FB Twitter

Woodpecker

Woodpecker

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Woodpecker cottage is a single story converted dairy barn overlooking farmland and enclosed gardens. Guests have shared use of our luxury indoor heated pool, tennis courts and games room.

3rd visit - amazing as always!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A 3rd amazing visit at Cranmer Country Cottages. This time with friends who loved it as much as we did. It’s a formula that just works! The cottages are fantastic - easy to cater for the family and any guests. Children are super happy and safe in the beautiful garden. This year we discovered the brilliant games room - ping pong and pool plus jenga and a play kitchen. Zoe and the owner John are always very welcoming and helpful - we feel so happy to be part of the Cranmer gang! The pool is an incredible added bonus and makes up for the few rainy days we had. There is so much to do we never fit it all in. Favourites include crabbing at Wells Quay, the play park at Holkham Hall and flying kites at Brancaster beach. Thank you for a wonderful visit. We will definitely be back!

Laura from London stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in October 2019


Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay at Cranmer Cottages. The setting is gorgeous with a huge shared field with play equipment meaning the children were barely seen but we knew they were safe just out the back of the cottage. The pool is excellent and welcome given we went in an extremely hot week.
Because of the unusually high temperature the cottage did get hot and could do with an awning over the patio doors as we found we had to shut the curtains during the afternoon. Would also be nice to have some comfier outdoor seating for a glass of wine the evening instead of just a picnic bench.

However overall it was a great week and we loved visiting Holkham Hall, Wells beach, Brancaster Beach, Sandringham and Blickling.


Alison from London stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in July 2019


Lynne Johnson replied 125 days ago
Thank you for leaving your review it sounds as if you got to explore some great local places. It was incredibly hot for a week in the UK. Woodpecker is one of our more compact properties, although it does offer 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Our larger 3 bedroom 5 star properties, Avocet & Garden House and also Swallow all have softer seating and wooden tables and chairs for group dining alfresco. Our smaller sleep 4 four star properties have child friendly robust eco-friendly recycled cafe style picnic benches. We often review our outside furniture offer at the beginning of the season. We can look at patio awnings,though the play area is a lovely large open space bordered by trees and is great for keeping an eye on little ones - the wind can rush across at times. This can be a challenge with some garden furniture and parasols and as we are a self-catering business we do not have staff to manage furling parasols and awnings in high winds. Thank you for your feedback - we take our guest feedback seriously so we'll put our thinking caps on.

S

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our second stay with you and we have already booked a third! For families with young children, you have a winning combination of a great, contained playing field, comfortable accommodation with thoughtful items provided, swimming pool, games room, tennis courts and good location for beaches and other fun sites to visit. Our 8 year old son says 'I give Cranmer a million out of 10'! Great to see all the kids from the cottages playing together on the field.

Sophie from Tunbridge Wells stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in May 2019


Lovely week in Norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve had a great time. The cottage was exactly what we were expecting. We loved lot having stairs to tackle with 2 young children and the garden going out into the field was great.

Eliazbeth from Wallingford stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in May 2019


Three-day Easter weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of five - three children aged 17, 13, and 8 years. Owners were incredibly welcoming and helpful in answering all our questions regarding recommendations for local attractions, etc. Made use of almost all the facilities onsite - an immaculately maintained swimming pool, tennis courts, play area, and the washing machines. Did not use the games room - note that the pool table is coin operated and we'd recommend bringing your own table tennis paddles/balls! The accommodation was clean and everything functional, and the location itself scenic and tranquil. All-in-all a lovely break and a recommended retreat.

Amir from Chigwell stayed at Woodpecker for 3 nights in April 2019


Lynne Johnson replied 231 days ago
Thank you for reviewing our property. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We usually provide table tennis and bats and balls in the games kit available in your cottage -, which are yours for the duration of your stay. I am sorry if this was not available in your cottage this time. We hope to see you again at Cranmer country cottages.

Wonderful half term break!

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay here for October half term and it has definitely lived up to expectations! The pool is wonderful and we managed to mostly have it to ourselves. The massive garden with swings and climbing frame are a big hit and our daughter made some new friends out there. The cottage itself has everything we need for a very comfortable week. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking and the living area is very comfy. There is always plenty of hot water for showers and baths. Having the launderette on site is brilliant too. There is SO MUCH to do in the local area! We love Dinosaur Adventure World, the beache at Brancaster Staithe, Holkham Hall (especially the brilliant outdoor play area), the steam train between Walsingham and Wells and Pensthorpe Park. We will DEFINITELY be back! Thank you for another amazing stay!

Laura from London stayed at Woodpecker for 7 nights in October 2018


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay loved the pool. Unfortunately our friend had an accident which caused some disruption, the owner was most caring and helpful as were always the staff. Would highly recommend Cranmer Country Cottages.

Guest from Banbury stayed at Woodpecker for 3 nights in September 2018