FB Twitter

Lacet Cottage

Lacet Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


A TRADITIONAL COTTAGE WITH LAKELAND VIEWS AND OPEN-PLAN LIVING SPACES

Originally built as two cottages, Lacet Cottage has been refurbished to create spacious, open-plan living spaces with heritage features. The tranquil spot is just minutes from Ullswater by car and has a whole host of walks right from the front door.

The interior of the 19th-century building is calm and contemporary with splashes of colour to mirror the colours of the Lake District landscape. Each room has an eclectic mix of modern furniture and antique pieces and pictures (borrowed from Hutton John), paired with bold fabrics and colours.

Although the smallest of our cottages, it can comfortably accommodate up to four people and one dog so is perfect for small families or couples. It has two bedrooms (one with a feature roll-top bath), an open-plan kitchen diner, a cosy snug, a separate living room with a log burner and TV, a boot room and separate utility area, and two private gardens.

Thank you Kate and the team.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another lovely stay at Lacet, beautiful location and so peaceful. We enjoyed our stay so much that we didn’t want to come home!



Kate replied 15 days ago
Thank you Mary for taking the time to write a review. It’s always a pleasure to have a guest like you at Lacet and it makes us happy that you keep coming back. We hope to see you there again very soon! All the best, Kate and the team.

Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were so happy with our stay at Lacet Cottage. It was so gorgeous and very clean, and so well laid out for dogs as well (the door at the bottom of the stairs was so useful to keep the dogs contained). The bed (we only used one) was very comfortable and shower felt very luxury. The kitchen was very well equipped for cooking which was important with the cottage being fairly remote - we cooked dinner at home every evening for the week we were there.

The gardens were really lovely and we loved the sheep and cows in the neighbouring fields. The gardens aren't fully enclosed, we'd brought long lines so this wasn't an issue but it's good to know if you're bringing dogs.

We'd love to come back and stay again!




Kate replied 259 days ago
Lacet is a lovely cottage, made more so by the presence of the red squirrels! But I’m biased. We really do appreciate guests taking the time to give feedback, many thanks.

Lovely cottage in quiet location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second year of staying in this beautifully equipped cottage at the top of Ullswater. Ideal for all the Northern Lake walks and within easy reach of Keswick and Penrith . Very comfortable rooms and well equipped kitchen. Owners kept us well informed and gave us plenty of useful tips on places to visit and eat. Plenty of low level walking from the front door. Really peaceful and restful cottage.
Only comment is that the bedrooms are pretty warm even with the windows open so a fan would be nice if weather gets very hot .Otherwise we have nothing but good things to say about Lacet Cottage.




Kate replied 278 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review.

Peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best cottage we have ever stayed in. Couldn’t find fault with anything. It was well equipped with all the appliances you could need. The showers were excellent along with the feature bath in one of the amazing bedrooms. The king size bed was so comfortable it was hard getting out of it in the mornings. We had visits from the red squirrels numerous times each day along with woodpeckers and a whole array of different birds. We really didn’t want to leave. Book now you won’t regret it.




Absolute Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lacet cottage has the most amazing private location and its condition is a credit to its owners. Beautiful gardens with red squirrels visiting each day. The property was very well maintained and spotlessly clean. We will be back.



Fantastic cottage near Ullswater - known by us affectionately as red squirrel cottage!!

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sparkly clean, comfortable cottage and the fact we've stayed multiple times and I think many guests do tells you all you need to know!

For first time we've visited a repair was needed and couldn't have been more impressed with how quickly it was addressed.

Area is beautiful and if you want to feed wildlife you can watch them all on feeders just outside kitchen window. We saw red squirrels and loads of birds e.g. woodpecker, nut hatch, finches etc




A wonderful stay! A gem in the lane district!

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in the Lake District 7 times, in 7 different airbnbs, this was the best house we’ve ever stayed in! A wonderful relaxing house with lots of character. The garden was brilliant, our dog loved it! The house had everything we needed at a high quality. We have booked to return in April because it was that relaxing!

My only feedback is there wasn’t any cleaning equipment, only 1 cloth to last for 5 days and only bleach spray so after a few days the house felt quite dirty. Due to being over Christmas shops werent open so we were unable to buy our own bits. We will bring more cleaning stuff next time we come to make sure we can keep the house as clean as it was when we arrived.




Jamie, Sarah & Murphy

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Proactive helpful contact, excellent set up, both in terms of the grounds and design of the building. Picture postcard cottage with beautiful secure gardens. Underfloor heating was perfect. Murphy loved the kitchen window seat looking out into the garden. Thoroughly enjoyed the visit and would love to return. Good jump off point for all the wonders the Lakes has to offer. Dog friendly, door access to upstairs to keep it an adult only sanctuary! Boot room was a big plus.