FB Twitter

The Old Farmhouse

The Old Farmhouse

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
5.0


Coulscott’s white Georgian manor and original farmhouse peak through the trees in a lovely leafy valley near the North Devon coast but closer inspection reveals an exclusive hamlet of stunning holiday cottages and fantastic family facilities. Indoors and out, children and grown-ups alike are spoiled rotten, staying in the lap of luxury and having so many ways to while away the days without leaving the glorious 12 acres of grounds.

There are 6 properties at Coulscott, comprising Georgian House, Old Farmhouse, The Old Barn and three cosy cottages created from the old farm buildings. All of them have been designed and furnished to stunning standards which would be perfectly placed in the pages of swish interiors magazines.

From magnificent galleried living rooms to sumptuous period elegance, Travertine tiled bathrooms and four poster beds, all the properties provide somewhere special for families and of course they come with all the baby and toddler essentials as well.

The home entertainment is bang up to date, including Apple TV’s, Netflix, Sky free view, DVD players and unlimited WiFi, plus larger cottages have hot tubs where grown-ups can soothe away the stress with a glass of bubbly, admiring amazing views or gazing at the stars. If parents can’t be bothered to cook, a wide range of frozen ready meals from ‘COOK’ are available to buy from the courtyard freezer, along with delicious local ice cream.

What’s especially great about Coulscott for families are the superb facilities that will keep everyone happy whatever the weather. The lovely indoor pool is kept at a toasty 30 degrees and has great views through big barn windows, with seats around the side to kick back with a book. An adjoining games room includes table tennis and table football, whilst babies and toddlers have their own soft play room, with a ball pool and giant Liquorice Allsorts!

There are acres of garden and grounds for children to play hide and seek, have picnics by a stream or build dens in the woods, plus a new outdoor play area includes a wooden pirate ship, 2-storey Wendy House, adventure climbing frame and swings, custom made tractor with a slide, turf labyrinth and a large, netted trampoline.

Children may well meet a peacock strutting around the garden and will be delighted to get acquainted with the Coulscott menagerie of hens and ducks, alpacas, pygmy goats, micro pigs and Matilda the wallaby. Other wildlife are regular visitors to Coulscott, including owls, foxes and badgers who might just make an appearance in the dusky twilight.

Accommodation Overview:
Coulscott comprises 5-bedroom Georgian House, 5-bedroom Old Barn, 3-bedroom Old Farmhouse, 2 bedroom Peacock and Aylesbury Cottages and 1-bedroom Bantum Cottage, all set in 12 acres of gardens and grounds with an indoor pool, adventure play area and friendly animals.

Old Farmhouse (sleeps 6 + up to 2 babies in cots), with a 5-star gold award from Visit England, dates right back to medieval times and the authentic character has been preserved whilst being brought luxuriously up to date. An amazing living room is the heart of the house, being open to the first floor rafters and overlooked by a minstrels gallery but also featuring a slate floor with a large Persian rug, an inglenook stone fireplace with a big wood burner, huge comfy sofas, Sky freeview TV with Netflix and a DVD player. The dining room is just around one corner of the living room and the modern kitchen is well equipped and has a central island breakfast bar. Helpfully for elderly relatives, one twin bedroom is on the ground floor with an ensuite shower room and WC. The two other bedrooms are beautifully furnished, including an antique super king-size 4-poster in the master bedroom, which also has an ensuite shower room, and a twin room with wrought iron bedsteads. The Travertine tiled family bathroom includes a bath with an overhead shower. Old Farmhouse opens onto a big, private, paved terrace with outdoor dining table, barbecue and hot tub. A ‘secret’ door links Old Farmhouse to Georgian House which makes these two ideal for a large group of up to 15 people (Old Farmhouse has dining facilities for 15).

Perfect family break

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Coulscott. The house was very comfortable and well equipped, well stocked kitchen and high chair, bed guard etc provided. We felt at home immediately, as did our dog!

The facilities on site are wonderful for small children, our 3 year old loved feeding the animals and spending time in the play area. Beautiful views, close to several beaches and never felt busy, even though it was fully booked. Thank you - we will definitely be back.


Charlotte from Twickenham stayed at The Old Farmhouse for 4 nights in May 2019


Great week at the Farmhouse

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very satisfying week in the Old Farmhouse. Well equipped kitchen, cosy living room with fireplace. Great hot tub with panoramic view. All equipment worked splendid (apart from a small hiccup with the heating, which was swiftly solved). Actually nothing to complain about.
Surroundings also great. Nice walks along the shore and through the hills.
Definitely very recommendable.


Guest from Utrecht stayed at The Old Farmhouse for 7 nights in April 2019


Amazing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Farmhouse was spotlessly clean with lovely furnishings , washing machine, dishwasher, large choice of books & games and its own hot tub! Outside patio with table & chairs and barbecue.
The amenities provided were outstanding. Swimming pool , soft play area with table tennis & table football, trampoline and outdoor play areas. Goats, guinea pigs , alpacas , hens, ducks and pigs. Our grandchildren loved being able to walk freely in the animals pens .
The owners & staff were very helpful in the booking process and during our stay. They were able to recommend places to eat and where to visit. So many things to do within 15 mile radius. Fantastic beaches.
I can highly recommmed Coulscott cottages - 5 star accomadation & amenities.


David from Chesterfield stayed at The Old Farmhouse for 7 nights in April 2019


Lovely April stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A charming place with a charming host, stunning location, all beautifully done. Great facilities for families - the pool was fantastic and the play area, farmyard and grounds were a huge hit with the children. Lovely little touches too, with complimentary juices, White Company toiletries and eggs from the chickens. The only small gripe was around the heating which could have done with a boost on the chilly winter mornings, but even that was mitigated by the very effective fire.

Guest from London stayed at The Old Farmhouse for 7 nights in April 2019


Fabulous place for young kids

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Andrew and Sue for our stay in your amazing farm house. It was exceptional and you tended to our every need. What we loved most was that whilst our childrens' needs were fabulously met (all the games and books in the house and your amazing pool) we could feel like adults. Thank you for your great recommendation of Besshill Farm shop who delivered really fresh and delicious food, which was waiting for us when we arrived. We would highly recommend Coulscott to any young family wanting some peace and tranquility, and some luxury!

Hannah from Milton Keynes stayed at The Old Farmhouse for 14 nights in September 2018


A wonderful week in Devon

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, wow, wow... we have just returned from a week at the old farmhouse and it was amazing. The location was great, we visited Lynton, woolacombe and the dinosaur park and on the days we didn’t go out we had a great time using the facilities onsite, the swimming pool and the tractor slide were favourites for my son. Will definitely be back next year!

Hannah from Nottingham stayed at The Old Farmhouse for 7 nights in September 2018


Brilliantly located and lovely

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage-full of character, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We stayed as a family of 5 with three young boys and had plenty of room. The ‘extra’ facilities on site -soft play, COOK food on an ‘honesty bar’ basis, pool, trampoline, children’s garden is fantastic for a young family. And it’s brilliantly located-every day we were able to do dinosaur parks, zoos, beaches, ilfracombe town and theme parks within an easy drive. It is expensive but you get what you pay for. Lovely owners too!

Liz from Weybridge stayed at The Old Farmhouse for 7 nights in August 2018


Luxury cottage with great facilities and friendly hosts

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage beautiful, spacious and had everything we needed for our 2 week stay. The pool was excellent and never too busy, and our 3 year old loved playing in the outdoor play area, as well as checking on the animals and the number of eggs laid by the hens each morning. Thoroughly recommended to anyone with a young family needing a touch of luxury as well as plenty to do on site.

Kathryn from London stayed at The Old Farmhouse for 14 nights in June 2018


Excellent stay in a home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Coulscott with our two sons (aged 4 and 5) and my husband’s parents. The old farmhouse is a beautiful property. It has lots of space inside and it is brilliantly equipped with everything to make it feel like a home from home. The beds were very comfy, the bathrooms are great and the outdoor hot tub was a lot of fun. The Apple TV with Netflix was helpful for our 2 boys when they needed a rest from all the outdoor activities and for us in the evening.
The facilities at Coulscott are fantastic - fabulous play areas, lovely and warm indoor pool, and best of all the animals. Our boys felt like they were real farmers for the week!
We will hopefully be back for another week’s stay next year.


Laura from Fleet stayed at The Old Farmhouse for 7 nights in May 2018