FB Twitter

Peacock Cottage

Peacock Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Coulscott’s white Georgian manor and original farmhouse peak through the trees in a lovely leafy valley near the North Devon coast but closer inspection reveals an exclusive hamlet of stunning holiday cottages and fantastic family facilities. Indoors and out, children and grown-ups alike are spoiled rotten, staying in the lap of luxury and having so many ways to while away the days without leaving the glorious 12 acres of grounds.

There are six properties at Coulscott, comprising Georgian House, Old Farmhouse, The Old Barn and three cosy cottages created from the old farm buildings. All of them have been designed and furnished to stunning standards which would be perfectly placed in the pages of swish interiors magazines.

From magnificent galleried living rooms to sumptuous period elegance, Travertine tiled bathrooms and four poster beds, all the properties provide somewhere special for families and of course they come with all the baby and toddler essentials as well.

The home entertainment is bang up to date, including Apple TV’s, Netflix, Sky free view, DVD players and unlimited WiFi. If parents can’t be bothered to cook, a wide range of frozen ready meals from ‘COOK’ are available to buy from the courtyard freezer, along with delicious local ice cream.

What’s especially great about Coulscott for families are the superb facilities that will keep everyone happy whatever the weather. The lovely indoor pool is kept at a toasty 30 degrees and has great views through big barn windows, with seats around the side to kick back with a book. An adjoining games room includes table tennis and table football, whilst babies and toddlers have their own soft play room, with a ball pool and giant Liquorice Allsorts!

There are acres of garden and grounds for children to play hide and seek, have picnics by a stream or build dens in the woods, plus a new outdoor play area includes a wooden pirate ship, 2-storey Wendy House, adventure climbing frame and swings, custom made tractor with a slide, turf labyrinth and a large, netted trampoline.

Children may well meet a peacock strutting around the garden and will be delighted to get acquainted with the Coulscott menagerie of hens and ducks, alpacas, pygmy goats, micro pigs and Matilda the wallaby. Other wildlife are regular visitors to Coulscott, including owls, foxes and badgers who might just make an appearance in the dusky twilight.

Accommodation Overview:

Coulscott comprises 5-bedroom Georgian House, 5-bedroom Old Barn, 3-bedroom Old Farmhouse, 2 bedroom Peacock and Aylesbury Cottages and 1-bedroom Bantam Cottage, all set in 12 acres of gardens and grounds with an indoor pool, adventure play area and friendly animals.

Peacock Cottage (sleeps 4 + 1 baby in a cot), with its 4-star gold award from Visit England, is a pretty stone cottage, which has been beautifully furnished and finished to combine authentic character with modern flair. The living/dining room is bright and cosy, with a Persian rug on the tiled floor, a stone fireplace, a pair of comfortable sofas, Sky freeview TV with Netflix and a DVD player. The kitchen is modern and well equipped, including a microwave and hand blender for whizzing up baby food. The master bedroom has a king size 4-poster and the second bedroom has twin beds. The bathroom has a bath with an overhead shower. Peacock Cottage has a private lawn garden with furniture and a barbecue. When Peacock, Aylesbury and Bantum Cottages are booked together dining facilities are available for 10 people.

Cosy cottage with good amenities

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at Coulscott. They have done all they can to adapt to CVID and keep facilities available. Play area, pool, grounds and animals all lovely and Andrew took a lot of time to personally show our girls feeding time which was appreciated. Booking system for swimming worked well. Lots of places to visit. Washing machine room appreciated.
Cottage was cosy - only downside no draw space which meant living out of suit cases. Appreciate we had the remaining 2 bedroom cottage and unsure how they would fit but would have been nice to put clothes away. Didn't detract from stay tho and would return.


Guest from Broughton Astley, Leicester stayed at Peacock Cottage for 7 nights in October 2020


Fantastic family stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place to have a family break. The indoor swimming pool was really clean and perfect temperature for our 1 and 3 year olds. The outdoor play area was an excellent addition although our use of these was reduced by the rain. Use of the indoor play area was prevented due to Covid, but I feel that this could also be opened and utilise the same booking system used for the pool.
Ideal location for local beaches and attractions. Would recommend the dinosaur park for an excellent day out.


Simon from Bath stayed at Peacock Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Lovely break

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable cottage beautiful setting, we didn’t use the pool but it looked lovely. Lovely to be able to see the stars at night I would definitely recommend.

Gay from St. Albans stayed at Peacock Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Amazing break

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful retreat, especially during the COVID time. Andrew and Roy were helpful and welcoming. The swimming pool was clean and it was nice to be able to book it out as a family. The playground was amazing- well kept and lots of choice. Amazing views! Grounds and animal area both fantastic. Only downside to this particular cottage for us was that our children were too young to use the garden as it was separated from the cottage due to the hilly landscape. Wasn’t a problem as grounds were excellent. We had an absolutely amazing family break.

Serena from Cambridge stayed at Peacock Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Beautiful detached cottage with extensive leisure facilities. Great site for children to explore

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a fantastic break at Coulscott with our two young children. The cottage was of a high standard and very homely. It provided everything we could want for our 1 year old daughter including cot, high chair, stair gates which enabled us to settle quickly and helped hugely with space in the car boot. Our 3 year old son was overjoyed with the pirate ship in the garden and had his cousins walking the plank! The stream and grassy trails provided space for adventure and visiting the animals was a daily highlight with a wallaby and alpaca not animals our son had previously encountered.
The beaches nearby were fabulous and we also enjoyed walks on Exmoor, a scenic cycle along the river on the Tarka Trail, fish and chips from the shop by Combe Martin bay and trip to the dinosaur park.
Can't wait to return next year!


Guest from Tring stayed at Peacock Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at Coulscott House. Our 2 year old loved the dolls house in the cottage, the outdoor play area and the soft play room. The cottage was spotless and very well equipped, which made for a very comfortable stay for us all...we will definately be coming back again!

Guest from Beckenham stayed at Peacock Cottage for 5 nights in September 2019


3rd stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at Coulscott. Cottages are lovely and the kids (and therefore parents) love the pool, playroom and animals). Lovely part of the country with a different beach for every day, should you wish.

Brad from London stayed at Peacock Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Lovely family place

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My children loved the play area and the animals. A good size indoor swimming pool. The indoor soft play was great fun. A great break.

Guest from Dorking stayed at Peacock Cottage for 4 nights in April 2019


Great relaxing holiday with great onsite facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family holiday here with our 1year old son. The cottage was very picturesque and nicely decorated. We made good use of the indoor swimming pool which was well equipped with floats and noodles etc to play with. The added extra of the soft play room and ball pool meant there was always something to do to fill in time or on a rainy day! Our son enjoyed seeing all the animals up close and watching them get fed too.

Mark from Maidenhead stayed at Peacock Cottage for 6 nights in October 2018


Lovely setting for children

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We are a family with two children under three. The cottage had everything we needed, and was spotless. We used all the facilities - the toddler loved the playground there was lots to do, and the pool was great. Having the soft play area to take baby into was nice. A real highlight was the lovely setting and seeing and feeding the animals, toddler loved it.

The cottage has three steep steps between kitchen and living area -there are good stair gates in the property. It’s set into a hill so has steps to the door and up to the garden.


Helen from Haywards Heath stayed at Peacock Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


A really enjoyable holiday.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coulscott offers excellent facilities and an informal relaxed atmosphere. The owners are welcoming but not intrusive and they clearly look after the properties and facilities meticulously.
We have previously stayed at Clydey Cottages in Wales on several occasions and would put the facilities and accommodation of Coulscott on a par, and although the animal feeding experience for the children is less of a feature the cost of Coulscott is significantly lower. There is a lot to do nearby as well and some lovely beaches and villages.


Zoe from Welwyn Garden City stayed at Peacock Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Fabulous half term in North Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fifth time at Coulscott. We first visited with our eighteen month daughter in 2011 and have regularly returned ever since.
If you have young children you really can’t beat Coulscott. From the animals to the pirate ship to the trampoline to the swimming pool, there is no shortage of things to entertain. Given the slight unpredictabilities of the British weather, this is invaluable.

The cottages are beautifully presented with everything you would need for a relaxing stay. The beds are wonderfully comfortable as well!

We love to explore the North Devon beaches and Exmoor countryside when we are here. We can’t recommemd Coulscott enough.

Thank you Sue and Andrew for another wonderful break!


Rachel from Basingstoke stayed at Peacock Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018