FB Twitter

River Bay

River Bay

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Set on the water’s edge at Brundall in the Norfolk Broads, Ideal Tourist Base.

Modern and spacious with fabulous reviews and lots of repeat bookings!

River Bay is nestled in a small marina with private quay headed moorings for lodge guests use only. Located in a river basin fed from the River Yare, a good spot for fishing from the garden, relaxing, watching the boats pass the top of the marina to and from the river and spotting the wildlife activity.

This quiet and tranquil location is perfect to get into the quieter waters with your own boat, kayak or paddle board from our slipway. Bring your own boat and moor directly outside!

Boat and paddle board (in season) hire is available locally and we highly recommend exploring the Norfolk Broads from this idyllic location – pre booking with a local company is advised.

Situated in the village of Brundall, the centre for boat building and boat hire, which has its own railway station, shop/post office, mini-market, hairdresser, Chinese takeaway, fish and chip shop, Indian restaurant, Seafood bistro/restaurant & bakery (in season) and local pubs serving good food.

The train station is just a stroll away with links to the city of Norwich for shopping, sightseeing and history or Great Yarmouth for an ice-cream on the beach and all the fun at the Pleasure Beach with it's rides and amusements to keep all the family happy.

Exploring the countryside and coastline is easy by car. Quaint towns, villages and beautiful beaches are close by, as are an abundance of family attractions and beauty spots to suit everyone. Please see our information page for many other local attractions.

A wonderful lodge, perfect for fishing and a Broads holiday. Very accessible for wheelchair user.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had a very enjoyable short break at River Bay. As a wheelchair user the access was very good and access to fishing very good. Only suggestions would be - if you need it - we took a frame for the toilet and raised toilet seat as not provided. Also bed raisers as bed a little low. A spare toilet roll was not provided although the co-op was nearby. I was unable to work out how to work the hob( that’s probably my fault) so a small instruction sheet could be useful. But overall a superb lodge and perfect for a break on the Broads.



Tina replied 231 days ago
Thank you so much for your 5* review! It means a lot to us. There should be instructions in the drawer for the hob so I'll check out where that has disappeared to and replace. It's an induction hob so your pan has to be placed on the hob for it to work. I am always available for any queries and concerns :) We appreciate your helpful and kind feedback and are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at River Bay. I hope we will welcome you back in the future. All the best, Tina

Perfect for the Broads

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A clean, spacious, well equipped lodge in the ideal location for exploring the broads. Mooring our boat immediately outside the front door was wonderful . The Holiday Lodge Manager was extremely helpful and with a short walk to the pub providing meals and shops within a two minute drive, everything was perfect for us.



Tina replied 238 days ago
Thank you for your 5* review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and got a couple of outings in the gorgeous "Lady Felsham". We hope you will return again. All the best, Tina :)

Beautiful Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the easy access onto the plot. Upon entering the property we found a large living space and kitchen and much bigger than it looks in the pictures. We booked a four night stay and wished we could have stayed longer. the accommodation was comfortable and we liked the decor and found plenty of outside space.



Tina replied 241 days ago
Thank you for your 5* review! It was lovely to meet you and we are pleased you had an enjoyable stay. I hope to see you again! Best wishes, Tina :)

so special

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a great stay at river view. Clean comfortable and everything you need. we go to norfolk every year and this is the best we have ever stayed in



Tina replied 251 days ago
Thank you for your 5 star review! We are happy you had a great time and what a compliment! thank you! It was lovely meeting you and I hope we see you again! All the best, Tina :)

Wonderful stay beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing stay in River Bay Lodge everything was provided with thought and consideration for everyone to have an excellent staycation even down to our dog (welcome treats), welcome biscuits and a selection of tea bags coffee etc, the furnishings were lovely, the whole package was great the Manager Tina is very friendly, bubbly and kind thank you Tina for an amazing stay - we shall return and definitely recommend




Tina replied 265 days ago
Thank you for your kind review! It was lovely to meet you all, we are happy you had a great time and Fella enjoyed his treats! Thank you also for the Ferry Lodge updates as it was going in - I had eyes everywhere :D, it was great you had the boat to get out on the river to explore. I look forward to seeing you all again in the future, all the best, Tina :)

A week well spent

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accompanying my elderly mother to this beautifully peaceful lodge could not have been more apt for my husband and I and indeed my mother. The lodge accommodation was everything we needed for hers and our comfort. It provided all the necessary kitchen equipment and facilities, was laid out well, furnished and accessorized with taste. very nice attention to detail. Accessibility was key which the lodge provided inside and around the outside right up to the waters. edge. The driveway from the lodge to the road was beautifully pebbled though was a little uncomfortable for my mother when in her wheelchair rather than the car.
A couple of minor repairs came to our attention, though nothing affecting our stay, were dealt with immediately without any fuss.
A truly lovely week. Thank you.






Tina replied 270 days ago
Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to meet you all and we are pleased you had a pleasant stay. I hope we will see you again in the future. all the best, Tina :)

Excellent base for local wildlife

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent 2 weeks at River Bay using it as base to explore the local nature reserves and other wildlife attractions. These included many visitors to the marina including heron, Egyptian Geese, swans, terns to name but a few. The accommodation was spotless when we moved in and was well appointed. The wi-fi was excellent and allowed for good planning of the next days excursions. One very minor irritant, a tea pot would have been brilliant for those early morning brews but aside from that couldn't really fault it. Would definitely consider staying there again if we decide to return to that area.



Tina replied 285 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you. We are so pleased you had a great stay and explored the local area. We hope to see you again in the future, all the best, Tina :)

Could not fault the accommodation, fully furnished, neat tidy,

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay, we have had many stays in various places, this is one you do not want to leave. Great break,



Tina replied 307 days ago
Thank you for your lovely comments, it means a lot to us that you had a great time. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Tina :)

Exceptionally well presented inside and out like new..

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceptionally well presented inside and out like like we were the 1st to use it couldn't have been better presented.
The concrete standing for the car made it easier for us
The fishing was excellent despite the Heron catching some Roach too one day there was a Kingfisher on the steel hoops outside the boathouse.

Mark from Kent




Tina replied 307 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of River Bay. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay, managed some great fishing and saw the Kingfisher as well as Harold Heron. It was so nice to see you both again. I hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Tina :)

Wow just wow

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I along with our dog, spent a perfect few days at River Bay. The lodge is beautiful, spotlessly clean and has everything that you need. Tina is a very lovely lady and will be available if you should need her. Biscuits were left for us and a packet of treats for our dog. Ty says thank you very much for his treats and his lovely stay by the river. We definitely more than echo this. Thank you Tina so much, we couldn't have asked for more. We also met the lovely gentleman who cuts the grass etc, he is also very nice. THANK YOU again, we will return.



Tina replied 343 days ago
Thank you for choosing River Bay for your break. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and it was lovely to meet the 3 of you. We look forward to seeing you again in the future (P.S - I've ordered the footstool!) All the best, Tina :)

River bay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our lodge had everything you needed. It really was home from home Tina and team were lovely. Nothing was to much trouble. We will be back



Tina replied 348 days ago
Thank you for your 5* review, it means so much to us that you had an enjoyable stay and took the time to share a review of River Bay. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope to see you again in the future, with Vinny next time! All the best, Tina :)

A great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't recommend this company high enough. From booking to arrival it was a smooth and easy process with any questions we had answered swiftly. The accommodation was spotlessly clean modern with everything you need provided. The location is perfect for a relaxing holiday with a pub, restaurant and the train station within a short walk. You can fish literally from your doorstep and many fish were caught during our stay. The staff were above and beyond. We will definitely use them again.



Tina replied 354 days ago
Thank you for your amazing review. It was nice to meet you and we appreciate you taking the time with such kind words. We look forward to seeing you again! All the best, Tina :)

Lovely Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at River Bay. The lodge has a great location, well spaced, idyllic setting, a good degree of privacy and in pristine condition. The lodge itself was faultless, exceptional level of cleanliness , tastefully furnished and spacious. The staff were also very friendly, polite and helpful. We look forward to rebooking in the near future.



Tina replied 364 days ago
Thank you for your positive review. We are so happy you had a good time. It was lovely meeting you both and your gorgeous dogs and we hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Tina.