FB Twitter

Apple House

Apple House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Our 4* Gold Apple House is made up of two old barns joined together by a glassed walkway which provides lots of room for four guests in both the kitchen/dining area and the living room. It has its own enclosed patio and a private six seater hot tub. Dogs are welcome in Apple House.

A short mid week break in January

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Apple Barn was just perfect for what we needed, a clean warm & very comfortable barn with an enclosed garden & then fields to walk our dogs in.

We have been before to Devon Country Barns & love it, the hosts Richard & Ute are so hospitable & have great knowledge of local pubs & walks. So yes we will be back!

We have now stayed in most of the Barns & they are all different but all perfect

When you have two dogs it is hard to find good accommodation to stay in with them & this is one of the best.




Luxurious, relaxing accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We live relatively locally to Apple House, but wanted a weekend to just get away from it all. We wanted to spend time just relaxing in the cottage and were lucky that the weather was dry enough to make full use of the hot tub, which was a real highlight! Our dog also enjoyed exploring the grounds and splashing in the river. All in all a lovely cottage with great facilities. We would love to have been able to stay longer. Would definitely recommend.



Short winter stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely break in Devon Country Barns in the Apple House which we all loved! we were two adults, two children, a baby and our big dog and there was plenty of space. we all loved our stay and time there and loved the Hot Tub with the view, it was surreal! Richard and Ute were great hosts so friendly and helpful. we will definitely return again!



New Year family break

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to unwind - a real gem. We wanted a 'family' new year and Apple House certainly delivered. We absolutely loved it - fresh eggs and lemon cake on arrival, comfortable beds, good shower and a view to die for. We must mention the hot tub which was bliss and a great way to celebrate ringing in 2019. The house has all the equipment you need with some lovely little touches - kids loved the underfloor heating, not to mention several games of Cleudo! A great place to explore the local area too - we will definitely be back!



Beautiful barn in a perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Apple House is a beautifully appointed characterful warm barn with the added bonus of a hot tub and private enclosed garden ( great for dogs) with far reaching views. We were made to feel very welcome by Ute and Richard and have had a warm and fun few days in this delightful part of Devon. We have already recommended it to friends and family and will definitely be returning ASAP



Another Fab stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we first visited Devon Country Barns we knew we would be returning and we still feel the same. This was our second visit and I hope it’s not too long before we return again!



Long weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely well equipped barns completed to a very high standard in a beautiful setting. Host were extremely friendly and helpful. Hot tub was a wonderful treat, very relaxing sitting in the bubbles watching an amazing sunset. The barns are very dog friendly and Bailey had a great time exploring the countryside and river. Great position for exploring Devon and Cornwall. Would love to return for longer next time.



Devon Country Barns UK Trip

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Devon Country Barns was highly recommended to us and I am happy say the recommendation proved correct. The accommodation is first class and ideal for anyone travelling with dogs. A good host/hostess should always introduce themselves personally- its a sign of good manners and a pride in their establishment- Richard and Ute did and have both.

The weather was not brilliant during our time in Devon but we found plenty to occupy ourselves during our stay. I highly recommend a trip with your dogs to Saunton Sands - a marvelous, dog friendly beach about an hour away.

All in all a very enjoyable trip with excellent accommodation- highly recommended to the well mannered and discerning traveller who wants to take their four legged friends on a little adventure !!!!




Short breakaway

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed staying here. The hosts were there to meet us on arrival, we also had home made cakes and eggs provided. The accommodation Is very comfortable and the hot tub a real luxury.



Wonderful accommodation in wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in such a lovely setting. Everything has been thought of to make your stay relaxed and enjoyable including magnificent night skies in a pollution free setting.
The welcome from Ute gets the stay off to a great start along with one of her scrummy cakes.




Another excellent stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Apple House is a fabulous barn, great size & well kitted out & so comfortable, we were just done for the weekend so didn’t want to go out much.
But with the fields & Orchard there is plenty of space to walk your dogs without having to leave the site.
The barns has plenty of dvd’s & books plus games so you can be as active as you want.
We will be back!




Great Holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb accommodation in great rural setting, with all mod cons provided, and topped off with an excellent hot tub facility. Only constructive criticism is the lack of storage space eg cupboard, wardrobe in the main bedroom.



Enjoyable relaxing stay for parents kid and dog

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed the house and the surroudings. Pleanty of things to do, valuable hints from Richard and fun with sheep, ducks, chicken and dogs. Special thanks to Ute and Richard!



Lovely few days in Apple House

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent quality accommodation - comfortable beds, lovely large fluffy towels!
Nice welcome with tea/coffee, eggs, milk and cake!




Tranquil stay in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculate accommodation, beautiful views. A lovely baked cake on arrival. Plenty of room for family and dog. Richard & Ute are welcoming and friendly; recommending places to go. It was the perfect place for our short break. We will definitely come again and stay longer.



A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having just returned from a few days away in Devon and specifically at Devon Country Barns I can honestly say how happy the stay has made us. After a difficult few months, time away from home was so welcomed and to do it in such a setting was truly wonderful. We stayed in Apple House which is beautiful, perfectly placed to overlook the lovely countryside all around the Barns especially from the comfort of the hot tub! We were incredibly lucky to experience the best weather of 2018 so far and we took full advantage to both explore the magnificent surroundings and also enjoy the cottage to the full. Both Ute and Richard are as welcoming hosts as you can get and their hospitality is second to none. We can’t wait for our next visit!



Devon Country Barns

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply the best! Beautiful location, fantastic accommodation and wonderful hosts. Can’t wait to return!



Lovely properties in an excellent setting and VERY dog friendly

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at two of these properties now and both have been superbly appointed with excellent fittings and facilities. A lot of care and attention has been given to the conversions. The owners welcome dogs and they too have everything they would need. The owners are always on hand to help if needed. Dog walking is not “on the doorstep” but there are plenty of nice places a short drive away. We will definitely be back.



Devon country barns

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always enjoy our stay here ... we stayed in apple house in January and it was a lovely relaxing weekend ... Richard and Ute make you feel very welcome and provide a welcoming cake and fresh eggs! .. we really enjoy our time away at Devon country barns... beautiful place and stunning views !



Fabulous barns!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Devon Country Barns before & loved it so much we decided to celebrate my husbands birthday there.

We have two dogs so to find such a quality place that is open to having dog is great for us.
Apple barn is a 4* gold standard accommodation, not sure why it isn’t 5* (maybe the lack of a full size freezer) as it nothing to do with cleanliness or quality of furnishings- the ground floor is a great size with separate zones & the sofa & chairs are comfy. Upstairs there are 2 bedrooms & a bathroom
Outside there is a walled patio area with a large hot tub which over looks fields
You can walk your dogs on the owner’s fields down to the river (you just have to be careful of loose chickens & ducks) they have some sheep that they move round the fields so please make sure you pick up after your dog.
The owners live on site & are wonderful & very helpful with anything you need. Richard is always willing to help out with some dog training tips.
As you can tell we love it there & have booked to go back again.