FB Twitter

Swallow

Swallow

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


A spacious single story family friendly cottage and part of a cluster of converted barns close to the north Norfolk coast. Swallow is well-equipped, bright, airy and a short nip from the pool. The open plan living space looks out over the private fenced garden, play areas and farmland. Outdoors there’s a barbeque and garden furniture for summer catering, and indoors a wood burning stove for cosy winter breaks.

Cranmer cottages are a lovely place for a family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cranmer cottages are a lovely place for a family holiday, there is plenty to do both at the cottages and in the surrounding countryside. The cottages are clean, attractive, well equipped and have a light and airy feel. Having a manned office on site in working hours was areal bonus.

Charles from Halstead stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in February 2024


Peaceful, sociable cottage, excellent facilities

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Swallow cottage as a last getaway before Christmas. We had previously stayed in End Cottage. Swallow was perfect for us, being open plan, we were able to socialise all together whether cooking or in the lounge area.
The cottage itself provided all home comforts and excellent facilities.
The bonus is the use of the pool, of which we were able to book extra swims due to availability. There is a games room too, which was perfect for my son to play in, with the use of a badminton table and pool table, as well as a book corner and play area for younger children.
The team at Cramer Cottages were super accommodating and kept in touch pre-during and post booking.
Will definitely stay again. Thank you


Joanne from Peterborough stayed at Swallow for 3 nights in November 2023


A lovely 14th stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As the title suggests we are big fans of Cranmer cottages returning every year and sometimes twice. Our children refuse to go anywhere else for October half term. Swallow is our favourite cottage as we get to enjoy having a real fire which we don’t get to do in London and the amenities are so useful especially when the October weather can be unpredictable. The games room and pool get a lot of use in the rain and pool was visited every day! Close to lots of great places to visit like Holkham Hall, Wells next to the sea etc. also great Pubs like the Crown at East Rudham and the Sculthorpe Mill.
Sometimes as with any place there can be things that don’t work or need attention but Lynne,John, Nikki and team are always on hand to fix them quickly and sort out any issues so that you barely even notice they happened.
We highly recommend them and their eco credentials are impeccable so you can feel extra good about your visit!
See you next year!


Susanne from London stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in October 2023


Last minute booking

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always Cranmer delivered on all fronts. Cottage lovely, location beautiful. Peaceful and the open space that Norfolk is famous for.
Us and our family have been using Cranmer for 12 years now and always have wonderful holidays.


linda from Peterborough stayed at Swallow for 4 nights in September 2023


Lovely summer family stay

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is was our second stay at Cranmer and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. Cottage was comfortable and well equipped for our family with three young children. Owners were helpful with any issues or questions we had. Location is great for reaching so many places and attractions. We’ll definitely be back!

Katie from Sandy stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in July 2023


A lovely stay in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Swallow Cottage on a last minute deal. I was a little worried about going in a complex with a number of other properties but it suited our needs for a long weekend visit to see family. I needn’t have worried. Despite nearly full occupancy, the site was so quiet and we were barely aware of any other guests. The swimming pool is lovely and such a rare treat. As we had only booked a short stay, we only had one private pool slot but the ‘open’ slots were deserted so managed a lovely quiet swim each day. The cottage itself was beautifully equipped with quality products and a nice mix of modern and vintage decoration. It was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly before booking and when we arrived. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn’t hesitate to come back.

Helena from Surbiton stayed at Swallow for 3 nights in July 2023


Another great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4th time of visiting and a brilliant place for friends, family and children. Great location to access beaches and all Norfolk has to offer. Pool is really clean.

Paul from Ashford stayed at Swallow for 4 nights in July 2023


Lovely weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a 3 night stay in swallow and it was just what we needed with 2 small children. The house was clean, beds were comfy and has a well kitted kitchen.
Ideal with swimming pool, games room and playing field on site. Kids loved it and we enjoyed a relaxing stay. We will be back


Alice from King's Lynn stayed at Swallow for 3 nights in May 2023


Easter break at Swallow

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2023
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second stay at Cranmer. Nikki was very helpful with admin before our stay. The cottage is a good size with white bedding and lovely large fluffy towels. Cleanliness was ok but could’ve been better- dust under beds, cutlery tray and some cobwebs. The staff hid Easter eggs for the kids in the cottage and rang me before to check it was okay- a thoughtful touch. No DVD player though it says there is one on the website. Great games room. Pool needed the windows cleaned and was a little chilly but kids loved it and it’s large. We could hear the people next door- okay in the daytime but annoying at night and I asked for an email to be sent to everyone on site asking them to be mindful of others and we never received it/a copy.
Very rural quiet location but very good access to super farm shop and lots of things to do for all ages.


Sophie from Iden Green stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in April 2023


Lynne Johnson replied 303 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review. We will attend to the housekeeping issues you mention, our housekeepers are usually pretty hot on keeping cobwebs at bay on the high roof trusses and move the beds to vacuum all areas. The cottages tvs have been upgraded to Smart Tvs with access to Netflix etc. The DVDs were removed at this point, however we do have a couple which we can offer to guests on request if they wish to access our DVD library. I am sorry about guests behaviour next door, this is not an issue we usually have to deal with. The walls between the cottages are 18” red brick, however there is a communicating door to Woodpecker in the hallway - it is 2 fire safety doors a single door width. If guests were particularly boisterous this may have been the issue. We will always ask guests to be mindful of their neighbours whist staying with us, on this occasion I am sorry to hear that it was not the case. With regard to the pool, the water and air temperature is heated to a constant 29-30 degrees it is a large lofty space. The windows are cleaned weekly, if there has been a lot of splashing there maybe salt on the inside of the windows usually cleaned daily. Despite the increasing in energy costs we continue to maintain our pool and the levels of heat as we have always done. From time to time mechanics may fail. However we have a great support team who work directly with us and any issues are generally sorted out efficiently with a minimum of down time. Thank you again for leaving your review and please be assured that the issues you mention will be followed up and corrected where possible.

Excellent family stay

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Cranmer Cottage and it was everything we had remembered! High quality and very clean, perfect for young children, so well equipped.

Swimming pool is lovely, clean and warm! A bonus during our cold rainy stay!!

Great location to drive to beaches.





Sophie from London stayed at Swallow for 3 nights in March 2023


Brilliant stay in Swallow cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Swallow cottage. Everyone was so pleasant and friendly and the accommodation was very comfortable. The swimming pool was very clean and it was great to have timed slots that were just for your cottage. As the weather was bad on the first day we made full use of the pool and the games room. The location of Cranmer is good. It is very easy to get to Fakenham, Burnham Market and the coast. We would definitely recommend Cranmer cottages to family and friends. Thank you once again for a superb stay.

Michele from Peterborough stayed at Swallow for 3 nights in November 2022


Swallow Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Swallow Cottage for the first week of our kids October half term. We have three boys 13, 11 and a 3 year old and the facilities at Cranmer Country Cottages accommodated for all ages! From the swimming pool to the games room to the vast open space the boys were able safely able to take themselves off and make themselves at home! The accommodation in Swallow Cottage was perfect, and had everything and more for a family of five, from a washing machine, dishwasher, Amazon Prime and Netflix as well as strong WiFi. The beds were a great size and really comfy with the two on suite bathrooms having really powerful showers and electric towel rails so that if you did get wet during the day, we could get ready for the next. The location of Cranmer Cottages is ideal with it being pretty much 20-30 minutes of any coast line be it Wells-next-the-sea or Holkham Beach to Brancaster Straite all of which are a must to visit. Lynne, John and Nikki couldn't do enough for you. A real hidden gem!

Ben from WALTON-ON-THAMES stayed at Swallow for 4 nights in October 2022


Swallow

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice site, good for children. Lovely barn, warm welcome and great customer service. Good Swimming pool. Some issues with flies, which despite our best efforts we could not get rid of!

Jane from Hinckley stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in July 2022


Very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what we were after a relaxing break with lovely accommodation & facilities in a great location. The week went too quickly though so we’ll have to come back again soon!

Carry from Peterborough stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in April 2022


Perfect for a much delayed family celebration.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked both Woodpecker & Swallow for a much delayed family celebration.
Please refer to my comments on my review of Woodpecker, which apply equally to Swallow.


Elizabeth from Hertford stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in August 2021


A very enjoyable, fun filled, high quality holiday at Cranmer Country Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a multi generational holiday in Swallow cottage during August 2021. The property was very clean and stylishly furnished. The information received prior to our holiday was extensive and helpful in making plans and helped us feel as though the holiday had started a few days early.

All Covid-19 procedures were followed which made us feel very safe and there were thoughtful touches such as milk and cookies left as a welcome gift.

The facilities were fantastic; a large swimming pool, an expansive lawn to run around on and the owners had thought of everything a family might need whilst self catering on holiday.

Highly recommended!


Charlotte from Droitwich stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in July 2021


Lovely holiday few niggles

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in Swallow, the accommodation is stylish and we thought the location was good for the places we wanted to visit and we loved the indoor pool but for the price we paid we thought there were a few concerns
- the roller blind safety cord (metal chain style) wasn’t attached to the wall in the main bedroom the wall mounted fitments were detached and left on the windowsill
- the same style blind chain cord in the smallest bedroom where my 3 yo slept was dangling not attached to the safety fitment , so a danger, my husband had to remove the blind from the top fitment to get the chain back in the safety catch at the bottom
- we felt the children’s play area should be expanded with wooden balancing bars, climbing ropes, climbing frame etc for the price you pay considering it was all families with small children when we stayed.
- the bed was hard and the duvets were all what felt like cheap plastic covered and the pillows were cheap uncomfortable


Joanna from Gloucester stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in July 2021


Lynne Johnson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Re a few niggles: All blinds are fitted with child safety cleats. If there is a problem we appreciate the issues being reported as soon as possible so that we can put them right during your stay. We were around and had a number of conversations with you but this issue was not mentioned? These things are generally checked pre guest arrival. Our pilows & duvets are hypo-allergenic luxury microfibre although at the moment during the pandemic we are using pillow & duvet protectors. Our beds are coil sprung medium and were replaced recently. We did not charge for the 6 tumblers missing from the property after you left.

Perfect set up for families with young children

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our third stay at Cranmer Country Cottages and we have booked again for next year! Perfect set up for families with young children. Well equipped and attractive property with a great playing field, games room, tennis courts and pool. Not far from many lovely beaches and pubs. Really enjoyed our week. Thank you.

Sophie from Tunbridge Wells stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in May 2021


A lovely family break in a cosy and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Cranmer for a weeks family escape. The facilities were great for kids and the cottage was extremely comfortable with plenty of room for all of us.

Jon from London stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in September 2020


Our 2nd stay here at Cranmer Country Cottages!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another brilliant week at Cranmer. This time we rented Swallow, and my family took Woodpecker and Owl. We loved staying in Swallow. Spacious living accommodation, nice big double bedroom with a further single and small double. The patio was lovely with a picnic table and a further table and chairs with umbrella. Perfect for bbq's with my family of 10.

Just a small thing - the pillows are a bit hard and bulky - perhaps an option for a few feather pillows would be a nice touch?
Also, this may be a Covid thing, as I don't recall this last year but all the duvets were covered in a plasticy protector - which made for a very sweaty night's sleep. I'm afraid we had to take ours off as i couldn't bear it.

Also a shame that the pool wasn't in action but by no means was that the fault of the owners.
Everything else was spot on.
Thank you Cranmer!


Clare from London stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in July 2020


Fab place

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place, nice big cottage with everything you could ever need. Plenty to keep the children amused and very comfy. Our only fault was not being able to turn the oven off, which made it very hot. Would definitely return, thank you for a lovely stay.

Graham from Kettering stayed at Swallow for 4 nights in March 2020


Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Dec 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage in Norfolk, would definitely recommend
The cottage was spotless with very comfortable furnishings and excellent bathrooms
Ideal holiday for children with a swimming pool and play barn . Weather permitting the cottages look onto a lovely play area where children can be seen from the cottages and terrace.
Good location for exploring Norfolk a bit isolated if eating out in the evening is your thing . The kitchen is well equipped for self catering.


Guest from Peterborough stayed at Swallow for 3 nights in December 2019


Excellent stay as ever!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been coming to Cranmer for years. We love it and would highly recommend it. Lots of space for the children to run around in at the cottages, pool to swim in and really close to all the wonderful walks North Norfolk has to offer.

Katherine from London stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in October 2019


Fab family holiday in Norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great time here, the kids were distraught when it was time to leave. Great safe garden, our kids made friends with other guest's kids. The pool was good, with no sore eyes due to salt being used rather than chlorine - perfect for our family with eczema prone skin. The tennis courts were also well used. Despite all the cottages being booked it never felt crowded. Perfect location, only 20 minutes to the beaches.

Graeme from Larbert stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in July 2019


Lovely holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage with everything that you would need for a holiday with small children. Friendly staff and well maintained grounds. Highly recommended.

Guest from Haywards Heath stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in June 2019


A long sunny weekend at Cranmer Cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Swallow cottage, with 2 couples and 1 child. It was plenty big enough for us all. Loved the decor and the fact we could open the living room straight onto the patio and field beyond, on such a sunny weekend it was like having another living room. The woodburner looked great but we didn't get chance to use it.

The service was very good and staff were very friendly.

The fields outside were great for families to play cricket, football etc. and the swimming pool was a really good size and never overcrowded. Highly recommend.


Rachel from Huddersfield stayed at Swallow for 3 nights in May 2019


Half Term Heaven in North Norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cranmer Country Cottages were the perfect place to spend our May half term holiday as a family of 6 including 4 children aged 10,9, 7 and 3.

Swallow

We stayed in Swallow which forms part of a row of barn conversions looking out onto a large open field in the beautiful Norfolk countryside close to the North Norfolk Coast.

Swallow a self catering cottage with three bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and open plan living all on one floor is spacious, with modern farm house features and very comfortable furniture. The interior whitewashed walls are fabulous with modern art prints and the space is light, airy and very clean. The kitchen is well stocked and the big farmhouse table is perfect for family meals. A dishwasher and washing machine are always an added bonus! The south facing outside eating area is private and a relaxing space to eat and read.

Activities at Cranmer Cottages

The amazing indoor swimming pool within one of the converted barns looks out onto open fields and is a delightful pool for all the family. We swam in the pool everyday, sometimes twice a day, most days having the pool to ourselves. The pool is a salt water pool rather than chlorine which is a real treat and the steps leading down to the pool were great for our youngest daughter.

The large open field which Swallow looks out upon from the glass, sliding doors provides the perfect natural playground for all the children from the various cottages to spill out and play together. The subtle slide, wooden climbing frame, swings, beautifully painted shepherd’s hut and playhouse are all lovely additions and give the children a variety of things to do outside. Most evenings before and after tea the children from the cottages would play happily together and on one evening they set up a football match.

The indoor games room within the courtyard area has something for all ages with a play kitchen, reading corner, play tent and toys for toddlers and babies. The tennis table and pool table are great for older children.

Things to do in North Norfolk

On the Saturday we visited Holkham beach which is a beautiful, large beach accessed on a boardwalk leading from the car park through pinewoods. The beach is perfect for building sandcastles on a fine day and long walks at any other time. It is a popular beach for horse riding and watching horses gallop along the beach in groups is spectacular. We had a lovely lunch at The Victoria which is perfect for families and looks out over the marshes. Holkham Hall is a wonderful place to visit for the day and on previous visits we have all particularly enjoyed the ‘Field to Fork’ exhibition, tractor ride, cycling through the deer park and family games in the Walled Garden. There is also a 5k Park Run on a Saturday morning through the grounds.

On Sunday we went down the road to Walsingham to see the Slipper Chapel and then walked around the pretty village. A visit to the Walsingham Farm Shop supplemented the Sainsbury’s delivery nicely for local fresh strawberries, asparagus, fish and meat. The Wells to Walsingham light steam railway can be picked up close to the farm shop and is a great ride through the Norfolk countryside to Wells with open carriages as well as covered carriages.

A visit to Norfolk can not be without a visit to Burnham Market foundly know as Chelsea-by-the-Sea! The smart independent shops and more familiar chains such as Joules and Jack Wills make this a hot spot for the well-healed. The Hoste on the Main Street is a popular place to eat and apparently on occasion a few famous faces have been sighted. The children spent their holiday money in the independent book shop which had lots of lovely books and then had a stroll around Burnham Market. We headed on from here to Brancaster to the Crab Hut for some fish for tea and on to Wells where walked along the beach past the pretty multicoloured beach huts. Brancaster is also a fantastic beach for families within close walking distance of a car park and great for sandcastles and beach games.

On Tuesday we ventured east to Glandford and the Shell Museum where the children each picked a special shell as a souvenir. The Museum has a fantastic collection of shells and is a gem. Nearby Wiverton Hall made famous by the television programme and the phrase ‘ Normal for Norfolk’ made a perfect stop off for tea and scones. We sat outside overlooking the marshes on brightly coloured chairs. The cafe is fun, with great staff, art on the walls that can be purchased, a toilet with a ‘vue’ and the delicious home made food including cakes and salads all served on the full collection of delightful Emma Bridgewater pottery. In the school holidays Wiverton runs Pizza evenings and in the sumner months PYO strawberries and raspberries. The next village along is beautiful Blakeney where we parked in the National Trust car park and went crabbing with buckets and nets from home that we managed to remember this time! The children caught lots of crabs in the late afternoon sun which they put back into the sea and it was a lovely way to spend the late afternoon/early evening in a village where it truly feels as though time stands still.

On Wednesday we took our binoculars to RSPB Tichwell which is an active bird reserve suitable for children and leads onto a fabulous beach. We went home via Eric’s fish and chips in Thornham which opened around 3 years ago and is a perfect place to eat in and enjoy tradition fish and chips as well scampi and a vegan option. At 5pm Eric’s filled up with families and the atmosphere was as good as the food. Gurneys next door is a brilliant place to pick up fresh fish including home smoked salmon, oysters, prawns and lobsters as well as food from Cley Smokehouse. Thornham Deli is highly recommended for food as well as shopping.

On Thursday we visited National Trust, Blickling Hall and enjoyed a 4 mile cycle ride around the grounds. HSBC in conjunction with British Cycling has subsidised the cost of cycle hire and provided excellent bikes for all ages including balance bikes and cruisers for younger children. The house is magnificent and has a number of exhibitions and various activities for the children. The gardens are spectacular and when we walked round the wisteria was in full bloom and the peonies were peering through. The coconut ice cream and mango sorbet comes highly recommended by the children too! National Trust, Felbrigg is also nearby and worth a visit.

There are plenty of other things to do in the local area such as Pensthorpe Nature Reserve, pot painting in Holt, soft play in Wells, a dinosaur adventure park a little further afield and Bewildered with a huge playground. Norwich isn’t too far for a day trip to see the impressive cathedral. Cranmer Cottages provide a very good file in each cottage and lovely Zoe is always on hand to discuss what there is to do and help with anything relating to the cottages.

There was time for a quick swim on Friday and the children to say goodbye to the friends they had made before we checked out at 10am. The children had the best half term week, there was plenty to visit and stay active plus we had chance to relax and chat on an evening whilst the children played in the field. Half term doesn’t come better than that.

Thank you Cranmer Cottages.


Guest from Boston Spa stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in May 2019


Lynne Johnson replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Victoria Thank you for taking the time to give your holiday with us such an in depth review. You have really captured the spirit of what we offer here and the wonderful array of things to do along this beautiful part of the north Norfolk coast. We look forward to welcoming you back to Home Farm Cranmer next year. Lynne Johnson

Family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great cottage for a family holiday in a brilliant location close to the Norfolk coast. The grounds are lovely and perfect for children to play in and the swimming pool was fab. We would definitely stay again.

Caroline from Westerham stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in May 2019


A lovely stay at swallow

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay - the house is beautiful and very well equipped for a family with young children. The facilities (pool, play area) a huge bonus and location is perfect for exploring the North and East Norfolk coast. We will be returning!

Guest from Royston stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in April 2019


Lynne Johnson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. It is always lovely to welcome our returning guests and were pleased to hear that you had a great time in Norfolk

Enjoyed our stay

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyedo our stay here as the cottage and facilities are so child friendly and staff is very helpful. The cottage does have everything we needed and it was laid out to our specifications on arrival which is refreshing!

Guest from London stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in March 2019


A wonderful cottage with everything you could need - in an excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We arrived at swallow cottage and were pleasantly surprised - a family group of 5 with 3 adults and 2 children it has everything we could need - although the welcome cake was delicious there was nothing else provided, not even washing up liquid or matches to light the fire so do come armed with all your cooking needs ( butter, oil, salt pepper etc ) .. if you are going to cook. We would have benefitted from a list of local eateries.. there is a welcome booklet but it is long and extensive and I never got round to reading it all in our 2 day stay ! - Fakenham has 3 supermarkets - yet we found them quiet basic and were grateful for the local Norfolk farmers market - 1st Saturday of the month - ENJOY ! would highly recommend, and the pool was a welcome addition to the children who loved it - but also loved the garden and swings

Leila from Grantham stayed at Swallow for 3 nights in March 2019


Nov break

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing Nov. week spent here with 3yr old and 6 mth old in tow. Excellent facilities with the pool a favourite with the three year old esp on days where outside play wasn't an option. Cottage was very clean and staff were extremely helpful. Would recommend Carpenter's Arms in Wighton and Victoria in Holkham for excellent pub meals and Holt/Sheringham steam railway.

Ryan from Harpenden stayed at Swallow for 7 nights in November 2018


Perfect for the whole family

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was so great - we went twice. And we’re going again.

Attention to detail makes this place a model for self catering accommodation.


Sue from Kingsbridge stayed at Swallow for 4 nights in November 2018


Brilliant, highly recommend.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic properties and ideal for large groups including children.
Everything was perfect, from the booking through to the arrival and actual stay. Zoe was a delight to deal with and couldn't do enough for you.
If I was being picky the only negative, because we had young children with us, was reception was non existent and wifi was poor but we were warned about this.


Steve from Upminster stayed at Swallow for 3 nights in November 2018