FB Twitter

Magherintemple Lodge

Magherintemple Lodge

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 83 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


It is a wonderful get-away for the family. There is a great feeling of quiet and peace, yet it is only 5 minutes drive to a beautiful beach. The very spacious dining and kitchen room is full of light. The living room is very comfortable and on cooler evenings you can enjoy the warmth of a real log fire. Hidden away at the top of the house is a quiet space where you can sit and read a book, or just gaze out the window as you relax and enjoy the peace and quiet which surrounds you.

Sleeps 4 - 2 adults and 2 children

Great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely cottage cosy and warm plenty of space and good location on the north coast enjoyed our stay



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 62 days ago
Thank you so very much for staying at Magherintemple Lodge and Irish Landmark are delighted you had such a lovely time. We do hope you had lots of adventures exploring the stunning Antrim coastline.

Fantastic getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (2 adults, 2 kids) all loved staying at this Lodge, it was beautifully presented with lots of old world charm but also all mod cons. It was spotless when we arrived and - crucially for late October - the heat was already on for us and the open fire set ready for lighting. The kids loved the bunk beds and the attic space for playing. It was very private and peaceful. Thank you!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 70 days ago
It is just wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a lovely stay at Magherintemple Lodge. Also that you found it welcoming and warm for the duration of your time there. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust to continue to save, share and sustain more of our built heritage.

Autumn at Magherintemple Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property and location are perfect for touring the area. The cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff was great, especially Monica, the Caretaker.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 75 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. As you said, Magherintemple Lodge really is the perfect base for exploring the North Antrim coast. It's a beautiful place! Monica is such a wonderful House Manager so no doubt you were warmly greeted and well looked after. We do hope we can welcome you to another Irish Landmark Trust property soon.

Deborah from Dublin

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I liked the intimate and cosiness of the lodge from the room sizes to the open fires. The kitchen and bathroom also worked well.
It was perfect for my friend and I but would also suit a couple with 2 children or teenagers. The gentleman in the main Casement Estate house was very obliging and brought us a large bag of timber logs when we called to say hello.
Enjoyable few days of relaxation in a quiet, out-of-the way location, which can be tricky to find - thank goodness for Google Maps!!
Also a fabulous beach with magnificent views of the surf and the well behaved local cows also love to wander along the shore.
All in all, a unique experience and would return in a heart-beat.....




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 48 days ago
Thank you for staying with Irish Landmark Trust, in one of the 32 properties in our care, located around the island of Ireland. It is wonderful to see that you had an enjoyable time and had a few days of relaxation. It is a marvelous location for exploring all that the stunning Causeway Coast has to offer, so it is great you had a chance to get out and explore the local area.

Very comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay at the lodge and lovely welcome from Monica... the lodge is really comfy and done up to a very high standard.. everything we needed was available.. would definitely recommend .. only suggestion to landmark trust is a check out at 10am isn't very customer friendly.. Monica was very relaxed about this which was a very welcome and considerate offer.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 91 days ago
Delighted to hear that you had such a lovely and comfortable stay at Magherintemple Lodge. Monica is wonderful and takes care of the property and guests so well. Officially we list the departure time as 10.00am as if there are guests arriving that afternoon the House Managers do need time to turn the property around and a lot of our House Managers are restricted with the time they can do this. Therefore, we always recommend guests speak directly to their House Manger.

The highlight of 2 weeks around Ireland

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge was absolutely incredible. It was large, gorgeous, and very well located. The property manager, Ms. Butler, was welcoming, helpful, and lovely. She really went above and beyond for us during our stay. We will definitely return to Magherintemple. It is a beautiful and peaceful place.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 128 days ago
It is so lovely to hear that you will return to stay at Magherintemple Lodge again in the future. So good that you had such a lovely time and thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Lovely rural location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We very much enjoyed the stay here, a lovely lodge in a quiet setting. It’s well located for exploring the beautiful coastline.
The main kitchen lounge area is lovely and very relaxing to be in. I agree with a previous reviewer that there does need to be a gate, given the rest of the garden is fenced in, this would make it really secure for dogs and children. A welcome pack and some wood for the fire would be appreciated and would be a lovely touch given that it is premium pricing for this property.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 128 days ago
We are delighted here in Irish Landmark Trust to hear you had a lovely and enjoyable stay at Magherintemple Lodge in Ballycastle. It is a wonderful property to base yourself at to explore the many amenities in the local area. I have passed on your note about the firewood as there should have been enough provided for you for 1 night, this may have been an oversight for which we apologies. In the future, if you stay with Irish Landmark again, please just let your local House Manager know and they will look after you. Please note that Irish Landmark Trust cannot guarantee that any property in our care is totally secure for pets and we would ask all guests to please keep an eye on their dog during their stay.

Peace and tranquillity and a touch of times gone by.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Magherintemple Lodge very much. The house had a lot of character. The decor was in keeping with the building, so lovingly restored by the Irish Landmark Trust. It possessed a bookcase with far more enticing books that you would ever find in your local newsagent and no television or internet to disturb that sense of freedom and enchantment. Everything was clean and tidy. Bedrooms were small and cosy, as you would expect in a house of that vintage, brought back to life by the Irish Landmark Trust. We loved the house and the surroundings. We were in our own secluded world but yet only a stone's throw from Ballycastle, which had everything we needed and was very clean and tidy. There was a good road network in the area so it was no bother to visit Giant's Causeway, Whitehead Bay Beach and Kinbane Head, which our children and dog Molly, enjoyed with equal enthusiasm.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 135 days ago
It is so wonderful to hear that your family had such a lovely stay at Magherintemple Lodge, Molly the dog included. Also to see that you embraced the Landmark Experience of no external or technical distractions from quality time spent with family and friends. We do think it is so important in this very busy world for people to just stop and take time to really relax and enjoy their surroundings. We do hope you will come back to try another of our properties in the future.

A Tranquil, Rural Delight

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the gate lodge for two nights to celebrate a special occasion and it was even better than the website would have you believe. Its setting is rural and tranquil but five minute's drive will take you to Ballycastle and its many delights.

The property itself is roomier than the website pictures might suggest but we ended up spending all of our time in the garden or in the spacious kitchen/dining room which is very well equipped - who needs a TV?!

The lodge has a restful ambience and it was a shame that we could only stay for two nights but we would love to return in the near future.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 145 days ago
Thank you for choosing Magherintemple Lodge to celebrate your special occasion and it is just wonderful to hear that you had such a lovely time there. It is a lovely property and the location of the fabulous village and beach at Ballycastle so close is a big draw for many of our guests, so it is great to see that you got a chance to get out and explore. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Wonderful!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful stay. The lodge is a great spot which feels like a sanctuary a long way from everywhere but it is only a 5 min drive (or 15 min cycle) to Ballycastle. The house is very warm and cosy, and even with the layout and decoration keeping with the architectural heritage, the kitchen had everything needed to cook a good meal. Monica, our host was very helpful and friendly.



Darren replied 162 days ago
It's great to hear you had such an enjoyable and comfortable stay in Magherintemple Lodge. It's a beautiful spot with a wonderful House Manager! We do hope you can stay again or visit any of our other unique properties. Apart from staying in such a special place, the good news is you're also helping to save, share and sustain Ireland's built heritage.

Magherintemple Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay and location. Really enjoyed our time in the lodge. Would definitely book it again.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 167 days ago
We do hope to welcome you back very soon to Magherintemple Lodge, or indeed another of the 31 properties in Irish Landmark Trust's care throughout the country.

Lovely stay with our little family

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully restored building in a beautiful, rural area, 5 mins from the lovely town of Ballycastle and within easy reach of the Antrim coast beaches and attractions. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the beautiful property and were very well looked after by Monica, who couldn't do enough for us and helped us out. We'd certainly recommend.



Bookings Officer replied 183 days ago
Thank you for leaving a review of your stay at Magherintemple Lodge. It is lovely to hear that you had such a great time and that you were well looked after during your stay but our wonderful House Manager Monica. Also thank you for recommended to other guests. Irish Landmark Trust is a non-profit charity so it is always so nice when people recommend to other to stay at one of the properties in our care and in turn help us to save more of Ireland's built heritage.

Outstanding lodging with rich history!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our 2-night stay at Magerintemple Lodge. The property is rich in history as we read about the families who had lived there and learned about their lifestyle. Unit was clean, and fresh, and the location was excellent! Central to all the sights we ticked off our list along the Coast. Enjoyed exploring around the property. Just up the road we fed some friendly goats on an evening walk, and loved having the cows and sheep lull us to sleep. Best discovery was Culfeigntrin Old Church riuns right on the property! ...don't miss the little sign, it’s a great discovery!



Bookings Officer replied 182 days ago
Thank you for your review of your stay in Magherintemple Lodge. It is great that you really enjoyed the history of this magical property and learned something about the people who used to call it home many years ago. It is lovely when guests embrace and enjoy the landmark experience in this way. Glad to hear you found the location of Magherintemple Lodge great for exploring and day trips. It is a little known location but perfect for visiting many attractions nearby.

Great Base for the North Antrim Coast

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two over 50's and a 17 year old had a great time in this superbly done lodge. Very comfortable (although wife didn't quite get on with bed softness) with two living areas, nice bathroom and well fitted kitchen. Close to Giant's Causeway, Portstewart and not far from Belfast City Airport / coast road.
No TV or internet, does everyone some good now and then, we played scrabble (supplied) and cards, a great family holiday probably a mile from Ballycastle. Give it a go!




Darren replied 222 days ago
Thank you for the very good review. Magherintemple Lodge is in a really great location as you said for exploring what Northern Ireland has to offer. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the digital disconnect that comes with staying in Irish Landmark Properties. We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Lovely stay at Magherintemple Lodge - A+++

Review submitted on Sun, 20 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge updates were tasteful and comfortable, while also allowing us to enjoy the building’s history. The location is central to everything in the area - Giant’s Causeway, Dun Luce Castle, etc. It’s also a wonderful place to unwind in peace and quiet. Monica was extremely helpful - lovely to deal with. We would highly recommend this rental.



Bookings Officer replied 238 days ago
Wonderful the hear that you have a lovely stay at Magherintemple Lodge and had the opportunity to relax and unwind. It is a lovely location to base yourself at if guests wish to visit attractions along the Causeway Coastal Route. Thank you for choosing Irish Landmark Trust for your stay.

A heavenly setting day and night. Television set - superfluous.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This building is deceptively roomy inside and attractively laid out. The use of older space married with a new extension has been intelligent and sensitive. It is a delight to explore and share. The countryside is idyllic and yet just outside Ballycastle so that there is plenty of chance to walk on the beach or nip for a drink and meal. Very enjoyable.



Bookings Officer replied 265 days ago
Delighted you had a nice time at Magherintemple Lodge. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

A very comfortable property in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week here at Easter. Very comfortable, warm and surprisingly spacious property in the middle of the countryside but still within easy reach of Ballycastle, the Giant's Causeway and main road to Belfast. A very quiet area with a good patch of garden (although the weather did not allow us to make use of it). It was refreshing not to have WiFi and genuinely to feel that one was 'away from it all'. Some great walking (Murlough Bay for example) and cycling terrain, plus the obvious attractions of the coastline. Rathlin Island was well worth a visit - no puffins at that time of year but wonderful to get very close to a few dozen seals who regarded us tolerantly as we crept nearer and nearer with our cameras.



Bookings Officer replied 285 days ago
Fantastic to see that you had such a great Easter stay at Magherintemple Lodge. It's location really is brilliant for people who would like to take day trips to the amazing Rathlin Island so it is wonderful to see you had the opportunity to get there. Also that you were able to enjoy plenty of activities and places to see around the beautiful Ballycastle. As a non-profit organisation and an educational charity, our primary aim is to conserve and sustain iconic buildings. That’s why Irish Landmark properties are living buildings, not museum settings. While the conservation and restoration work always respects the history and architectural integrity of the structures we conserve, we also ensure that our properties have all the contemporary comforts you want in a holiday home. It is always so lovely to hear back the guests truly embraced a stay at one of the properties in our care.

MagherineTemple Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a bit confusing to get to.
The new part of the building was very warm but the original area was very cold. Maybe extra heater or blankets.

The stay was wonderful enough kitchen supplies and loved the outside, but maybe there should be a closed gate to the parking and street from the yard to protect toddlers from escaping as the yard was very safe and gated but the one area to go to street and parking there was no gate this would have helped especially if we had a dog but I brought my 16 month son who now walks.

The place was so cute and clean and I would stay again if I was back in the country




Bookings Officer replied 252 days ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark Trust know how your recent stay at Magherintemple Lodge was. All guests are provided with directions as well as exact GPS co-ordinates so I am sorry that you had some issue with these. There has been no other issues with them but I will certainly look into this to double check. Regarding your comment about the closed gate - this property is a gatehouse and therefore is located at the entrance for the private residence further up the lane. Access is required for this property also. Irish Landmark would not like to fence in or gate off Magherintemple Lodge either as it would take away from the setting and appearance of the property on this location. All guests would be requested to keep an eye on children or pets at any Irish Landmark Trust property due to their location and the fact they are historical, conserved properties. At our properties guests have an opportunity to experience the best of a former way of life: beautiful architecture, fascinating history and a peaceful relaxed ambiance, where they can decide the pace of their holiday.

Be spoilt in the beauty of the unspoilt

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was priviliged to have stayed in a home once occupied by the casement family who's family member Roger did so much to help the less fortunate & lost his life serving his country. This is a truly beautifully restored house. The scenery is perfect & the quietness of the countryside idyllic. Bring a watch as there's no clock here nor is there a frying pan which I thought was unusual as Ulster is famous for it's traditional fried breakfasts! Would highly recommend this home & the bonus is you can bring your dog with you.



Bookings Officer replied 315 days ago
Thank you for letting us know about your stay in Magherintemple Lodge. Irish Landmark are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay in one of the unique properties in our care. I will certainly look into why there were missing items as they should be in the property, but that you for bringing that to our attention. I will mention it to the Local House Manager to look into.

A Step Back in Time

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the Lodge! We arrived after dark, so it felt a bit like we were traveling far into the country. The next morning we were happy to find we were just a ten-minute drive from Ballycastle. The Lodge was a great jumping-off point for Derry, Bushmill's Distillery, and The Giant's Causeway--all three must sees! Honestly, I could have spent both days relaxing at the lodge--enjoying the pastoral views and fireplace--but my partner cannot sit still that long. We spent our Thanksgiving at the lodge and the kitchen was well appointed for our special meal. Monica, the House Manager, was gracious and warned us about a road closure that would have cost a lot of travel time on our final day. All of the Trust people I came into contact with were warm and helpful. I hope to try another Irish Landmark Trust some day . . . or do I return to Magherintemple Lodge?



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying at one of our self-catering properties. As a guest you are helping us in our mission to save, share, and sustain Ireland’s built heritage. It might not feel like your holiday is anything but a relaxing indulgence, but when you stay in an Irish Landmark property, you are part of a community that’s helping to keep heritage alive. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at Magherintemple Lodge and that you found the location perfect for your North Antrim trip. It would be wonderful to welcome you back to Irish Landmark in the future.

Perfect autumn getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful days staying in this cosy cottage, well equipped and comfortable, perfect retreat!



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great review. Magherintemple Lodge is such a lovely place for an Autumn getaway! Sitting in front of the fire on an autumn day in such beautiful surroundings sounds like perfection. You're very welcome to stay us again in the future.

All perfect. A great place!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house has 2 rooms (double bed in one and bunk in the other), living room (with fireplace), bathroom (with shower AND bath tub) and a very big kitchen.
Outside there is enough space for 1/2/3 cars, a table with 4 chairs and a meadow were you can let the children play with confidence.
It is perfect for a family with 2 children.
It has all the kitchen appliances you could need and you have the confidence that you can use them... because everything is clean.
The House Manager is there if you need anything.





Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you lovely review of your recent stay at Magherintemple Lodge in Ballycastle. I do hope you had a chance to visit the local attractions during your stay. Delighted to hear that you found the property itself was well equipped and that you would recommend it for other guests.

A perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I had no idea what to expect and I was pleasantly surprised. Plenty of room for kids to be kids and everyone to relax. Plenty of hot water, well stocked kitchen and warm floors in a cute house. Easy drive to giants causeway, bushmills distillery, dunluce castle and the crazy rope bridge. Only complaint was the toilet was really loud when you flushed it. A heads up would help us from being so alarmed at first.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at Magherintemple Lodge and glad to hear you found the location ideal for your day trips around the Antrim coast. I trust that you informed your Local House Manager about the flush of the toilet during your stay so she could look at fixing this for you?

Was a wonderful experience. I would recommend it to anyone!!!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic! A home away from home!!! A real taste of Ireland. The building is a quaint gatehouse to a larger property but extremely private. All kitchenware are on site to enable you to eat in. Close to many sites that are a must see!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

lovely stay. would recommend

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
lovely stay. would recommend. stayed for 2 nights. visited ballycastle for the second night, which was easy with the help of local taxi man.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

Magherintemple Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully restored lodge in a tranquil setting with nice views. Ideally located for touring north Antrim coast and glens, with beautiful scenic drives. We highly recommend a trip to Rathlin Island and the West and East lighthouses there. There is a beautiful beach at Ballycastle and stunning walks at Fair Head.
Bring your own wine and beer as we had great difficulty buying a bottle until we eventually discovered a Euro Spar after trying several supermarkets.
One small criticism. The place could do with a new frying pan!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback and suggestion , we are so delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

A magnificent stay in a magnificent surrounding

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We liked the house very much. The interior is beautiful and the comfort is excellent. No WiFi or tele is good and restfull.



We wil go back again!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful property to stay in for a few days. Quiet, just a few minutes drive from Ballycastle. Great coastline.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your feedback, we love to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Fantastic location for exploring the best of Northern Ireland

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd to trip to Ireland, but our first foray into the North. We loved the location, the comfort, and how easy it was to see all the best of the North from this location.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, would love to see you back in the near future perhaps at another one of our properties.

A Quiet Relaxing Location

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location, just outside Ballycastle, was convenient for shops, restaurants, etc. Ideal for a trip out to Rathlin Island. Tremendous weather meant we were out all day, but it is difficult to know what to do if the weather is inclement.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Loved our short stay here. Well equipped kitchen, all very clean and tidy. Simple and basic interior but comfortable, very warm (underfloor heating) and interesting to hear the social history of the house. Close to Ballycastle harbour/beach.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback, it's always nice to her positive feedback, would love you to come back and visit in the future.

Very relaxing

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Feb 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Super stay. Quiet and cosey.
I would definitely stay again but recommend following.
Oven needs a good clean.
Provide one night free fire fuel.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review and comments, glad you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to your return.

Quirky and cosy lodge which is dog friendly.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Feb 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really quirky little lodge which was perfect for a few days away to recharge the batteries. It was warm, cosy and comfortable and the open fire was fabulous on a freezing cold winters evening. The kitchen was well equipped and the under floor heating was surprisingly effective and gave the room a really cosy feeling. The big bonus for us was that we could bring our dog and that the lodge is only a few minutes drive from Ballycastle was great.

For anyone travelling to Ballycastle with a dog, the Marine Hotel let you bring your dog into their library where they will serve you food from their Bistro.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Lovely location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the property. Warm and inviting when we opened the door even though it was freezing outside. Everything was there to make sure we had a comfortable stay from furniture to utensils. Highly recommend this property but you will need transport to get to and from. Have to say thanks to Monica and Brenda who helped us change our venue due to vandalism at another property that we had booked. If this is the standard of all the properties we will be going through the list. If there was one suggestion it would be an optional welcome pack with a few basic groceries to save the rush to the shops.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties in the future.

A much need break from the city

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed in Magherintemple Lodge just after Christmas to get away from the holiday madness in Dublin. This was our first time renting an Irish Landmark Trust property so we were not sure what to expect. Upon our arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The property was beautiful and well kept both inside and out. It had modern comforts mixed with old world charm. We stopped and picked up some light shopping as we planned to sit in 2 of the 3 nights and relax by the fire. The kitchen had everything we needed stove, oven, refrigerator, kettle, coffee press, and cooking utensils. The bathroom was excellent with a tub and shower, and the stone tile flooring throughout the property was heated, which my husband loved because he forgot to bring slippers. We brought books, cards, and scrabble and spent our evenings by the fire reading and playing games. During the days we went sightseeing, with all of the major attractions a short drive away, including Giants Causeway, The Dark Hedges, and several Castles and parks. The lodge is perfect If you are looking to get away for a romantic, or relaxing few nights, and want to enjoy the Irish countryside. However, if you are wanting to go out every night in town for dinner and drinks, you will have to drive. If you are not from Ireland there is a 0 tolerance for drink driving here and the road to town, though a short 5-10 minute drive, is narrow and curvy.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, its always nice to hear what our guests have to say, would love you to come back and visit in the near future.

Amazing Location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The temple and its location are steeped in local history but you need to check it online! The location is fantastic for exploring the beautiful Antrim coast. In Ballycastle nearby you can have amazing seafood such as scallops & scampi from Mortons served with chips! I would definitely recommend a stay!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay here, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon :)

Warm comfortable stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm,tastefully decorated, comfortable lodge house in beautiful rural location, close to lots of local tourist attractions and a lovely seaside town. One of the few National Trust locations that slept 4 so one of the few options open to us but so glad we choose this one.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the lovely feedback, come back again soon.

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Magherintemple Lodge is beautifully situated in rural surroundings overlooking the town of Ballycastle. It is old an full of history, but at the same time equipped with modern commodities such as washing machine with dryer. The easy chairs and sofa are very comfortable, as is the bed in the ground floor bedroom. Also appriciated were the spacious kitchen and the outdoor area.
We had three great days in and around the Magherintemple Lodge!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let lets enjoy our properties.

A wonderful home away from home in a stunning area

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Magherintemple Lodge - and great again. Had a wonderful time. Recommend Ballycastle Beach as well as the Giant's Causeway and Dunluce Castle.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

Beautifully restored gatehouse with modern comforts

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Interesting history and story of restoration.tGood location for exploring Antrim Coast.Peaceful yet convenient to nearby Ballycastle.Very comfortable and well equipped.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back and stay with us in the future.

Charming house in idyllic countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My three days at Magherintemple Lodge were exceptionally calm and restful. I loved the house, its fascinating history, and its soothing, pastoral setting.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Magherintemple Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One word "Perfect". So pleased we choose to stay here, could not fault accommodation or host. We all had a wonderful, relaxing holiday. Idea for elderly and young alike! Underfloor heating fab!! HArd to believe that other guests had stayed there before.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Perfection.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I don't have words to describe how wonderful this was. Everything about the cottage topped my expecting. The location makes you feel like you're miles from civilization yet really just 5 minutes from town. Beautifully decorated. The kitchen looks like an old farmhouse but is actually week disguised modern day and extremely well equipped i only wish it had been warm enough to eat outside! Just divine.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Beautiful peaceful location and lovely property.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is ideally situated with great views all around and is in a lovely peaceful location. The property is very well kept and has all the amenities one would want in a holiday home.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to read that you had a wonderful time during your recent visit to Magherintemple Lodge. We hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property some time in the future.

Causeway Coast Base

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A pleasant little house, with a comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. Be sure to bring your own toilet tissue if staying more than one night and ask in advance that your fire is set for the night you arrive. A good location for touring the Giants Causeway,
Carrick a Rede Bridge, Torr Head and White Bay Cove.




Just lovely.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family with young children and had a lovely stay in Magherintemple. The house is gorgeous and provided a welcome break from busy city life. We didn't miss tv or Internet for a moment. Monica was very helpful which was not a surprise as we have stayed in Landmark properties before.
The beauty of the North Antrim Coast was a revelation to us Dubliners. There was so much to see and do.!We would highly recommend a stay here.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the wonderful feedback ,really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

snowdrop heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay. A wonderful old cottage that has been tastefully renovated. A little oasis close to Ballycastle. Perfect getaway. woodland idyll.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay at Magherintemple , it's always nice to hear our guests thoughts :)

Great place to stay in Ballycastle

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in the lodge for a long family weekend. It was lovely. The house has bags of character and it's simply gorgeous. The kitchen is well equipped and the bathroom is modern and nice. Our favourite spot was the couch in front of fire place. Pure bliss. In short: go there and enjoy it!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back in the near future.

A little gem

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Magherintemple Lodge is a little gem. It's well located, equipped, clean, comfortable and the property was much larger than we expected (the garden is great).



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the future.

Magherintemple Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Magherintemple Lodge was an incredible stay in an area bursting with wonderful coastline. The Lodge felt 'far from the crowd' & a quiet retreat to return to after our adventures to the Causeway each day. The Lodge had so much character & history.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay , thank you for the positive feedback, come back again soon.

Excellent in terms of comfort and location but is on the expensive side!

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent comfort and location. House very nicely decorated and great to be able to light a fire. However, is on the expensive side £390 for 3 nights.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for staying at an Irish Landmark Trust property. Each stay in an Irish Landmark property helps us conserve and maintain a historically important property and each guest becomes part of a community that’s keeping heritage alive.

Magherintemple Lodge July 2015

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is beautifully restored retaining authenticity but still providing a high level of comfort and excellent bathroom/kitchen facilities. The location was lovely as it felt very rural but was an easy drive into Ballycastle, a town that provides everything you could need. I would highly recommend the no Internet/Wifi/Phone etc as it forces a complete shut-off and it suited us fine to have a little escape. The weather was awful, but with the underfloor heating on, the lodge was extremely warm and welcoming when returning from rainy adventures. Would definitely re-book.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Magherintemple Gate Lodge. I am delighted that you had a nice stay there despite the bad weather. Many people are worried about no WiFi or phone at Irish Landmark Trust properties but we agree that once you are there the cut off from this really does reconnect people with the important things. We hope that we are able to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property.

super holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very nice location and house, very tranquil.Should have a Wifi for foreigners like us and a map for walking and cycling should be provided. very good shower



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review and suggestions, we will keep them in mind, come back again soon :)

Lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and lodge were exactly what I was looking for. Close enough to to get where we wanted to be easily with an out of the way place to go to at the end of the evening. I didn't want to leave. Everyone we dealt with to set up the rental was very helpful and the house manager, Monica, obviously cares very much for the property. She was flexible with our arrival and came to check in on us to make sure all was ok. I know for some the thought of no tv, Internet or phone would be an issue but we loved the downtime.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you come back in the future.

Cleanliness but will return!

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jun 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay & look forward to staying in another Irish Landmark Trust Property soon. The lodge was perfect for our stay with our Bernese Mountain Dog & we thoroughly enjoyed it however we felt that the property needed a good "scrub" or deep clean.
The windows were dirty not just the glass but the timber rails had quite a build up of dust turned to dirt. The timber panelling in the bathroom had toothpaste/soap splatters on it above the wash hand basin. The previous guests used the frying pan & there was oil splatters on the cooker work surfaces & tea pot.
We did really enjoy ourselves in the lodge & would return. We were not put out by the above items not being cleaned properly & everything else was spotless.
Pillows... there was just one thin hard pillow per person.
North County Antrim & Coastline is a beautiful part of the country & the lodge was ideal location to tour the surrounding area.




Great timr

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time and thought it was a lovely location.. All the attractions in the area are 10-30 mims driving time so it is an ideal location...



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay , would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Beautiful, well equiped cottage - is better in real life than the web pics

Review submitted on Thu, 28 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Magherintemple Lodge is easy to find, and was spotless and comfortable. The nearest shops, in Ballycastle, are a car drive away, and no foodstuffs are supplied, not even salt and pepper. Kitchen equipment and utensils were all in good order. Cleaning items were supplied such as washing up liquid, loo paper etc. The washer-drier and the dishwasher were most welcome.
I think that the building itself has a damp problem, but the bedding and facilities were all fresh and pristine. The pictures on the website do not make it clear that there is a separate cosy living room, with a log fire, and a small room upstairs. The bathroom has both a shower and a bath. A floorplan would be a useful addition to the website.
Monica came to visit and was most helpful and friendly. It was a pleasure to stay in such a lovely cottage, which is well situated for visiting the coastal path including Giant's Causeway, and is an easy drive from Belfast airport.
There was not much space to put our own things, especially in the bathroom. It was a nice touch to display the old wash bowl and jug, but it used up the only surface available. A shelf by the washbasin would be useful. Similarly, in the kitchen diner there were lots of surfaces, all covered with Landmark Trust stuff. We were at risk of accidentally leaving some of our belongings in with the items that live there.
One of the kitchen chairs was decidedly wobbly, so it was just as well that there were only three of us. My only genuine dislike was the pair of china dogs which did not match the tasteful nature of the rest of the decor.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions , we will take it on board , would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Stay and enjoy relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 10 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed staying for 3 nights in this charming lodge. It is fantastic and the right place for relaxing. The lodg is close to the causeway so you have a chance to see the greatest views in the world.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your few nights in The Barbican, thank you for the great feedback.

Beautiful house in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house in beautiful surroundings
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comment, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Long Weekend at Magherintemple Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge was in pristine condition and fitted out to a very high standard. The setting is lovely and it is conveniently located to many brilliant tourist attractions. This was out first time staying in an Irish Landmark Trust property and we were very impressed.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear such positive feedback.

Magherin and the Sea of Moyle

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ancient tales of Fionn and the Fianna, of Fairies and Myths, the Children of Lir and the magic Sea of Moyle would be enough to tempt anyone to visit The Glens and the Antrim Coast. Add in the historic architectural masterpiece of Magherintemple Lodge as your base and the combination is irresistible. The lodge is a gem among gems of the Irish Landmark Trust's remarkable success in preserving our built heritage and providing the opportunity to the public to be part of their ethos of preservation.

What you see in the Trust's imagery is what you get, a beautiful natural stone exterior, and interior renovations of the highest standard with all modern conveniences. And all just five minutes from the beautiful market town of Ballycastle, and central to some of the most beautiful scenery on the island of Ireland

It would add to the overall pleasure if the dining/kitchen area where guests will linger had a couple of easy chairs for those of us in 'advanced years'.

Wonderful.





Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely kind words about the wonderful Magherintemple. We are very happy to hear that you had a magical Irish Landmark Experience. We are very pleased that you were about to enjoy the beautiful Ballycastle as well during your stay. To have such a scenic spot so close to Magherintemple is great for our guests as they explore the local area.

Great weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a two-night break at Magherintemple Lodge with two mates and it completely lived up to our expectations. The place was extremely well presented. The facilities were ideal and we were just a short drive from the town of Ballycastle.
The location allowed us to explore the Causeway Coast extensively. The house was warm and inviting and the folder full of history about the property and its previous inhabitants was a worthwhile read and added to the sense of occasion.

I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love you to return.

Magherintemple Lodge Weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent in every aspect. Lovely location especially at this springtime of year, woods carpeted with snowdrops, lambs in the fields across the road. We really enjoyed exploring the area, walking along the coast path to Fair Head, visiting Rathlin Island, and want to go back again. The house is very cosy and warm and obviously cared for lovingly and with great attention to detail: daffodils on the table, fragrant towels and sheets. My only concern is the price which, even with the Rewarding Times voucher was very high.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback , delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the future.

Wonderful peaceful spot in excellent location

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay in a landmark trust property but we will definitely be back for more. We arrived on a cold wet evening and were very happy to encounter a warm room, under floor heating and a fire ready to be lit. Monica the amanger was quick to arrive and ensure we had everything needed and answered any questions we had.
One of many supermarkets were only a 5 minute drive away in Ballycastle so we quickly stocked up for our few days. The kitchen had everything needed to allow you to cook meals if needed but there were several restaurants and pubs in Ballycastle. The property didn't have TV or internet which was fine for us, we played scrabble for the first time! but in this age of communication some people may not be comfortable without internet.
The location is great to enjoy the coast and local attractions as well as having the peaceful feeling of being out in the countryside but only 5 minutes drive from all amenities.
Would highly recommend this property.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay,would love you to come back in the near future.

Ballycastle

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Oct 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
There could be a welcome basket of tea bags etc just to get the weekend off to a good start.
I think the house is only suitable for two people particulary in the Winter.




beautiful peaceful location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just what the Doctor ordered. A beautiful property situated in a beautiful location. With Ballycastle on your doorstep (1 mile) and the fantastically beautiful Antrim Coastline all around (Giants Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede Robe bridge, Bushmills) all within a short drive, there is always something lovely to do.

Just take a drive from Ballycastle to Portrush and be amazed and delighted at the wonderfull scenery.

If Golf is your thing the area boasts some of the best courses on the Island.

Make sure to drop in for a coffee and homemade cake in the red door cafe.

No hesitation in recommending what was a memorable weekend for us. The weather was also amazing!! Who knew.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review , we are so glad you enjoyed your stay,we would love to see you back in the future.

Rural charm

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful location and a comfortable property which is close to many of the major attractions of the North Antrim coast. An open fire warms the soul on a cool autumn evening.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback,we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Beautiful stay in Ballycastle

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Driving up the lane to Magherintemple lodge is lovely and then the cottage comes in to view, it's magical. Typical ILT, beautifully presented yet with all the mod cons needed for a relaxing romantic stay. The place is a credit to the house keeper Monica. The view and sun rises/sunsets were stunning, and the wildlife was amazing especially the rabbits right outside our window. We will definitely be back. Miss it already! Can't recommend enough.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay,would love to see you back in the near future.

Peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not having visited the North Antrim Coast before, we were not sure that it would satisfy our needs. In fact the area and the Lodge exceeded our expectation. The area is fabulous, the locals were lovely and very friendly, and the Lodge is very comfortable. We decided to stay in each night (we normally go out to eat) so that we could enjoy the comfort of the fire in the living room and relax and enjoy listening to music and reading books(there is a very interesting collection of books available). The kitchen is well stocked, but we found two small items were missing i.e. Eggcups and ice making trays. The latter have now been purchased (gin and tonic is not quite right without the ice). Monica, the housekeeper was very accommodating and had the house in perfect condition when we arrived. We highly reccomend this holiday home.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties,would love you to come back in the near future.

Summer hols 2014

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! what a great place this and the surrounding area has some amazing places for you to visit. The house was perfect for our needs and is surrounded by places to visit. We stayed for two weeks and still did not visit all the places we wanted to go to.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review of Magherintemple Lodge. We are delighted that you had a nice time and we look forward to perhaps welcoming you to another of an Irish Landmark Property in the future.

An excellent short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family stayed for two nights. It's a beautiful property, full of character, and well located for the key attractions of the north Antrim coast. Time and finance allowing, we'll be back.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
It's always a pleasure to let guest enjoy our properties,look forward to your return :)

Fabulous place to completely relax in

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would return in a heart beat - loved it!
Highly recommend a stay - very peaceful location - loved the bunnies in the garden and cows in the field next door




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review, we hope you do return in the future :)

A lovely place to spend a few days

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A pretty gate lodge in a quiet setting with all the modern facilities we have come to expect except (and this is a positive point for a proper getaway) internet, even on the phone. No emails for three days, heaven!

Highly recommended.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

A fantastic coastal weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed out stay at Magherintemple Lodge and were even able to eat outside one evening. The house could do with some egg cups and ice cube trays - otherwise perfect.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the feedback and suggestion :) would love to see you back in the near future.

May 2014 Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 24 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was very nice and plenty of room. Great location for visiting the coastal causeway.

This location definitely requires having yor own car. Also, need to call the propert manager to make final arrangements before arriving, would have been easier for me through email.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback ,glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you return in the near future :)

Beautiful Corner of Ireland

Review submitted on Wed, 14 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stone cottage a couple of miles outside Ballycastle. Definitely need a car. Beautiful quiet location surrounded by woodlands which were full of bluebells when we were there. Well maintained cosy cottage with a very accommodating agent. Birds and rabbits galore and magnificent location to explore.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, hope you return in the near future :)

Weekend with children in Antrim

Review submitted on Fri, 09 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge is lovely and a good base from which to explore Antrim. Quiet and secluded it was comfortable and cosy. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.



Easter perfection!

Review submitted on Wed, 07 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We has an incredible Easter stay at Magheringemple Lodge. As usual, the ILT have provided a beautifully conserved and maintained property, full of lovely touches (love the avoca books and throws!) We explored Rathlin, Fairhead, the local oak forest and even swam. Evenings were spent watching the sunset from the terrace followed by impeccable trad sessions at McDonnells. Bleating lambs abounded, all in all a blissful stay. We particularly loved that the lodge was close enough to Ballycastle to abandon the car in favour of bikes and feet. Can't wait to return to this beautiful part of Antrim!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review and great feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties. Hope you come back to stay with us in the near future.

Magherintemple Lodge, Ballycastle

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family (including our pet spaniel) had a lovely stay at Magherintemple Lodge. It's perfectly situated - with Ballycastle town and its beach less than a 5-minute stay away. The lodge itself is what you would expect of an Irish Landmark Trust property - lots of historic character, but with the modern comforts of heating and kitchen facilities etc (including freezer, dishwasher and washing machine). It is beautifully maintained and looked after by its housekeeper. This our 3rd Irish Landmark Trust holiday and I would thoroughly recommend all the cottages we have stayed in. Prices are a little dearer than other Irish cottages, perhaps, but the special character of these places - and the fact that staying in them helps to maintain them - justifies the higher price. Some visitors often record that they wish there was Wi-Fi, internet, or television. But the lack of these things is one of the reasons why we love Irish Landmark Trust buildings. It guarantees time away from work and from video-gaming etc. We play scrabble, for example, which is something we rarely do outside of family holiday time and the children love this. Ballycastle is also a lovely, unspoilt, seaside town. The rocks at the eastern end of the beach are fun for kids to explore and Rahtlin island close by - giving wonderful views and also a great day-out.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon.

Magherinatemple uberalis

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our two days at the house. Great location, great architecture, excellent facilities. Monica was very helpful as well.

Ballycastle is a short drive or long walk and there is plenty to do round abouts. My only recommendation to improve the house would be a more comfortable sofa but apart from that it was superb.

Top marks to the trust




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback,delighted you enjoyed you stay.

Ballycastle - great experience!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jan 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed in Magherintemple Lodge with my parents from the Netherlands. We live in Dublin. Thanks to the beautiful location and the lovely lodge we had an absolutely marvelous time together. As we all love cooking, the kitchen was perfect and it being the warmest room it was the most comfortable room in the house. We also loved the room with the fire place, but it was a bit cool to spend time there at times.

I am aware of the difficulties maintaining the properties of Landmark Trust, in particular the dampness of the houses seems to be a problem. We have been staying a few times with Landmark properties before and in our opinion they would benefit from having people in the houses more regularly as they are now often empty. As a consequence the heating is not on all the time. Would the properties be more affordable we would stay in one of the places much more regularly and so would others, we think. As we were staying there with 4 people / 2 families it made it much more affordable then staying there with just the one family.

As we think it's such a special experience to stay in one of the Landmark properties, it would be brilliant if the possibility of staying would become excessable. Just some food for thought.




Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Hello and thank you for giving us your feedback. We will take your comments on board and hope you will stay with us again in the near future!

Just great ...

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This gate lodge was a great place to stay - it was warm and comfortable; very well furnished and equipped with everything we needed. It was good to meet Monica (the manager) who was very friendly, helpful and keen to ensure we had everything we needed. We also met the occupant of the estate's mansion which was really good too. The service by the Irish Landmark Trust in booking the gate lodge was also first-rate. It's such an unusual and historic place to stay and sits by the entrance to one beautiful estate. Being there in late Autumn was really nice - the autumn colours were stunning. It's also very convenient to lovely Ballycastle town and absolutely outstanding scenery in all directions. We'd certainly stay there again...



Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Magherintemple as well as the surrounding area.

Fascinating house on the edge of the wood

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a last minute break just after New Year in what turned out to be memorably bad weather but we were snug in this little gatelodge with underfloor heating. Although it looks small in photos, the rooms were surprisingly large, particularly the bathroom with large tub and separate shower. Our party (two adults and two young children) enjoyed exploring the house and particularly reading the comments from a local school who had visited and highlighted some of the interesting features in the property.



Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Hello - so happy to read about your stay at the lodge and to hear that you and your children enjoyed it so much! Thanks for taking the time to write this review.