FB Twitter

Avocet

Avocet

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.5


Home to possibly Britain’s first luxury and carbon neutral cottages, Home Farm Cranmer is a beautiful cluster of eight homely but stylishly converted barns and luxury eco-cottages set on 170 acres of sweeping farmland and gardens just a few minutes’ drive from many of the best beaches and sophisticated market towns of the North Norfolk coast.

Along with fabulous eco-credentials, cosy wood burners and luxurious touches, these 1- 6 bedroom cottages also benefit from shared use of a striking indoor heated pool, a toddlers play house, useful baby gear and pre-bookable services such as babysitting, meal delivery and massage/beauty therapy, that combine to provide a level of relaxation that can prove elusive on a holiday with toddlers.


Avocet Cottage is one of three new (Aug 2009) architect-designed eco cottages, which are said to be Britain's first carbon-neutral luxury holiday accommodation. Each has been designed with equal emphasis on style, luxury, comfort and sustainability. From their elegantly furnished sun terraces, guests can watch both the stunning sunsets and the small wind turbine generating their electricity. Meanwhile, the luxurious tiled floors inside the cottages benefit from geothermal (earth-warmed) heating, whilst solar panels provide their hot water. Although small amounts of gas and heating oil are used, they are offset by surplus electricity from the turbine which is sold to the National Grid - bringing the net carbon emissions for the three cottages down to zero.

Like all the converted cottages at Cranmer, Avocet combines modern architectural design with the best of the original features, the high vaulted ceilings and beautifully lit timber trusses are complemented by stylish contemporary colour schemes, modern kitchens and stylish, yet practical furnishings - testament to the Johnsons' backgrounds both in design and parenting! The cottage is set on one level making it ideal for both less mobile adults, including wheelchair users, or toddlers, although it may be worth noting that the tiled floors can be slippery when wearing just socks.

Avocet sleeps six in 3 bedrooms (1xdbl, 1xtwin/dbl & 1xtwin with 2x2'6" beds) but can interconnect with Garden House, to create a large, 6-bedroom cottage with spacious communal lounge and dining table for 12.

Lovely accommodation in beautiful area

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
V nicer days comfortable accommodation with more or less everything you could need. Really great pool - warm and spotless. Area is beautiful with quick access to beaches and other sightseeing. We loved it.

Carla from Welwyn stayed at Avocet for 7 nights in August 2019


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely stay in the Avocet cottage. Great facilities and immaculately clean. The swimming pool is an added bonus



Guest from St. Albans stayed at Avocet for 4 nights in March 2019


Excellent for a large family groupe

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a large group of 40. The cottages are very well equipped, modern and clean. They can inter connect if you want, there’s a swimming pool and games room on site, a large grassed area to the rear making it ideal for both children and adults alike. A very relaxing weekend was had by all!

Michelle from Harrow stayed at Avocet for 2 nights in November 2018


Summer Holidays in Avocet

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd visit to the cottages. This is a great location within easy reach of some great days out. The accommodation is great and garden huge with swings, slide and playhouse and was the highlight of our 4yr olds time in Norfolk. Highly recommend these cottages and apart from the large garden which is perfect for younger children there is a lovely indoor swimming pool and games room. We have already planned a return visit for next year!

Jo from Broxbourne stayed at Avocet for 7 nights in August 2018


Good and could improve.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Cramner cottages before so this shows that we had good experiences. This time we stayed in Avocote. The cottage was OK, but there were one or two things that I think would improve it. The twin bedroom was very small,especially for two children leaving them no space to play or relax with a book. In fact we reconfigured the bedrooms and made this a double bed. The long corridore needed shoe storage, as I can see Ikea furnishes much of the cottage may I suggest the shoe cupboards that can be fixed to the wall. 5 of us with two pairs of shoes each and wellies was an awful lot of footwear to keep tripping over. Outside I think roatary driers would be better than the clothes line as the washing kept getting tangled up in the fence. Also outside for the children perhaps a large trampoline? I know they do have issues with safety but are well liked by children of all ages. The main reason we came back was the swimming pool and this was excellent.

Nigel from Solihull stayed at Avocet for 7 nights in August 2018


Lynne Johnson replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Nigel Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Avocet sleeps up to 5 adults and is a smaller property than luxury Garden House - sleeping 6 adults. Thank you for your suggestions with regard to re footwear storage. We offer flexible family sleeping arrangements in Avocet: bedroom 2 is a spacious room with a super king-sized bed which can be split into 2 x 3ft beds on request prior to guest arrival. Bedroom 3 usually has a 5ft double to sleep a single adult. During the summer we offer the option of 2 x 2ft 6" beds for younger children under 8 years. This is an option available for families with 4 adults. We will try make this clearer in our property and booking details. Kind regards Lynne Johnson

Incredible week

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Avocet and Garden House with 2 other families and had the best week. Cottages are in perfect location and the facilities were enjoyed by everyone especially the kids who were all between 8 and 12. We did 3 long bike rides straight from cottage the bike hut is really good. Cottages were equipped to a very high standard. We had of course the best weather but without question the cottages would be perfect whatever the weather

Catherine from Harpenden stayed at Avocet for 7 nights in July 2018