FB Twitter

The Forge

The Forge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.5
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


The Forge is the perfect romantic holiday cottage when visiting Herefordshire. This open fronted stone barn was originally the blacksmith’s workshop for the 10 carriage horses that were housed at the Estate's stables. It has been converted with architectural flair to create an airy living space and huge bedroom. Ideally suited to a couple looking for a romantic bolthole or for a family with older children. The original A-frame of the building has been perfectly restored, and with the addition of a Swedish woodburner it offers a fantastic open and relaxed atmosphere. The Forge has oak floorboards throughout, modern Italian radiators with linen and plain cotton curtains.

This holiday cottage sleeps 2 in the main bedroom (plus an additional bed on the balcony), with a second bedroom accessed from the living area by a spiral staircase. This comprises of a kingsize built-in bed on a mezzanine gallery. Please note due to its built-in nature it can only be accessed from one side. There is a wet-room, shower and WC below the mezzanine providing an independent washing area. The main bedroom boasts a spectacular Superking size bed with a pocket sprung mattress and egyptian linen sheets. A rolltop bath stands in the centre of the bedroom with a separate washroom consisting of a luxurious double porcelain sink set on black granite. A second spiral staircase accesses a folly mezzanine area with a single futon for an additional child/guest if necessary. The gardens can be accessed directly via french doors. Outside there's a pretty terrace with lavender and beech hedged lawns. The teak dining table and chairs are a welcome place to discuss the days activities on balmy summer evenings.

Our stay at the Forge

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Forge, it was comfortable, cosy and stylish. The cassis is also very good!

Elizabeth from Westfield, stayed at The Forge for 4 nights in October 2020


Amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing time, the property was lovely, ideal location, ideal place to chill and relax, would recommend.

Julie from stayed at The Forge for 2 nights in October 2020


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely property that l would highly recommend.Our second visit to the Forge and we will definitely book again. Due to Covid we had to take our own towels but they are normally provided. Large space inside and out.

Sarah from Twickenham stayed at The Forge for 4 nights in September 2020


Stay at The Forge, White Heron Properties

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The surrounding location is wonderful and the rooms are airy and original in design. there is an attractive section of garden in front of the Forge that is semi-private and is a nice touch.

A few maintenance issues that could be tightened up with doors not locking lights with broken switches and bulbs missing. There was a lot of noise at times during the day from a nearby builders merchant.


Miles from London stayed at The Forge for 6 nights in July 2020


100% will return again!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an absolute joy to to have found this gem! With ease from booking, dealing with 101 questions from me - the facilities are simply fantastic. We were a family group of 34, little kids and big kids alike all had the most wonderful time. The table tennis, hot tub, squash courts and piano all went down an extra big treat. See you again in the near future.

Shivani from stayed at The Forge for 2 nights in March 2020


Lovely Property in a Beautiful part of the country

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House is very well done, with a large master bedroom and second double bed on the balcony over the living room. Great living and dining area for large groups and a well kitted out kitchen. The property is in a beautiful area and we had a fantastic time celebrating new year here.
The welcome pack on arrival was a nice touch with some lovely little treats and the communication with the property manager was excellent throughout the booking process.
Highly recommend for either a nice romantic getaway or as part of a larger group booking


Stephen from Liverpool stayed at The Forge for 4 nights in December 2019


Perfect Christmas

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Forge is absolutely perfect for peace and relaxation, surrounded by beautiful scenery with great places to visit nearby. The accommodation is wonderful, so spacious and comfortable, with lots of light flooding in through the many French doors, windows and roof windows. A huge 6 foot bed that you do not want to get up and leave in the morning, a beautiful roll top bath in the bedroom, along with double sinks in the bathroom. Also a huge shower in the second bathroom, 2 mezzanine floors with extra beds, and many comfortable seats from large sofa's to chairs. The kitchen had everything you needed, plus a freezer, dishwasher and washing machine. It was exceptionally clean and warm, with many forms of heating as well as a huge supply of logs for the cosy wood burner. An incredible welcome tray awaited us with so many lovely tasty things to eat and drink from local suppliers, and such a lot of thought went in to making this a Christmas atmosphere with a decorated tree and mistletoe on the door. We would love to return in the summer to enjoy the pretty private garden.

Sandra from Maidstone stayed at The Forge for 6 nights in December 2019


The Forge

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our favorite of all the properties. It is absolutely adorable and cosy. Perfect for a couple's weekend getaway. I think we will be back for this one!

Guest from London stayed at The Forge for 4 nights in November 2019


Little place of peace

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had the most fabulous night before a days filming. It is a beautiful space and is extremely comfortable. I loved the bath in the bedroom and only wish I had had another night.
I will definitely be back!!!


Ally from Somerset stayed at The Forge for 1 nights in October 2019


Fabulous throughout!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend a stay at White Heron. Customer service throughout, combined with idyllic properties, setting, and facilities,results in the perfect stay! Locally-produced welcome hamper awaited us also which was so lovely. Perfect mix of homeliness topped with the professionalism anyone would want in self-catering!

Denise from Duckane stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in August 2019


A very enjoyable and peaceful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the Forge a very comfortable and peaceful place. The gardens and the heated swimmingpool and hot tub are a great added value. The location is perfect and has a lot to offer for families with young kids. We loved our stay very much.

Isabelle from Brussels stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in August 2019


Stay at the Forge

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay. Enjoyed spending time at the Forge and the weather was great so we enjoyed swimming in the outdoor pool and relaxing in the garden.
Had a long walk up to Pen y fan - well worth the climb.
Recommend a meal at the Stagg Inn Titley.


Heather from Flitwick stayed at The Forge for 11 nights in July 2019


The Forge

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Superior Standard accommodation. Great setting. Lovely gardens. Good pool. etc etc etc etc etc etcetc.

Christine from Hayling Island stayed at The Forge for 10 nights in June 2019


A perfect weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at The Forge with my girlfriend and two friends for a long weekend, and it was absolutely perfect. It’s a beautiful building, very well-kept, and very efficiently and thoughtfully run by Charlotte, the property manager, who was excellent throughout the booking process and our stay. There were some lovely thoughtful touches for my girlfriend’s birthday when we arrived, and Charlotte even helped book us a local driver for an evening out (taxis are tricky because it’s a bit out in the sticks). If you want a warm, comfortable stay in a beautiful cottage in lovely countryside, I highly recommend. We’ll be going back!

Jack from Tangmere stayed at The Forge for 2 nights in May 2019


Charlotte Bounds Property Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jack, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased you loved the Forge as much as we do. It was lovely to meet you and your girlfriend. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Very best wishes Charlotte

Nice Property, very tired

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
This WAS a lovely property however no investment has been put into it in a long time. The photos are misleading as they show the property in better days. Being the owner of guest accommodation i am aware of the ongoing maintenance that needs to be done in order to keep the standards high. I was very dissapointed in my stay as a lot of the issues could have been easily fixed but sadly were not ie, the towels were very very frayed and should have been replaced a year ago, a light fitting was missing from one of the wall lights leaving a bare bulb, rugs had holes in and were badly fitted etc etc

Dianna from Afonwen stayed at The Forge for 4 nights in March 2019


Charlotte Bounds Property Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Dianna, I am terribly sorry your stay with us was disappointing. I wish you had contacted me during your stay as I could have rectified any issues or I could have moved you to another property as our brand new cottage the Lodge was available and possibly more to your liking. Best wishes Charlotte

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In terms of constructive criticism the kitchen looked tired & wasn’t well equipped given the potential number of guests the property accommodates (only 2 decent saucepans, no casserole/serving dishes, no measuring jug or spoons, 1 tea towel etc). Can’t fault cleanliness, location, customer service or location & the welcome pack was lovely. The property is a good size for a family if the parents are comfortable with children on the mezzanines but being honest not for two adult couples; one bedroom is spacious with bath & en-suite whilst the other is cramped with low ceilings, limited clothes storage & bathroom facilities down a spiral staircase..... definitely a coin toss to see which couple gets which. For a single couple, like us, it was spacious, peaceful & provided a wonderful break in beautiful country surroundings.

Guest from Dalton stayed at The Forge for 3 nights in March 2019


A beautiful spacious property

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Forge is extremely spacious, but manages to be cosy and welcoming. It is very well equipped and we wanted for nothing. It exceeded our expectation because I am constantly wary of photographs taken with a wide angle lens. Not so here and they are very honest about the 2nd bedroom being on a mezzanine. For 2 people, it is difficult to think of anything better.
All the properties have been laid out for privacy and there is a good sized ( private ) garden, which the property overlooks.
Great area for walking, pubs and meals.


Barrie from Nottingham stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in March 2019


weekend family break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the property to be excellent, positioned in a very tranquil area.
My only comment would be regarding the ground floor bedroom and ensuite.
I would have preferred a shower rather than a bath but this is a personal thing.


Colin from Bolton stayed at The Forge for 3 nights in January 2019


A relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable holiday accommodation. It was clean and comfortable and on an interesting farm with many beautiful walks. Jo the owner welcomed us and left a lovely "welcome basket" thoughtfully providing us with some basics but also some unusual items that were lovely. You were right Jo your home made cassis with gin is a lovely drink. If you need a comfortable, relaxing break in a beautiful area you can't do better than this.

Guest from Great Ayton, Middlesbrough stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in October 2018


Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another wonderful stay at The Forge. The accommodation is perfect for a relaxing break for two. The accommodation is huge and feels very luxurious. We had a couple of minor issues when we were there but these were dealt with immediately by Charlotte who provided excellent customer service as always. There are so many lovely places to walk in the area, pretty towns to visit and a excellent choice of first rate places to eat, all within a short driving distance of The Forge. I would highly recommend a stay at The Forge.

Janet from Fleet stayed at The Forge for 4 nights in October 2018


Relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent venue for a romantic and relaxing break. Lots of places serving delicious food and The Forge provided everything should you wish to stay in. Lovely garden area and excellent parking.

Michael from Darwin stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in September 2018


Beautiful site deep in the Herefordshire countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3rd visit to the Whittern estate and won't be our last. Having stayed at two of the other properties we opted for The Forge this visit and were blown away by the spacious airy interior and beautiful timeless decor. The open plan set up was perfect to keep an eye on the children while being more than big enough to be comfortable in our own space.
The welcome basket of local produce was fantastic, especially the cassis produced on the estate.
Jo (owner) and Charlotte (property manager) are both lovely and very welcoming. The pool area is beautiful and was perfect for all the recent hot weather.
We had such a wonderfully relaxing break we didn't want to leave and extended our stay by a further 2 nights!


Joanne from Milton Keynes stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in August 2018


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just spent four nights at The Forge - our second visit to this fabulous place. It is one of three (soon to be four) individual accommodations on this part of the estate. Each is very private and not overlooked. The Forge is very spacious and well equipped. The setting is simply beautiful. You can take walks from The Forge or drive short distances to many other beautiful places. There are excellent restaurants within a short drive. Charlotte (Property Manager) met us on arrival and was welcoming and helpful. This is a really special place and we hope to return very soon.

Janet from Fleet stayed at The Forge for 3 nights in May 2018


Gorgeous cottage for a weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were staying along with all our other friends in the gardeners cottage and the colloquy. The forge was a goergeous cottahe, spacious, cosy and decorated beautifully. It was nice to relax there with the log burner on, watching a film

Rachel from St Helens stayed at The Forge for 3 nights in April 2018


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a relaxing stay in this spacious property. Customer service was excellent - we had an issue with the wifi when we arrived and it was sorted out immediately. The area around is beautiful with lots of good places to walk, towns to visit and excellent places to eat. We hope to return.

Guest from Fleet stayed at The Forge for 3 nights in July 2017


A spacious, comfortable retreat to be enjoyed in any season

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed three family holidays at The Forge in the last three years.

Nestled in a quiet, rural location in Herefordshire, the accommodation is the most spacious of the many holiday cottages we have stayed at around the UK and, and well-equipped, which makes staying in as enjoyable as sightseeing.

There are many local places of interest on either side of the England/ Wales border which is only a few miles up the road at Kington - from waling on Offa's Dyke to National Trust properties and a lovely little cheese-making dairy.

We are already planning our next stay.



Trevor from Leamington Spa stayed at The Forge for 7 nights in October 2016