FB Twitter

Mill Village 75, Tide Cottage (P)

Mill Village 75, Tide Cottage (P)

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.9
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.7


Sleeps 6
• 3 x bedrooms & 3 x bathrooms
• 1 x double & 2 x twin rooms
• Pet’s welcome (Charges apply)
• Wi- Fi included
• Sorry, no smoking indoors
• Linen, towels and utilities included
• No access available to onsite Spa
• £200 refundable security deposit is required

Lake views may differ from the photos displayed due to seasonal changes in the density of vegetation around the lakes.

Another Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here twice now, on both occasions we enjoyed this location and there is so much to do in the area



Stay at 75, Mill Village

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good stay enjoyed by all the family.
The WiFi gave up 4 days into the stay but somebody came round promptly to offer an interim fix.
Ate once in the Balihoo pub, Food good. The floor was noticably sticky with dirt so a mid day clean after lunchtime would have been in order. Staffing level issues?
Part of the estate is a building site. Was it necessary to bring in a 80/100ft mobile crane on site (outside the works area) during the week in question at the height of the summer season? It wasn't there very long and we were far enough away not to bother us but it might of bothered anybody residing near to it. Just a minor point.




Wonderful - a special place.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful - a very special place. From the Balcony over the lake to the shared facilities - everything was faultless



Stunning Location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at Tide Cottage, the views across the lake are stunning. More comfortable seating would have been appreciated particularly on the outside deck.



Short break in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 4 days at Tide Cottage. The location is great and the property was reasonably well equipped. The weather wasn’t too kind to us but still plenty to do. We have already booked to return next year albeit to a different cottage.



A wonderful place

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family had a wonderful stay at Tide Cottage. It had everything we needed and more and was a very comfortable home from home with a beautiful view of the lake from the sunny south facing terrace - In good weather theres no need to go abroad! Mill village itself is a great location with the pool and playgrounds plus the trail for the children just outside the gates. We visited and recommend the country park and beach, aquaventure, dog friendly katakanu at South Cerney, visiting the wildlife park, thames path walk to the local pub, and theres plenty at mill village too. Ballyhoo is great but the attached shop is very limited. We had a tesco delivery on arrival and visited a local coop. All in all a lovely child, adult and dog friendly holiday that we would recommend (although its so peaceful we’d like to keep it secret)



Fab half term break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings. My family loved walking around the lakes, fishing and going out on a katakanu. The warm outdoor pool was perfect for the kids and they went swimming every day! This was our 2nd stay in Tide Cottage and round recommend.



Natalie Draper replied more than 1 year ago
Hi and thank you for your review, really pleased you enjoyed your stay again in Tide Cottage, we hope to see you again!

Cottage review

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in excellent location . Only downside was the poor internet service. If this could be improved, be so much better especially as stated for one month



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and glad the cottage worked well for you. The Estate are installing fibre broadband at the moment so the broadband should be much improved soon.

Fabulous views over the lake

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage exceeded our expectations and is much nicer than the photographs, which do not do it justice. It is comfortable and very well equipped. The location is amazing with incredible views across the lake. It is quiet and peaceful. It is also very close to the lovely swimming pool and tennis courts. On the downside, there is only one proper shower and it is located downstairs, and the shower room is tiny.



Good spot - mostly positive.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked a couple of neighbouring properties for a family reunion and were pleased with how this worked. The rear of the properties had decking platforms which were on the lake front and had access to a small jetty. The grassy area was common to a terrace of properties and this led to a minor problem with a property owner nearby who regarded the strip behind his house as private and objected to anyone crossing that land. Not a big deal, but made us feel like trespassers and not explained in the property information folder.
No 75 was slightly 'tired' compared with 76 next doors - for example it was tricky to lock the rear french doors as the wood for the bolts had rotted. The decking was in need of a good powerwash too.
The location was great though - looking out on the lake, fantastic bird life and the option to rent canoes etc and venture out at dusk for a quiet paddle. A family of swans made a regular evening visit. The kids found the outdoor swimming pool really handy in the hot weather and the adults used the sauna attached. The restaurant/cafe turned out to be closed for two days midweek and the 'shop' is v limited. There was some disappointment that we were unable to pay for sessions at the Spa - only properties where the owners had spa membership could access it apparently. (a bit confusing since the marketing brochures encourage use of the Spa)
The Cotswold Water park is a great location - quiet and close to nature and handy for the other places we wanted to visit.




Another lovely break at Lower Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming back here for the last four years and once again it didn’t disappoint. No.75 Mill village was surprisingly spacious, comfy and with amazing views. Thanks again



A lovely holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we needed was provided. Kitchen equipment particularly of high standard. Staff were all friendly & helpful. I loved the cottage with its veranda and view of the lake and the environment seemed to be looked after making walking a pleasure due to proliferation of wildlife. Also enjoyed the lovely warm pool. A 9 out of 10 holiday



No 75 Mill Village

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely position. We felt the veranda was a little small for 6 people, as were 2 of the bedrooms, neither of which can be changed!
A BBQ would also have been good. However customer service was excellent and the cottage was very well equipped.
We will definitely return.




Perfect peaceful holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing peaceful holiday, it was like home from home, so comfy and quiet. You could not of asked for more within the property, even with games and dvds for the bad weather. The location was perfect and you could do as little or as much as you wanted in the area. Absolutely loved it and will definitely be returning.



Tide cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice cottages in peaceful setting. Cottage is well equipped and comfortable. Kitchen a little small when cooking for 6 people. Pleasant surroundings and lakes although would be nice if more routes were marked on map. But overall a very enjoyable holiday.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and for your feedback, which I will pass to the owner. I am glad it all worked well for you and hope to see you again soon.

Mill Village facilities

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked this holiday with 2 primary aims and several other considerations. The primary ones were that Julian wanted to go fishing within walking distance of the property, and I wanted to be able to swim before breakfast every morning, and we checked to make sure that these were both available. Unfortunately the fishing was not the kind that Julian enjoys, as it was for large carp (more than 20 lbs), and he likes to fish for smaller species, so his fishing tackle is not geared for large fish. This meant that he could not fish within walking distance, although he found a suitable lake about 3 miles away, which cost him £8 per day for day tickets. The swimming pool did not open until 8am, so I only went swimming twice, as this is far too late for me. As I swim every day at home, I missed my early morning swim, especially as I had checked in advance.

The cottage was excellent, as was the location for watching wildlife, which was one of our secondary considerations. So the holiday was not a complete disappointment, but we felt that we had been misled by the marketing. We will not be holidaying with Orion Holidays again.




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and for your feedback. I was very sorry to hear that you felt you were misled by the marketing and our team, it's our primary aim to ensure your holiday exceeds expectations which, in this instance, we clearly didn't manage to do. I have taken on board your comments about providing more detailed information on the fishing and pool opening hours..... whilst it is possible to fish within walking distance of the cottage, I'm sorry this wasn't the type of fishing required.... my understanding is that most types of fishing are available on the Estate so if you had contacted us, we could have directed you to the fisheries manager who could have advised the most suitable location for your preferred type of fishing. I am pleased that, overall, you enjoyed your holiday with us and must apologise again if we mislead you in anyway. I will ensure all team members are fully briefed on the type of fishing available on the Estate and ensure that, if guests make it clear they are early morning swimmers, they mention the opening hours of the pool.

A short break

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was rented on the basis of its price, as we needed to find something very quickly for family reasons. We found the location to be peaceful with lakeside access (although the jetty had clearly not been used, and was overgrown). however, the house itself was clean and 'homely' in that, whilst very well presented, was not pristine, in that it had been used. This made it more welcoming. Well equipped and with easy access, the only difficulty we found was, as we arrived at nearly midnight, the lack of any form of lighting on the road made it difficult to find the parking spot, and then unload the car. However, the external light of the property had thoughtfully been left switched on, which helped us to find it. All in all, excellent value, and a wonderful spot for a canoe/kayaker to locate and enjoy the very quiet water. Not very many resources on site, however; shop closed and the cafe was very slow with its service - but the swimming pool and playground were very good.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great review and glad the short break worked out well for you. I'm sorry you had some difficulties finding the cottage when you arrived late; I will mention the general lighting and signage to the Estate and see if things can be improved. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review and hope to see you again soon.

Lovely location, comfortable, peaceful 3 bedroom cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the cottage. Great place to spend a week, 5 of us and our dog. The cottage was located in a private spot on the edge of the lake, beautiful views and very peaceful.


Only criticism is the windows in the ensuite and behind the TV needed a clean.





Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great review and really glad you enjoyed you stay at Tide Cottage. I will pass your comments onto House Keeping and ask them to ensure all windows are cleaned during the change over clean. Looking forward to seeing you again soon for your third visit!

We had a lovely mid week holiday!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The booking process, customer service etc was excellent. The children enjoyed playing in the pool. Perfect setting, child and dog friendly. We look forward to booking a holiday with you again soon.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great review and really glad you had a good time. We look forward to seeing you again soon and don't forget that when you book again, you will be entitled to a 5% returning customer discount.

Lovely time

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Absolutely lovely time. ..........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and glad you had a good time.

Family reunion

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked Mill Village 75 for a family reunion and all 3 families were very pleased with the property and the location. Very well fitted kitchen equipment.



Orion Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fantastic review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!