FB Twitter

Highgate

Highgate

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


A HERITAGE FARMHOUSE NESTLED WITHIN FIELDS

Highgate was built in 1770 by Andrew “the Counsellor” Hudleston. It was sizable and quite grand for a farmhouse in the 18th century and makes for a very spacious house, fully modernised and lovingly restored in 2018. The large house stands on the edge of a small working farm with transport links close by, combining Cumbrian life with easy access to Penrith and Keswick.

The interior is neutral and contemporary with period features throughout and a stone grey colour palette to reflect the native Lake District Herdwick Sheep. The largest of our self-catering cottages, Highgate is designed to accommodate big families and group get-togethers.

With space to sleep ten people and two dogs, the farmhouse has five bedrooms (one of which is ground floor with a shower room), an open-plan kitchen, dining room, a large family room with TV, separate sitting with log burner, a boot room, utility area and a large garden.

Wonderful property

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a large family gathering over new year.
It was wonderful. A well equipped house with nearly everything we could have asked for, we all had a fabulous time. It was perfectly clean and everything worked as it should, heating, shower,kitchen etc. I would definitely return.
Minor issue with the cooking pans had obviously been abused in the past and the only other thing is because of its location you have to drive away to get a walk. You cannot walk directly from the house. Too close to the busy road and the fields around were far too wet and muddy, don't attempt too without proper wellies.
These did not detract from our stay.




Kate replied 107 days ago
Hello Malcom, Thank you for your kind review. I will definitely let housekeeping know you thought the house was clean. Its always good to be appreciated! Housekeeping hadn’t mentioned anything to me about the pans, but I’ll make sure to have a look at them. Thanks for letting me know. Just for any guests reading the review. You can walk from Highgate to Dacre and visit the Horse and Farrier if you fancy a drink or a meal. It’s been so very wet everywhere in the country in the last few weeks, we’ve got off lightly as Cumbria hasn’t flooded. My family did the walk to the pub in Dacre too over Christmas, but just made sure to wrap up and wear the right footwear. We hope to see and the your family again, all the best, Kate and team.

There's a good reason that we keep coming back...

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Highgate. We have come for the past few years for a family get together and celebrate birthdays. As always, the house is clean, tidy, warm and comfortable. It is slightly outside of the Lake District itself, which means it is easy to reach and less busy - however it is very easy to get to Ulswater, the Lake District, and explored the surrounding areas. The house is very well stocked, very homely, and the welcome basket on arrival a lovely way to start the holiday. We would definitely recommend and hope to come again



Kate replied 185 days ago
It was so good to read this review today. We really do appreciate the fact that we have lots of repeat guests, which is great in itself. However you’ve taken the time toe write a review, we hope to see you and your family again next year! All the very best, Kate.

Great place for a family get together

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent the week here with family for a big birthday celebration. So much room for everyone. No queueing for the loo or a shower in the mornings!
Two sitting rooms, so always somewhere to go for some peace and quiet if required.
Downstairs bedroom was ideal floor anyone with slight mobility issues as there was just the one step to deal with into the room.
All five bedrooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable.
Dining room accommodated ten people easily.
Only a couple of minor things we’d have liked differently but these in no way detracted from our stay. Ideally an additional small under counter fridge in the kitchen would have been handy for milk when making a cuppa and a dressing table with seat and mirror would have been perfect in at least a couple of the bedrooms. As I said, these are tweaks and in no way a deal breaker.
The kitchen was huge and the stools at the island made for a great talking place.
There was parking available for five cars, all under cover. Very handy!
The washer and drier in the utility room were good quality and the only radiator we needed in the whole week was in there to dry clothes on the drying rack supplied. The house was very cozy!
Unfortunately we didn’t get the best weather the week we stayed but the fact that there was so much space and people could disappear to their own private spaces prevented anyone going stir crazy!
The two Labradors had a great time too!




Kate replied 212 days ago
When I met you, you said it was a stay for a big birthday, so I’m so pleased you all had an enjoyable time. I’ll have a think about a dressing table. Although the rooms are spacious, because of the built-in wardrobes, and drawers, I think only the main bedroom might have enough space for a dressing table. Thank you for the lovely review and fingers crossed next time you come, the weather is a little bit brighter! All the best, Kate and the team.

Fantastic Property - Great for Family Get-together

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a super holiday at Highgate. There were 10 of us and the farmhouse was characterful, very well furnished, comfortable and had plenty of space for us all. The house was really well equipped and the owners had thought of everything we could possibly need. It is close to the main road but we had no issues at all with any traffic noise. There was plenty of parking space too and room for bikes. The location is great with some amazing walks in the area and some lovely views just from behind the farm. Kate (owner) was really helpful, welcoming and quick to reply to questions about our stay and has clearly put a lot of effort into making some wonderful holiday accommodation at the farm. Highly recommended and we hope to return for another visit in the future.



Kate replied 259 days ago
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We do try and make sure our guest have a truly lovely time with us and it’s.so pleasing you appreciate the hard work of our little team here. Hope you can come back some time! All the best, Kate.

A very suitable accommodation for us all.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very clean and tidy accommodation. The bedrooms had mostly en-suites and downstairs the farmhouse kitchen was well equipped. We had a lovely family holiday here.




Kate replied 278 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Highgate. It so good to hear that guests have really enjoyed their stay.

Comfortable Stylish Large House

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious property for a group of friends. Great kitchen for cooking and socialising. Plenty of coat and boot space. Good log burner in lounge kept us cosy.
Beautiful curtains and furnishings.
Comfortable beds with quality bedding and luxury bathrooms. Would love to return.