FB Twitter

Moyard 357 Oak Lodge

Moyard 357 Oak Lodge

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.4


Oak Lodge is a three bedroom contemporary bungalow overlooking Ballinakill Lake which lies between Cleggan and Letterfrack in the town-land of Moyard. Just around the corner is the beautiful Ardkyle Beach, or Ross Beach as the locals like to call it. There is history in abundance here! Ballinakill grave yard is the resting place of Oliver St John Gogarty the famous poet and writer. The house itself was once rented by Garrett Fitzgerald who was Taoiseach from 1981 to 1987.
The house has been recently renovated and presents a peaceful and comfortable atmosphere nothing more relaxing than sitting watching the ever changing colours over the lake or taking the binoculars and seeing the otters playing and the fish jumping.

Moyard Oak Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb property in a brilliant location. The property was very clean and very comfortable set in tranquil surroundings. Close to Connemara's coastline and nearby Clifden. A hidden gem.



Wonderful house in a great location and pet-friendly too!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Oak Lodge for a week in March 2024 and it is a lovely home to stay in. Everythign was clean and the instructions for operating everythign were clear. There was only two of us, plus our border collie so the house was big for our needs. Being dog-friendly, together with location is one of the reasons we chose Oak Lodge.
It's a great base for a holiday in Connemara. There are so many things to do that are not far away, lots of great beaches and forest trails. Waking up to the stunning countryside is somethign I will never get used to.
Highly recommended




Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place to stay near of beach's, restaurants, kylamore abbey.
We could not be more happy.
Thank you




357 Oak Lodge - A very comfortable place

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oak Lodge is a comfortable base for exploring the area. The house is well equipped, has fast wifi and comfortable beds. It’s in a quiet location good for star gazing.



Perfect location

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four words: perfect house, perfect holidays!
We had a wonderful time there.
Bright, nicely furnished house, great kitchen, lots of crockery and accessories, comfortable beds. Beautiful views. Quiet. With a car about 10 min to pubs, restaurants, beaches. Just one small blemish:
the low water pressure in the shower and bathroom should be improved.




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2023
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Lovely house in a lovely location. One minus, the waterpressure from the shower is far to low. Upgrading it will give an excellent review for this cottage in the future.



The second cottage of our 4 week 4 cottage tour.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2023
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Wonderful location , perfect for exploring the glorious area of Connemara.
Our first impression of Oak Lodge was that it looked rather neglected & the exterior& garden in need of attention. The grass was cut later in the week.
The interior would have benefitted from a good airing as there was a strong musty, stale smell in the living rooms so not very welcoming. However, the beds were very comfortable & bedding& duvets clean & fresh.




Extremely comfortable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay in Oak Lodge. Everything you need is there with a lovely wood burning stove and very well equipped kitchen. Everything was beautifully clean and comfortable and we will definitely be back!



Oak lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house for a week in Connemara.
Everything you could need was in the house.
Would recommend this house




excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Feb 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
simple brilliant facilities and superb location. Centrally located between Letterfrack and Clifden very easy to deal with and a really great price for my stay. Recommended



Comfortable, cosy cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage. Cosy. Stunning views at lake and mountains.
Very good place to visit a main part of Connamare.




A property with a view

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2022
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed the peaceful location of this property with its wonderful views across the lake and mountains beyond. However, although the property was generally comfortable we did have some niggles. The low water pressure meant that showers were more of a mission than a pleasurable experience. The bathrooms and the kitchen were clean but there was a lot of dust and dead insects that hadn’t been dealt with. There is clearly a great deal to see in the area and so we were a little disappointed that there was very limited information on hand in the property. Hopefully, this can be addressed for the benefit of future gifts.



One week closed to Cleggan

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice quiet place, closed to cities, in perfect conditions & all you can need to have a good stay !!



Excellent moyard stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in moyard. The house is well located, comfortable and very well equipped. We are already planning our next trip !



Beautiful Home

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bright, cozy cottage in a great location. A very short drive from the town of Clifden and all of the attractions of North West Connemara. The cottage was immaculately clean, warm and the kitchen had every utensil and appliance you could possibly need. I really couldn't fault a single aspect of this property and it was excellent value for money. Thank you.



Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in the right place for visiting the areas which where nearby with stunning views and beautiful beaches.



A very chill out stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely Christmas & New Year here. It was spotlessly clean, well equipped and very comfortable.

Our only disappointment was that the stove in the kitchen/dining was out of use, as this was the room we spent all of our day-time hours in.

Thank you.




Wonderful location and gorgeous house with plenty of room for families.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and very near cleggan Town and beach. Great facilities at the house. Wonderful stay for families with plenty of room



Oak Lodge stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely relaxing stay in Oak Lodge, the house was in a picturesque peaceful, quiet location but still within easy each of Clifden and Letterfrack. This house had everything you could possibly need for a break away and we are already thinking about rebooking for next year.



Fabulous stay in a lovely house

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time in Oak Lodge and we loved it again. It is such a comfortable house, well equipped and every window has a view that looks like a postcard!
We enjoyed going to nearby Ross Beach and beaches near Cleggan.




Great House,Location.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my second stay,here.The layout, spacious, 2 bathrooms, 3 great bedrooms met every need. Kitchen stocked with plenty of utensils, equipment etc.Warm and bright house.
The location gives easy access to huge coastal area,and great mountain and upland walks.
Clifden,Letterfrack and Cleggan within easy reach.




Christmas in Connemara.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jan 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here over Christmas in a family bubble. House was spotless with evidence of covid measures taken.
Location was fabulous overlooking a lake with Clifden and Letterfrack within easy reach.
Bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. The living room has a great stove for winter stays.
It would be hard to find a kitchen better equipped. Everything the most demanding cook would require was on hand.
We would love to return in the summer.
A super house.




Siobhan Bennett replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your Christmas in Connemara so much & of course the house! Hope to see you again soon Siobhán

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This home was everything and more than we had hoped it would be, warm, spacious, well equipped and extremely clean. From the moment we walked in the door we felt welcome and relaxed.
The views from the house were spectacular and with every outing that we had, we looked forward to the scenic drive back to cosy in for the evening.
Communication was fantastic and everything was explained very clearly.
We are already recommending this beautiful sanctuary to friends and family, and we would happily book a return visit to this gem in Connemara!




Siobhan Bennett replied more than 1 year ago
So great to hear you enjoy your stay in the house so much and how you felt at home. Lovely to hear. Siobhán

Brilliant house,in a super location.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is bright,comfortable, spacious, warm ,modern and well equipped.
The location is perfect for exploring the wonderful coast of NW Connemara. Great walks,rambles,treks are within a short drive or straight from the front door.
Clifden,Letterfrack and Cleggan have well stocked supermarkets.
Would readily stay there,again.




Siobhan Bennett replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay & the house so much. Sounds like you guys really went out and discovered the region. Hope to see you again soon Siobhán

Wonderful week in Connemara

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful week in Oak Lodge. The house is very comfortable and well-equipped, close to beautiful beaches and a short drive to either Cleggan or Letterfrack.
Very good communication with the caretaker and rental company.
I hope we can return.




Siobhan Bennett replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Hopefully we will see you again soon Siobhán

Lovely house, nice area, pity about that fridge

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Oak Lodge is a lovely house in a pleasant and very quiet setting, just a few kilometres from the village of Lettefrack and the National Park visitor centre, and within driving distance of Clifden, Leenaun and several splendid beaches. The house itself is bright, clean, comfortable and very well equipped, with good wifi, a big colour TV and bathrooms upstairs and down. In short it felt not like a holiday let but more like a family home. Entry arrangements were very simple. No fuss.

The only hiccup was that the fridge-freezer had failed the week before our let but was not replaced until towards the end of our stay, which left us with an ineffective (not chilled) mini-fridge as our only stopgap. CCC explained that their electrical goods supplier could only deliver on Thursdays so the delay was not in their control. But here I have to say that, were I renting a family house in late Summer with no fridge, I'd have found a van and made it a high priority to get to Galway (< two hours away) to buy a replacement immediately. Anyway, that didn't happen, so I suggested a part refund and, to be fair, CCC readily agreed to this.

Setting aside the unfortunate business with the fridge - which is unlikely to occur again - this was a good experience in a lovely house and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.





Review

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
1.0
The property and location were great, but the service from ccc was far short of what I would expect.



Lovely renovated cottage set in beautiful Connemara

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage itself was lovely, very nicely renovated to easily accommodate 6 people. The location is perfect for a quiet get away and on a clear night I have never seen so many stars. The town of Clifden is just a 10 min drive and Roundstone and Westport are an easy day trip with two of the most glorious Irish beaches, Dogs Bay and Gurteen Bay on the Clifden road to Roundstone. The kitchen was well equipped but could have used a microwave. The rest of the house was comfortably furnished.
First let me say we loved our time in the cottage and were able to visit family and friends in the area because we had a car.
So my other thoughts were that people, especially anyone coming from abroad, need to understand it is a bit far from town to be without a car. The directions left for how to deal with trash, recycled waste and compost were not really clear. We did not find a fire pit for burning the trash. And for someone who has never been to Europe before it might help to have very specific directions regarding the electric switches and master switches. My daughter lived there for a few years so we understood the various switches but our friend who was with us did not.
Thank you for opening your lovely home.