FB Twitter

Home Farm House

Home Farm House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


A 19TH-CENTURY GATEHOUSE WITH VIEWS OF LITTLE MELL FELL

Home Farm House was built in 1849 by Andrew Fleming Hudleston as the gatehouse to the Estate and was part of a working farm. Restored and refurbished in 2017, the house sits in its own grounds with space to sit and enjoy views of Little Mell Fell and beyond.

The old traditional features of this house blend seamlessly with a high-quality modern finish, whilst retaining so much of the original character. This traditional Lakeland farmhouse has been carefully reconfigured to create a beautiful holiday getaway offering space for up to six people and two dogs to relax, socialise with friends or enjoy quality family time together.

The farmhouse has three bedrooms (one of which is ground floor), a large open-plan kitchen diner, a cosy snug, a separate living room with a log burner and TV, a utility area, and a large private garden with a sizeable lawn, ideal for family games, mature shrubs and bushes and, an area (next to the woods) to encourage wildlife.

Beautiful house in a stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Home farm was a home from home! Perfect in every respect and a great base to explore the surrounding countryside. The hot tub was an added bonus after all the walking and climbing! Kate and the team made us feel incredibly welcome and we look forward to returning for more family adventures.



Can’t wait to come back

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rebooked whilst we were still there, wonderful cottage and can’t wait to come back! Spotlessly clean and had everything you could ask for.



Kate replied 33 days ago
Hello Georgie, Thanks so much for your review. We know we must be doing something right when guests want to return, we look forward to seeing you again! All the best, Kate and the team.

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed staying at Home Farm. It was warm, comfortable and spacious. Great views and convenient for the northern lakes and the Lowther valley.



Kate replied 126 days ago
Hello Mark, It was lovely to welcome you back and we are so pleased you really enjoyed staying at Home Farm. We hope to see you again very soon. All the best, Kate and the rest of the team,

A very impressive holiday location

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very well-restored period house, beutifully presented and very well equipped. It's in a rural location but not too isolated and very suitable for dog-accompanied holiday makers. It's a very beautiful part of the lakes, with easy access to the fells and coast, as well as Carlisle, Keswick and Penrith.
Overall, an excellent choice.




A wonderful house in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed three days in the Lakes and found the house to be comfortable, warm and well located.
Our communication with Kate was very good and she was helpful and responsive. We would definitely like to return.




Family break in late September 2023.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location between Penrith and Keswick, with plenty of attractions to visit within a short drive away.
Accomodation was clean and comfortable and the welcome pack was a nice touch.
The requested highchairs were provided for the young ones
Heating and hot water in abundance, kitchen had everything we needed with modern utility appliances.
The large garden was greatly enjoyed by our 2 dogs under supervision, but care should be taken since the perimeter wasn't entirely secure and sheep sometimes wandered down to the adjoining field.
Vehicle access is tight and care should be taken when pulling out onto the road.
Mobile signal and internet access were intermittent, but adequate for our stay.
I'm 6ft tall - anyone 6'2" and taller should be mindful of the low beams in the kitchen area.
For the golfers there is a driving range @ 3miles back along the A6 towards Penrith and a couple of 18 hole courses nearby.
Overall we had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday at Home Farm House and would recommend it as an ideal place to
stay and venture out into the Lake District.





Kate replied 253 days ago
Thank you for your comprehensive review, I’m sure other guests will find it useful. There are are sheep in the fields at the back of the house. I don’t think any sheep got in to the garden, I would have been able to sort that for you if they had. The WiFi is the best we can get, I’m afraid but I appreciate it’s not like in the cities. All the best, Kate.

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Home Farm House. We only stayed two nights, next time we will stay much longer.
Excellent and friendly service. Loved that they had a seperate washer and dryer, and a large fridge, which is unusual in the UK I have found. Love the Squirrel food too :). Highly recommend a stay here. Look forward to returning in the future.




Kate replied 271 days ago
We provide squirrel food as we are lucky enough to have reds! So pleased you were able to see one as they can be elusive and I know you travelled a long way to visit the Lakes. Thank you for your lovely comments. We’d love to welcome you back again for a longer visit. All the best, Kate and the team.

A beautiful stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a beautiful 10 days with our family, 6 adults and 19 month old granddaughter. Really appreciated the series of emails from Kate in the run up to our stay, each with lots of information of places to visit, activities and recommendations of places to eat, all with links for further information. Kate was brilliant in replying to any queries we had prior to our arrival. The house was beautiful and well equipped with everything you could want or need during your stay and we really appreciated the welcome basket of goodies and some milk so we could have a cuppa after our 6 hour drive. The fizz was an added bonus which we cracked open when the rest of the family arrived. (Sainsbury's will deliver from their Penrith store so that was helpful to book for the evening of our arrival.) The house was a great location with easy access to A66 to the North Lakes. Kate very kindly dropped by to check we had everything we needed and even offered a laundry change as our stay was a little longer. It was so peaceful with nature all around, sheep in a field at the bottom of the garden and visits from two red squirrels hopping around the garden which our granddaughter loved and would top up their nut box under the tree in the garden! It was a shame the weather was a little wet but we came prepared and it didn't stop us going out everyday to walk and explore the stunning area. If there was anything at all I had to point out, it would be that if all guests were showering in the morning, it would be worth increasing the hot water time on the boiler for little longer, we had a couple of mornings where it went cold for someone! The final thing we noticed was there was dog fur down the outside of one of chairs where a previous four legged visitor had been lying! I'm sure this was overlooked in the cleaning and it wasn't a problem at all for us as we've had a very hairy Retriever in our family and are used to fur and dogs but it may have been an issue for someone else if allergic to dog fur. Otherwise, the house was beautifully spotless, the beds were so comfortable and I had the best nights sleep in a long time! Would love to return in the future to the house or one of Kate's other properties. Thank you Kate.



Kate replied 271 days ago
Thank you for your comprehensive review! Just a note that if you would like the water on for longer I could have sorted that for you. We don’t usually have a problem with this, but we don’t want guests having cold showers!! Hopefully next time when you visit the weather will be better for you. I wish I could guarantee it. All the best, Kate and the team.

Wonderful Lake District cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Home Farm cottage. It was a lovely house in a beautiful quiet area away from the crowds, yet within driving distance of lots of the Lake District. We would highly recommend it and would love to stay there again.



Kate replied 334 days ago
What a lovely review, thank you for your positive feedback!

Quiet sanctuary on the edge of the park

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An attractive house, with good parking and a good sized garden. It's well thought out & equipped - three good bedrooms - all very comfortable, three good bathrooms - excellent showers. Being on the edge of the national park it's a very quiet spot with lovely views but with easy access to much of the lakes without the crowds and hassle. After a hard day's walking the garden was perfect for a glass of wine with friends sitting in the evening sun. Great support from Kate and team.