FB Twitter

The Forge

The Forge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


The Forge is the perfect romantic holiday cottage when visiting Herefordshire. This open fronted stone barn was originally the blacksmith’s workshop for the 10 carriage horses that were housed at the Estate's stables. It has been converted with architectural flair to create an airy living space and huge bedroom. Ideally suited to a couple looking for a romantic bolthole or for a family with older children. The original A-frame of the building has been perfectly restored, and with the addition of a Swedish woodburner it offers a fantastic open and relaxed atmosphere. The Forge has oak floorboards throughout, modern Italian radiators with linen and plain cotton curtains.

This holiday cottage sleeps 2 in the main bedroom (plus an additional bed on the balcony), with a second bedroom accessed from the living area by a spiral staircase. This comprises of a kingsize built-in bed on a mezzanine gallery. Please note due to its built-in nature it can only be accessed from one side. There is a wet-room, shower and WC below the mezzanine providing an independent washing area. The main bedroom boasts a spectacular Superking size bed with a pocket sprung mattress and egyptian linen sheets. A rolltop bath stands in the centre of the bedroom with a separate washroom consisting of a luxurious double porcelain sink set on black granite. A second spiral staircase accesses a folly mezzanine area with a single futon for an additional child/guest if necessary. The gardens can be accessed directly via french doors. Outside there's a pretty terrace with lavender and beech hedged lawns. The teak dining table and chairs are a welcome place to discuss the days activities on balmy summer evenings.

A relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable holiday accommodation. It was clean and comfortable and on an interesting farm with many beautiful walks. Jo the owner welcomed us and left a lovely "welcome basket" thoughtfully providing us with some basics but also some unusual items that were lovely. You were right Jo your home made cassis with gin is a lovely drink. If you need a comfortable, relaxing break in a beautiful area you can't do better than this.

Guest from stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in October 2018


Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another wonderful stay at The Forge. The accommodation is perfect for a relaxing break for two. The accommodation is huge and feels very luxurious. We had a couple of minor issues when we were there but these were dealt with immediately by Charlotte who provided excellent customer service as always. There are so many lovely places to walk in the area, pretty towns to visit and a excellent choice of first rate places to eat, all within a short driving distance of The Forge. I would highly recommend a stay at The Forge.

Janet from Fleet stayed at The Forge for 4 nights in October 2018


Relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent venue for a romantic and relaxing break. Lots of places serving delicious food and The Forge provided everything should you wish to stay in. Lovely garden area and excellent parking.

Michael from Darwin stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in September 2018


Beautiful site deep in the Herefordshire countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3rd visit to the Whittern estate and won't be our last. Having stayed at two of the other properties we opted for The Forge this visit and were blown away by the spacious airy interior and beautiful timeless decor. The open plan set up was perfect to keep an eye on the children while being more than big enough to be comfortable in our own space.
The welcome basket of local produce was fantastic, especially the cassis produced on the estate.
Jo (owner) and Charlotte (property manager) are both lovely and very welcoming. The pool area is beautiful and was perfect for all the recent hot weather.
We had such a wonderfully relaxing break we didn't want to leave and extended our stay by a further 2 nights!


Joanne from Milton Keynes stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in August 2018


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just spent four nights at The Forge - our second visit to this fabulous place. It is one of three (soon to be four) individual accommodations on this part of the estate. Each is very private and not overlooked. The Forge is very spacious and well equipped. The setting is simply beautiful. You can take walks from The Forge or drive short distances to many other beautiful places. There are excellent restaurants within a short drive. Charlotte (Property Manager) met us on arrival and was welcoming and helpful. This is a really special place and we hope to return very soon.

Janet from Fleet stayed at The Forge for 3 nights in May 2018


Gorgeous cottage for a weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were staying along with all our other friends in the gardeners cottage and the colloquy. The forge was a goergeous cottahe, spacious, cosy and decorated beautifully. It was nice to relax there with the log burner on, watching a film

Rachel from St Helens stayed at The Forge for 3 nights in April 2018


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a relaxing stay in this spacious property. Customer service was excellent - we had an issue with the wifi when we arrived and it was sorted out immediately. The area around is beautiful with lots of good places to walk, towns to visit and excellent places to eat. We hope to return.

Guest from Fleet stayed at The Forge for 3 nights in July 2017


A spacious, comfortable retreat to be enjoyed in any season

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed three family holidays at The Forge in the last three years.

Nestled in a quiet, rural location in Herefordshire, the accommodation is the most spacious of the many holiday cottages we have stayed at around the UK and, and well-equipped, which makes staying in as enjoyable as sightseeing.

There are many local places of interest on either side of the England/ Wales border which is only a few miles up the road at Kington - from waling on Offa's Dyke to National Trust properties and a lovely little cheese-making dairy.

We are already planning our next stay.



Trevor from Leamington Spa stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in October 2016