FB Twitter

Geary Shiel

Geary Shiel

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Geary Shiel sleeps 2/4
This is one of our two "fishing cottages", and is ideally situated to take full advantage of our fishing, with stunning views and walks along the riverside.
All the accommodation is on the ground floor.
The cottage has a large fenced garden with garden furniture, and a barbeque area.

A wonderful week at the Geary Shiel :-)

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carol met us at the Geary Shiel and gave us a warm welcome. She gave us the "tour" and took the time to give us personal recommendations of places to visit/eat in the local area. The cottage is very much on its own and our neighbours were a friendly flock of sheep, swans, ducks and birds! There are great walks straight from the front door, one we recommend would be the walk along the river bank to Chain Bridge honey farm, (try the honey cake). It is a great base for going out and exploring what Northumberland has to offer or if you want to just to chill out and relax its a great place to do that too!
(And it has fast internet! Thank you Olly)

Thanks again Carol for being a super host! See you next time!




Another visit to West Ord

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another enjoyable visit to West Ord. Always happy to arrive and sad to leave. We will certainly return.



A very comfortable cottage in a perfect secluded location

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Geary Shiel. It is an ideal cottage for two located approx 30metres from the River Tweed. The cottage is well appointed with all mod cons in a very quiet location with only the sound of sheep and bird life for company. It is an ideal centre for exploring both the northern areas of Northumberland and the Scottish Borders. There are several good pubs / restaurants within 20 minutes drive. There is no wifi but that is the price you pay for the the isolated location. The booking was easy and the owners obviously care for the property. We certainly intend to visit Geary Shiel again.



A special place

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very special place for relaxing after a stressful time. Will most definitely visit again. I will also recommend it to others.



A haven of peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the first email to the last goodbyes, Carol and family shared their lovely surrounds with warmth and friendly hospitality.

The location is superb - perfect for quiet relaxation. Each morning we awoke to the calm, reflective River Tweed, with its birds, ducks, swans and even an otter and her young.

History, wildlife, natural beauty and seafood - are near by. During our nine days at Geary Shiel we visited Lindisfarne, Farne Islands, Bamburgh Castle, Craster, Berwick on Tweed, St Abbs, and Paxton Hall. We also walked the local circular walks.

The cottage is comfortable and cosy, and well suited to self catering. On the other hand, there are many restaurants in the vicinity.

We were sorry to say farewell - and we look forward to another visit!








A unique place

Review submitted on Sun, 06 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It started about 23 ago since we came to West Ord for the first time. It is just one week since our last stay, together with our son and family. It is the third generation coming to West Ord, to several cottages, that says it all! Elfried and Heiri Switzerland



Weekend at West Ord

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Initially we were booked into Geary Sheill but because of the height of the river Carol moved us to Tweed cottage nearer the farm. This was our first time in this cottage and we weren't disappointed. It was absolutely beautiful, spotless and very well presented just the same as all the other cottages we've stayed in at West Ord. We had a wonderful weekend chilling and are now spoilt for choice which cottage to stay in when we go again for about our sixth time!



A perfect cottage for any occasion

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is located in the most idyllic location, beautiful views from each window and a lovely walks to be had along the River Tweed. The cottage is well stocked for everything you need, and is very clean and comfortable. We had to extend our stay another night, we didn't think 3 was enough and will certainly be back again. Thanks to Carol for being such an accommodating host!



Yearly visit

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would not come back every year if we were not completely satisfied with the shiel. The location is excellent, peaceful and beautiful and we have fabulous short walks starting literally at the garden gate. Quiet evenings with a log fire and Berwick only two miles away.





Brilliant stay in a wonderful cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage,in the perfect location by the river Tweed, very quiet and peaceful. Lots of information provided in the cottage, and the owners are always welcoming and helpful. In all a wonderful stay that did not disappoint, this is the latest of many visits.



Stay at West Ord

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having just spent our fourth stay in Geary Shiell and having already booked for next June, would highly recommend this location. It was good to see kingfishers on the fence outside the shiell and other wildlife. Carol and Sandy are always helpful. Tina and Derek



A lovely little property in an idyllic location.

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely little property in an idyllic location. The booking process was easy and the host very helpful and welcoming.Good walking from the doorstep. The cottage is ideal for a couple or a family group of four. The outlook over the River Tweed is stunning and the surrounding countryside in both England and Scotland interesting and diverse.



A wonderful find for a last minute holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cosy cottage in a beautiful location with lots of interesting places to visit nearby.
Carol & Sandy made us very welcome and were happy to give advice on the fishing and also places to visit.
We would happily visit again and recommend to friends.




West Ord cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fifth stay at West Ord and the more we stay the harder we find going home. Everything from the cottages to the location to the family who own it are wonderful and we would thoroughly recommend staying there.



Peace beside the River Tweed

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable compact cottage, idyllic location beside the river which changes daily, friendly and helpful hosts



Had a fabulous few days away!

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed for a few days in August and had a lovely time. You couldn't wish for a more beautiful setting!
The property was perfect for two people but maybe a little cramped for us as a family with two large teenage boys.
Myself and my husband would definitely return as a couple.
The hosts were so helpful and accommodating and overall we had a great time.




Nice place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage very nice and clean, comfortable with everything provided. Owners could not do enough for you.



Great week in great shiel

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic week in the cottage it was very comfortable and lovely and peaceful. Nothing was too much hassle to carol and sandy. Would love to go back soon



A relaxing break in a lovely setting

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy well equipped cottage in a beautiful peaceful setting. Helpful friendly owners with lots of local knowledge. Would definitely return.



Place called heaven.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited on many occasions and never been disappointed.The location is superb and all the cottages are fully equipped with everything you need.Always beautiful bed linen and towels.You are always greeted with a very warm welcome and Carol and Sandy are always on hand for anything you need.Would certainly recommend staying at West Ord.We have told many people about the little gem and they too have not been disappointed.Could stay again and again.



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Ian thank you for taking the time to review us, its was great to see you both again and good to hear you enjoyed a return visit despite some challenging weather! Hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again at some point.

Our stay in Geary Shiel cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay in Geary shield cottage the cottage was warm comfortable & extreamly peaceful we will certainly be returning for some more of what we had for those few days stay.

Philip &. Sue Pugh




Geary Sheill cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay at West Ord, it's like a parallel universe of peace and quiet that does your heart good. Although there must be hundreds of guests pass through in a year Carol makes everyone feel that they are special.



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Janet for taking the time to comment.....please can I use that line in future marketing, I love it! Thanks for your business again this year, much appreciated.

Riverside

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very clean and comfortable cottage right by the river. May be for us it was a little on the cold side but I'm sure if we had said the owners would of sorted it.
A very enjoyable stay




Carol lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments Margaret, it was lovely to meet you both, and I regret not realising that you had not been warm enough or I would have been down and to help you set the heating.....will do so next year when we hope to see you again! Hope the photography is continuing well this season!

wonderful stay at Geary Shiell

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at West Ord in several of the cottages many times. Always found the cottages and area extremely well presented and owners Carol and Sandy to be very pleasant with nothing too much trouble if help/advice required. So many places to visit,good walking and fishing with good pubs/eateries on the doorstep. We will certsinly be returning.



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us Derek, always lovely to have you both staying with us, and looking forward to seeing you again quite soon!