FB Twitter

River View

River View

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Renovated in 2022. This perfect riverside holiday accommodation, set on the water’s edge at Brundall in the Norfolk Broads is comfortably furnished throughout with a new, well-equipped, fitted kitchen. Overlooking the main river Yare and perfect for river fishing. The living room doors open onto the decking and own private garden with seating furniture, ideal for relaxing in, soaking up the sun, watching the boats pass by and keeping a look out for wildlife in this peaceful location. The lodges are located in the village of Brundall, an ideal touring base and the centre for boat building and boat hire, and which has its own railway station, shop/post office, mini-market, hairdresser, Chinese takeaway, fish and chips shop, fine restaurant and local pubs all serving good food; one is just across the river, and one is within a short stroll.

All on the ground floor via steps
Open plan living space.
Living area: With Digital TV French doors leading to decking.
Dining area: With French doors leading to decking.
Kitchen area: With electric cooker, microwave, fridge/freezer and Dishwasher.
Bathroom: Walk in shower
Bedroom 1: With double bed.
Bedroom 2: With 2 x single beds.

Electricity, bed linen and Wi-Fi included. Cot and highchair by request. Garden with sitting-out area and garden furniture. Decking area with sitting-out area and garden furniture. Private parking for 3 cars. No smoking. Please note: There is an unfenced river 20 yards away.

Features
Detached Property
Ground Floor access via steps
Facilities​
Garden / Patio fenced, open deep water unfenced
Highchair on request
Pub within 1 mile
Rural Location
WiFi
Cot on request
Dishwasher
Fishing On-site
Open Plan
Parking - On Site 3 cars
Walk in shower
Waterside Breaks
Station within 1 mile
Pet friendly - Max 2 dogs - £30 charge per pet applies - on request

Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week here and the reason I have given 4 for location is that the local area for dog walking is very limited. We loved watching the river activity and the garden and decking were ideal. Tina was extremely friendly and helpful.



wonderful stay at river view

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
wonderful holiday in a lovely plave on the broads River View cou;dnt have been better comfortable and everything you need Thank you for a wonderful stay.



Tina replied 11 days ago
Thank you for giving River View a 5* review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us for your holiday. All the best, Tina :)

1st time visiting the broads

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay at river view. The lodge has everything we needed and great sunset view of the river. Highly recommended



Tina replied 11 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review River View. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. It was lovely to meet you both and the girls! And thank you for the gorgeous photos of your holiday for me to use on socials - much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Tina :)

Wonderful retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you need to relax and watch the world go by on the water this is the place. Lots of bird life, Marsh harriers, Grebes, swans and garden birds.



A hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
1st time stay at River View and we were well impressed, nice big frontage as you go through the gate, once inside the lodge it becomes clear as to why this holiday home is so popular, everything is laid out so well. living room,bathroom and bedrooms are lovely.nice outside decking area to sit and watch the world go by ( weather permitting ) great team running the site especially Tina ( manager ) and Chris the maintenance man. We stayed for 2 weeks and loved it. Would definitely stay again.



Tina replied 69 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review River View so highly. It means a lot to us that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you all back to Brundall in the summer! All the best, Tina :)

Disappointed

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2023
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
4.0
multi fuel burner not working we had no notification of this. We felt the decking was not very secure as we have a small dog.The heating was not very clear to operate and the towel rail was not working.



Tina replied 195 days ago
Apologies about the fuel burner, this should have been notified as you have stated. We have offered compensation as a gesture of good will. With regard to the terrace decking, we understand that the problem was the drop down into the garden for your small dog. The photos clearly show the terrace and that it has gaps in the surround, there is also open water at the end of the garden as stated in the descriptions. It would be up to the dog owner, based on the information provided, to ascertain if it was suitable for their particular dog and to ask questions if unsure prior to booking. The heating instructions are in the lodge - turning up and down are up and down arrows on the individual radiators - We will take a look and see if the instructions can be simplified, thank you for your feedback. We had checked in with you twice whilst you were here and you did not respond so we assumed that all was well. We could have visited and explained the heating and we could have tried to sort out the towel rail - that is now being fixed this week. Communication whilst you are having issues is best so that we can try to resolve them straight away and ensure a happy holiday. If we don't know you are having issues, we can't fix anything. We are sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion.

Beautiful Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A really lovely weekend stay with my husband and 84 year old father in law.
They are keen on fishing so a perfect spot to settle in one place for the stay and fish from the garden. For me I could relax, enjoy the lovely view, watch them fish and the boats go by in comfort whilst still having the luxury of the lodge at hand. Perfect!
A nice warm welcoming lodge thats in excellent condition, spotlessly clean and has everything in it you would need inc some tea, coffee, biscuits, sugar, milk and cleaning basics. Appliances, accessories and furniture are of good quality and the sofas are nice and comfy.
Good size bathroom with lovely large walk-in shower (the window could do with a blind/cover). Shame the heated towel rail wasn’t working as had to use the above wall fan heater for the towels to dry.
Comfortable beds with lovely soft fresh bedding. All slept very well .
Has a very large parking area.
Received a message from Tina the owner to check all was in order and could contact her with any queries or concerns.

The only downside is, if you’re staying at the lodge with intent of fishing from the garden then be prepared as when it’s high tide (which was every day we were there) the garden floods. The water covers the decking on the rivers edge and works its way back up the garden. Sadly of course this stopped the fishing and all equipment had to be removed ☹️
That decking needs raising like the neighbours to prevent this problem and could also do with some sort of anti slip protection on its surface.
We had a lovely weekend and would definitely recommend a stay.

Thank you






Tina replied 220 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a good stay at River View. It was so unfortunate you were here in exceptional weather circumstances. This is not a usual occurrence even at high tide so we are sorry that you experienced this. Thank you for recommending River View. Your feedback is important to us to improve in any way we can so thank you. All the best, Tina :)

Simply Beautiful!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time staying here definitely will not be the last! Lovely accommodation, everything was perfect.



Tina replied 220 days ago
That's wonderful! It was great to meet you and thank you for choosing River View! We are so pleased you had a lovely time and hope to see you again! Best wishes, Tina :)

River view

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location, very comfortable break, very quiet area, good access to various places. Good food places nearby



Tina replied 249 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review River View. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Tina :)

Average property great location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location and generally comfortable but short of a few things both in the cottage and outside, some helpful for living, some more safety related, this was brought to the owners attention and they have taken this onboard so should make a big difference.
Clean mostly but things like windows and outside not cleaned, grass wasn't cut when we arrived and didn't get cut until the day before we left, also brambles overhanging the steps down from the decking (also sorted when we brought it to the owners attention). Freezer could have been cleaner & dishwasher smelled, crockery was a little dusty. Double bed mattress gave us both back ache so could do with a new mattress.
All small easy things to sort out and I am sure the owners will which will make it a great place, hence the slightly lower star ratings but when you pay £1,400 for a week you expect it to be perfect.
We would recommend but subject to our comments to the owners being sorted out and upgrades being made.




Tina replied 258 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and we appreciate your comments. We have taken steps to improve already after your comments left in the lodge. The only "safety" issue you referred to in our correspondence was contrast nosings on the decking and front steps. This will be done as soon as possible. As advised, the grass is usually cut weekly, unfortunately we were unable to do this just before your arrival on this one occasion and so it had just gone a week - this is not a regular occurrence and we have noted to check for brambles around the side more thoroughly. I have brought your comments regarding the cleaning to our housekeepers attention as this is also irregular - please see previous reviews. We are sorry you had an uncomfortable sleep, we have not had any previous complaints and mattresses are a difficult thing to get right for everybody, however, I will look to getting it replaced. Larger bowls have been added and a lamp for more subtle lighting as suggested. We take all comments very seriously and will do what we can always to enhance our guests experience. We are pleased you enjoyed the location. All the best, Tina :)

A superb week.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had what was probably our best UK holiday ever at River View during a week in August this year. The cottage is very well appointed with comfortable furnishings throughout and a kitchen equipped with quality appliances. The pictures tell it all and what you see on the website is what you get for real. The location is perfect with easy access to numerous places of interest including Norwich just 6 miles away. There are many eating places within a short drive although we chose to eat in most nights, just for the sheer pleasure of dining out beside the river, Whether fishing or just sitting watching the boats go by the week was incredibly relaxing and for us the perfect holiday Thanks to Norfolk Holiday Cottages and in particular Tina for a worthy week on the Broads.




Tina replied 264 days ago
Thank you for your kind words! We are so pleased you had a wonderful time and found River View and the area a great place to stay. It means a lot to us and we hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Tina :)

Idyllic stay at River View

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at River View was idyllic, we have now stayed twice September 2022 and July 2023 and on both occasions enjoyed our stay enormously. The accommodation is exactly as pictured/described and that is always a big plus for me, we had everything we needed and the icing on the cake was the gorgeous view. My husband enjoyed the fishing at the end of the garden (actually caught some good weights) and being positioned on the river close to the marina’s made interesting viewing. Brundall is very well situated to get out and about to visit the attractions of Norfolk and very close to Norwich with the train station more or less on your doorstep, it’s a very good base.



Tina replied 264 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to say such kind things about River View and the location. We are so pleased you had successful fishing and enjoyed your stay again this year. I hope we will be able to welcome you back again. All the best, Tina :)

We’ll be back

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at River View was one of our best holidays ever. The lodge was lovely and the view second to none. We went out every day but couldn’t wait to get back to our lodge and sit out on our decking watching the river and the amazing wild birds, unbelievable. Thank you to the lovely Tina for making this possible



Tina replied 286 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased you had such a wonderful time and managed to explore the area as well as relax. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Thank you also for the chocs, gratefully received ;) All the best, Tina :)

Beautiful holiday lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Riverview was absolutely perfect. Had everything needed for a self catering holiday. The beds were the most comfortable I have ever had in a holiday let with lovely pillows and duvet. The whole lodge was furnished to a high standard. Lovely peaceful location yet close to all amenities. Met “Tina” who manages the lodges and she was very helpful and friendly.



Tina replied 286 days ago
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! it means a lot to us that you have taken the time to submit such lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you next year! Take care, Tina :)

Riverside break

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was spot on, the accommodation was superb. Tina, the holiday lodge manager was very helpful, very friendly and a pleasure to meet. Have already booked for next year.



Tina replied 333 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was so nice to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back next year! All the best, Tina :)

Great view

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was in a lovely location with a high level finish. It was let down however by the lack of utensils in the kitchen and thought of what would be needed for a weeks stay. More of everything was needed plus additional items such as grater and larger bowls.



Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely break, great customer service, brilliant staff and River View was a peaceful and relaxing place to stay.



Tina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so happy you had a relaxing time and we hope to see you again in the future. All the best Tina :)