FB Twitter

Shepherds Cottage

Shepherds Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Shepherds Cottage slps 6

Shepherds Cottage is detached and has ample parking for two cars to the front and fenced garden (which is mainly lawn and very safe for children playing) to the rear.
Garden furniture and a barbeque are also provided.

A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
comfortable, clean, everything you could possibly need. plenty of parking, garden area, lovely host.



A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage very welcoming owners. Myself and son and grandson had a lovely holiday didn’t want to come home. Would recommend staying there.



A week in paradise

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I have had a pretty rough year, as has my Mother so we headed to Shepherds cottage for a weeks break. It did not disappoint and helped us mend our broken hearts. The cottage itself was perfect, roomy, clean and had absolutely everything you could possibly wish for. The bed linen was lovely and the beds extremely comfortable. Our host met us on arrival and explained everything and offered help whenever we needed it. The cottage is in a really picturesque part of the world 2 minutes walk from the river which we fished a few times (but alas caught nothing). The rest of the holiday was spent walking on the local glorious beaches and sitting in the lovely garden drinking wine and eating lobster from the local fishery.

Just what the doctor ordered thank you for everyone who helped to make it so enjoyable.




Fantastic Holiday Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week staying at the Shepherds Cottage. The location was beautiful with the opportunity to spot plenty of local wildlife including hares. The cottage itself is very well maintained and very clean with all the facilities and comforts you need for lovely holiday.



A great week spent in the Berwickshire area

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shepherd's cottage was the perfect base to visit some of the many things to see and do in Berwickshire. From walking the walls in Berwick, visiting Alnwick castle & gardens to Cocklawburn beach & Coldingham sands. There are loads of quite roads for safe cycling, a beautiful riverside walk that went for miles and plenty places to stop for tea & cake.

The cottage is situated within easy reach of the A1, so there is a huge choice of things to do and see within a 30min drive. The beds were comfortable and the cottage quiet so everyone had good nights sleep. It was lovely to wake up in the morning to a view of rolling hills & a wheat field rather than roof tops.

The cottage had everything needed, a real home from home & we had a relaxing escape for a week.




Excellent holiday cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday cottage good location and very welcoming owners would recommend this cottage to other people.



Another lovely stay with the perfect hostess

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again another lovely stay in this clean well equipped cottage, lovely bedding and comfortable beds too, nice towels and heated towel rails in bathrooms. Lovely walks around the farm, a favourite is to walk down the lane through the sheep and keep to the left to complete the circular route, also walking down through the sheep along the footpath by the river to the chain bridge. We were very lucky with the weather as it could not have been any better which made eating out in the garden a pleasure watching the nesting blue tits go in and out of the nest.



Quiet, rural location within easy reach of Berwick upon Tweed

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well equiped cottage, clean, tidy and comfortable with good outside private space. Easily accessible from the A1 and a good base for exploring the area.



Spring at Shepherd's Cottage 2018

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was out 3rd Spring break at Shepherd's Cottage and we were as pleased with the welcome, standard of presentation and accommodation as we had been during our first visit. The owners are very helpful and the cottage was thoroughly aired, clean and well appointed. Located close to Berwick and with easy access into Northumberland and the Borders, Shepherd's Cottage is ideal for a relaxing and enjoyable break. Access onto the Tweed for fishing is an added bonus, too.



Every home comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Shepherds Cottage which is fully equipped, beautifully clean and cosy.
The cottage is ideally placed for visiting the many attractions along the Northumbrian coast.
Though we do not have mobility issues the cottage is ideal for anyone that may as one of the bedrooms in on the ground floor as is a large bathroom with walk in shower.




Stay at Shepherds Cottage - 12th - 19th August 2017

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location for exploring the coast of Northumberland and the Border country. The Cheviots were stunning - the heather cloaked them in purple! A week is not enough in this delightful area as there are so many attractions to visit as well as walking. We found our visit to the Tattoo in Edinburgh so easy - we just drove to the Park and Ride near the Airport and travelled into the city centre by the new tram system - the cost was £12 return which also included the parking charges! We were made very welcome by our hosts and would certainly love to visit Shepherds Cottage in the future as it catered for all our needs. Thank you so much.



Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable, peaceful retreat with everything you could need. Not far from the amenities of Berwick.



A wonderful week in the borderlands

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a lovely location. It was ideal for access to the A1 to zip up and down the coast to the islands, beaches and castles. A well equipped kitchen with plenty of space too. Carol and her daughter Sarah were so friendly. We'd certainly recommend it to others.



We enjoyed our stay at the Shepherds cottage. Being the excellent starting point for many trips.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Complete cottage, very good beds, complete kitchen !
Close to a lot of sightseeing like Farne Isles, castles , abby's and hiking around Wooler &St Abbs Head.




A hidden piece of Northumberland

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely well equipped house which made our stay very pleasant. A good sized enclosed garden, ample room for parking 2 cars at the front. The road was very quiet which made it pleasant to do a circular walk down to the river and back just mind the sheep poo! The beds had good quality bedding and made for a very comfortable night. The owner Carol was very welcoming and was there on arrival, we bumped into each other a few times over the fortnight which have us time to get to know each other.



lovely place to stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage very nice lovely area. we were made very welcome and given lots of information about the area



15 years and counting

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having spent one week at West Ord each year for the last 15 years gives a true reflection of how we view the various Cottages. Wehave over the years stayed in 4 or 5 of the Cottages and found them all of real high standard. We are a Society of golfers average age 70+ who use the Cottages as a hub moving to clubs within the borders and Northumberland. If only our golf was as good as our accommodation
Clearly the fact that we use annually is a wonderful reflection of our true feeling of all aspects of West Ord We have two members who join us from Australia and Singapore.




Happiness is Shepherd's Cottage, West Ord.

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well prepared, maintained and presented, Shepherd's Cottage provided the ideal base for our foursome's Tweed Valley and Borders annual holiday, including our participation in the Borders Classic Rally. Sandy and Carol Lang are ideal hosts and were both accomodating and helpful.



Shepherd's cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Shepherd's cottage with 4 generations of the family ranging from 4-91. All really enjoyed our stay and the cottage was perfect, comfortable, accessible and plenty of room for the children with the safe garden an added bonus!

Will definitely consider returning.




Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
lovely to see you all again after so many years, thank you for taking time to review us Anne.

Lovely relaxing cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location, near the Tweed. Cosy cottage, with all the amenities you need for a relaxing stay. The owner was very friendly and had good recommendations of places to visit.



Our fourth stay at west ord

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very warm welcome from carol and Sarah. The garden was perfect for our dog to run around in, and the weather was warm enough to sit outside early evening. Lots of good walks and very friendly pubs to eat at. Highly recommend the salmon at east ord. We will be back for another holiday.



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time on this holiday everything was excellent and Carol was very helpful with queries about wheelchair access!She couldn't have been more helpful with measurements for my manual wheelchair and also shower wheelchair access.We will definitely be back!!



Excellent accommodation and great hosts.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation and great hosts. Location was superb and provided beautiful views with peace and tranquillity whilst only 10 minutes from Berwick.



Stay at Shepherds cottage once....and you will return.Great cottage at a wonderful location.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had holidays in the Berwick upon Tweed region for over 40 years and during that period we have stayed at several
self catering holiday homes in the area. For the last 10 years we only stayed at West Ord cottages with Carol Lang.
Our favorite cottage is Shepherds Cottage , it is detached with a large enclosed garden,which is ideal for us and our pet Yorky.
The cottage is fitted our to a high standard and is homely with unrestricted views over the fields.
West Ord farm has about a mile of bank on the river Tweed which is ideal for walks or better still fishing, the Brown
trout fishing is free and there is a reasonable charge Salmon and Sea trout fishing.
We enjoy visits to the local Chain bridge Honey farm, which has a visitor centre with a cafe and other visitor attractions.
We will be back in 2017 for another wonderful holiday.
Peter& Marie.




Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Peter, many thanks for taking time to review us, always a pleasure having you both to stay at West Ord, and very much hope to be seeing you again in the near future.

Great holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the walk-in shower which gave me the incentive to change my bathroom into a shower room now just completed.
Thank you.
As a disabled person the downstairs bedroom was lovely and spacious, only wished that the shower room and toilet at the cottage had been nearer to this bedroom as one had to walk through the living room to get to it in the middle of the night.
The kitchen had everything one could need.
The enclosed rear garden made the cottage very private and useful for small children.
The owners were very friendly and welcoming and any minor problems at the cottage were attended to very quickly.
The cottage close to the river Tweed is conveniently placed for visiting Berwick for shopping and sea views and also for visiting other nearby attractions and resorts so ensuring a good holiday.