FB Twitter

Brow Wood Cabin

Brow Wood Cabin

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


WAKE UP NESTLED IN NATURE BESIDE BROW WOOD

Tucked away next to Brow Wood with beautiful woodland views, our Brow Wood cabins are only a short drive from Ullswater and Penrith and have a whole host of woodland walks from the doorstep.

The bespoke-built cabins are made with locally sourced larch cladding, blending seamlessly into the Cumbrian landscape and with the L-shape floor plan making the best use of the surrounding views.

Inside, beautiful interiors have been thoughtfully chosen to make each cabin completely unique. Warm, landscape-inspired colours are combined with cosy blankets and comfy seats for loafing and relaxing. The living space is accompanied by a modern, well-equipped kitchen, dining table, a proper super-king bedroom and shower room.

Outdoors, a private decked area with seating and a private bathtub allows you to truly immerse yourself in the environment. The eco-friendly cabin is powered by solar panels and combines the qualities of a boutique hotel with the beauty of nature. You won’t find anything else like it.

This cabin is perfect for cosy couple getaways or Lake District adventure weekends and is dog-friendly.

Perfect break in the Lakes

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cabin in a great location to reach all our favourite spots in the Lakes. Having both a hot tub and an outdoor bath was a real luxury! Loved being surrounded by fields of lambs and enjoyed walking straight out of the cabin into the fields to greet them. Kate was helpful in all communication and prompt replies, the recommended local pub (Horse & Farrier) did not disappoint. We extended our stay an extra night due to having such a good time, we hope to come back again.



The perfect spot!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Brow Wood Cabin for a short break with my partner. The booking process was super easy, with Kate being on hand to hold the cabin for us whilst we confirmed holiday dates with work. The information received about the estate and the local area beforehand was really useful, and I'm really grateful to Kate for providing some local knowledge over the phone when asked. The cabin is located in a peaceful wood, with some great views. The cabin has been finished to a really high standard and was fully equipped with all the comforts of home. The wood-fired hot tub was amazing! We will definitely be returning in the future. A huge thanks to Kate and the Hutton John Estate Team for looking after us!



Kate replied 33 days ago
Hello Josh, Thanks so much for this fabulous review. It was an absolute pleasure to help you and I’m so happy the stay at Brow Wood was such a success! Really hope you will be able to come again. I will pass on your comments to the team, All the very best, Kate.

Short break at Hutton John Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2024
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay in Brow Wood Cabin on Hutton John Estate. Lovely location.
Could do with a bigger signage at roadside.




Kate replied 35 days ago
Hello Sue, Thank you for your review and it’s good to hear you had a an enjoyable time. Unfortunately we have the signage we were permitted by the Lake District National Park Planning Authority. The road sign is set back from the road according to their requirements. All the best, Kate and the team.

Amazing dog friendly lodge!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our weekend stay at Brow Wood Cabin! Kate was so helpful prior to arrival with helping to organise some birthday balloons and even leaving a bottle of Prosecco to help celebrate. We had a lovely welcome hamper on arrival. The cabin itself is beautifully decorated and in a great location to drive out to different places in the Lakes. Kitchen is well kitted out. Bed was super comfy.
We brought our dog with us which was great. The under floor heating was a treat. But the only downside was no radiator to dry the dogs towels off so I’d recommend to bring a few with you!




Kate replied 101 days ago
Sounds like you had a fabulous stay at Brow Wood. It was a pleasure to help you do something extra for your partner’s birthday. I’m sorry you couldn’t dry your dog towel on a radiator. If you’dchosen any of our other cabins you would have had a towel radiator in the shower room. Hope to welcome you both and your four-legged friend again! All the best, Kate.

Nice getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Feb 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant little cabin well finished and kitted with everything you need
Although you get a good starter set of wood for the hot tub would recommend buying more wood from town or from themselves as you really need a long hot fire going to get the water temperature right.




Kate replied 109 days ago
Thank you for your review. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay. All the best, Kate and the team.

Brow wood cabin

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jan 2024
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was stated we would be provided with enough logs for the fire for the first night and we weren’t due to it being cold and the hot tub taking longer to warm up, however no longer than stated in the hand book. The fridge temperature wasn’t cold enough on arrival and took a while to get to temperature meaning some milk based drinks we had, had gone off by the time it was cold enough. There were a few patches of mould around the cabin and some of the oven trays had been left greasy but apart from this the overall cleanliness was very good. The bed was very comfortable and the cabin was lovely and warm. Overall we had a very pleasant stay.



Kate replied 124 days ago
Hello Erin, Glad you enjoyed your stay. It was extremely cold when you were at Brow Wood. We had temperatures of -9 in that cold spell, so I’m not surprised it took you a little longer than normal to get the tub to the right heat. We have eco-friendly hot tubs without chemicals and wood-fired with wood from a sustainable source. I’m sorry the baking trays was a bit greasy. I’ll have a look at them. The fridge seems to be ok now, but thanks for letting me know. All the best, Kate.

Beautiful hideaway

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, lovely surroundings
We walked to dacre which isn’t far over the fields we took a wrong path (aimed for a white building in the distance - isn’t a pub haha) as the route isn’t very well sign posted from the cabin but it’s easier to get back from the pub in dacre. We also ate at the dog and gun in Skelton which is a must a 15 minute drive.
The cabin is lovely and warm and has everything you need.




Kate replied 160 days ago
Hello Holly, You chose 2 great pubs to eat at! So glad you had such a lovely time and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Perhaps you’ll come back another time and try one of the other cabins? All the best, Kate and the team.

The loveliest weekend away! Worth every penny

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently stayed in Brow Wood Cabin for the weekend and me and my partner had the nicest weekend away. The hosts were so welcoming and made sure that everything was perfect for us during our stay. They emailed us recommendations of the local area, and left fresh milk, coffee teabags and other items in order to see us through our stay, which was a lovely gesture. The cabin itself was beautiful and had everything that we could’ve needed during our stay. The outdoor bath was a lovely added bonus to the cabin and being surrounded by just peace and the woods was a perfect way to have a soak. It is located in an ideal spot and you are only 20 minutes away from Keswick which is a lovely little town with cute little shops and cafes throughout and lots of lovely walks around. Me and my partner walked black moss pot which was about 40 minutes from the cabin and it had little pools you could swim in along the way - I highly recommend you visit here.
I just want to say a huge thank you to Kate and the team for making this weekend one to remember, I highly recommend Hutton John estate and am incredibly eager to return




Kate replied 265 days ago
Hello, It so lovely to hear you had such a great time and the thanks to the team is much appreciated. I could not manage with out the fabulous maintenance, housekeeping teams and my family. I will pass on your comments. We very much hope you can visit again! All the st, Kate.

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in Brow Wood Cabin on Bank Holiday. What a wonderful stay! The location is brilliant with a short drive to Keswick, Ullswater, Pooley Bridge etc. The cabin is very well equipped with everything needed and immaculate inside! Service was great and very welcoming. The outside bath is brilliant to soak in after a long day of hiking. Would 100% return and recommend.



Kate replied 269 days ago
Thank you Lucie, we are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. We hope you come back very soon! All the best, Kate and the team,

A perfect weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our stay here. We ended up getting engaged over the weekend and it was the perfect location for a weekend with our dogs!
Kate was great with communication
The place was stunning!




Kate replied 279 days ago
How fabulous! Many congratulations on your engagement and so pleased you had such a memorable stay. We hope to welcome you back! All the best, Kate.

Very peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had an enjoyable stay at Brow Wood Cabin, ideal for visiting Keswick and surrounding areas. The cabin was clean and comfortable but one down side was the tv was constantly buffering.



Kate replied 279 days ago
Thank you for your review, it’s good to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I’m sorry that the TV was buffering. I will get Darran to have a look at it. All the best, Kate and the team.

Peaceful and Tranquil

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect. I can’t think of anything I would change other than the length of time we stayed.



Kate replied 305 days ago
What a lovely review! Hope you can come back and maybe try one of the cabins with a hot tub.

A little gem

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing stay in the Brow wood cabin. Secluded location on the farm but good connections to Penrith and Keswick, short drive to Ullswater, Thirlmere and Windermere. The cabin was perfect! With a private deck that had sun all day and the outdoor bath topped it off after a long day hiking. Thank you Kate and the team for making our stay memorable. Small touches made a difference, such as the little welcome hamper. Kept informed by email before our stay for places to visit, eat and things to do. Highly recommend!



Kate replied 312 days ago
So pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. Hope to see you return!

Amazing

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cabin was absolutely gorgeous. Very spacious, cosy & comfy. Wonderful outside bath under stars.



A wonderful stay at Brow Wood Cabin

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cabin was very comfortable and luxurious. I stayed there during a very unexpected cold snap. Even got snowed in at one point, but the cabin was so warm and cozy, the underfloor heating made all the difference. Despite the snow I enjoyed a soak or two in the outside bathtub. Tranquility at its best, the sunset gave the snow a gorgeous peachy glow, it was surreal.
Beautiful views from the viewing point. I took coffee down there every morning, set me up for the day.
Kate is a wonderful host. There was a problem with one of the sensors when I arrived, but she was onsite within ten minutes. All sorted.
I will definitely book to stay here again, can’t wait. Absolutely recommended.




Relaxing and High End

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed for a weekend break along with our dog and were so pleased with the high end quality of the cabin. We we looking for peace and quiet with wonderful views in a little bit of luxury. This ticked all the boxes.
The cabin was wonderfully situated with privacy and views. Sitting in bed looking at the view out of the bedroom door was very relaxing. There was a lovely welcome pack waiting for us.
The cabin itself was well thought out with high quality furnishings, also included were Richard Haworth bathrobes which were lovely. Kitchen facilities included everything you would need in a stay like this and included Joseph Joseph utilities and Port Meirion crockery.
We didn’t use the outdoor sunken bath as it was too cold but I would love to have a soak with a glass of wine on a glorious summer evening!
I had some correspondence with Kate Fraser prior to arriving and found her responses helpful and informative. We can’t wait to come back and sample more of Hutton John Estates in the summer!




Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of it all then Brow Wood cabin really is the place.

Beautifully furnished and cosy.

Set in the woods, quiet and peaceful. Minimal light coming through too.
Just what was needed for our long weekend away. Would highly recommend.

We felt very welcomed and help was provided as and when needed.

Thank you




Fabulous accommodation and superb location

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So glad we found this brand new cabin in the North Lakes. It really was a home from home. Everything was new and worked! and all carefully and tastefully curated. A refreshing change from some of the properties we have previously rented in the Lakes.
We can only thoroughly recommend this property and will definitely be back.
Thank you Hutton John Estate for a magical ecpxperience.