FB Twitter

Garden House

Garden House

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.0
Location
4.5
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.5


.Home to possibly Britain’s first luxury and carbon neutral cottages, Home Farm Cranmer is a beautiful cluster of eight homely but stylishly converted barns and luxury eco-cottages set on 170 acres of sweeping farmland and gardens just a few minutes’ drive from many of the best beaches and sophisticated market towns of the North Norfolk coast.

Along with fabulous eco-credentials, cosy wood burners and luxurious touches, these 1- 6 bedroom cottages also benefit from shared use of a striking indoor heated pool, a toddlers play house, useful baby gear and pre-bookable services such as babysitting, meal delivery and massage/beauty therapy, that combine to provide a level of relaxation that can prove elusive on a holiday with toddlers.

Garden House is one of three new (Aug 2009) architect-designed eco cottages, which are said to be Britain's first carbon-neutral luxury holiday accommodation. Each has been designed with equal emphasis on style, luxury, comfort and sustainability. From their elegantly furnished sun terraces, guests can watch both the stunning sunsets and the small wind turbine generating their electricity. Meanwhile, the luxurious tiled floors inside the cottages benefit from geothermal (earth-warmed) heating, whilst solar panels provide their hot water. Although small amounts of gas and heating oil are used, they are offset by surplus electricity from the turbine which is sold to the National Grid - bringing the net carbon emissions for the three cottages down to zero.

Like all the converted cottages at Cranmer, Avocet combines modern architectural design with the best of the original features, the high vaulted ceilings and beautifully lit timber trusses are complemented by stylish contemporary colour schemes, modern kitchens and stylish, yet practical furnishings - testament to the Johnsons' backgrounds both in design and parenting! The cottage is set on one level making it ideal for both less mobile adults, including wheelchair users, or toddlers, although it may be worth noting that the tiled floors can be slippery when wearing just socks.

Garden House sleeps six in 3 bedrooms but can interconnect with Avocet Cottage, to create a large, 6-bedroom cottage with spacious communal lounge and dining table for 12.

Mums 70th birthday break

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Mar 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A really lovely property which suited my families needs for a relaxing weekend.
Only disappointment was our en suite shower wouldn’t heat up to a suitable temperature.
Apart from that the location,facilities and the cottage were just what we needed.


Paul from Norwich stayed at Garden House for 2 nights in March 2020


Lynne Johnson replied 117 days ago
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not get to meet you in person as we are observing social distancing recommendations. However we are on the end of a phone or by email. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our property to be comfortable and well appointed for your family gathering. Thank you for letting us know about the shower, we will take a look at the thermostatic mixer. Our team are working really hard to to observe high housekeeping and sanitation standards throughout our site in the wake of Corona Virus. We are always happy to help if you have problems during your stay.

Half term family stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked garden house to provide a holiday for our young grandchildren and their mother, who joined us later in the week. It was a great venue. The house was beautiful, well equipped with a great layout. We had a lovely outdoor space too but the weather was pretty dire so we made lots of use of the pool and playroom. We visited pensthorpe ( a great day out with kids), Cromer, Blickling so there are lots of places within easy reach. The staff were very friendly and helpful too. I can thoroughly recommend it.

Barbara from Canterbury stayed at Garden House for 7 nights in February 2020


Another amazing stay at Cranmer

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in various cottages at Cranmer over the last 10 years.this was our 11th visit which says it all really. Great cottage, great facilities, lovely people and our children had a fabulous time. This time we even took friends with us in another cottage. Booked up for next year already!

Susanne from London stayed at Garden House for 7 nights in October 2019


A few days at Garden House

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our few days at Garden House. We are just a couple but thought it would be great for families with children. Possibly with grandparents in tow.

Malcolm from Enfield stayed at Garden House for 7 nights in July 2019


Lovely location, cleanliness not up to standard

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The setting is lovely, very safe for children and peaceful. We liked the pool and made use of it, though it’s a shame it’s restricted.
Lovely kitchen & comfy sofas. Some of the furniture is a “bit cheap” for luxury accommodation for example the dinning chairs.
Unfortunately the house was not very clean, my son spilt some water on the floor which I wiped up and I was quite disgusted how dirty the wipe was. The floor clearly hadn’t been cleaned. This was on the first day so was certainly not due to any dirt we’d brought in. My disabled 1 year old son moves by rolling on the floor, so I was particularly unhappy about this. The bathrooms were also not as clean as I would expect.
Zoe was lovely & gave a warm welcome.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but I did find the cleanliness unacceptable.


Rachel from Colchester stayed at Garden House for 3 nights in April 2019


Lynne Johnson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I can only apologise for your floor not been cleaned to our usual standard. All of our properties are thoroughly cleaned and then checked before our guests arrive. Floors are vacuumed and then cleaned with water and a sanitiser solution this should then be thoroughly rinsed and dried before our guests arrive. In the bathroom we have had issues with hard water damage to the surface of the slate tiles, however these have been re-sealed and are cleaned thoroughly between stays. With regard to furnishings our properties are designed for families and easy living. Our luxury indoor heated pool is available for guests shared use from 7.00am in the morning and is closed to guests from 7.00pm. During weekdays the pool is also closed between 1.00 -3.00pm, over lunchtimes when most people are out and about enjoying Norfolk. The pool is open all day on a Saturday with no restrictions and is available on Sunday morning and Sunday afternoon. If you require private use you can always speak to us and if we have availability we will make this available to you at no extra charge. We always ask our guests to contact us during their stay if they have a problem, this enables us to put things right so that guests can continue to enjoy their stay. The luxury in staying with us is based on a combination of values; our well-maintained properties with direct access to an acre of shared gardens for rest and play, in-house managed housekeeping, and luxury onsite facilities. We try to do our best in terms of looking after all of our guests because we want everyone to have a great time.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just stayed here as a group of families for a special birthdays treat.
I would highly recommend staying here with your family . We had such a great time with all ranges of children thoroughly enjoyed themselves 2-17 years.
We didn’t need to leave the cottages as we had everything we needed here.
Swimming for the children was great and the open space to play .
The cottages have thought of everything inside and more for a family.
We loved our time here and would highly recommend to anyone x


lorraine from Rayleigh stayed at Garden House for 2 nights in November 2018