FB Twitter

The Sherriffs

The Sherriffs

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 64 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


If you are a fan of the Downton Abbey lifestyle, a holiday at The Sherriffs with family or friends could be the perfect party house. The Sherriffs holiday let is an English Tourist Board 4 star large Grade II listed Queen Anne House offering luxury accommodation in a beautiful isolated setting on the Whittern Estate,Lyonshall, Herefordshire. The accommodation comprises three large reception rooms with a beautiful dining room, drawing room and elegant sitting room. It also boasts a large family kitchen. Upstairs there are 8 large bedrooms with 6 bathrooms (4 en-suite). Sleeps 18.

Family weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Sheriffs almost 2 years ago to get all the family together to celebrate 2 significant birthdays. Recent events meant the visit was delayed and rather than a summer break we had an Autumn break. Since booking a Hot Tub has been installed, which was a big favourite with a lot of the group. The weather was not brilliant but this didn't stop us setting out for a short walk on the Saturday. The accommodation was perfect for our requirements and we all loved the old house and its location. We were able to seat 16 Adults and a small child round the dining room and the kitchen was perfect for preparing a buffet style lunch and breakfast. We used one of the listed caterers (Sarah) for the evening meal on the Saturday and the food was delivered on time and was excellent. The large lounge area with the big fireplace was ideal for us all to gather for the usual fun and games the family enjoy on these occassions.

Peter from Watford stayed at The Sherriffs for 2 nights in October 2021


An excellent house & a first rate service. Thanks!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed here before, so the beautifully set grand rooms and spaciousness was expected. We've enjoyed it in winter, but in September the gardens were even more of a treat too. Then there is the addition of an indoor (lockable from kids) hot tub at no extra charge. AND their communications and T&C updates as a response to the pandemic was first rate. We're very sad it's changing to being a 'whole week only' hire situation, as The Sherriffs has been our perfect home from home get-away for an annual long weekend get-together with an extended family that can no longer even pretend fit in any of our houses!

Michael from Nottingham stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in September 2021


The Sherriffs

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous time celebrating my 80th birthday with my family. The property was lovely and well equipped. The children loved all the open saps eyes and enjoyed all the wildlife, even saw a badger.
A big thank you to Natasha who came out straight away when we had a problem with the heating. Great time had by all. Would definitely recommend.


Kathleen from Lancashire stayed at The Sherriffs for 5 nights in August 2021


Great stay, amazing house

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family stayed here for our wedding close by. We have viewed all properties a few years back, but since then refurbishments have been done for the better. They all fully enjoyed their stayed. Natasha and the team have been amazing as lots of dates were changed due to Covid and it was all perfect in the end. Thanks so much.

Samantha from stayed at The Sherriffs for 2 nights in August 2021


A lovely stay in the Herefordshire countyside

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great house for the family get together- fabulous grounds and accommodating staff. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Terry from stayed at The Sherriffs for 7 nights in July 2021


Our stay at the Sherriffs

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous time at The Sherriffs, boiler issues were a nightmare but other than that it was fab and they got somebody out every time to try and fix the issue.
Only downfall was cleanliness and a few little touches, could really do with being cleaned thoroughly, cobwebs and bugs everywhere and curtains having off in bedroom but appreciate it is a dated property. Would recommend and would def go back!


Adele from Birmingham stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in July 2021


Levels need highlighting

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Reported to the site manager that the step down from Just the other side of the kitchen door should be marked. Fell heavily two trips to minor injuries with the help of friends, otherwise enjoyed the holiday
Will be mailing white heron properties directly


David from stayed at The Sherriffs for 7 nights in June 2021


Stay at the Sherifs

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the most splendid stay for Halloween weekend. Just a bubble of 6 of us; but super comfortable, well (and we thought newly) decorated but relaxed and not too super chic so that we didn't feel that we could put our feet up properly and have the dog wander in and out. Everyone made us feel most welcome and the management did a fantastic job re putting us at our ease during the Covid restrictions. The welcome pack was full of local Herefordshire produce, including the wonderful Cassis that is produced on the estate from their own blackcurrants. I would love to come back with a larger group as it is the most lovely house for a houseparty; and in the winter too, we got the fire going and we were cosy warm. We didn't see any ghosts this time but we crunched round in the bushes and in the huge and mature garden (beautifully tended) where we scared each other with stupid noises. A great house for a party! Thank you Tash for being the most conscientious manager and to all your staff who do a brilliant job in making the place tidy and clean and smelling of roses.

Guest from Herefordshire stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in October 2020


Autumn Half Term Break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the White Heron Properties on several occasions and we love it!
The area is beautiful, full of great walks and comfy country pubs. Nothing is too much for Jo and her team.
Can't recommend highly enough - 5 stars!


Paul from Gloucester stayed at The Sherriffs for 7 nights in October 2020


A fantastic house!

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay over bank holiday weekend, The owners were so accommodating and were able to help me with all queries. We were super impressed with the house and all of its facilities. The rooms were hugs and full of character.
Loved the huge garden and enjoyed all sitting out in the large table together for dinner,
My only negative is there was no hoover or anything to do much cleaning up with.
We will definitely be back!



Dave from stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in August 2020


Amazing family weekend in lovely grounds

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After the uncertainty of the Covid 19 pandemic, we had a wonderful family weekend with 21 of us spending most of the time in the impressive grounds. Natasha was informative and helpful throughout the weeks before going and this continued throughout the stay. Thank you. The house itself was very big as were all the bedrooms, kitchen and living rooms. The Sherriffs is obviously old and meant careful supervision of youngsters on stairs, etc and some upgrade might suit some future customers, e.g more efficient showers. We think it would help future visitors if more resources were available such as tea towels, black bags, shampoo. Overall our time away was memorable and all 14 adults and 7 under 5s had a special time particularly us 2 grandparents.

Michael from Matlock stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in July 2020


Family weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful house for a family gathering - comfortable, beautiful surroundings, everything you need, responsive help and excellent hamper !
Thanks again for everything


Eleri from Sheffield stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in February 2020


Fabulous House, in need of a few bits of attention to detail improvements given the price charged

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is in a fabulous location, is large and comfortable and spotlessly clean, perfect for a large family gathering.
Given the size of the house, we had 14 in our party but could have easily taken 18 plus infants, along with the rental charge rate I feel that the house needs to have a few extra bits as standard, for example.
Large saucepans and frying pans so we could cook food ( veg or pasta) for the whole party in one pan, enough glasses for everyone, only 3 tea towels for a weekend, and only 5 dishwashing tablets was a little mean.
All light bulbs need to be checked that they still work,( we had over 8 not working) all rings on the hob to be in working order ( one was broken) and curtains could do with a little TLC
All in all these small points can be easily and quickly rectified leaving a large house in a fabulous location , spotlessly clean and perfect for a large family gathering.


Loiuse from Brightwell stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in February 2020


Our 10th visit

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love the Sherrifs so much we come back every year.
This was our tenth visit.
Thank you for having us


Hannah from Talgarth stayed at The Sherriffs for 2 nights in January 2020


Comfortable and roomy home for a big family celebration

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully spacious rooms in a lovely stately home with an open fire (we stayed in winter). The house was perfect for a family Christmas celebration.

The decor and beds were a little tired and the kitchen equipment was rather random (cheap old pans and very few serving implements but heaps of plates and wooden spoons). The bathrooms were clean and very spacious but old fashioned (our overseas guests were bemused by the hand-held showers)
The house was warm - important for winter and there was lots of wood for the fire.

Staff managing the booking were very helpful and charming; and we had a lovely package of goodies waiting for us when we arrived, including home made mince pies, local cheeses and cassis. Their recommendation of a pub for an evening meal was excellent.

The layout of the house was wonderful for a group of mainly adults of all ages. The living room was a great size and the dining room was very special.
There were lovely walks from the front door.

Some niggles considering the price we paid: only 1 toilet roll and a tiny cake of soap in each bathroom, which was odd. Likewise, we had to supply our own dishwasher tablets and garbage bags. And so few hooks for coats and towels. And a VHS player was a bit last century. And the lack of modern showers.




Amanda from Barbican stayed at The Sherriffs for 7 nights in December 2019


Loved every minute

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Sheriffs in October with white heron. We have never used this company before. I have to say what a great experience. The customer service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hamper when we arrived was perfect.
My parents are very fussy and they were in their element in the house. The kids loved the space and kept saying ‘this is the best...ever’. We will definitely be booking again!


Sarah from coity, s wales stayed at The Sherriffs for 2 nights in December 2019


The Sheriffs

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks so much. Just as an FYI - you have a little bat friend living in the closet! House and furniture have a bit of ware and tear but the property is stunning and Natasha was very helpful. We would recommend.

Guest from London stayed at The Sherriffs for 4 nights in November 2019


long weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
wonderful property and location, the perfect place for a peaceful getaway. A true home from home. We hope to return.

Guest from Shrewsbury stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in November 2019


Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Amazing stay, we had a fab time - thank you!

The mattresses are really uncomfortable and could do with new ones and the kitchen could do with some more utensils / appliances.

We had a lovely time, thank you!


Guest from London stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in September 2019


Girls weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sherriffs is an unbelievably beautiful house - the pictures on the website do not do it justice. Huge rooms, plenty of space for lots of people to mingle but also have some quiet time away from others. Step outside and all you can hear is birds tweeting. I wish we could stay there every weekend!

Kiran from Romford stayed at The Sherriffs for 2 nights in September 2019


A wonderful weekend at a splendid house.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A splendid house in a wonderful location - very quiet. Lovely large rooms,very comfortable. A very enjoyable stay. Loved the gardens, particularly the spherical yew tree; a great garden for croquet. Well-equipped kitchen. Enjoyed exploring the surrounding area, a very attractive part of the country..

Gill from Bude stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in April 2019


Amazing house, gorgeous location and friendly booking experience

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Sherriffs as a group of 15 girls for a hen party and it was absolutely PERFECT. We were blessed with incredible weather so were able to enjoy the beautiful garden to the max. The house itself is huge, with really great sized rooms so everyone was very comfortable. The kitchen is big; we had a private chef and staff in on one of the nights to cook a three course meal - their name is Rosettes and I cant recommend them highly enough. The kitchen was big enough to accommodate the caterers and features a table big enough for everyone to sit round for breakfast. The dining room is fab and has a HUGE table; more than enough room for 18 guests and really special place to have a dinner party in. The lounge is big with plenty of seating with big sofas and a gigantic fireplace; although the weather was so nice we didn't need to light it but would be amazing on chilly evenings.

Charlotte and the team at White Heron were brilliant throughout; prompt and friendly service and very accommodating - thank you!


Laura from Eastbourne stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in April 2019


Great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place for a large group to stay with plenty of indoor & outdoor space. The house was well equipped, comfortable, warm and homely.

Lynne from Rugby stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in April 2019


Fantastic property and helpful staff

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is amazing with good facilities and there are plenty of things to do locally. It can be a bit hard to find, especially in the dark and it being so remote is it's only downside as you can't walk to any restaurants or pubs. But if you want a week away from civilisation to spend having a laugh with good friends then this place is perfect.

The staff are also very good and we were left a welcome basket with food that was well received by our group!


Richard from Watford stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in March 2019


Lovely country house

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place for a large family get together. We celebrated my sisters 60 birthday in style. Lots of lovely grounds for the children to play were a real bonus.

Carole from Belper stayed at The Sherriffs for 2 nights in March 2019


A fabulous venue for family festivities.

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a group of 17, ages ranging from 11 to 79, and three dogs (!), we had looked a long time for a suitable venue in which to celebrate a number of milestone birthdays. The Sherriffs proved to be perfect and Charlotte and the team at White Heron Properties could not have been more helpful from the moment we made the booking until the very end of our stay.

The house had the 'wow factor' from the moment we approached the door and the interior lived up to expectation too.

Rooms were spacious and beautifully furnished in keeping with history of the property. Most bedrooms were ensuite while two further rooms had washbasins - so no long queues for bathrooms! There was easily enough room for all of us to sit together comfortably in the lounge and, importantly, around the table in the dining room. The open fire with a ready supply of wood kept us cosy - although it is fair to say that the central heating was able to do that more than adequately. The large kitchen was well equipped. The enormous garden, table tennis room, supply of board games, satellite TV, WiFi and the quirky layout of the house provided endless amusement for the younger members of our party.

The location of the house is great for walking or exploring the towns and villages straddling the English-Welsh border.

If you are looking for the uniform polished marble and glass of a boutique appartment, the The Sherriffs may not be for you. This is a genuinely historic house with sloping floors, creaky floorboards, distorted panes of glass and it oozes the character which is to be expected in a period property and which, to our minds, made our stay at The Sherriffs all the more memorable.


Debra from Norwich stayed at The Sherriffs for 6 nights in February 2019


Sherriffs weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend at Sherriffs, as usual. The setting is beautiful with plenty of interesting spaces for small people to explore. The big sitting room and dining room have space for everyone to gather in comfort by the fire, or to feast. Charlotte is really helpful - it was good to meet her - and the house is wonderfully equipped. We love it !! Thank you

Eleri from Sheffield stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in February 2019


Great stay. Thanks!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Feb 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, spacious, quirky house and excellent customer service. Absolutely perfect for our needs. We'll be back!

Guest from Nottingham stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in February 2019


30th birthday party.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was in great condition and the staff were very responsive and helpful. Would highly recommend

William from Bristol stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in November 2018


Fantastic party house with excellent customer service

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked The SHERRIFFS for a hen weekend and it had ample space for people to be comfortable and to have large meals around the table which sits 18 people. Lots of glasses and plates to use too. We love having the fire in the lounge!

Charlotte was absolutely delightful and made check in and check out very easy. We also received a beautiful hamper with local goodies such as cheese and marmalade which was such a nice touch.

This may just be the bed I slept in (middle floor with the blue shower room), but the mattress was very soft which personally didn’t suit me very well. But that could be personable preference! All the rooms were very clean with nice sheets and towels!

The location was great for us because we stayed in the house and there’s land where you can go for lovely walks, we also did an activity at oaker wood leisure which was great. We didn’t venture into town, so could comments on other things to do, but it didn’t feel there was much going on outside of what we did as it’s fairly isolated/not walkable to many places.

Absolutely loved this place and would definitely book again!


Hewitt from Notting Hill stayed at The Sherriffs for 2 nights in October 2018


A perfect venue for a large family get-together

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
11 members of our family stayed at the Sherriffs, travelling from Aberdeen, West Wales and Hampshire. Everyone was very impressed with how grand the house was and it was so convenient having lots of bedrooms and bathrooms. The house was warm and there was enough room for everyone to sit comfortably in the sitting room, and around the huge table in the dining room. The kitchen was well-equipped with plenty of crockery and cutlery and although we didn't do much cooking there seemed to be enough saucepans. The rural situation was perfect and much appreciated by our dog. The welcome hamper on arrival was much appreciated by the humans.
A burst main water pipe at midnight on Saturday caused us some problems, but the plumber arrived by 9.30 on the Sunday morning and effected a temporary repair which was the most we could have expected.
I would definitely recommend the Sherriffs for a large group who are looking for somewhere rural to stay.


Jill from West End stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in October 2018


A great weekend retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely, fascinating old house with lots of interesting features, perfect for a family weekend. Very roomy bedrooms and bathrooms, though people found one or two beds uncomfortable. The dining room was ideal for a big family meal, and the lounge with its massive fireplace was great for evenings together. The kitchen was well equipped; we enjoyed a meal provided by outside caterers. I felt the fridge would have been rather small if we had been staying any longer and had been cooking more meals for ourselves. The lawn and gardens were great for games of hide and seek, as was the inside of the house.

Andrew from Bodmin stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in September 2018


80th Birthday Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family party for an 80th Birthday was a happy event enhanced by the lovely setting of the Sherriffs. The house and garden provide comfort, privacy and a relaxed charm that was much enjoyed by all our guests. Its setting in the midst of beautiful countryside provided great walks as well as interesting visits to Hay on Wye, Old Radnor and Kington. Highly recommended!

Andrew from Knighton stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in September 2018


outstanding

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved celebrating our wedding here. The family who stayed at The Sheriffs were over the moon. The place is absolutely perfect for a family get together or wedding! Just perfect

Larna from Hereford stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in August 2018


Loved by all the family

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I thought the house was just the right size me and my family, they just loved it. The grounds were exciting, great lawn for games and the surrounding wood full of adventure for my younger grandchildren.
I was very disappointed in the large amount of rubbish at the back of the house, all the bins were full with some rubbish overflowing in that area. Danger of rats etc came to mind.
The kitchen was great, however there appeared to be no tray/rack combination which would allow the grilling of food and no large drinking glasses.
Other than that the house was enjoyed by every member of my lovely family.


Roy from Oxford stayed at The Sherriffs for 4 nights in August 2018


Perfect weekend getaway with friends

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend away with a large group of friends. The welcome pack was a nice surprise on arrival! The house was lovely and spacious - everyone could sit together in the same room and you aren't all piled on top of each other. The garden has a great lawn for sunbathing and kicking a ball around. We'd definitely go back again.

Rosanna from Woking stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in August 2018


Great weekend break with friends

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic weekend at The Sherriffs for a reunion. With families travelling from all over, the location was perfect - nobody had to travel too far. The kitchen, living room and dining room were a good size for everyone, although we spent most of the time outside enjoying the sunshine and the lovely grounds (deckchairs and croquet were well used). The beautiful welcome basket was much appreciated - especially the cassis, which makes a lovely Kir Royale. All in all a great place and we’re already planning a return visit.

Angela from Wirral stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in July 2018


Beautiful but tired House and Garden in secluded part of North Herefordshire

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We spent a long weekend in the property during May and enjoyed being in a very beautiful part of the world. The period house is clearly an expensive and large house to upkeep so the state of the house means that it has become tired; bathrooms and showers were starting to lose tiles, and the water pressure in the bathrooms is just about ok. The kitchen facilities are adequate and satisfactory but no more (for example we couldn't find any scissors). We were woken during the night by rainfall as the guttering outside our bedroom was leaking. There is also no drying facilities for clothing - beyond a tumble dryer - so as we were there on a wet weekend - all our coats were dangling all over the house trying to dry. It is a lovely house - with great bones - but quite a basic level of comfort - which one would not expect at the price charged.

Kate from London stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in May 2018


Joanna Hilditch (Managing Director) replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Kate, I am sorry your stay with us did not meet with your expectations. When I met your guests they seemed very pleased with the house. The house, I agree is a little tired but we have very recently been awarded another 4* from our Quality in Tourism inspection with a 80% overall rating. The kitchen is stocked with everything we think guests will need, I did check and there are scissors in the kitchen so I'm not sure where they were hiding. Had you contacted me during your stay I would have supplied you with some more. I am sorry the rain woke you in the night - during your stay we did have a terrific amount of rainfall so it really just overwhelmed and must have broken the guttering as it was not like this before you came. We are about to have a complete new boiler system put in during the summer, so hopefully this will make the difference with the water pressure. You mention drying facilities, had you contacted me I could have supplied you with a clothes airer or even got a clothes line put up inside for you, following your comments I have put a clothes airer in the house. For your stay with us you paid £68 per person per night, the price, however, is based on an occupancy of 18 so as you were a smaller group it did work out to be slightly more than the usual £41 per person per night which we feel for a Grade ll listed Queen Anne mansion is very good value. Our 5* gold property would be double that. Above everything we are really disappointed that you gave us such a low rating for our service and our cleanliness - Charlotte (the property manager) is conscientious beyond belief and is always on hand should she be required at the weekend and the cleaners were thrilled to get 100% satisfaction in the recent Quality in Tourism report. We take on board your comments and will do what we can to remedy - but as you point out for such a large and historic house, we have a constant updating programme and we keep on going with it. Thank you for your feed back.

A perfect place for a large group wth first class facilities.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time our group of 16 has stayed at the Sherriffs. We booked immediately after our first stay and we're just as impressed second time round. Spacious rooms, a wonderful garden, a brilliant location. Everything for a special occasion, in this case a friend's 60th. Special mention for the excellent bedrooms, gracious dining room and well stocked kitchen.

Duncan from Cambridge stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in May 2018


Wonderful weekend away for a big group

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 3 nights with a group of 12 adults, 2 babies, a toddler and a dog. The layout of the accommodation was perfect for our group with a couple of rooms in the back extension, meaning quiet for the babies, and everyone having their own, large room.

The house is absolutely stunning and the large living room gave us a lovely space to relax in during the evenings and we ate our meals at the huge kitchen table. It's a very old and large property so has single glazing and some slopey floors etc. but it's been maintained beautifully and was spotless when we arrived. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the utensils and crockery we needed in our stay, and the welcome basket with a few essentials was very much appreciated.

During the weekend, we enjoyed a long walk along the Lyonshall Medieval Trail and an Easter Egg Hunt around the garden. We also played lots of table tennis and boules in the garden.

Overall, this was a fantastic stay. Charlotte, the property manager, was very helpful and friendly, and we would recommend this to any large group of friends or family looking for a remote, country getaway for a very reasonable price.


Sarah from London stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in March 2018


A wonderful space

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We gathered again at the Sherriffs with the satellite Field Cottage sleeping some of the family too.
We were warm, comfortable, able to spread out if we needed. The enormous kitchen and sitting rooms allowed us all to gather informally and we seated 22 around the big table in the dining room. The bedrooms are lovely and comfortable.
The kitchen is really well equipped and great for the many people producing different parts of the feast.
We cycled, ran, played games, played (toddler), walked over Hergest ridge, drank coffee in Prmbridge’s lovely cafe, read ...The welcome and service was excellent. We will return next year and repeat it again I’m sure..
Thank you


Eleri from Sheffield stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in February 2018


A very happy birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Sherriffs for a 40th birthday party for a week. It's a lovely house, very warm, with a great kitchen and lovely dining room that easily sat the whole party. Nice bedrooms, pretty grounds. A very friendly house, and it was suitable for both grown-ups and small children. Nice welcome basket. A random point, but there is a lovely pantry - so many of these large properties don't have sufficient storage space for food and drink.

Charlotte from White Heron Properties couldn't have been more helpful and kind. She really went above and beyond in accommodating our requests for the week.


Miranda from Ruislip stayed at The Sherriffs for 7 nights in February 2018


Weekend stay at The Sherrifs

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Feb 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A group of 13 adults stayed at the Sherrifs for our annual reunion for a weekend in January. Everyone loved the house, it is a great size and was in the most part, well equipped (could have done with a few more pint glasses). All the bedrooms were of a generous size. It was great that both the lounge and the dining room had plenty of room to seat us all and even had a large table in the kitchen that again could seat us all.

The only slight downside was that when we arrived on the Friday night the house was very cold but we had no issues once it had warmed up. The kitchen could have done with a few more pint glasses and a shame that some of the showers were hard to regulate.


Charlotte from Reading stayed at The Sherriffs for 2 nights in January 2018


Big family Christmas at The Sherrifs 2017

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all loved staying at The Sherrifs - it was perfect for the needs of our extended family: warm, spacious and comfortable:ideal for Christmas but I imagine very nice at anytime of year.

Kate from Bristol stayed at The Sherriffs for 7 nights in December 2017


Great birthday weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
15 friends (including 3 little ones) met for four days to celebrate my 70th birthday and we were all delighted with Sherriffs. Despite it being a cold November weekend, the house, including all the bedrooms, was really warm from the moment we walked in. The communal rooms are all a good size, welcoming and very pleasantly furnished and the kitchen well equipped. The grounds are lovely and we had some good walks in the area with my dogs. Many thanks to Charlotte, the manager, for providing us with excellent information in advance and looking after us on arrival. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sherriffs as a great home (as opposed to just a rented house) for a gathering of friends and family.

Marilyn from Wellington stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in November 2017


A great house for a large gathering

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A large house with character with an easy going lived in appeal. The feature working fireplace is spectacular and the endless supply of seasoned wood was a real benefit. There is a good range of bedrooms, en-suites and bathrooms situated on the first and second floors.
The peace and quiet of the surrounding countryside all added to the memorable experience.


Susan from Tywyn stayed at The Sherriffs for 2 nights in November 2017


Diamond Wedding Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a fantastic weekend celebrating my parent's wedding anniversry. The property was ideal for our needs as we could relax and spend time catching up in the spacious surroundings.

David from Menston, Ilkley stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in October 2017


Ticked all our boxes!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect house for four families annual wend away. We comprised of adults to young kids and pleased all. Social areas big enough for everyone in one room which was great. Outside areas a real bonus. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Helen from Loughborough stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in October 2017


A perfect party weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at The Sherriffs with 14 friends over the August Bank holiday weekend found it to be the ideal house for a party or large gathering. It's huge and well appointed: there's plenty of seating in the kitchen, dining room and main lounge space, plus lots of bedrooms and plenty of bathrooms. We were self-catering all weekend and found everything we needed (although it could perhaps do with a second fridge for drinks) to prepare and eat food as a group, plus multiple BBQs for cooking alfresco.

Location-wise it's great. It's even more secluded than we had imagined, which is perfect for a large group wanting to play music (and SingStar) until the wee hours. The front lawn is gorgeous, and I'm only disappointed we didn't have longer to make use of it.

Customer service was spot-on as well. Our Tesco delivery arrived a good couple of hours earlier than scheduled, but it was received and all perishables safely stored in the fridge for us, which was much appreciated.

In the surrounding area we enjoyed an afternoon of canoeing from Hay-on-Way and a lovely lunch (followed by a beautiful walk) at the Riverside pub in Aymestrey. All in all, I'd definitely recommend staying at The Sherriffs.


Bethan from London stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in August 2017


Stay for 70th birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
16 family members stayed at Sherriffs for my Mum's 70th. It was ideal for our needs - very well equipped and clean. The outside areas and deck chairs provided a great setting for a BBQ and the paths mowed around the fields were a great idea for family walks. We appreciated our dog being allowed to visit, as did she. I would definitely recommend Sherriffs for a family party. Thanks to Sarah and Jo.

Rebecca from Spiddal stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in July 2017


review of The Sherriffs June 2017

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed the space and style of house. Kitchen very well-equipped( except need extra tin-opener!). Showers a bit variable in temperature. Some bathrooms not ensuite. Gardens lovely and appreciated the shade in the hot weather. The bird-song at breakfast time was lovely. House a bit isolated--a long narrow drive and not really within walking distance of pubs, shops etc. Great house for a reunion . A bit on the expensive side compared to previous similar properties.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at The Sherriffs for 7 nights in June 2017


A very enjoyable weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This wonderfully charming house set in the middle of nowhere was perfect for our school reunion. The house is huge, the layout is wonderful and the gardens are fantastic.

We had the most enjoyable time and wouldn't hesitate in staying again.



Chris from London stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in June 2017


Excellent country retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A excellent property in a extremly secluded location. The house and garden are beautiful and set within the middle of the countryside, which provides a extremly secluded location to completly switch off. The several bedrooms are all luxuroious and the entertaining space is perfect for large groups.
The property managers were extremly helpful providing suggestions of varies suppliers to make the stay one to remember.


Belinda from Richmond stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in June 2017


Ideal for large groups

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot speak too highly of this place. A great balance between retaining the house's original features and providing modern comforts. All the bedrooms were very spacious,as was the kitchen and dining room. Of particular note were the beatiful grounds and having two living rooms. Plenty of parking space. Ideal for trips to Ludlow, Hay and Hereford. Tremendous value,too.
Very highly recommended. We will return without a shadow of a doubt!


Duncan from Cambridge stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in May 2017


Best Weekend Ever

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came here for my hen party and it was amazing!! Best weekend of my life. Perfect house. It was a complete surprise and I loved every moment of it! Come here!

Guest from London stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in May 2017


Review of The Sherriffs

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sherriffs is a really lovely comfortable, well equipped and and visitor friendly house in the most wonderful location. Our family all thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay - it far exceeded expectations. We would all love to return at some point.

Guest from Banbury stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in April 2017


Jekyll & Hyde

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Highlights are clearly the Countryside, spacious grassed front garden with amble parking & the large kitchen.
Our enjoyment was somewhat watered down by the poor condition of the Springs in some mattress's & Lounge Settee's making them very uncomfortable to lay on/sit in.
The cleaning of Bedrooms & Floors seemed fine but cobwebs on numerous lampshades, 1-2 plug sockets not working & 2014 Brochures in the Literature rack show up the shortfall in the TLC that this property receives


Guest from Orpington stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in March 2017


Jo Hilditch. Owner. replied more than 1 year ago
We have taken the comments on this review on board and are replacing the sofas and the mattresses where we concur with the guests. We pride ourselves on great service and accommodation and we are sorry that the expectations, on this occasion were not met.

Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, warm, lovely, well equipped, lots to do around .. a late family Christmas was a fine thing. Thank you

Rhodri from Cardiff stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in February 2017


Ideal Party Venue

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked The Sherriffs for a party weekend for 16 people. The property was fantastic, rooms were spacious and comfortable and the facilities were as described.

The info and communication was excellent and we found the property without an issue. The location is good as there are no neighbours so you arent worried about waking anyone up but you can still explore the local areas easily enough.

The grounds around the property are amazing and i wish we had booked in summer so we could have enjoyed them more.

Overall we had a great weekend in a perfect venue. Would book again in a heartbeat


Ryan from Chester stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in January 2017


We love The Sherriffs so much that we come back every year

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hold an annual event which before we found The Sherriffs had been in different locations all over the country.
Since finding The Sherriffs we've never looked elsewhere. It is the perfect place for adults and children alike.
We've always stayed in the winter and been beautifully warm, enjoying log fires, frosty walks, comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, soft big white towels and loved being able to make as much noise as we like knowing we are not disturbing anyone. I imagine staying in the summer would be even more glorious with the lovely gardens and enjoying being outside more.
White Heron Properties are organised and efficient and helpful. Supermarket and wine delivery services all deliver quite happily. And all the bedrooms are of similar standard so there are no fights that 'your bedrooms better than mine'.
We all love The Sherriffs and are already looking forward to coming back next year. Thanks for having us.


Hannah from Castle Cary stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in January 2017


Large comfortable mansion suitable for a group holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we've visited so it must be good!

A large rambling country house which in our case was great for kids, and (since some bedrooms are in their own 'wing') great for adults who don't want to be disturbed by the kids. The bedrooms are large and very comfortable, with several en suite bathrooms, a good selection of cupboards and drawers and beautiful views over the countryside. There are 2 living rooms: the main one has a fire, with firewood provided. There's also a large formal dining room which gives a sense of occasion. Unlike some other properties we've been to, the kitchen is well-stocked with an array of pots, pans, casseroles and other equipment if you want to cook something ambitious for large numbers.

Though we didn't make much use of the garden in the winter, previously (in the summer) we used the magnificent lawn for tea parties.

Although the house is on its own, there are villages nearby with shops and Ludlow and Hay on Wye are both 30 mins away. The setting is ideal for a freeform holiday involving staying in, going for walks, and sight-seeing further afield.


Alex from London stayed at The Sherriffs for 7 nights in December 2016


Weekend Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With so many of us it can be difficult to find a house that suits everyone's needs (as a group we have an age range that covers 2-70yrs)- this property is a great house that suited everyone; in a superb location with ample space for all of us. A fabulous property for a weekend get together with friends/family- and situated perfectly, so no worry of disturbing anyone else. We will definitely be back!

Lauren from stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in December 2016


The house is incredible!

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic House, brilliantly equipped with loads of space. It has everything you might need. Perfect for a big group of friends to get together for a Reunion.

Will from London stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in December 2016


Weeekend away with friends

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous weekend staying at Sherriffs. The house was perfect for our needs. Plenty of space, a table large enough for us all to have dinner around. The added bonus of a huge table also in the kitchen where we could all meet for breakfast. The sofas in the lounge were so comfortable and, again, plenty of seating for us all. We would definitely recommend the house for a large gathering - perfect.

Janette from Abbotts Langley stayed at The Sherriffs for 3 nights in November 2016