed for our stay.the bed was very comfortable,the water was always hot and the kitchen had everything we needed for our stay.The barn was comfortable but the cushions and rugs could do with replacing.Our springer Spaniel loved running in the bottom field and swimming in the river, unfortunately we had to have him on a lead on the patio as he could get out through the hedge and jump the wall where the sheep were .unfortunately the weather was too rough for us to use the the outside seating but it looked comfortable.the host even supplied a hose pipe to wash muddy paws overall a nice few days with lots places to visit



A beautiful break away from everything

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at Orchard barn. We were welcomed by Ute, a bottle of wine, flowers, fresh eggs and homemade brownies - certainly the warmest welcome we've ever received! The barn was just what we needed with a private patio and hot tub out the back with views over the field and distant trees. We loved exploring west Dartmoor and then returning to the comfort of the barn or a soak in the hot tub after a long walk. We definitely hope to return for another peaceful break away from everything. Thank you Richard and Ute!



Excellent place to get away from it all. Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed four nights at Orchard Barn but wish we could have stayed much more. What a place! Such a beautiful location and so peaceful, without being remote. The barn has been very tastefully converted, is well equipped with plenty of space for two, as well as our black lab. Even though the other four barns on the property were full, we felt quite secluded sitting on the patio looking over the valley and walking the fields to the river below. Ute and Richard are excellent hosts and helped contribute to a very relaxed break. With so much to do in the local area, this is definitely a place worth visiting again and again. Unfortunately we didn't get around to using the sparklingly clean hot tub but have made a note to do so next time.



Relaxing beautiful break

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We both really enjoyed our long weekend at Devon Country Barns. Total peace and quiet with stunning countryside views. The barn was beautifully presented and had everything we needed. Our dogs couldn't believe their luck with the acres of fields they could run in and the river to cool off in. We would definitely recommend Devon Country Barns!



A week away with the dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place, we received a warm welcome with home made cake, eggs, fresh flowers and a bottle of wine.
Our host Richard whent above and beyond to make us feel at home, he even looked after our two dogs on 3 occasions while we went to a few of thier restaurants that Richard recommended.
Thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub, whilst overlooking the beautiful scenery. Brilliant place to relax, unwind and reachard your batteries.




Perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t fault Orcchard Barn, beautiful location, stunning views, spotlessly clean and very friendly hosts, not to mention the hot tub!



Surprise Short Break for Anniversary

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the Orchard barn for a surprise weekend away for my Anniversary.

My wife loved it from the moment she seen where we were staying and we both really loved the remoteness of the location.
The hot tub temp was set a bit too high for us (38c) but once in we enjoyed relaxing in it looking over the surrounding fields.




Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property, owners are very helpfull with recommendations for pub’s, cafés, shops, walkingplaces for dog’s, etc..



Three day break

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I spent three days in Orchard Barn, everything we could possibly need was provided, and Ute showed us round so that we were familiar with everything. The bed was comfy, good quality linen and towels, and the extra towels for use with the hot tub was a very thoughtful touch. We made use of the hot tub twice a day, and it was a real treat!

Only one slightly negative comment, the duvet was king-size (I would think) and the cover possibly was super-king, so that there was a flap of unoccupied duvet cover on each side of the bed, just a small thing, and it didn't impact on our stay atall.

The whole experience was peaceful, secluded and thoroughly enjoyable. We love the quirky furnishings and objets trouve used as decorative items, loved the double washbasins, and the bath! We would come again! My only regret was that we forgot to put an entry in the visitors' book!




Lovely cosy get away

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently stayed at the country barns with my partner for 5 days. We had been before so knew how lovely it truly is. We decided to revisit and was not disappointed. We were greeted with local wine and a home made cake to welcome us. The accommodation came equipped with every utensil you would need from a blender to BBQ equipment. The hot tub was delightful with incredible views of the stunning countryside. We do not have dogs but I would imagine they would love the area with lots of private land to explore with a beautiful river. The owners could not have been nicer despite having missed them when entering, we caught them on the way out wishing us a safe journey. We will definitely be going back soon for another relaxing break.



Lovely

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Beautiful barn conversion combines luxury and quality with with lots of charming features. Owners were friendly and helpful, the fresh eggs and cake on arrival were a lovely touch. Watching the sun set from the hot tub was a highlight. Lydford Gorge and Cotehele stunning places to visit. Will definitely recommend and hope to return!



A really beautiful barn with great facilities!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at the barn - wanted to stay for a week rather than a weekend! The hosts were away but did everything to make sure our visit was comfortable and easy. All the little touches were lovely. Only improvement is that a few of the kitchen utensils are broken / blunt (including the knife sharpener!) - not a big issue at all but one that can be easily fixed.



Amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what a place. We loved every minute of our stay on Orchard Barn. We will most definitely return hopefully this year and can’t recommend it enough.



‘Our Happy Place’

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing barn overlooking the most spectacular scenery. Everything is beautifully maintained and private. The owners go the extra mile to ensure you have the most perfect stay by providing fresh eggs, a home made cake, wine and flowers on arrival. The hot tub and facilities are amazing. We love it there and already can’t wait to go back!



Fantastic accommodation !

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing weekend at Orchard Barn. The quality and attention to detail of the cottage was first class, and the outlook from the hot tub over the fields was the icing on the cake. Our hosts had provided every thing we could need and there isn’t a thing we would change about the stay (except for wanting to stay longer!). For a relaxing getaway for two, we can’t recommend this cottage enough.



Fantastic place to stay Thank you so much

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing weekend my husband and I and our dog loved every minute. We loved the underfloor heating, the log burner, the hot tub where we spent all Saturday afternoon in the wind and rain. We loved the surrounding fields and river and the bed was so comfortable. The hosts were great with their recommendations for dinner and breakfast. We enjoyed every second, the barn was perfect. Thank you.



Beautiful Orchard

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our second time in Orchard Barn and our forth time at the Devon Country Barns there can only be one resume: Great location, wonderful hosts and beautiful country-/seaside! You will be loving it all.



Most beautiful place we know

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed here for our 6 month anniversary, since 2014 we have been going back and last year was we went for a week just before Xmas.

We are always always welcomed and made to feel at home.
I would always always recommend this place to friends and family that appreciate a slice of idealic country side.

Richard and Ute are very hospitable.
Thank you once again for having us