FB Twitter

Bow Cottage

Bow Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Cosy 1 bedroom cottage

  • sleeps 2
  • single story cottage
  • open plan living room and kitchen
  • master bedroom with a 5ft bed
  • bathroom

10/10 score.

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful bank holiday weekend. Our family made use of all the facilities and the accommodation was of the highest standards. Debbie & Paul are brilliant hosts. Nothing was too much trouble.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Everything

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
Nothing

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely stay in Bow cottage. You could not ask for better equipped accommodation: everything was of great quality too. The cottage was immaculately clean, as were all the facilities, such as the pool, games room and gym.
The setting was spectacular. We loved feeding the pigs and goats and got to appreciate their different personalities.
The owners were lovely: friendly and on hand if needed.
We could not have asked for more.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Everything

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
The fishing lake would benefit from a bit of attention.

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Easter break

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a delightful selection of cottages set in a beautiful Devon landscape. Along with animals for children to feed, a fantastic pool, and a games room, too keep all generations entertained. Very friendly & efficient customer service. All round excellent holiday!
Many Thanks

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Setting

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
No

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Bow cottage a great retreat for Grandparents

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd time at Compton Pool ( our daughter and her family’s 3rd)
Marvellous to share a perfect campus

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Swimming pool and tennis

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
Keep those bunnies coming

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay . Owners very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area. Quiet location but plenty to do in the Torbay area.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Quiet location

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
No

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Excellent accommodation and destination.

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need is on site, with the warmest indoor swimming pool we have ever used and so clean. Tennis court and fishing lake in good weather or indoor table tennis, pool table, xbox or gym when weather inclement. Plus feeding their pigs, goats, rabbits and their new Pony. Cottage clean and well equipped. Lovely welcome pack with yummy cake.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Friendly owners, warm pool.

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
Minor snagging items here and there but that's to be expected at busy holiday cottages :)

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Making memories

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With our nearly nine year old grandson and mummy and daddy there was no real need to leave the site.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Ability to relax in wonderful surroundings.

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
Washing baskets in the laundry.

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





7 nights stay at Bow Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had previously stayed at the Farmhouse for a family gathering.
We liked it so much that we booked Bow Cottage for 7 nights for just my husband and myself. We were very happy with all the amenities and loved the little cottage.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Everything

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
No

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





A little gem

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Bow two years running. A very sweet one bedroom cottage. Debbie arranged for extra dining chairs so that our two grandchildren and parents could join us for dinner each night. We would then clear up and start the dishwasher while the family went back to their own cottage and got the children ready for bed. This worked very well for us. Bow is very well appointed and very clean. The courtyard is a delight at Easter when a flowering crab apple tree is in full bloom, and then provides shade later on. The courtyard gets lots of sun, even late in the afternoon.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Immaculate heated indoor swimming pool, the grandchildren really enjoyed this and going in with the rabbits. Having our OWN cottage for quiet times first thing in the morning with my husband rather than full on with the family all the time!

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
Don’t know

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes



Perfect for a 2 year old & perfect for parents too!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best time at Bow cottage. Everything was perfect - and it's not often I get to say that ! Since we had our little boy we have been away a couple of times and it's simply been stressful due to the facilities/ sleeping arrangements/ location etc not being right. If you are looking for a holiday with little ones this is ideal. So many things to do in sub an hours car drive away, in addition to that animals and a playground to fill those early mornings when the toddler is up but the world is still closed !! The place was immaculate with lovely touches like a cake and milk in the fridge on arrival. Our little boy loved looking out of the stable door at all the animals, listening to the bird song and feeding the rabbits. We didn't even make it to the pool but it looked stunning. We will return.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
All of it was perfect, location, accommodation, facilities

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
Nothing

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes



Bow Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a very well thought out setting, amenities very welcome especially heated swimming pool for morning swim! Host provided a lovely cake and tea and coffee tray on arrival and introduced themself which doesn't always happen. Appreciated after a long journey. All cookware was good quality and everything was nicely set up and clean. Loved the animals and the space around the cottage.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Good quality

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
No

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Lovely stay at Bow, Compton Pool

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to Compton Pool. Our first at Bow.
We loved every moment from our warm welcome right through to our departure.
In fact we have booked for a revisit later in the year!

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
The lovely warm welcome set the tone for a most enjoyable comfortable break in South Devom

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
Nothing needs improvement

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and warm. I stayed for a fortnight and found having the freezer useful. I didn't visit the animals but there were plenty of wild birds which I could watch from the window.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
The quietness but proximity to Ipplepen

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
no

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Outstanding, wonderful facilities, beautiful site and super welcoming hosts

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Compton Pool is perfect, every detail thought about, great pool, fab location, peaceful yet lots to do. recommend completely!

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
everything

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
it's perfect as it is

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Another fine stay at Compton Pool in Bow cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay at Compton Pool and one which we enjoyed.

We have always been fond of the South Hams area and Compton is well placed to visit our favourite places: Dartmoor to the North and Torbay to the South.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
The quiet surroundings and the friendliness of Paul, Debbie and the staff.

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
No

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Holiday with daughter

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for day trips and on site facilities are ideal with free access to the pool and tennis court. Animals were also a real hit. Wonderful warm welcome on arrival and tour of the site. Highly recommend the pizza on the arrival night. Great place and wonderful hosts - highly recommend

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
pool/location/pizza

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
no

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Wonderful stay in great location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Plenty to do at cottages, for all weather and all ages. Swimming pool warmest we've ever had and beautifully clean. Tennis court in excellent full size condition. Pigs, goats and rabbits very entertaining. Lakes currently being restored and already looking lovely with plenty of Rudd and Roach to catch, for pleasure anglers or grandparents showing grand kids. Loads to do within half hour drive and plenty more further away.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Friendliness of owners and swimming pool.

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
Minor snagging items here and there but that's to be expected at busy holiday cottages :)

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes





Bow Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Greatly enjoyed our second visit to Compton Pool Farm Cottages and now in the process of booking again for next year.
Beautiful countryside, peaceful cottage location, with friendly and helpful staff.
Was so lovely being able to have a swim each morning in a heated indoor pool followed by breakfast on the patio where we watched robins feeding their young in a nest hidden way in a bush beside the cottage door. Really appreciated the clothes airer to hang our swimming things on. Very relaxing to sit out in the evening and enjoy a glass after a busy day. .Having good weather was a real bonus.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
It felt like coming home when we arrived

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
Not really. Sadly the access roads are very narrow and a bit scary but that's not the fault of Compton Pool .

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes



An idyllic, relaxing place to stay for young and old

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely love staying at Compton Pool. The location is perfect and although you feel as though you are in the middle of nowhere it’s just a short drive to the coastal towns and villages in the area. The site is suitable for oldies like my hubby and I, or families. The amenities are great and everything is catered for in the cottages, even a BBQ for those warm summer evenings. Debbie, Paul and Dexter are perfect hosts and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The lake is so much more accessible now and we regularly saw a heron and the cute ducklings.

All in all, the perfect place for a relaxing holiday.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
We enjoyed the whole experience.

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
No

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes



Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing week stay at Compton Pool Farm it was as relaxing or as busy as we wanted. Debbie and Paul provide absolutely everything you need to ensure you have a good stay in self ctering accommodation. The added bonus are the animals the pigs, goats and rabbits who wait to greet you every morning. The grounds are kept pristine by the gardeners and Sue and Mark keep things clean and maintained. Loved the swimming pool so clean with showers and changing rooms plus loungers if weather hot to lay outside. There is also a games room and exercise room if you are feeling energetic. From these beautiful grounds we explored Devon but always knew we were returning to a lovely place thankyou to all who made our stay once again perfect.

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Complete environment

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
Cannot think of anything for us we could not fault it.

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All ten of the Compton Pool rentals are very good, we have looked in many of them. Our old cottage had delightful ancient character, married with very contemporary fitments and furnishings. It was ideal for us, since it is one bedroom; our family rented Torr, a detached 3 bed/2 bath log cabin just across the lawn. So, we had peaceful starts each morning then enjoyed the day with the two year old etc! The grounds of 14 acres include a pretty pond, fenced off from the main lawn.
Facilities are very good, kept immaculately, and we often just shared the indoor heated pool with just one family. The owners Debbie and Paul have provided some nice pool toys too. Hopefully the chickens will be back when allowed, our granddaughter last year really enjoyed finding an egg for breakfast. Good play structures, not too near the rentals, and a well equipped games room with ping pong, pool, boxed games etc.
On arrival a tea tray was laid out and a nicely wrapped fresh cake with milk in the fridge, thoughtful touches that we appreciated.
We have all rebooked for next year!

What did you enjoy most about Compton Pool?
Peacefulness, privacy, modern decor to a high standard, feeding the farm animals, playing in the heated pool with family. Also the spectacular crab apple tree at our cottage, full of blossom and buzzing gently all day!

Is there anything you think needs improving at Compton Pool?
A comfortable garden chair, like those at the pool patio, would be appreciated. I had bought a beach chair, so used that when wanting to slouch with my coffee rather than sit up at the garden table and chairs.

Would you return to Compton Pool?
Yes