FB Twitter

Aylesbury Cottage

Aylesbury Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Coulscott’s white Georgian manor and original farmhouse peak through the trees in a lovely leafy valley near the North Devon coast but closer inspection reveals an exclusive hamlet of stunning holiday cottages and fantastic family facilities. Indoors and out, children and grown-ups alike are spoiled rotten, staying in the lap of luxury and having so many ways to while away the days without leaving the glorious 12 acres of grounds.

There are 6 properties at Coulscott, comprising Georgian House, Old Farmhouse, The Old Barn and three cosy cottages created from the old farm buildings. All of them have been designed and furnished to stunning standards which would be perfectly placed in the pages of swish interiors magazines.

From magnificent galleried living rooms to sumptuous period elegance, Travertine tiled bathrooms and four poster beds, all the properties provide somewhere special for families and of course they come with all the baby and toddler essentials as well.

The home entertainment is bang up to date, including Apple TV’s, Netflix, Sky free view, DVD players and unlimited WiFi. If parents can’t be bothered to cook, a wide range of frozen ready meals from ‘COOK’ are available to buy from the courtyard freezer, along with delicious local ice cream.

What’s especially great about Coulscott for families are the superb facilities that will keep everyone happy whatever the weather. The lovely indoor pool is kept at a toasty 30 degrees and has great views through big barn windows, with seats around the side to kick back with a book. An adjoining games room includes table tennis and table football, whilst babies and toddlers have their own soft play room, with a ball pool and giant Liquorice Allsorts!

There are acres of garden and grounds for children to play hide and seek, have picnics by a stream or build dens in the woods, plus a new outdoor play area includes a wooden pirate ship, 2-storey Wendy House, adventure climbing frame and swings, custom made tractor with a slide, turf labyrinth and a large, netted trampoline.

Children may well meet a peacock strutting around the garden and will be delighted to get acquainted with the Coulscott menagerie of hens and ducks, alpacas, pygmy goats, micro pigs and Matilda the wallaby. Other wildlife are regular visitors to Coulscott, including owls, foxes and badgers who might just make an appearance in the dusky twilight.

Accommodation Overview:

Coulscott comprises 5-bedroom Georgian House, 5-bedroom Old Barn, 3-bedroom Old Farmhouse, 2 bedroom Peacock and Aylesbury Cottages and 1-bedroom Bantum Cottage, all set in 12 acres of gardens and grounds with an indoor pool, adventure play area and friendly animals.

Aylesbury Cottage (sleeps 4 + 1 baby in a cot), with its 4-star gold award from Visit England, is a pretty stone cottage, which has been beautifully furnished and finished to combine authentic character with modern flair. The open plan layout is light and fresh, featuring a Persian rug on the slate tiled floor, a pair of comfortable sofas, Sky freeview TV with Netflix and a DVD player. The kitchen/dining area is modern and well equipped, including a microwave and handblender for whizzing up baby food. The master bedroom has a king size 4-poster and the second bedroom has twin beds. The bathroom has a bath with an overhead shower. Aylesbury Cottage has a private terrace with garden furniture and a barbecue. When Peacock, Aylesbury and Bantum Cottages are booked together dining facilities are available for 10 people.

Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Aylesbury is a comfortable cottage in a beautiful natural setting. Great facilities for keeping the kids entertained. Ours particularly liked the pirate ship! We also made good use of the swimming pool and overall had a great time.

Lisa from Wilmslow stayed at Aylesbury Cottage for 7 nights in March 2020


Fantastic holiday with a newborn and a toddler

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first holiday as a family of four, with one only 10 weeks old. Fantastic facilities for all. Pool room and water warm enough for the little ones first every swim. No blue lips in sight. The toddler loved the facilities especially the trampoline and soft play. We will definitely be back.

Diana from Liphook stayed at Aylesbury Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Excellent all around!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Coulscott. The cottage was immaculate and included all the amenities required. The pool was fantastic and our visits with the animals were great fun. There is enough to do around the cottage during a day if you don't want to venture out. And there are great National Trusts areas all around. We'll definitely be back!

Kristen from New Malden stayed at Aylesbury Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Wonderful location, very friendly support all the time.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would be very happy to refer this holiday location. We had 2 children (11/2 and 4) and they loved the facilities.

Penelope from London stayed at Aylesbury Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


A lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Aylesbury cottage with our 20month little girl. The facilities were brilliant- she especially loved the afternoon trip to the trampoline which was a 15 second walk from our cottage. The swimming pool was lovely too. Couldn't have asked for anything better!

Amber from Colchester stayed at Aylesbury Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


A lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Coulscott with our one-year old daughter and our dog. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and cosy and equipped with everything we needed. The grounds are beautiful and it was brilliant having the swimming pool, games room and animals on-site to keep our daughter entertained. The service was great with friendly help on-hand if we needed it.
The location of the cottage was perfect for us - quiet and secluded in gorgeous countryside but only a short drive to local amenities and everything that this beautiful part of Devon has to offer.


Hannah from London stayed at Aylesbury Cottage for 4 nights in May 2019


Happy with our stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely short break at Aylesbury cottage. My daughter had lots of fun in the outdoor play area and swimming pool.
Many nice beaches nearby. We had a baby with us and they had provided every thing that you need for a baby.
The only downside was indoor play area , that was only suitable for under 5s, my daughter is 7 hence could play in there.
Overall it was a very nice break.


Sadaf Mirza from Coventry stayed at Aylesbury Cottage for 3 nights in April 2019


Wonderful week at half term

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Aylesbury Cottage, with other family staying in Bantam and Peacock Cottages. For a family group it was ideal; we each had our own accommodation, but Sue and Andrew arranged the dining so that we could all eat together in Aylesbury Cottage around a large table. We also had all the facilities close by; the indoor pool, games room and soft play, laundry room, and children's play area. The cottages were very well equipped and were comfortable. Good location for exploring the local area; beaches, walks, family attractions and good pubs. We would recommend to others and would return if our holiday plans took us back to North Devon.

Rebecca from Cambridge stayed at Aylesbury Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


We had a lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As we have two young children the main attraction for us were all the facilities. The indoor pool was a big hit and we enjoyed having it to ourselves everyday. Indoor games room and softplay also great for rainy days. The adventure playground is charming. Wow pirate ship! Our son loved the tractor.

The cottage is exceptionally clean and well thought out. The finish is to a high standard. We actually really enjoyed having a dishwasher as we don’t have one at home. The views of the country hills from the cottage were calming and peaceful. I think the particularly cottage we were in is well situated in proximity to all the facilities onsite for the children and with use of your own gated patio area.

We enjoyed feeding the chickens everyday. I think they were our favourite animals.

It was nice to have access to COOK food (help yourself to the freezer) for arrival day, after a long journey.

Access to washing machine is very handy. We needed to use a couple of times.

There is lots to do within 15-20 minute drive of the cottage.

Overall we had a lovely family holiday and hope to return.



Guest from South Croydon stayed at Aylesbury Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Feels like visiting home

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived after our long, hot drive, we immediately felt comfortable here. The cottage was cool and welcoming, the owner (plus grandson) came to great us and tell us everything on offer.
The cottage was a perfect fit for us and was amply stocked with towels, cutlery, games, children’s book and one enormous dolls house (which both my son and wife enjoyed). With Netflix and a stash of DVD’s it was easy to fill those prescious child free hours, but we both found that it was so quite we could just sit and read.
Everyday we went for an afternoon swim and had the pool to our selves, which helped take my son from only willing to splash his feet at the waters edge to swimming (well floating) on his own with just a pool noddle. We watched the animals get fed and went down several times on our own to see the peacocks and the swarm of baby frogs, shared some frantic ball pool rescue missions with another little boy, attempted a game of ping pong and recreated the World Cup on the foosball table. But my sons favourites were the tractor climbing frame, pirate ship sand pit and play house. He spent much of the week informing people that he was a farmer, then happily making farmer noises (mainly tractor with a little tiger).
The frozen meals were a god send for the first night, the chip shop and pub meal recommendations were both good.
We are already planning our return next year and have discussed how many years we could keep coming before the kids are to old.


Nathan from Alvechurch stayed at Aylesbury Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018