FB Twitter

The Georgian House

The Georgian House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Coulscott’s white Georgian manor and original farmhouse peak through the trees in a lovely leafy valley near the North Devon coast but closer inspection reveals an exclusive hamlet of stunning holiday cottages and fantastic family facilities. Indoors and out, children and grown-ups alike are spoiled rotten, staying in the lap of luxury and having so many ways to while away the days without leaving the glorious 12 acres of grounds.

There are six properties at Coulscott, comprising Georgian House, Old Farmhouse, The Old Barn and three cosy cottages created from the old farm buildings. All of them have been designed and furnished to stunning standards which would be perfectly placed in the pages of swish interiors magazines.

From magnificent galleried living rooms to sumptuous period elegance, Travertine tiled bathrooms and four poster beds, all the properties provide somewhere special for families and of course they come with all the baby and toddler essentials as well.

The home entertainment is bang up to date, including Apple TV’s, Netflix, Sky free view, DVD players and unlimited WiFi, plus larger cottages have hot tubs where grown-ups can soothe away the stress with a glass of bubbly, admiring amazing views or gazing at the stars. If parents can’t be bothered to cook, a wide range of frozen ready meals from ‘COOK’ are available to buy from the courtyard freezer, along with delicious local ice cream.

What’s especially great about Coulscott for families are the superb facilities that will keep everyone happy whatever the weather. The lovely indoor pool is kept at a toasty 30 degrees and has great views through big barn windows, with seats around the side to kick back with a book. An adjoining games room includes table tennis and table football, whilst babies and toddlers have their own soft play room, with a ball pool and giant Liquorice Allsorts!

There are acres of garden and grounds for children to play hide and seek, have picnics by a stream or build dens in the woods, plus a new outdoor play area includes a wooden pirate ship, 2-storey Wendy House, adventure climbing frame and swings, custom made tractor with a slide, turf labyrinth and a large, netted trampoline.

Children may well meet a peacock strutting around the garden and will be delighted to get acquainted with the Coulscott menagerie of hens and ducks, alpacas, pygmy goats, micro pigs and Matilda the wallaby. Other wildlife are regular visitors to Coulscott, including owls, foxes and badgers who might just make an appearance in the dusky twilight.

Accommodation Overview:
Coulscott comprises 5-bedroom Georgian House, 5-bedroom Old Barn, 3-bedroom Old Farmhouse, 2 bedroom Peacock and Aylesbury Cottages and 1-bedroom Bantum Cottage, all set in 12 acres of gardens and grounds with an indoor pool, adventure play area and friendly animals.

Georgian House (sleeps 9 + 2 babies in cots), with a 5-star gold award from Visit England, is steeped in period elegance and makes a luxurious choice for extended families and friends. Grown ups can relax in the refined and luxurious drawing room, with plush sofas, a large Persian rug, marble fireplace, wood burner, Sky freeview TV with Netflix and a DVD player, whilst children have a separate ‘snug’ sitting room to themselves to watch CBeebies or a favourite DVD. Georgian House also has its own games room with table tennis and bar billiards. The large kitchen is a sleek modern take on a traditional farmhouse kitchen with a long, wooden breakfast table and all mod cons including an American style fridge freezer, microwave, dishwasher, food processor etc. The beautiful formal dining room makes meal times much more of an occasion, with its rich, red walls, polished table, antique dressers and a marble fireplace with a wood burner. The five bedrooms are lavishly furnished and finished, comprising two with king size beds and ensuite shower rooms, two twin rooms and one single room. The large house bathroom features a Travertine tiled floor, roll top bath and big walk in shower. Georgian House opens onto a wide balustraded terrace with fabulous views and a pretty rose covered pergola leads into the lawn garden with outdoor furniture, barbecue and private hot tub. A ‘secret’ door links Georgian House to Old Farmhouse which makes these two ideal for a large group of up to 15 people (Old Farmhouse has dining facilities for 15).

Wonderful property, great amenities, serene views. Location good for local village/pubs/shops/sea

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hidden away just outside Combe Martin, this holiday paradise has all you need to keep large and small families entertained while staying onsite. Travelling out, then is plenty of places and beaches to visit, all within a reasonable drive. Ilfracombe with its lovely shops and Harbour is a must and only 15 mins away.
The Georgian house itself is a terrific Listed Building and has that aura about it as you wander around it checking out the rooms, from the Family kitchen diner to the large sitting room and exquisite Dining room. All bedrooms are well furnished and clean. Great that dogs can stay here too as ours enjoyed wandering around the grounds with all the smells and of course all the animals that are kept on site. feed time each morning about 9.30 am is a must.
The hot tub was great to relax in in the evening after a day out and the indoor pool ample size with a toilet, shower and changing room attached.
Plenty of indoor and outdoor play areas for the young children, with table tennis, table football for the older ones and adults.
Combe Martin has enough facilities for emergency shopping , eating or drinking needs, with some nice pubs. Recommend the Pack Of Cards for sunday lunch, but book in advance....


Alec from Hornchurch stayed at The Georgian House for 7 nights in May 2019


A wonderful week

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed during the wettest week on record in the UK but still managed to get lots of dry periods and sunshine. It felt like we were holidaying in Provence. Lovely spacious house, full of character. Beautiful grounds and so much to keep the little ones occupied. I would highly recommend this amazing holiday venue.

Yvonne from Birmingham stayed at The Georgian House for 7 nights in June 2019


An amazing holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was absolutely lovely , beautifully furnished and equipped with everything you could possibly need and more for all age groups . We felt perfectly at home from the moment we walked through the door .
There were 3 generations in our party and and there was something for all of us . The toddlers made use of the toys and games in the house and loved the play areas. The adults made use if the games room and hot tub and everyone enjoyed the pool and absolutely adored the animals .
The staff were friendly and helpful without being intrusive and kept the properties and grounds immaculate.
There were so many beaches to visit within easy reach of the property. A week wasn't enough to explore even part of the area .
We would all like to return in the future .


Guest from Ruislip stayed at The Georgian House for 7 nights in May 2019


An amazing week away

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a week's holiday staying in The Georgian House. Five adults 2 children 11 and 9 and 1 baby of 6 months. Accommodation was superb and met all our needs. Lots of outside space for the 2 older children and everyone enjoyed time in the swimming pool. The animals were an added bonus and Ozzie one of the Llamas has become a firm friend and in many of our family photographs. An excellent holiday destination, close to Exmoor an easy drive to the local beaches of Combe Martin Woolacombe Putsborough and the beautiful coastline walks around Mortehoe and Lee Bay. We will return.

Jenny from Twickenham stayed at The Georgian House for 7 nights in May 2019


Lovely place

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place with lots of things for kids to do on site. Great beaches nearby. Great staff on hand to assist when needed.

Samir from Harrow stayed at The Georgian House for 3 nights in April 2019


Our stay at The Georgian House Coulscott

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As before this was a superb holiday in beautiful grounds and faultless property. To be recommended to anyone.

James from Marlow stayed at The Georgian House for 7 nights in April 2019


A lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a long weekend - 6 adults, 2 children and 2 babies - and had a fab time. The house was great for our party and the kids had a whale of a time with so many rooms to hide in! We were lucky to have the swimming pool to ourselves on both full days we were there and the kids loved it. They also loved feeding the animals (especially the goats!) with the lovely Mick. Mick also managed to find me a grill-pan on the Saturday morning! Had a great day out at the nearby Dinosaur & Wildlife park on the Sunday.

Sallie from Bristol stayed at The Georgian House for 3 nights in March 2019


Coulscott House- Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the nicest place we have ever stayed with children. The house had everything we needed and Sue and Michael were always nearby but never imposing. The farm animals were an added bonus that my son and daughter loved, and feeding the chickens was a regular morning activity. The softly was clean, bright and great fun as was the pool and we all enjoyed the gardens and table tennis.

I can't rate this place highly enough.

Thank you for a lovely stay.


Firle from Eastbourne stayed at The Georgian House for 7 nights in October 2018


A wonderful week.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to the Georgian House, and was summed up as the best yet. We were a family of 9, with an age range of 2 to 79. The house and grounds are perfect for children of all ages, a lot of thought has been put into making Coulscott a safe but fun place.
The house is beautiful, somehow managing to be both large and cosy.There is plenty of room for quieter activities, but a garden room with table tennis for the more boisterous.
Outside there is plenty to do. The football area and goal was much appreciated this year, as was the pool and hot tub. The soft play area is great for under 5s, only problem being getting our toddler to leave!
We all enjoyed visiting the animals, and loved the new mini goats. Mathilda the wallaby was much in evidence, and Ozzie the alpaca his usual flirtatious self.
Sue and Andrew are very welcoming, and have put so much thought and care into Coulscott, we feel privileged to be able to share such a lovely place with them.
,


Nigel from Hungerford stayed at The Georgian House for 7 nights in August 2018


Thoroughly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were 2 young families and grandparents in our party and everybody had a great stay. There is plenty to keep children occupied with the swimming pool, soft play (suitable for under 5s only), the animals and the lovely playground. The house was set up with children in mind with added touches such as bathroom steps, baby bath, books and games available for use. The layout was perfect for us as it meant our family had a separate area upstairs which could be closed off to avoid disturbing everybody else as our children are early risers! The location is ideal for exploring all of North Devon's sights and the views from the property are stunning. The house itself has been refurbished to a high standard and has a fully equipped kitchen with more than you would expect from a holiday home. The owners were very accommodating and sorted out the minor issue we had very promptly.
Just a point to note; It is very hilly and on a steep site so all facilities may not be accessible to elderly/less able people in your party, but I imagine this is the case for most of the area.
Overall absolutely 5*


Hannah from Epping stayed at The Georgian House for 7 nights in August 2018


Great for family groups

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Georgian House is lovely, great for large family groups.
There is plenty of space to spread out and nice bathroom and kitchen facilities.
The indoor soft play room and outdoor play areas were brilliant for our 4 - 6 year olds.


Guest from London stayed at The Georgian House for 7 nights in July 2018


Lovely place to spend a long weekend with family.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely long weekend here in June with family. The house was extremely spacious and very well equipped, including lots of toys, books and games to amuse our 3 and 6 year old boys. That was even before we explored the grounds.
An indoor swimming pool, games room. trampoline and outdoor play equipment meant that our sons never got bored and you wouldn't even need to leave the grounds of the house if you didn't want to. In fact, it was lovely just to relax in the beautiful house the first morning we were there while the children just played and explored. We enjoyed meeting and feeding all the farm animals and holding the guinea pigs! Sue and Andrew were extremely welcoming hosts and very attentive to our needs. Oh and the hot tub was obviously a bonus - nice to kick back and relax at the end of a busy day.
We particularly liked the big farmhouse style kitchen with long dining table and enjoyed all sitting round it for an evening meal. It was great the way it opened onto the games room extension with table tennis and then led through to the outside terrace.


Guest from Bath stayed at The Georgian House for 3 nights in June 2018