FB Twitter

Howells Mere 26, Swans Down (P)

Howells Mere 26, Swans Down (P)

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 36 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.8


Sleeps 8 Adults & 2 Children
• Spa membership included
• Gym, indoor & outdoor pools

• Hot Tub
• Broadband included
• 5 x bedrooms, 4 x bathrooms
• 3 x doubles, 1 x 3' twin, 1 x 2' 6" twin rooms
• Charcoal BBQ
• Pets welcome (charges apply)
• Linen, towels and utilities included
• £300 refundable security deposit required

Second visit to Lower Mill

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time to the Lower Mill Estate. Lovely property on Howell’s Mere with good facilities. Hot tub, BBQ, fully equipped kitchen. Would definitely return.



Brilliant family weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location looking over the lake. The house had everything we needed for the weekend. It was clean and bright with plenty of space for us all



What a great place!!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Dec 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place...Lovely setting with easy access to all amenities. The Ballihoo serves brilliant food with a very relaxed setting for families with small children and a good variety of food to cater for all.
The Spa was clean and great control over entry to ensure social distancing was in place, where possible.
The staff in the activity Hub were very welcoming, knowledgeable and shared the history of the lakes. Very interesting.

The only thing that could have been improved was finding the holiday home, as it was dark and difficult to navigate as most signs were not illuminated, upon arrival.

Overall, a great weekend away and I would recommend to others too.




Family celebration weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a weekend away for the family to celebrate a special birthday and we had a great time. It helped that the weather was glorious and the house lived up to expectations. Location was good as we could walk to all the facilities provided on site.



Stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location for a long weekend. Ideal for using the lake for paddle boarding and a great layout of the house.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic property with great location on the lake and close to the nature trails. House is in good condition and was immaculately clean throughout.
A great place for a family get together and suitable for young children.




Long weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we stayed in this location and would happily return, although not to the same property. It was well appointed with everything we needed and comfortable but the main decking area was off the bedrooms downstairs, which meant if we wanted to eat outside the food etc had to be brought downstairs and through a bedroom! Far from ideal, but may not be an issue for some.



Weekend away to recharge with young family

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place to stay and location was truly amazing, we will most defiantly be returning for another amazing weekend.



Family break

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent break the house was in very good condition superb location and facilities in conjunction with a covert problem worked extremely well.

Two small criticisms the dining table although looking excellent is extremely unstable. Also some of the details such as Wi-Fi pass codes and also gate codes for the nature reserve were out of date these are the small things which make a big difference. Having said all that it is our second time in the property I will be happy to return again.




Great Holiday .

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very clean well presented property with lovely views of the lake. All facilities provided. Great !!



Special holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic venue for a large family birthday weekend.
Super setting with lots to see and enjoy.
So good we may make it an annual event.




Thank you

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in the Cotswolds. The house was lovely and we enjoyed the use of the spa facilities.



Beautiful house but not for peak Summer weather

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Orion holidays we’re great and had fabulous communication.

The estate is lovely with lots to do for children and adults. The location of the house was perfect away from the main area so was quiet.

The house has a beautiful lake view and big tall glass windows. It’s designed oddly in that the bedrooms are on ground floor and then kitchen and lounge on first floor- I assume this is to get the views, however the outdoor dining area is on ground floor so everyday you had to take things up and down the stairs from the kitchen!

The house was in great condition however the biggest problem for us was the heat. With the glass windows the house warms up very quickly and there is no air conditioning although they did provide one fan. The weather was around 27c which made the first and second floor impossible to stay between hours of 2-8pm it’s was unbearably hot inside the house that we had to leave the premises. In addition as we had several young kids the experience was awful for them and they struggled to sleep in the heat that we had to check into a hotel nearby for them.
I would highly recommend the owner property to add some blinds to the top glass windows to help block the sun out. Once the weather cooled down back to 22c the house was much bearable.

Beautiful property but avoid staying in peak summer weather.




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and kind words about Orion Holidays. I am very sorry that you experienced problems with the heat, however, the period you stayed was extreme with all the country affected. Sadly, as we so rarely experience such extreme hot weather to the extent you experienced in this country, like the vast majority of main and holiday homes, the owners can't justify the expense of installing air conditioning. Also, if you had called our number, which is manned 24/7, we would have been able to take some more fans over to you which probably wouldn’t have totally solved the problem but would have helped. I do also accept your point about the main outdoor living space being on the ground floor, this is clearly specified in the description, as we are conscious that this may be annoying to some people and gives them the opportunity to book another more conventional property or just use the smaller decking area on the first floor. I am glad that, overall, you enjoyed your stay but am sorry your stay coincided with a period of such extreme weather conditions.

Very Good Venue for Family Gathering

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location with plenty of local activities for children to keep them occupied (very important).
Very comfortable - good beds and excellent en suite facilities.
We stayed during a period of hot weather and the main living room does get very warm as the afternoon sun shines straight in through the large expanse of windows - so keep blinds down.




Natalie Draper replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great review and glad your group had a great stay! Don't forget we do offer a 5% returning customer discount if you would like to stay again!

Perfect family break

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was perfect for us all. It is our second stay at the site and against n so much to do and very safe for the younger members of the group.



Poor value for money

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On first impressions the property seemed clean, bright and in good working order, however as the weekend progressed we came across several problems, which on their own would have been irritating but together, were extremely disappointing, particularly given the cost of the property. I have provided a list below:

1) the shower in the master bedroom did not work, we managed to get a few dribbles but there was not enough pressure to get a flow of water for a shower
2) the toilet in the en suite was dirty on arrival
3) blinds in both twin rooms didnt work
4) the large blind in the master bedroom was coming away from its roll
5) the 'bedroom' on the first floor which was barley big enough to fit 2 people in it. The futon beds were extremely uncomfortable and not suitable even for children. Our 10 year old daughter found it so uncomfortable that she slept in the master bedroom with us for the whole weekend.

I am disappointed to say that we did not find the house be a 'luxury home' as advertised and unfortunately will not be recommending it to others in the future.

I hope that you find this feedback helpful to improve the stay of others coming to Howells Mere in the future.




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and I am very sorry that you did not feel the property was value for money. With regards to the maintenance issues, I can see how each of these in isolation would have been irritating but, combined, would have been annoying which, I am sure prompted this critical review. As explained when you booked and during the meet and greet, we do offer a 24/7 service and, had we been notified of the issues, would have rectified them straight away. There is no excuse for the cleaning that was missed, however, again, had you notified us when you discovered it, we would have had the onsite housekeeping team come straight over to address. With regards to the small bedroom, this is small and only suitable for children, which we make clear when discussing with prospective guests and on the description, however, we have not had issues with the comfort of the mattresses before so will check this out. I think we just had a bad run of maintenance issues here, for which I apologise, and combined, I can see caused your disappointment. Overall, as can be seen by pervious reviews, most people have found the property and the Estate to be a great place to stay. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review and whilst I am really sorry the property didn’t meet your expectations, I am pleased that you found the Orion Holidays service to be good and rated us 5 out of 5.

Family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic stay!
Myself and my family of 10 stayed for a long weekend in February. Everything was perfect!
The house was clean, well stocked & large enough for 8 adults & 2 children, (aged 9 & 10) - there were even night lights for them on the landing.
We had lovely views overlooking one of the lakes & the girls enjoyed watching the ducks & swans. There were plenty of activities close by to keep us all busy!
We had a slight problem with the hot water which was sorted out immediately by a friendly maintenance man who was very efficient and professional.
I would 100% recommend! Thank you for making our special weekend extra special.




Natalie replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, Really pleased to hear you all had a wonderful time, there really is plenty to do for all ages. We do hope to see you again, please don't forget we offer a 5% returning customer discount!

NYE at 26 Howells Mere

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just arrived back from a briliiant stay over the New Year period. The property is situated in a very picturesque postiion overlaking the lake and the views from the picture windows never tired. The property was light, bright and comfortable. The kitchen was extremely well equipped which made catering for a large group much easier. The spa and leisure facilities were very good keeping an 11, 8, 6 and 3 year old occupied. We loved visiting in the winter but I think there would be even more adventures to be had in the summer which is when we think we will return. Overall a fabulous start to 2019!!



A house with a bit of a Wow factor

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of six adults and two children, celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary and this was a great house to spend it in. The accommodation is excellent and it was very clean and well equipped as well as being comfortably warm for the whole weekend. We all wished we'd been able to stay longer as there is a lot to explore but hopefully can return at some time in the future for a longer stay. One very minor point is that perhaps a bifolding shower screen should replace the one over the bath in the downstairs bedroom as it is difficult to open to switch the shower on with a shelf right next to it. Otherwise it's a perfect house and definitely recommended.




Natalie replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that your anniversary went well :). Don't forget we do offer a 5% returning customer discount to stay again!

Stunning views and a very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect except for having to access the lower deck, where the main outdoor seating was, through the bedrooms. An outdoor staircase would have enhanced the property.



Fabulous house for a birthday celebration with friends

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time and were very comfortable in the house.

A representative came to greet us shortly after arrival and to check everything was in order. We had a couple of tiny problems with the fridge and toilet which were dealt with promptly.

Renters need to know that it is quite a way to a supermarket so should stock up before they come. Also, because of the huge windows, it can get very hot in summer, though fans are supplied.




A beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was in a beautiful setting and huge windows and two balconies gave us wonderful views. Bedrooms were fine for our party of 10 as was the living area. The kitchen was well equipped. There were plenty of plates and glasses which was useful as the dishwasher was frequently filled.
The bathrooms were attractive.
We would love to visit again to see the area in the summer.




Family celebration.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 10 covering 4 generations had a wonderful weekend at this property. It was very well equipped plenty of room and lovely views of the lake. Plenty of towels available and a clear list of what was available so we knew what to bring.
The only minor issue was the size of the dining table which was a bit small for us all to sit around.
The bottle of wine for my parents for their anniversary was a lovely gesture, thank you.




Beautiful property. Everything we needed and in lovely condition

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday with 3 generations. The location overlooking the lake was delightful and the use of the spa made it a very special holiday.



26 Howell's Mere

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a beautifully located property right next to Howell's Mere, which is a smallish, very peaceful lake. The accommodation was mostly comfortable, and was clean and in good condition. Two of the bedrooms on the ground floor were en suite with a view over the lake and access to a large deck area. Unfortunately, the bedrooms were the only access to this area, which meant that everyone staying in the property had to walk through them whenever they wanted to sit on the deck. There was a further deck/balcony on the first floor, but this was very narrow and not very usable (though, bizarrely, this was where the BBQ was located!). Also on the first floor was a twin bedroom and the living accommodation. This was light, airy, spacious and comfortable, and was open plan with a well equipped kitchen area. Bedrooms were all adequately sized, though everyone commented that the beds were on the firm side. There was a particular issue with the twin bedroom on the first floor as this was only equipped with futons, which two pre-teen boys found uncomfortable. The double bedroom on the top floor was a problem to us because all the bathrooms facilities were on the ground floor. This meant that two of our party were forced to go up and down two flights of stairs in order to make use of the bathroom facilities.
Overall, we had a great time thanks to the location. The house was very nice, but suffered from some fundamental layout issues which, though not a major problem to us, were a little frustrating.




July 2017

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property in a great location the Spa and outdoor swimming pools on the lower mill estate were excellent would definitely recommend.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great review. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Howells Mere 26 and hope to see you again soon.

Mixed feelings

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice property but with strange layout. Five bedrooms but all toilet and bath/shower rooms on ground floor. Access to main sun deck through the two of the bedrooms! Some beds too low for elderly people. No shops within a few miles. TV reception on ground floor very poor. Shortage of furniture in some bedrooms.Staircase dangerous for anyone with walking difficulties.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and I am sorry the property didn't come up to expectations. We do try very hard to properly describe our properties on the web site and even put a note on the main summary screen of this property warning that all facilities are on the ground floor. Thanks for your feed back, which I will pass onto the owner.

An absolute gem of a find!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful weekend we had, the property was absolutely wonderful, had absolutely everything you could need and more than it says on the website Including a Nespresso machine & docking station.There was 8 of us staying for my 50th birthday and when we arrived a bottle of wine and card was waiting on the table , a lovely touch! The location was just breathtaking and the park its self has everything you could want , if you are looking for peace & quiet, walking, countryside, swimming , and a good restaurant/coffee bar & maybe some pampering then this ticks ALL the boxes. We went slightly out of season so I can't say whether it's that quiet in the throws of the summer. We paid an extra £5 to use the facilities at the DeVere Hotel Spa 6, a small but really nice Spa and it was a lovely couple hours. We ate at Ballihoo in the evening after deciding that it looked so,nice and we didn't fancy the mile+ walk to the nearest pub , we had a super meal and so reasonable, good wines too & really friendly staff! We were also very lucky that the weather was so wonderful and to spend so much time on the fabulous decking eating , drinking and just watching the swans was just super!
My whole experience of our stay here from first booking to departing has been great and I can't honestly believe that anyone can fault Orion holidays for their customer service .




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, what a fantastic review! Thanks so much for taking the time to submit such a detailed review which sums up nicely what can be done in the area and what we do. I hope to see you back again soon.

An Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Am enjoyable stay at the property. It was a very nice property which was clean and had all the facilities we required.

The downside was the location of the property it was difficult for the property to be found by taxis and the complex would be better to if an exit could be directed.




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and glad it worked out well for you and hope to see you again next year.

Christmas Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented the property to host the whole family over Christmas, and it was the perfect property and location. We came away very happy.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great review and really glad your holiday with us worked well for you. I will pass your comment regarding the table onto the owner and hope to see you again soon.

Lovely weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property overlooking the lake . A great place to recharge your batteries in a tranquil environment .Even in November we could enjoy a drink on the balcony ! We will be back !



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great review and glad that you will be back!

A good property, but expensive and lacking in some features

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property was good, very clean, tidy and well supplied with kitchen, bedroom and bathroom requirements. I felt it could do with somewhere safe close by for the grandchildren to run around and play. Also, the top bedroom needed an en-suite. Thanks and regards, Keith Nutter



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. I have noted your comments and will feed back to the owner, however, I was surprised at some of your comments as you did actually view the property prior to confirming your booking, therefore, you would have been aware that there was no en suite to the master bedroom and limited space for the children to run around. I am also sorry that you felt it wasn't good value for money.... The property does accommodate 10 (8 adults and 2 children) and is priced accordingly. Again, I was slightly surprised by this as you had viewed the property so I would have thought that you wouldn't have confirmed the booking if you felt it wasn't value for money, added to which, we did agree to let you stay as long as you liked on Monday rather than leave at the normal time of 10 am. All that said, on balance, it appears you did enjoy your stay and would stay with us again as well as recommend us to others so I am pleased about that. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review and I hope we will see you again soon.

Lovely

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great house. Spent the weekend chilling out with friends. Lovely location. Well equipped. Gorgeous spa , access to which is included. Thanks Nb:Mattresses on twin beds ( 1st floor) need to be replaced with proper mattress as they are currently futon style and uncomfortable.



Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and glad your enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comment regarding the mattresses to the owner.

Amazing!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an amazing weekend at Howells Mere. It was for a friends and family gathering and it was a perfect location, easy for all to get to. I could not have improved our stay in anyway, although I wish we could have stayed longer as there was lots to do!!
I think for my next visit I would perhaps go for one of the properties with a hot tub, and it would be great to have the large decking on the same floor as the lounge.
I will definitely be back!!




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Beautiful location but property needs a little TLC

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great property in beautiful location but the condition of the property was disappointing. See following feedback.
- The carpets on the ground floor and stairs were extremely dirty.  It didn’t create a nice feel for the bedrooms.  
- The furniture in the living room area was very scruffy, the leather was ripped on the sofa and the cushions and blankets all looked very worn out and were also extremely dusty.  We ended up putting them all away as they felt so grubby.
- In the bedroom on the top floor, there is a mirror stood up against the wall, it would be useful to have this put on the wall so that it could be used rather than trying to look at yourself from a difficult angle.  The blinds in this bedroom were filthy and also very poor at keeping light out for such a bright bedroom.
- In all of the bathrooms it would be useful to have hooks on the back of the bathroom doors as there is nowhere to put clothes and towels.  




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and I'm really sorry the property didn't come up to your expectations. We normally receive excellent reviews/scores on cleaning so I'm really not sure what happened; I will be discussing this with our housekeeper to ensure that standards are maintained to our normal very high level. The normal carpet clean, following the end of the main season, had already been booked, so I'm sorry you saw it at its worst. With regards to the ripped sofa, this is actually brand new and was damaged during delivery; we are waiting for a replacement to be delivered. Thanks for the feedback on the other items, which I will pass onto the owner. Although your expectations clearly weren't fully met with this property, I am glad that you would recommend us to family/friends and stay with Orion Holidays again.

Fully equipped property in a great location

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a tranquil setting and the property is very well equipped with a good kitchen, plenty of crockery, cutler, pot and pans. The Dishwasher and washing machine were in high demand with a large group and were both most welcome!
It is incredibly spacious and the location is great for the Cotswold attractions including places like Bourton on the water, Stow on the Wold and the Cotwold Wildlife Park (well worth the visit!)
Our only gripe was the shading/curtains. The lounge/dining area only has blinds on the lower half of the (very high) windows and hence it was difficult to keep the area cool on sunny days and the bedrooms only have blinds that act as shades so are impossible to get dark at night. Fix this and it would be perfect!




Mark Thomas replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review and really glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. I have noted your comments regarding blinds and will discuss this with the owner to see if we can find something that will address the issues you raised. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review and hope to see you back again soon.