FB Twitter

Mill Village 70, Horse Shoe (P)

Mill Village 70, Horse Shoe (P)

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
3.7
Condition
3.9
Location
4.5
Value
3.7
Customer
Service
4.6


Sleeps 4
• 2 x bedrooms & 2 x bathrooms
• 1 x double & 1 x twin room
• Downstairs cloakroom
• Pets welcome (charges apply)
• Sorry, no smoking indoors
• Linen, towels and utilities included
• Fibre broadband
• No access available to onsite Spa
• £200 refundable security deposit is required

Lake views may differ from the photos displayed due to seasonal changes in the density of vegetation around the lakes.

A great place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday, the cottage was clean and great location. The cottage had plenty of room for family of 4 and many little extras which you don’t usually get in self catering holidays like iron and board, cleaning products, board games etc. Nice little touch that there was a welcome pack for the dog too.



Idyllic 3 week stay at Mill Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage, some furnishings tired but everything we needed, except no dish washer. X



Lovely lakeside mini break

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Mar 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant last-minute weekend break in this small but cosy cottage with stunning lakeside views from the lounge & master bedroom. A shame it wasn’t warm enough to make the most of the decking/balcony & too windy to play tennis/table tennis, but we enjoyed lots of interesting walks around Lower Mill Estate instead!



Lovely location, small and tired apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were surprised at the size of the house when we arrived and for the price, the furnishings and equipment were also below standard.
It wasn’t very clean with spiders webs in every room, dirty pans and uncomfortable beds.
Having stayed at the water park before, we expected a much higher standard and while we had a lovely weekend, it was spoilt a little by the quality of the accommodation.




Sarah Sykes replied 326 days ago
Thank you for your review we were of course really pleased you enjoyed the location, found our team helpful and had a good weekend but disappointed we didn’t come up to expectations in various areas. We have started doing 3D tours for our properties which we hope gives a better idea of the sizes and layout etc ahead of guests arrival and have looked closely at our web entry for this property. We have also noted your review on the cottage itself and the contents. We have noted your comments on the cleaning and the housekeeping teams approach on your departure day, we totally understand your comments and completely agree, we will be addressing this. Thank you again for taking the time to make the review.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage, good location
Bedrooms decent size.
En-suite shower could do with more power but no issues with it.
Beautiful views over the lakes.
Kids loved outdoor pool and facilities including the kayak. Life jackets would be useful to have in the cottage, we borrowed some from other cottage.




Long stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a temporary home, Mill Village is a lovely place to be. You wake up to the sound of ducks and geese, you have lovely surroundings and facilities. It is a safe haven and if you like being outdoors it is as close to perfect as it can be, at times we walked for miles with just the sound of nature around us.
Property was well equipped for our stay and suited our needs perfectly.




70 Horseshoe

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It would have been nicer if the trees outside the sitting area were a little shorter so the lake could be seen.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The Estate have the trimming of vegetation in that area on their schedule; sorry it wasn’t carried out before your stay and hope it didn’t impact too much on the view. Thanks again for the review and hope to see you again soon.

Half Term Break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my first time at this location and myself , wife and children thoroughly enjoyed it.

we had some minor housekeeping issues which were dealt with immediately and with politeness.

I would definitely consider spending another break there .




70 Horseshoe

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only thing to mar the holiday was that it is impossible to fish from the pontoon which was one of the reasons for booking as the reeds & trees totally overhang it.. also spoilt the view of the lake.



If you are going for the fishing don’t bother, otherwise it’s a lovely place to stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I with 2 friends Stayed here for a week. The accommodation was immaculate and comfortable.The site itself was friendly and clean. Fortunately for us we were blessed with a hot sunny week so thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool which was superb. We initially booked this holiday for the fishing but sadly it was impossible to fish anywhere... it was so overgrown you couldn’t get anywhere near the lake to set up ( and believe me we checked them all) So this was a major disappointment for my husband.







A great short break stay accommodating ages 50 - 80 comfortably and exceeding all our expectations.

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning home from home cottage. We were very fortunate to have exceptional weather which meant our to do list became far too long. We would therefore like to revisit to tick off the things we didnt manage to do (but with the same weather please). Even our very fussy border collie dog slept soundly on the first night!



70 Mill Village

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our holiday in the Cotswolds and on the whole the cottage was OK. However we did think that the furniture in the lounge was a bit shabby and that the curtains in both the lounge and bedrooms needed looking at, they didn't cover the windows properly and were bunched on the floor, which might be a modern look, but it fact just looked lazy and in the bedroom was a hazard as you had to walk past the curtains to get down the side of the bed. We would also recommend that the bed be moved in the main bedroom, currently there is only a very slim gap down the side of the bed, whereas if it was moved to the other side of the room, where it is obviously meant to be because that is where the power points are, it would make a much better space.



A rainy break at Lower Mill

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very wet and muddy 5 days staying in Lower Mill over the Easter holidays. Although the cottage was very clean and well-equipped, and there were nice welcoming touches like coffee, tea, milk, some delicious fudge, logs for the woodburner etc., the furnishings were very dated, in particular, the sofa in the small lounge area. The sofa cover was ripped and worn (a new one only costs £40 from Ikea!), covered over by an equally worn and ill-fitting throw and some grubby cushions...not very inviting or nice to sit on. The only other seats were two rather uncomfortable chairs....given that we as a family of 4 spent a fair amount of time in the cottage due to the weather, it was not particularly pleasant...this is a dog-friendly cottage and we were of course prepared for the furnishings to reflect this, but the cottage reminded us of our flat at university! The kitchen was tiny but well equipped and spotlessly clean (although no dishwasher, which I believe was included in the description) and the upstairs, although equally dated and simple, was very clean and comfortable (apart from the double bed in the main bedroom which was hard as a rock).

The Lower Mill Estate was very pretty, and well equipped with lots to do....we would have made more of it if the weather had been better, but this is England in April! Even so, our children enjoyed the outdoor pool and and tennis courts, and we had several very muddy dog walks. The view across the lake from the back of the cottage was lovely. We didn't use the onsite restaurant but it looked very nice and the staff there were friendly when we popped in. All in all it was a nice break, let down by the weather and the poor furnishings in the cottage.




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and glad that your stay with us was enjoyable, despite the weather. The owners are in the process of updating the soft furnishing but thanks for letting us know.

A wet but happy stay

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay with the family, including the dog. It rained a lot but this just meant that the outdoor pool was exclusively ours for a few days!



Nice cottage but could be improved

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean and well presented with pretty much everything you would need for a family stay. Attentive and friendly staff from Orion who made a visit shortly after we arrived to check we were all ok and had everything we needed.
Use of an electronic tablet with very useful information about the cottage and local area - this was very useful and used extensively.
The cottage was set in a row of cottages and with a large group next door, the noise with children running up and down stairs was a pain as the walls are not that thick. The excessive noise form the adjourning cottage was reported and as far as we know, addressed by the on site warden.
Settee and Ikea chairs in the living room were very uncomfortable and an investment in more comfortable seating would be a good move. Mattresses were fairly soft. No access to the onsite spa as this is just for home owners. Local spas nearby.
Overall, a nice break with great walks, some excellent pubs (several dog friendly) and plenty to do on the lakes. (Water sports/fishing etc)




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and I'm really glad that, overall, you had a good time. I am really sorry about the noise from next door, the warden's did talk to the guests and confirmed that they were just a noisy group that are probably more used to living in a detached property than and terraced one and were not "partying", although we only reported the issue near the end of the holiday, I do hope it made the final few days quieter for you. Also, the owner is in the process of updating the soft furnishings, so this will be resolved shortly..... Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Peace & quiet

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location with views over the lake.Small, friendly bar/restaurant.Perfect place for a short break.



fishing

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
You could do a lot more to make the fishing
more accessable and enjoyable by creating more swims around Mill Lake
and Spinny lake




quick break

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property was very clean and comfortable - the only disappointment for me was that you could not see across the lake from the property. The growth of plants was really high and obstructed the view. I was so looking forward to seeing the wildlife on the lake. It was explained that the growth could not be cut back due to the birds etc. which I understand however I have to say it did spoil the holiday abit. There were very few places where you could actually sit by the lakes or walk close to them.
We wanted to do some fishing however there were only a couple of swims on the lake behind us and we were told there were no fish due to otters and we would be better going elsewhere.
If you are coming here to fish or to see wildlife,I am sorry but I cannot recommend the place.
If you want to stay here as a base for visiting other places then it is fine.




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and I am very sorry that your stay didn't meet your expectations. The reed growth has been particularly prolific this year and, at this time of year, the Estate are unable to cut back due to the wildlife. There are lots of other places you can walk in the 550 acre Estate that would allow good views of the lakes and wildlife, however, I do concede that Mill Village 70 has been particularly badly affected by the reeds this year. I was, however, very surprised by your comments about the fishing.... Whilst its not possible to fish directly in front of the cottage, there are plenty of other places you can fish around the Estate and there is a very active fishing club who can confirm that there are most definitely fish in abundance on the various lakes and can't imagine who told you that you would be better off going to a different lake to fish. I am sorry this holiday didn't meet your expectations but thanks for taking the time to submit a review.