FB Twitter

Mill Village 68, Somer House (P)

Mill Village 68, Somer House (P)

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.3


Sleeps 8 (4 adults & 4 children)
• South facing with large lake side deck
• Charcoal BBQ
• Direct lake frontage with views over Somerford Lagoon
• 4 x bedrooms and 2 x bathrooms
• 2 x double beds & 2 x 3' bunk beds
• Wi- Fi included
• Pets welcome (Charges apply)
• Sorry, no smoking indoors
• Linen, towels and utilities included
• No access available to onsite Spa
• £250 refundable security deposit is required

Lake views may differ from the photos displayed due to seasonal changes in the density of vegetation around the lakes.

Stay during Storm Eunice

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have picked a worse weekend weather wise but 68 Mill Village was lovely. The fire was very welcoming after our wet and windy walks. We cannot wait to come back in the summer/ when weather is kinder.



Lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was lovely and being on the lake front made for a very relaxing experience. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were a party of 3 adults and one baby and to be honest I wouldn’t want any more then that as the downstairs living areas would feel very crowded. I guess if you were out all day it might not be an issue.

We made use of the kayak that came with the house and this was a great touch especially as it has its own jetty, making going out on the lake very accessible.

My only slight niggle was that the cleanliness wasn’t outstanding. There were a lot of cobwebs and dust particularly in the master. I understand being on the lake the bugs are relentless but if I can see cobwebs then they can be cleaned. Saying that all the bathrooms and kitchen were incredibly clean it was just the master bedroom that appeared a bit neglected.




A beautiful house in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent three nights at the house with my family and support bubble having a much needed break away. The house is beautifully decorated and the perfect location right by the lake. This meant it was super easy to get out for a morning kayak as the sun was rising and the rest of the group were breakfasting on the veranda. We LOVED being on the lake, helped by the amazing weather and we spent as much time as we could exploring. We had a BBQ for every meal and spent every moment we could outside. The children enjoyed seeing the mallards pottering around the house, though they were more wary of the swan (nicknamed Cecil) who occasionally popped her head through the kitchen door.
The house accommodated us easily and there was space if anyone needed a some peace and quiet. We also made use of the outdoor heated pool which was a very short walk away and great fun.




October break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely stay at this cottage right on the lake. Very spacious and comfortable, we were only a family of 4 but it would be big enough for 2 families. Right in the lake which we couldn’t use as the birds winter there so we’re going to come back in the summer!



Overall good but...

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
No 68 Somer House is a 4 bed house but for a 4 bed house it was quite small. The living room and outdoor decking were great, a good size with a good amount of seating. The outdoor decking was south facing which was pretty perfect. The kitchen was a good enough size and had most of what you needed and lots of fridge space as there was a built-in fridge (although with most of its shelves missing) and a large larder fridge which was a little unsteady as it felt like it would fall over every time you tried to get the door open. There was some ice in the larder fridge as it had a small freezer at the top. It was great to have the coffee machine which was a Nescafe Gusto one, so we bought the coffee pods and took them with us and was really nice to have fresh coffee for breakfast every day.
The bedrooms I felt were a bit small and had next to no wardrobe space. Two of the rooms had bunk beds in and pretty much nothing else. The double room was nicely decorated but dark as it only had French doors which opened onto a car park so for privacy reasons you had to keep the curtains shut. You could also her every word from the people sitting outside of the houses opposite. They would sit outside the front of their houses and chat in the evening as that was their sunny side. You did get some daylight from the en suite which had a roof window. The double room had a set of drawers but no wardrobe, just a wall fixing with 3 hooks on it to which someone had added about 3 or 4 hangers. The bathroom was reasonable, the shower was a cheaper Mira electric one but the pressure was good enough. It was an odd set up as half the open side was a screen and the other half a curtain. The sink taps were separate hot and cold taps which I hate. Why not a mixer? Why have a horse and cart when you can have a car? The bathroom cabinet did not close and someone had tried to hold it closed with what looked to be a bra strap! The king size room was again very nicely decorated and had a wardrobe of sorts; it was built in and it had shelves in the form of those cheap cotton hanging ones you can buy for storage, but they served the purpose, I guess. The hanging space was half size so no use for trousers or a midi or maxi dress. There were plenty of hangers so no need to take your own. The en-suite attached to the king size room did not have a proper shower, just a bath. There was a shower fixing that was in the middle of the bath rather than at the end so I imagine if you tried to use it, water would have gone everywhere. The house was really well cleaned which was great apart from the windows, which were not only dirty but some were in a pretty bad state, the one on the landing’s seal had gone so it had permanent condensation inside the double glazed unit. The king- sized room French doors which looked over the lake (lovely view) were pretty rotten with chunks missing on the outside! I found that the houses had little privacy as there were no fences between so we had to keep the curtains on the French windows on the side of the living room shut as the neighbours or their kids could come right up to them and look in if they wanted to. Our property had a bit more separation than most at the back where the decking area was. Our decking area was sticking out on its own rather than right next to the neighbours. There was open fencing around the decking but there was some honeysuckle growing over the fence on one side which gave more privacy when you were seated and we had a gate and trees on the other. Luckily people are quite respectful and don’t make too much noise although when speaking you can hear every word from the neighbours outside. The TV is an ok size and the internet is good enough to watch Netflix etc. There are lots of insects as the house is on the lake which can be tricky if the weather is hot as the house is very hot and you need to be able to open the windows. All I can suggest is that if you have to have the windows open at night is to put an eye mask on, leave your bedroom door open and put a light on in the hall and all the midges and mozzys should fly out there and leave you alone. One night I had about 20 or 30 insects around my bedroom ceiling light but they had all gone by morning. There were plenty of towels left for us even though there were just two of us. The shower tray was blocked with hair and kept threatening to overflow so I managed to get some out and it was then ok enough, but it needs someone to do it properly. Luckily it’s a modern plughole so you can dismantle it very easily yourself; the centre of the plughole lifts out and then you twist the top of the white plastic cylinder anti-clockwise and pull it out. If it’s done regularly all the hair should come out with this cylinder however in this shower it was all jammed around the sides once the cylinder was removed. Note to owner: It needs the right tools to remove all of this so get a Drain Weasel from Amazon.
All in all we enjoyed our stay as the house was nicely decorated, well equipped, very clean and had pretty much everything we needed. It was good for us as there were only two of us, but would be very cramped for 6-8 people I think.




Somer house

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Needs maintenance especially to balconies but lovely setting with gorgeous view of the lake and ideal for canoeing



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to send a review and I am sorry that the cottage didn’t come up to expectations. The owner has been working hard to get things up together but was frustrated by the lock down and not being able to do any of the planned work. They have now managed to get most of the issues you mentioned sorted so if you did decide to come back again, I am sure they would be happy to offer you a discount. Also, if you had called us over the weekend and requested a late departure on Sunday, we would have been happy to allow that. Our lines are manned 24/7 so you could have contacted us any time over the weekend. I do hope that, overall, you enjoyed your stay and will come back again as some point in the future.