FB Twitter

River Retreat

River Retreat

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.5
Location
4.5
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.6


Newly renovated riverside holiday accommodation, set on the water’s edge at Brundall in the Norfolk Broads. This delightful detached holiday lodge is comfortably furnished throughout with a well-equipped fitted kitchen. Set in a peaceful location, the living room doors open onto the sun verandah and own private garden with seating furniture, ideal for relaxing in, soaking up the sun and watching the boats pass by. There is private quay headed mooring for a motor launch and this location is perfect for river fishing. The lodges are located in the village of Brundall, an ideal touring base and the centre for boat building and boat hire, and which has its own railway station, shop/post office, mini-market, hairdresser, Chinese takeaway, fish and chips shop, fine restaurant and local pubs all serving good food; one is just across the river, and one is within a short stroll.

Features
Detached Property
Ground Floor Facilities (steps into property)
Garden / Patio fenced, open water unfenced
Highchair on request
Pub within 1 mile
Rural Location
WiFi
Cot Available on request
Washing Machine
Dishwasher
Fishing On-site
Open Plan
Parking - On Site 2 cars
Walk in shower
Waterside Breaks
Station within 1 mile - easy access to city and beach
Pet friendly - Max 2 dogs £30 charge per pet applies

Perfect quality service and quality

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location and a splendid well maintained property. The service and cleanliness of the property was exceptional. The weather was not good during our visit, but the property quality made the visit very comfortable. Thank You Tina and your team for your very professional service. Will stay again.



Tina replied 25 days ago
Thank you for your 5 star review and kind words. It was great having you stay and bring your lovely boat around to moor outside. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to having you back in the future. All the best, Tina :)

Perfect short break with friends

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean, comfortable and well-equipped lodge, providing everything we needed for a short break. Would stay again.



Tina replied 131 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to see you again in the future! All the best, Tina :)

Our happy place!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic stay at River Retreat. We stayed last year just as NHL took over and what a transformation! The lodge has now had a refurb and is amazing. It looks, feels and smells loved. Everything is brand new.
We decided to have a last minute get away and wanted to go back to Brundall as it has become like a second home to us. Booking was very easy and quick.
Having the river at the end of the garden is perfect, we were fishing most of the day, watching the boats go by, wildlife, ducks, swans herons etc.we even had a daily visit from a robin.
Its so peaceful and quiet.
Tina, the manager, is amazing, calling round to make sure everything was ok and if we needed anything. The whole team have worked so hard to bring the lodges back to life.
The coffee, tea and biscuits on arrival was just what we needed after a long journey.
We have everything we need at Brundall, chippy, pubs, chinese takeaway, pizza place, chemist, 2 coops, a hardware shop that sells anything you will ever need.
Also, we noticed you can now hire day boats and paddleboardsfrom a little shed near the pub called the cut. We may try them out next summer.
We didnt want to leave but will be back at Nature's nook very soon.
Thank you so much Tina for the personal touch and always been available.




Tina replied 264 days ago
It was so lovely to have you both back again! Thank you for your lovely, helpful & detailed review, it means a lot to us and is useful for future guests. I look forward to seeing you again in October! All the best, Tina :)

Nice upgrade, great spot

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at River Retreat and we were very impressed with the upgrade to the accommodation. The kitchen is now fit for purpose (although could use some extra plates etc) and everything worked very well. The lodge was spotlessly clean although there was a minor ant issue which we were informed of on arrival and was being dealt with, sometimes these things happen!

You can’t beat it as a quiet spot to relax and do a bit of fishing. The White Heron pub has also had a makeover which has helped and having the train station direct into Norwich and Yarmouth a few hundred metres away is great on any less pleasant weather days. Beaches and theme parks are but a short journey in the car. Local chippy is good.

It has definitely gone up in price since our last visit but is still good value and I’m sure we’ll be back.




Tina replied 264 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review River Retreat. We appreciate the feedback and are happy that you were pleased with all of the upgrades to the lodge and the whole marina site. The ants are gone now thankfully! It was nice to meet you all and we are pleased you all had a good time. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. All the best, Tina :)

Another great stay at River Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at River Retreat and we have had another lovely week. Since last year the property has been renovated and it has been done out really nicely with a new kitchen, large TV and furniture throughout. The location is great and it is so relaxing sitting by the river watching the wildlife and boats go by. We have our own boat moored in Brundall so it has been nice being able to have it at the property throughout the week we were there. We will definitely be back.

The property is well equipped and very comfortable. Good parking at the lodge. Good for fishing. Brundall centre is not far away and there are two Co-ops with all the essentials you may need, an Indian restaurant (which we can recommend), a Chinese take away, Pizza takeaway, the Ram Inn pub in the village and The White Heron pub and East Hills Deli cafe which is close to the property. The train station is in walking distance for access in to Norwich or Great Yarmouth and Lowestoft.

Communication with Norfolk Holiday Lodges was very good.

Make sure you take some duck and swan food so you can feed all the feathery visitors on the river! (you can buy some in the hardware shop in the village).




Tina replied 286 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great time and that you were happy with all the upgrades since last year. Thank you also for putting some helpful information in your comments, this helps other people to have an understanding of where we are and what is in the area so we appreciate you taking the time to do this. We hope to welcome you back in the future. We have a new 3 bedroom coming on the main river soon so keep your eyes peeled for updates on that one too. All the best, Tina :)

Wonderful stay at River Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful week staying at River Retreat, accomodation was excellent and the location fabulous! Being able to launch kayaks and paddle boards direct from the garden was brilliant, and we all enjoyed watching the wildlife and the boats on the river. Would happily stay again and recommend to others.



Tina replied 357 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review! We are pleased you had lots of fun on the water and we hope to welcome you back again. All the best, Tina.

Absolutely loved it

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A1 on every way. Cant find fault. We have already booked a return visit. Place and location are superb




Tina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the 5 star review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to River Retreat in the summer. See you soon! Tina :)

Very relaxing break at River Retreat 17th - 21st April 2023 - Andrew & Deb

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the outset of the booking process Tina was exceptionally helpful and obliging and upon arrival we were greeted by her and shown to the lodge. The lodge is newly refurbished to a very nice standard and is idyllic located with 3 other lodges on their own marina right by the river with plenty of space around it for parking, outdoor seating etc. Our break was for over four nights with another couple and we all found the lodge to be warm, comfortable and very well equipped with everything needed for an enjoyable stay.
During our stay we did some very nice walks on the broads, visited the bird sanctuary at Strumpshaw and hired a boat and went to Norwich via the river Yare. In the evening we found the local pubs and Chinese takeaway all served good wholesome value for money food.
In summary, an excellent relaxing break at the lovely River Retreat lodge in a beautiful, tranquil and peaceful location. Many thanks to the hosts and we hope to be back soon.




Tina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you all for choosing to stay at River Retreat and for leaving us a lovely review. It is very much appreciated. I hope we will welcome you back in the future. All the best, Tina :)

Valentines

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was great for relaxing and fishing with a pup 5 minutes away it couldn't be better. The property is furnished to a high standard with everything you could possibly need and on arrival we enjoyed the complimentary bottle of prosecco. The beds were really comfortable and made our stay so relaxing.
Thanks so much!




Tina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, it is much appreciated. It was nice to meet you both and we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again in the future! All the best, Tina.

Last minute break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 4 night break at River Retreat in February. What a gem it is with a wonderful garden. Very helpful staff . Who ordered the sun for us and it did shine . A nice extra was the tea and coffee and treats for our dog ty.



Tina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review. We are pleased you had a lovely time and the sun shone (she didn't let me down!). Our brand new sofas have now arrived adding to the comfort, I'm just sorry they hadn't arrived in time for your holiday. We do hope to see you again in the future! All the best, Tina.

Christmas family break

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Many thanks to Tina who managed to make our two properties absolutely perfect including Christmas trees ! Above and beyond many thanks



Tina replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope we will see you again in the future. Happy New Year to you all!