FB Twitter

Meadow Barn

Meadow Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Our most recent conversion, Meadow Barn is a 5*Gold cottage for two with separate kitchen, dining and living rooms downstairs. It has its own enclosed patio which has a covered area with a woodburner to keep you warm into the evening. Beautifully finished with terracotta flooring downstairs, oak upstairs and underfloor heating throughout.

Perfect long weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Devon Country Barns and won’t be our last. Sylvia and her family were very welcoming and friendly. We had a three night stay and had a totally relaxing weekend. The lodge and surrounding grounds never disappoint and we were blessed with lovely weather for our stay. Thank you for a perfect weekend away and we hope to be back in the near future.



Belated review for an excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Meadow Cottage back at Easter and we had a brilliant time. The accommodation was fantastic and we had a warm welcome and send off. We stayed three nights and I wish it had been longer. We loved sitting in the hot tub tying to work out what wildlife was walking around in the fields opposite and the quirkinesses of the Cottage appealed to us both. The kitchen was really well stocked with everything that we needed. The only thing neither of us could get the hang of was how to drape the shower curtain so that it didn’t stick to you whilst showering! We are looking forward to going back. Thanks for a great stay and sorry for the delayed review.



Meadow Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay again at Meadow. 1st time with new owners. Silvia and her family, made to feel very welcome. 1st Class



Perfect Couples Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Meadow Barn for 5 nights recently. The entire complex is a hidden gem in the quiet countryside and we had the most relaxing experience - the perfect getaway from busy lives in London. Sylvia is a great host and is close enough to drop by for any questions and a very warm welcome, but far away enough up the hill to make you feel like you're alone.

The barn is perfect for couples and has a romantic vibe. There is a very spacious living area with an extremely comfy sofa, a separate area to have food in and a modern kitchen that is well equipped. The barn was spotlessly clean and there were fresh eggs and cake to welcome us, alongside some freshly pressed apple juice which i believe they make on site. The bedroom was bright and airy with wooden flooring and the bathroom had a large stand alone bathtub (big enough for two), which was great to soak in. The property also had a log burner, a fire pit and a very high quality hot tub.

We loved our stay at DCB and will return at some point in the future. The location makes it easy to access Devon and Cornwalls beautiful coastline (we drove down to St. Ives & up to Bude) and it is a homely enough location to stay in and enjoy the cottage. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a romantic weekend away.

There is a farmshop 5 minutes drive away, as well as a large Tesco, M&S, Iceland, Lidl and various other pound shops around a 10-15 minute drive away in a village which made the experience much easier.




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, beautiful barn in a wonderful location! The house and the farm grounds were very dog friendly which meant we could relax and enjoy our stay. The location was perfect for exploring both Devon and Cornwall.

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival (lovely cake!) by Sylvia and her lovely family.




The perfect little getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect 2 night relaxing getaway. A beautiful barn with everything we needed, hot tub, wood burner, beautiful bath, private outside area and next to a huge field where the chickens and geese live and we had the freshest of eggs on arrival.
Sylvia and family were very welcoming and very relaxed and accommodating, I had a birthday present delivered and it was already on the table with the best homemade cake ever. Lovely touch!
Pictures couldn't do the view justice, perfect from the hot tub with a glass of prosecco - even the rain couldnt keep us out, we sat in there with an umbrella!
We will be back xoxo




Meadow Barn - a little piece of paradise!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our time spent here. So relaxing and the hosts gave us a very warm welcome. Enjoyed the snug with the fire in the evenings which came in very handy after a dip in the hot tub! Our dog loved his adventures in the river and we enjoyed watching the wildlife. Would highly recommend and hope to revisit.



Best week away ever

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It has been at least 12 years since our last visit to this part of the UK.

On arrival the views were just breath taking so beautiful, so quiet, just perfect.

:Leading up to our week at Meadow Barn I had been working really hard and needed just to relax and chill and ooh my it was just so amazing. The cottage was just so private and relaxing the hot tub was just heavenly.

We sat on the patio every evening relaxing and watching all the wildlife around us. If you are an avid bird watcher this location is a must. The farm geese are very welcoming on your return to the cottage from a day exploring.
Perfect location for Devon and Cornwall good roads and lots of really interesting and beautiful places to visit. So many coves and bays truly unspoilt.

This week away was just what I needed and Meadow Barn the perfect location.

Sylvia and Kristian were fantastic hosts and went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect.

Strawberry Fields farm shop is the most amazing farm shop and restaurant ever.... and only a short drive away everything is just so yummy yummy.




Idyllic slice of Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely find, it was a peaceful area with brilliant accommodation. The outlook from the hot tub was blissful, I found the holiday super dog friendly. The owners are very welcoming. We will definitely be back soon.



Fantastic break

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic short break away in a beautiful location. Waking up each morning to just the sound of the birds was delightful. The hot tub was great and made for a really relaxing break. The new owners of Devon Country Barns were fantastic hosts and extremely helpful. We wish them every success in their new venture.



A Lovely Short Stay at Devon County Barns

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Apr 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful few days in Meadow Barn; it's a comfortable barn in a beautiful setting. Richard and Ute were super hosts, providing delicious cake and a very warm welcome. Our only slight gripe was that the barn smelt very damp in the kitchen and dining area which became increasingly unpleasant and some of the kitchen equipment had been left dirty.



Bliss!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday. It was a totally relaxing break with fantastic weather. Made good use of the hot tub which was lovely once the sun went down and the evenings got a bit chilly. This was our second visit and won’t be the last.



Gorgeous devon

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A 3 night break and back again to a simply wonderful barn. Very high spec and has everything one could need for a short or long stay. Being dog friendly and in a dog paradise location is just the icing on the cake. Cannot rate it highly enough. Stunning beaches to the north and Dartmoor within range too.
Perfect for a romantic break or active holiday




Another wonderful visit

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was not the first time we had visited DCB and as usual it did not disappoint. The owners, Richard and Ute, we so welcoming and the barns were immaculate and so comfortable with a very high spec. Our dogs had a great time in the river playing with the resident flat coated retrievers and we can’t wait to go again!!



Meadow Barn Review

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay and found all the facilities and services excellent. We will look forward to our next booking.



Lovely short break for us and our Flatties.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have followed The Barns on Facebook for sometime and longed for the opportunity to visit with our two flatcoats. Finally the chance came up and we were not to be disappointed. It is a beautiful spot for both humans and dogs and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a cottage that had been v tastefully done, we especially liked the outdoor/indoor eating area. We will be returning as soon as possible.



A short break

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place, lovely location and very peaceful. Will definitely be back. The small touches made it stand out from other places we have stayed at





Fabulous 5 star accommodation where dogs are welcomed.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3rd stay at Devon Country Barns but our first time in Meadow Barn and as expected we were very impressed with the accomadation. Devon Country Barns offer everything you need for a 5 star self catering accomadation the added bonuses being the hot tub and the lovely enclosed field and stream to exercise our dog.The Barns are an ideal base to explore Devon and Cornwall. We are already looking at dates to book again for next year.



perfect summer holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had the most perfect stay in Devon Country barns,we couldn't expect better holidays.Very warm and friendly welcome of the Mc Howat's ready to help and answer every question.
we certainly will be back next year.




Excellent stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Meadow barn for four nights as a mini-moon and had a wonderful stay. Meadow barn qas excellent value and presents as a superb, well equipped and exceptionally clean barn conversion for two. We brought our greyhound Tom who loved having so many walks so close by! Excellent place for dog owners as there are even kennels on site and lots of space for dogs to walk and run. The hot tub was also spotlessly clean and well maintained, perfect for relaxing under the stars and a lovely outdoor snug with seating and heater is perfect to make the most of the lovely meadow views. We had a lovely stay and will definitely be recommending to friends and family! Can't fault the accomodation, setting or hosts who presented us with fresh flowers, home made cake, fresh eggs, milk and wine on arrival!



Meadow Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Meadow Barn, the most comfortable well equiped holiday accommodation one could wish for. Riley our labradoodle had a great time too.



Shh! Don’t tell everyone.....they’re all want to visit!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Meadow barn is a lovely barn, that is well decorated & has everything you need for a holiday including an outside room that is just perfect to read in or enjoy a meal. As an added extra it has a hot tub which is great to ease your muscles after a long walk on Dartmoor.
The owners are friendly & approachable & are full of local knowledge they are happy to share.
The barn is one of 5 barns set in meadows with sheep, plus an orchard & a river for the dogs to frolic in.
Book it, you won’t be disappointed!




Weeks break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous place to stay!. Our second time. Dog friendly ,great hosts ...secure field for the hounds which is great . The whole experience is great with super places locally to visit and the standards are first class at the barn so after a busy day sightseeing you can relax in great surroundings in the evening with the hounds enjoying a holiday too... a river and field to run in ... would highly recommend .



Perfect weekend escape

Review submitted on Sat, 05 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Meadow Barn was perfect for a weekend getaway for two plus a dog. Everything had been thought of to ensure a great stay.



Stunning

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Meadow Barn, for 2 people, the cottage was perfect, clean, spacious, all mod cons, a hot tub and beautiful scenery.

We met Richard, the owner who showed us around the cottage, he was very friendly and helpful.
We would definitely comeback




Second time in few months

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned to DCB after few months and we have no words to describe how wonderful was our time there.
Ute and Richard are simply two friends and their dogs simply gorgious.
Looking for our third time at DCB




Peaceful Haven

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just completed our fourth stay at Meadow Barn and love the ambiance of the barn. The barns each have a private patio with a hot tub and there are fields running down to the river which everyone, dogs included, can enjoy.

The barns are superbly equipped and comfortable and the log burner gives a very homely feel on a winter evening, though not strictly necessary for heat as the underfloor heating works brilliantly.

Richard and Ute, the owners are very welcoming and there is always a home made cake, eggs from Devon Country Barns own ducks and chickens and fresh flowers in the barn on arrival.

We can’t wait for our next visit.




A lovely place for exploring & relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully set out and spacious barn with all the amenities required, the hosts are friendly and approachable, the added gifts of fresh eggs and homemade cake are a lovely touch. It is in an ideal position for exploring both Devon & Cornwall, travelling to the moors and to the beach is only about 1/2 hour each; we took 3 dogs who also had a great time on the large field and stream available behind the barns.



great break

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fntastic break.Cottage was better than descibed.Hot tub was great after a long day out x grounds of the cottage breath taking .would definatly book again



A glorious week

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Difficult to describe something so simply perfect....
Thanks to Ute and Richard and their furry loves...




A perfect Devon eacape

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Meadow Barn - it's a perfect hideaway from the hustle and bustle of daily life. Set in the grounds of the owner's house and one of five high specification conversions, once you are in the barn there's comfort, privacy and everything you need for your stay. A lovely welcome gift of cake, wine and fresh laid eggs was provided, as well as unlimited logs for the two wood burners. The hot tub is perfectly positioned for privavcy and a stunning view across open countryside - we even saw a few shooting stars on our last night.

A truly relaxing holiday in a fantastic location :)