FB Twitter

Spiddal 368 An Sean Teach

Spiddal 368 An Sean Teach

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.8


500 metres from the Atlantic at Galway Bay, amidst a landscape, of tiny stonewalled fields and wild bogs is the thatched cottage known to the generations who lived there as An Sean Teach (the old house). This is a real hidden gem of a cottage.
This authentic thatched cottage consists of 3 bedrooms. The master bedroom has a king size bed and is ensuite with shower. The two single attic bedrooms have access to a toilet upstairs. The main bathroom is downstairs and it has a bath.

Great place

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay here. Very warm and cozy. The host was stunning and very helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to go back there.



A lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Superficially clean but the furnishings and rug need a good wash/clean.

A really good idea would be a seat/bench at the front of the property.

Our major concern is that no one told us about the water problems, potentially a very serious contamination. I noticed everyone at the supermarket buying loads of water it was only by chance that I saw a warning online, that was after we had been drinking it for days! I think the letting agency or the owners or the caretaker should have told us about this.




Another great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a another great stay in Teach Sean
Lovely welcome pack and great location for exploring Connemara. House has everything you could need and would recommend.




Lovely little cottage with so much character.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in the cottage. It had everything we needeed . Steve and Edel were lovely.



Back in time in this rustic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage dates back to the 1820s, and it retains a sense of history. It has been restored and adapted to modern living, with an extra two single bedrooms with en suite built into the eaves. So perfect for teenage kids who hate to share rooms on holiday! The cottage was clean and the fridge was filled with necessaries, the beds were comfortable and there were plenty of towels.

Spiddal is a great town, with three pubs and a couple of shops. the little beach and the pier were lovely in good weather. It was a base for our daytrips out to the Connemara coast, and we hopped on the bus to Galway a couple of times too.

There were a few annoying niggles with things not working as they should, but we have given those to the owners. On the whole, we very much enjoyed being in the cottage and were comfortable there.




uncomfortable sitting room

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was authentic and original as we expected we have rented other cottages like this one before.
we were grateful to have our dogs.

The sitting room was very uncomfortable and needed the dresser removed it was just in the way.was of no use
you could then place the settee nearer the fire and had a larger TV.
The 2 small chairs in front of the fire look good but were very uncomfortable to sit in all evening.
The toilet in that room I'm afraid smelt bad from the drain so kept it shut, had no need for another toilet
These are constructive comments not to offend the owners
It took a couple of days to warm the house up too,









Made Christmas magical

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed over Christmas with two kids, 5 and 3. The house is outstanding and it's like stepping back in time. The kids loved staying in the hairy house! The house is very well maintained and is spotless throughout. The fire was lighting and we had an endless supply of turf for our stay. The fridge had a stock of food and a welcome pack in the kitchen. The location is perfect for exploring Connemara and easy access to Galway, only 20 minutes away. We can't wait to come back.



Great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my 2nd stay to An Sean Teach and it feels like home! Gorgeous house full of character and comfort. This is an ideal spot to explore Connemara. It was ideal for us as we could bring our dog with us. They even left some shopping for us which was a lovely surprise. I plan to return again next year!



An Sean Teach

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really enjoyable stay in this cottage. Clean, comfortable and very close to all amenities. Would definitely recommend it.



A lovely stay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome from Steve with generous welcome pack
And home grown potatoes
Cottage is lovely authentic and lots of special touches
We enjoyed our stay very much
A much needed break for us in an ideal location




Excellent location and a unique experience

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful thatched cottage. It is a very unique experience staying in a pre famine thatched cottage and it has been very sensitively renovated. The standard of cleanliness was high and the lady in charge provided a fabulous welcome with a turf fire lit and a lot of shopping essentials so that we didn’t need to shop in till the next day. The location is excellent for visitors travelling by car or by public transport as it is about 7 mins walk from both Spiddal village and the bus stop, and 7 mins walk to a great beach for swimming, Céibh an Spidéil. There is a very authentic Italian pizzeria for take away pizza, that includes gluten free options and a number of other take aways within seven minutes walk. Spiddal is an excellent location for exploring Connemara and we will definitely be returning.
I am not sure how warm the cottage is during the colder months as there is no central heating but the log burner is very effective and there is a big supply of turf. The fridge was a little dodgy at times, but all the rest of the facilities were great. Washing machine, dryer, microwave, electric shower etc




Wow a little gem

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As the title says WOW WOW WOW

This little beauty is just amazing, just 5 minutes walk outside the village of Spiddal and in a perfect location to tour Connemara.

The house is 200 year old but is maintained to a high modern standard without losing the old romantic feel. The weather was beautiful but I was half praying for the temperature to drop just so I could light the real turf fire.

Edel the caretaker couldn’t do enough for us (not that we needed her) and the welcome pack was perfect to start us off for our week ahead.

As Arnie once said “Hasta la vista… I will be back”

John & Cathy July 2021




Sun, Sea and a Beautiful Location…

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was extremely clean upon arrival. We were greeted with a beautiful welcome basket that made us feel instantly at home. The cottage was situated perfectly close to the beach. It had all the amenities one would need during a holiday, and it was cozy and spacious for all four of us. The decoration, ambiance and turf fire added to the atmosphere and made the experience all the more memorable. We had good communication from the host before and after our stay, and overall it was the perfect place to stay for our trip to Connemara. I would highly recommend this to all!



Holiday 2021

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay very much. Our cottage was very well located, clean and included all necessary supplies to make for a great break. We were delighted with spacious lot as we could bring our pets with us.



Thank you

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from 10 nights in Teach Sean. The house was spotless and had everything needed (wifi dishwasher etc) Met owner who provided us with walking maps and guided us around location. Brought our golden doodle and he loved it too! Great value and could 100% recommend this house and hoping to get back soon.



95

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is Gem . The owner has paid great attention to detail to give one the traditional Irish Cottage experience combined with mod cons such as wi fi and television .

Is only 18 kn from Galway city , 400 metres from the beach , and 500 metres from pubs / shops .

The owner was very accommodating and helpful





A home from home. It was exactly what we wanted and highly recommend it. We intend to book again.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed every minute of out stay in Spiddal The thatched cottage was just what we dreamed of. The owner made us so welcome and the welcome pack provided kept us going till we found our bearings. Our dog Tubby loved it also and we all thought bad of leaving. We are planning to return again next year...So thank you once again for a lovely time..



Fantastic spot!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property had everything we needed..we had our dog with us and was perfect for a break away. Very close to beach and all amenities. Will definitely book here again.. I loved it!



Lovely week in traditional cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed a great week in Spiddal & even the weather obliged . Lovely traditional cottage if dark inside but as weather was beautiful we left front door open . Owner very pleasant & helpful . Great location for day trips & beach & restaurants close by . Plenty of space outside to relax in the garden . All in all we were very happy with our holiday choice.



Lovely week at the 'Sean Teach'

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in the 'Sean Teach' in Spiddal.It is a very nice cottage with all the mod cons .It is well located on the outskirts of Spiddal and an ideal base for exploring Connemara.The cottage's owner was very friendly and helpful.In summary,we had a wonderful week staying at the 'Sean Teach'