FB Twitter

Bantam Cottage

Bantam Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Coulscott’s white Georgian manor and original farmhouse peak through the trees in a lovely leafy valley near the North Devon coast but closer inspection reveals an exclusive hamlet of stunning holiday cottages and fantastic family facilities. Indoors and out, children and grown-ups alike are spoiled rotten, staying in the lap of luxury and having so many ways to while away the days without leaving the glorious 12 acres of grounds.

There are 6 properties at Coulscott, comprising Georgian House, Old Farmhouse, The Old Barn and three cosy cottages created from the old farm buildings. All of them have been designed and furnished to stunning standards which would be perfectly placed in the pages of swish interiors magazines.

From magnificent galleried living rooms to sumptuous period elegance, Travertine tiled bathrooms and four poster beds, all the properties provide somewhere special for families and of course they come with all the baby and toddler essentials as well.

The home entertainment is bang up to date, including Apple TV’s, Netflix, Sky free view, DVD players and unlimited WiFi. If parents can’t be bothered to cook, a wide range of frozen ready meals from ‘COOK’ are available to buy from the courtyard freezer, along with delicious local ice cream.

What’s especially great about Coulscott for families are the superb facilities that will keep everyone happy whatever the weather. The lovely indoor pool is kept at a toasty 30 degrees and has great views through big barn windows, with seats around the side to kick back with a book. An adjoining games room includes table tennis and table football, whilst babies and toddlers have their own soft play room, with a ball pool and giant Liquorice Allsorts!

There are acres of garden and grounds for children to play hide and seek, have picnics by a stream or build dens in the woods, plus a new outdoor play area includes a wooden pirate ship, 2-storey Wendy House, adventure climbing frame and swings, custom made tractor with a slide, turf labyrinth and a large, netted trampoline.

Children may well meet a peacock strutting around the garden and will be delighted to get acquainted with the Coulscott menagerie of hens and ducks, alpacas, pygmy goats, micro pigs and Matilda the wallaby. Other wildlife are regular visitors to Coulscott, including owls, foxes and badgers who might just make an appearance in the dusky twilight.

Accommodation Overview:
Coulscott comprises 5-bedroom Georgian House, 5-bedroom Old Barn, 3-bedroom Old Farmhouse, 2 bedroom Peacock and Aylesbury Cottages and 1-bedroom Bantam Cottage, all set in 12 acres of gardens and grounds with an indoor pool, adventure play area and friendly animals.

Bantam Cottage: (sleeps 2 + 1 baby in a cot), with its 4-star gold award from Visit England, may be bijou and boutique but is bursting with style and luxury. Striking feature walls give the open plan living/dining area a touch of class and there’s a cosy corner sofa, Sky freeview TV with Netflix and a DVD player. The compact little kitchen is modern and well equipped, including a microwave and hand blender for whizzing up baby food. Upstairs there’s a little cot room and bedroom with a romantic king size 4-poster and ensuite marble wet room. Bantum Cottage has a bistro table in the courtyard. When Peacock, Aylesbury and Bantum Cottages are booked together dining facilities are available for 10 people.

Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in this small gem of a cottage. It was a perfect and relaxing place to spend the August bank holiday weekend, and had everything we needed. We used the swimming pool every day and loved exploring the stunning local area (especially the many beaches and coastal walks) with our dog. Thanks Andrew for your hospitality!

Guest from stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy, well appointed cottage. Ideal base to explore north Devon. The swimming pool is a big asset.

Stephen from Birmingham stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Lovely family stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Coulscott house as one of the first guests after reopening post COVID-19 lock down. Andrew did an excellent job of adapting and what sadly not all the facilities could legally be open there is still lots to do including seeing the animals which you can visit whenever you want and the play area. The cottage was great for 2 adults and a 19 month old. Good amount of space and everything you need. I would highly recommend it to families.

Nikki from Wokingham stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


A great find for family holidays

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Coulscott. The cottage was clean and comfortable and well equipped for a family. The pool and playroom were great as was the location.

Lucy from Stratford-upon-avon stayed at Bantam Cottage for 3 nights in October 2019


Perfect for families with a young baby

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bantam Cottage was perfect for us with our 11 month old daughter. Everything we could need was provided. Our daughter really enjoyed being there for the daily animal feeds and Roy was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be visiting again!

Thank you


Thomas from London stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


Lovely place

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the cottage. Small but perfectly formed. We had our nearly two year old with us who loved all the play areas, animals and use of the pool.
The area is very pretty and tranquil.
A good get away.


Sarah from Brighton stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


?

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean well appointed property. Much thought put into the 'goodies' provided, dog tag was an excellent idea and soft dog toy much appreciated. Loved the pool . Only problem, I had forgotten how hilly the whole area is!! Older now!!

Christine from Canterbury stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Fantastic family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just got back from a fantastic stay at Coulscott House. Bantam cottage was spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped with everything we needed plus added extras suitable for our toddler - children’s books, high chair, booster seat. The grounds of Coulscott are stunning. It was amazing for our two year old. The soft play area was very clean and the children’s outside play area was suitable for a range of ages with so many different things. We loved being able to visit the animals whenever we wanted which was a big hit with our son. The location was great being close to local attractions and beaches. Would highly recommend especially for families.

Jackie from Braintree stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Lovely cottage with good facilities.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage clean & comfortable. Swimming pool excellent - temperature just right. Excellent helpful staff (thank you Roy).

Philip from Rugby stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


A lovely cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall the standard of the cottage was excellent and the location was lovely. The amenities were of a high standard and we enjoyed our holiday. The only problem was the four poster bed which my husband hit his head on!

Judith from Warrington stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Young family friendly without skimping on luxury

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We adored our stay at Bantam Cottage
with our 16 month old. From the moment we stepped through the door following a battle with the M5 we felt instantly relaxed.
The cottage is well equipped and bedroom and bathroom were equivalent to a good boutique hotel - it didn’t feel like self catering. Very well considered for little ones and my daughter slept really well in the cot room.
The wider facilities are excellent - more than we expected. We had hours of fun on the outdoor play equipment, and adaptable enough for all ages. And my daughter would run straight to the indoor play area whenever we left the cottage.
She loved the animals and we had a lovely walk up above the farm. It’s a great place to roam and find hidden corners and surprises.
Sue and Andrew are excellent hosts. Friendly, accommodating, clearly passionate about what they do. They almost co-exist with visitors, doing their thing around the place and a friendly hello but carrying on.
And the area is perfect for holiday with kids - so close to so much.


Alison from Stamford stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage we stayed in was lovely, spotlessly clean and we were very well welcomed by the owners.

The facilities onsite are well maintained and a real bonus to the cottage.

I'd recommend.


Rob from Bristol stayed at Bantam Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018