FB Twitter

JP Ketch

JP Ketch

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 80 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


You can’t miss St John’s Point Lighthouse in gorgeous County Down. Its strikingly tall tower is marked with vibrant bands of yellow and black. (The colours which distinguish it from other lighthouses are known as its daymark).

  • Sleeps 4 people. 1 Double Bedroom, 1 Twin Room.
  • Pets are not permitted.

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exactly what we were hoping for: a quiet and peaceful place by the sea to relax. Just fantastic, we will come back one day.



Irish Landmark Trust replied 15 days ago
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ketch Lighthouse. Thank you for sharing your experience and for supporting Irish Landmark Trust. We do hope you will stay with us again one day.

Cozy

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay and the location was excellent. Ann was very friendly and accommodating onsite. The property was very cozy.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 66 days ago
It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at Ketch and you found the property to be cozy and enjoyable.

A great getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic two nights at St John’s Point light house cottages. The accommodation is comfortable and staff friendly. Good to get away from the rest of the world and relax in the quiet atmosphere with a fantastic view. Extra special was the tour of the light house just before we left.



Two nights at St John's Point (Ketch and Sloop)

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From beginning to end, everything about our stay was perfect. The standards of the accommodation, the utensils and essentials provided, the guidance from ILT staff and the lighthouse's on-site resident. We were 8 friends staying across both cottages for 2 nights and we're all simply dying to go back. Highly recommended and even better than the photos suggest.



Irish Landmark Trust replied 123 days ago
Your wonderful review of your stay is very much appreciated. Thank you so much for your kind words and it is fantastic ti hear that your group had such a special 2 night stay at St. John's Point.

A special place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I were visiting Northern Ireland for the first time with the aim of researching some of his ancestry. We wanted a special place to stay and love being near the sea. Ketch was perfect. It was remote and peaceful. Everyone we met was friendly, the surrounding countryside was beautiful and there were some great places to eat - albeit a drive away.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 123 days ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark by staying in one the self-catering accommodations in our care. It is lovely to hear that you have a very special stay during your first trip to Ireland.

Great long weekend at a wonderful location

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
St. John’s Point is a stunning location and seeing the beam from the lighthouse is wonderful. Ketch is very comfortable and well kitted out so highly recommended. It’s a great place to chill out!

All organisation was easy with help from the Manager, Suzan. Ann from the lighthouse is a lovely lady and also very welcoming. Her family stories added a lot of personality to the stay. Thanks to all involved.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 123 days ago
Delighted you all had such a wonderful stay in Ketch, at St. John's Point Down. It is lovely to hear you had a chance to relax and chill out during your time here.

A most memorable stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A dream come true!! We had a most amazing 2 days at St John's Lighthouse and hope to return again. The location is idyllic, remote and serene. The host was most amazing and accommodating. They cottage was cozy and had all amenities. Only downside was that we were not allowed up the lighthouse itself.



See previous

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
See previous review as both cottages were booked for our twin daughters' 30th birthday. Great experience and Suzanne and Ann were great



In the steps of Van Morrison ...

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Van Morrison’s ‘Coney Island’ namechecks all the local places including St John’s Point. ‘Wouldn’t it be great if it could be like this all the time?’ he sings – and for two days it was. Suzan made the cottage spotless and welcoming. Ann next door gave us some of her chickens’ eggs with a gorgeously generous and open-hearted note. Daisy Booboo the goat headbutted her way into our hearts. ‘And the craic is good’ ...



Review of JP Ketch

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in both JP Ketch and JP Sloop. Loved both. Properties were absolutely spotless and well tended by Suzan who couldn't have been more helpful.




Irish Landmark Trust replied 172 days ago
Delighted you had such a lovely stay at Ketch and Sloop Cheryl. Thank you for your amazing support of Irish Landmark Trust and in turn helping us to share, save and sustain more of our built heritage.

Ketch

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for a quiet getaway , Susan was incredibly helpful overall a great choice to stay at anytime



A unique experience

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fabulous location with glorious views to the Mourne Mountains and the beauty of the summertime coast. Easy access to the Lecale Way and the beaches at Murlough and Ballyhornan. The site beside the functioning lighthouse is a unique experience. The cottage was full of character and history but also offered all the modern creature comforts and was spotlessly clean. Booking arrangements and access all really easy and efficient.



Irish Landmark Trust replied 185 days ago
Thank you so very much for letting Irish Landmark Trust know that you had such a lovely and unique stay at Ketch, at St. John's Point in Co. Down. You are very kind to also give future guests some great ideas of things to do and see in the local area.

Wonderful place

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a super place for short or long term break. The location is ideal if you are interested in getting away from the hustle and bustle of the city. There are lots of things to do in the area and some very nice places to eat in Ardglass and Strangford. We were impressed with the cottage. It was clean and comfortable with great facilitates. We didn't miss the TV or Wifi. We're already planning to return.

The goat, ponies, roosters and cat that reside on the property add tremendous character. We particularly enjoyed our encounters Daisy, the friendly goat who will try to get into the cottage at every opportunity! The roosters start crowing as soon as the soon comes up so earplugs might be a good idea if you want a lie in. Great memories to take away.




Irish Landmark Trust replied 194 days ago
Delighted you had a nice stay and found your time at Ketch fun and memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Idyllic Getaway less than an hour from Belfast: Old Man and the Sea Revisited

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic getaway and a very memorable destination. The Lighthouse and its surrounds are rugged and wild but the hospitality and accommodation cosy and comfortable.
We had a fantastic few days and will definitely come back.




Irish Landmark Trust replied 205 days ago
We very much look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage beside the lighthouse is spacious,clean and well catered for 4 people.Everything worked.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 227 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at St. John's Point and we hope you will come stay with Irish Landmark Trust again soon.

Time to relax

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice chilled time staying in John’s Point lighthouse, Suzan very friendly and welcoming, plenty of nice walks and beautiful scenery close by. Highly recommend a stay here!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 235 days ago
Thank you so very much for highly recommending a stay at Ketch, St John's Point in Co. Down. We are delighted to hear you had such a lovely and chilled out stay surrounded by the amazing scenery. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in 1 of the 32 properties in our care.

A fantastic place to stay - on the edge of the rocks!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
How lovely it was to be living on the 'footprint' of the former lighthouse keepers house - for a weekend.
While our 1st evening was still & calm, presenting a fantastic sunset - the wind picked up for the remainder of our stay - simulating in a small way - as to what conditions must have been like for the men who worked & the families who lived there - in times past.
JP Ketch is very cosy & warm - with Suzan & Ann being 2 lovely welcoming hosts to explain all we needed to know.
Ann's hens providing part of a very tasty breakfast each morning ... ably assisted by their cockerels heralding the dawn!
We would highly recommend staying here at St. John's Point - being a perfect place to unwind & enjoy all nature has to offer - complimented by some some lovely restaurants such as in Ardglass & in Carlingford.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 235 days ago
It is so lovely to hear that you had such a great stay at Ketch and got to experiance both fine and a little rougher weather during your stay. It really does make you appreciate the kind of conditions that people endured whilst tending to the lighthouse trying to keep those out to sea safe. Thank you so very much for recommending the landmark experience to other potential guests who would like to "unwind and enjoy all nature has to offer". We really do appreciate your support.

Great place to go

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family of young children had a very enjoyable experience at this house. The layout of the house was good for young children. They even got used to daisy the goat.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 253 days ago
Thank you so much for staying at a property in the care of Irish Landmark Trust. You stay helps us to continue to save, share and sustain some of our built heritage. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed you time at Ketch, St. John's Point in Co. Down.

Amazing

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing escape. The setting, the property, the people: it was all great. I wasn't expecting to place to be so well appointed and to have a kitchen so well equipped: if I'd know it was going t be so comfortable I'd have stocked up a bit more on groceries and never left the immediate locale for the 3 days we were there. Thanks to Suzan for the very warm welcome and to Anne (who lives on site) for the amazing eggs and the really helpful information on the area: you both added that special something!
The only reason I can think of that would prevent me from going back here in the near future is the desire to try more of the Heritage Trust's properties: if they are in any way close to as nice as this place is then future stays around Ireland are going to be a real treat.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 282 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful and heartfelt review of your stay at Ketch, St. John's Point in Co. Down. It is truly lovely to hear you had such an amazing stay and that you were so well looked after during your time there. Irish Landmark Trust are very fortunate to have such a fantastic House Manger who takes such great care of the property and Landmark Trust guests at Ketch and Sloop. We are delighted you were treated to some fresh eggs, the perks of having a wonderful onsite neighbour. We do hope to welcome you back to St. John's Point, or indeed another of the 32 properties in the care of Irish Landmark Trust.

Home away from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great weekend, fantastic property and location. Nice and cosy accommodation, Daisy was a great addition to the weekend and fresh eggs from onsite was a lovely treat!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 330 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of your time at Ketch, St. John's Point in Co. Down. It is so lovely to hear that you really got on so well there and you cannot beat a fresh egg from your neighbours that is for sure. You are very kind to support Irish Landmark Trust staying in one of the properties in our care, and we do hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

A magical stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A magical stay at the JP Ketch with our 2 children aged 9 and 13. We had a very warm welcome from Suzan who told us all there was to know about staying in the house and the area in general. The house was really warm and cozy. It was very well equipped with everything we needed in the kitchen so if you need to cook or want to stay in...you can do so in comfort and style! There is a Mace in nearby Killough to buy supplies. The view from the house is magnificent as you have a panoramic view of the sea. There is also a lovely patio area to sit out and breathe in the lovely fresh sea air. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and very warm...beds lovely and comfortable! There is a great opportunity for quiet walks and to enjoy the rocky sea front. You can also visit some historical ruins close by so it is clearly a place that is steeped in history. We had lovely meals in Aldos in Ardglass and The Cuan Strangford - food top class and not too far away. All this ...but the lighthouse ... WOW to see the beam sweeping over the bay under a starry sky was nothing short of magical!! If you're on the fence about booking this place, hop off and book it...you will absolutely LOVE it



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 337 days ago
Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Ketch. It is so lovely to hear how magical your stay was and that you had a thoroughly enjoyable time. It is an amazing location and we totally understand what you mean about the beam of light at night going around and around, it is simply magical. It is just wonderful you had such a great stay and we do hope to welcome you back to Ketch, or another of the 33 properties in our care, sometime in the future.

A memorable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a wonderful stay, the house was so cosy and had everything you needed, our house manager Susan was so kind and helpful and full of information. Our neighbours for the weekend were brilliant and full of character, definitely go back, weather was a bonus.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 337 days ago
Thank you so very much for letting Irish Landmark Trust know how your stay at Ketch was. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again soon.

La plus merveilleuse expérience vécue durant nos vacances en Irlande

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Un vrais rêve.

Vivre comme un gardien de phare avant l'automatisation de celui-ci, mais avec tout le confort moderne d'un adorable cottage, plein de charme, d'objets du passé, d'une décoration intérieure fabuleuse, de deux chambres adorables et confortables, de grands fauteuils, même dans la cuisine. Une cuisine judicieusement bien équipée, avec déjà du thé, café, sucre et tout les petits éléments pour cuisiner, sel, poivre, épices huile à disposition, produit de vaisselle et nettoyage, bref de quoi s'installer en ne pensant qu'à apporter la nourriture fraiche. Des sanitaires de luxe, douche et baignoire séparés, deux toilettes et de l'eau chaude à profusion.

Une vue imprenable sur la mer et sur l'impressionnante tour du phare, même une des chambre à une petite fenêtre logée dans le plafond permettant de voir la lumière du phare tourner durant la nuit. Un paysage lunaire et changeant à chaque heure, la lumière du lever du jour sur la mer, le vent les embruns, et le coucher du soleil, un rêve pour les photographes.

La gentillesse d'Ann, résidente permanente du site, une adorable personne, pleine de connaissances, et prête à les partager avec les résidents, elle nous a fait la surprise de débarquer avec le champagne le soir du Nouvel An, elle est d'une gentillesse exceptionnelle. Sachant que Frédéric était ingénieur, elle lui a spontanément proposé la visite du phare à deux reprises, lui permettant de faire d'inoubliables photos.

L'enceinte du phare abrite aussi des poules, un coq qui se manifeste au lever du jour, un chien, deux ânes et une adorable chèvre, Daisy, qui s'est prise d'affection pour nous et ne nous à tenu compagnie durant notre séjour.

La personne qui s'occupe du cottage, Suzan (House Manager) est elle aussi adorable, elle nous a accueilli avec tant de gentillesse, nous faisant visiter le cottage avec beaucoup de plaisir, on voit qu'elle est, elle-même très impliquée dans la bonne marche de la location du cottage.

Merci à toutes les deux, Ann et Suzan, nous n'oublierons pas notre séjour et reviendrons avec plaisir à St. Jon's Point lighthouse.

Fernande Schmid & Frédéric

Geneva, Switzerland






Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 359 days ago
Thank you for such a wonderful review. It is wonderful to have international guests stay in an Irish Landmark Trust property and just fantastic to hear they have enjoyed their time there. As a guest you are helping us in our mission to save, share, and sustain Ireland’s built heritage. It might not feel like your holiday is anything but a relaxing indulgence, but when you stay in an Irish Landmark property, you’re part of a community that’s helping to keep heritage alive. Each of our properties has been carefully restored, but it is the guest – and all those who visit – who add the essential heartbeat that gives new life to these properties.

Magical

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved everything about this place. Credit to all in The Landmark trust for keeping this cosy little Gem available for the next generation.
Thanks Suzan for making everything so easy for you us.

Would I recommend this place to a friend ? Haven’t stopped since we came back




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much Andy for recommending at stay at Ketch. You are very good. As a non-profit organisation, word of mouth is so important to spread news of what Irish Landmark Trust does to try and save, share and sustain some of Ireland's incredible built heritage. It is great to hear you had such a lovely time and that the wonderful House Manager Suzan took such great care of you during your stay. Thank you again and we do hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark property in the future.

We stayed at St. John's Point over the October bank holiday weekend.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome and a warm cosy cottage in stunning surroundings. Kitchen very well equipped which we were particularly impressed with as often not the case in holiday homes.
A lovely few days and would have gladly stayed longer.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is so lovely to hear you had a great time at St. John's Point recently and that you found the property was very well looked after by our fantastic Local House Manager. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Extraordinary experience!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at JP Ketch for two nights. It was one of the most wonderful experiences of my life. As a lover of lighthouses, it was a dream of mine for many years to stay in a place like this, and I was not disappointed. The cottage itself is beautiful, comfortable, and charming, and the location is truly spectacular. I hope to perhaps return some day and stay longer.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Absolutely delighted a stay at a lightkeeper's house did not disappoint. They are very special properties and Irish Landmark Trust is delighted that we have the opportunity to share them with our guests. Thank you for your very kind words and we do really hope to welcome you to another lightkeeper's house in the future.

Perfect location and accommodation for a girlie reunion

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ketch was home for two nights for 3 university friends coming together from various parts of the UK to celebrate 3 big birthdays. It could not have been more perfect and Susan from the Landmark Trust and Anne, the lighthouse assistant could not have been more welcoming or helpful.

The accommodation is more spacious than we anticipated, the kitchen is brilliantly equipped and the décor clever; it's clean and modern whilst somehow retaining the charm of an old cottage.

Great location too. Pleasant walks in the fields near the cottage and a short drive north or south along the Mourne coastal route for beautiful views and beach walks.

In short, it couldn't have been better and we all hope there will be another occasion that requires us to return!








Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is just wonderful to hear that you chose an Irish Landmark Trust property for your reunion with friends, and for such a special occasion as a birthday. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time at Ketch and also had a chance to explore the local area. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Loved it!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I knew I would love this stay but the location and the lovely decor of the house won the heart of all the family. Keep it as it is it’s a gem!



Exellent

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at JP Ketch with my father and 4yo daughter and we had a great time. The house is in very good shape from the inside, and it felt like a nice little home. Outside its a very peaceful place too and we spend our time taking hikes and climbing through the rocks at the coast and the last day we went up the lighthouse to enjoy the magnificent view.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark Trust know you had such a lovely stay in Ketch, at St. John's Point in Co. Down. It is so nice to hear you and your family had a great time there.

quiet relaxing stay, wonderful lighthouse atmosphere

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrival was well arranged to collect keys, small welcome pack appreciated. accommodation was very clean and comfortable. Loved the lighthouse atmosphere, the sweeping beam in the dark, the crashing waves.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. It sounds like you were well looked after by the local House Manager and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay which is something we never grow tired of hearing. We hope you can come stay in any of our wonderful properties again soon.

2 magic days !

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was really a amazing place. Susan and Ann were so nice and everything was perfect.
The house was really clean and big. The headlight was really beautiful at night and also in the day. And with our 2 children (12 and 17 years old) it was possible to go all around the headlight. Furthermore there were nice animals there : a goat, kitten, poneys...
It was really 2 unforgettable days and out of time.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
It is so lovely to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time at Ketch during your recent stay. The location of this lightkeeper's cottage on the St. John's Point lighthouse complex really does give our guests a glimpse at the beauty and, if a storm hits, the harshness of the life of a lightkeeper (including the hens, goat, kittens, etc).

Beautiful

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good, except for the fact that this review has big demands on the reviewer fi the obligatory 100 words?! Why not settle for the multiple choice? This will keep a lot of people of from reviewing.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property. We do appreciate your feedback and marking. I am very sorry but Irish Landmark do not determine the word capacity required for the reviews as it is an independent review site who contacts guests for their feedback. However, I will pass on your comments to them directly.

Not a place for privacy.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location. House spotless. Staff who look after it are brilliant. But the public wander around the property all the time so, no privacy. You cannot sit outside without intrusion and people continually look in the windows as there are no curtains. This is a big problem because there is inadequate signage. It should state clearly that the property is private. This is very dissappointing wheb you go for a quiet short break and Irish Landmark Trust fail to make you aware of the lack of privacy, which I believe they are aware.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Irish Landmark has only recently become aware that new signage at the site entrance, erected by Irish Lights, has caused confusion and has recently led to an increase of public footfall. The matter is being addressed urgently with Irish Lights, to ensure there is an understanding that the area within the boundaries of the lighthouse is private property. The land surrounding the walled lighthouse station is public property and has always attracted walkers.

A walking base for Co. Down, full of character.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very clean, comfortable and well-appointed collage which was an excellent base for exploring the country around Strangford Lough, and for walking the coast of County Down and the Mournes (all helped by glorious summer weather). The cottage, in the lighthouse compound, has terrific atmosphere.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely review of your stay at Ketch at St John's Point in County Down. It is great to hear that you had such a lovely time at the lighthouse station and enjoyed the atmosphere that the wonderful St. John's Point black and yellow lighthouse has to offer. We do hope to welcome you to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future. At our properties you have an opportunity to experience the best of a former way of life: beautiful architecture, fascinating history and a peaceful relaxed ambience, where you decide the pace of your holiday.

Incredible cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful time and would happily recommend this accommodation to anyone. Great location and beautiful landscape. Not everyday you get to stay next to a lighthouse.



The JP Ketch lighthouse

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The JP Ketch lighthouse is a very dramatic setting, the living quarters are cozy , clean and the kitchen and bathrooms are modern and very clean. The location on the Irish Sea is beautiful, lighthouses and their history are my husband's passion, staying here was a dream fulfilled for us.JP Ketch is a look-back in history- the working light is mesmerizing, the property is authentic , we are very glad we were able to spend a few nights there.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for staying at Ketch. It is lovely to hear that you had such a nice time and enjoyed the property and it's fantastic setting.

Literally blown away at St. John's Point

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at Ketch just when the Orange weather warning was to hit the Co. Down coastline and were worried it would hinder our stay at St. John's Point but in all honestly, it only added to the amazing experience we had at this incredible Irish Landmark property. I must start with the House Manager. I have no words at how wonderfully welcome we were made to feel from the moment we arrived at Ketch. The warmth in the welcome we received was 100% genuine and that immediately made us all relax and by the end of the quick show around of the property and guide to how everything worked, we knew we were on to a winner here. Suzan then left us to our own devices and we quickly settled in, with a cup of tea and began to unpack for our stay. The kitchen is exceptionally well stocked up with everything you would need delph, utensils and cutlery wise. There some basic supplies too like sugar & tea bags, etc which was a lovely touch and I am sure well appreciated by those who may have forgotten an item or two. The house was immaculate. And I mean spotlessly clean! The property is older and right beside the sea so there is a little wear and tear of the outside walls but that is to be expected considering the bashing the weather throws at it and the fact the property is 174 years old! We were confirmed to inside for the first evening and night due the the orange weather warning but it was just fantastic. Plenty of board games, books, cards, lighthouse information, etc to while away the hours. When darkness fell we spent lots of time looking out the windows watching the beams of light from the lighthouse pierce through the storm outside across the waves. It was an incredible first night and we felt so secure, warm and safe in Ketch all night as the storm howled around us. We woke to sunshine the next morning and we emerged from Ketch all ready for our exploration of the local area. But we didn't go far. The sea was still rough so we spent all morning exploring the coastline for washed up treasures and just taking time to appreciate the power of the sea, the work of lightkeepers and rescue personal trying to keep people at sea safe, and how important it is to keep places like Ketch and Sloop open to the public who need to be reminded from time to time that life is precious and we need to take time out like this with the people we love. There was a teenager in our group and she did not mention the mobile once, which shocked us all a bit. Out of the whole trip she said by far this was the best and she didn't want to leave so soon. Now if that is not a good indication of how wonderful this place is, I do not know what is.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
It is wonderful to read your lovely review of our very special property Ketch at St. John's Point in Co. Down. Irish Landmark is delighted to hear that you had a full Landmark experience and also that the weather gave you such brilliant shows. It is a great place to be stuck in during a storm but also a fantastic place to explore when the sun shines. It is especially lovely to hear that the teenager in your group enjoyed it so much and didn't miss their electronics too much. That is the great thing about a stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property. People may be a little worried about no connection to the outside world but once they arrive there and experience it, all worries fade away and re-connections with friends and family unfold.

Amazing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything from the host to the location was absolutely fantastic. Would highly recommend anyone to book this property. Secluded and peaceful.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay in JP Ketch. As you mentioned, it's the perfect spot to get away from it all and simply enjoy the natural beauty of the surrounding area. Thank you so much for the great review and we do hope to welcome you back to any of our unique properties in the near future.

A balm for the soul

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The peace and solitude of this place was exactly what we needed. From bird watching and ship spotting at the breakfast table to star gazing at night with bats swooping through the comforting sweep of the lights. We loved every minute.
It's obvious how much thought and care went into the restoration of the house, and it is cosy and comfortable while still retaining it's character. Suzan was so welcoming and helpful. And Daisy the goat who thinks she's a dog also trotted up each day to say hello!
Our daughter is already asking when we are going back!




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review of Ketch, at St. John's Point in Co. Down. It sounds like you had a lovely and relaxing time which is wonderful to hear. We hope you’ll agree that a stay in an Irish Landmark property is memorable, comfortable, and elegant without any manufactured lifestyle gimmicks. Irish Landmark offers its guest more than just a place to stay. At our properties you have an opportunity to experience the best of a former way of life: beautiful architecture, fascinating history and a peaceful relaxed ambiance, where you decide the pace of your holiday. we look forward to welcoming you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Fantastic location

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful views...although we were unfortunate to stay when there was a sea fret for most of the time. If you enjoy peace and tranquillity this is the place for you but be sure to have everything you need with you because it is some way to the nearest shops.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Sorry to hear that the weather and fog disturbed your view of the fabulous setting at Ketch but glad that it did not dampen your enjoyment of the property. Thank you for choosing to stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property. As a guest you are helping us in our mission to save, share, and sustain Ireland’s built heritage. We do hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Weekend in JP Ketch

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Myself and my wife had a lovely weekend stay in JP Ketch with my parents. It is a beautiful cottage. It is more spacious that it looked in the photos. The host were very accommodating and the locals are really friendly.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in Ketch, one of the the 31 properties in our care. We are delighted to hear that you had a nice time and that you found the location and locals friendly and accommodating. It really is a fabulous little part of the country and people are very proud of St. John's Point. It is wonderful to be part of their community. We do hope to welcome you back again in the future at some point.

Great place

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location lovely house very helpful staff comfortable and cosy great place to stay and take photos



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the good review. It's always great to hear of our guests thoroughly enjoying themselves. We hope you can make it back to stay with Irish Landmark Trust again soon.

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a gem of a location! The house is well kept, cozy, and perfect for a small family or couple. I stayed with my friend, and we had everything we needed to cook our meals and feel at home. The lighthouse is a little tricky to get to, but the views make it all worth while. I would stay here again in a heart beat. It was the perfect stay!



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the lovely review! John's Point really is an amazing location and we're always delighted to others think it's a special as we do. It's the perfect place for a getaway with family or a few friends. We hope to welcome you back or to any of our other unique properties soon.

Wonderful return visit to JP Ketch!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returning to JP Ketch, after a first long-weekend visit last year, we were delighted to find this wonderful spot entirely unchanged. The 2-bedroomed cottage is immaculately clean, preserving the very best of the original feel and fittings - but with the modern comforts of central heating, a power shower, hot water bottles, a fully- and very thoughtfully-equipped kitchen and a good selection of books to read. It was a pleasure to sit in the cosy living room, listening to the waves and the wind outside and, at night, watching the lighthouse beams sweeping past. Suzan and Paula had left the house in pristine condition, with a welcome tea-tray ready, including hot-cross buns. Although the lighthouse is located on a remote headline, it's within a short drive of beautiful beaches, the Mourne Mountains, Castle Ward and the Strangford Lough ferry, for access further north - so there's lots to do in the surrounding area.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review! It sounds like you had a wonderful return to JP Ketch. It's a very special property in a beautiful location and it seems like you made the most of that. Our Property Managers are wonderful and it sounds like they took very good care of you. We hope to welcome you back in the no too distant future.

Absolutely no complaints, stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is not my first Landmark Trust visit and it won't be my last! Absolutely stunning location and as always the service provided by Irish Landmark Trust was excellent



St.Johns Point and the fog-horn

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at St Johns Point was extremely nostalgic. Having lived as lightkeepers, we explored every corner of the lighthouse compound as we normally would have done in the good old days. We felt that Henry was keeping a watchful eye on us, especially when Ann allowed us with the help of David to go into the old engineroom and start the fog-signal engines. These type of engines were used profusely by the Irish Lights for pumping up the air pressure to operate the fog horns, alas, all now in the history books. However St Johns Point is so lucky to have retained these engines and they should be placed in the care of David to continue Henry's good work.They really are an asset to the Irish Landmark Trust, to help promote the work they do. The house 'Ketch' is spotless and so comfortable. These type of houses were built at many lighthouse stations by George Halpin senior and we would have lived in them as children growing up and later working out on the rock stations, so now you can see where nostalgia crept in. When Suzan is speaking to you she is always smiling and exudes a warm personality that makes you feel at home on arrival. A credit to the Irish Landmark Trust.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful notes about your stay at Ketch. It is just fabulous to have a lightkeeper visit the property and site and have such a lovely time there. Henry is very much missed indeed and I am sure was looking down on you as the fog horns started up.

Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful characterful house with everything we needed for a warm cosy break away from it all but only a stones throw from the local amenities. Suzan was very accommodating when we misjudged our arrival time (early rush hour on a Friday in Newry). We will definitely stay here again, watching the lighthouse beams across the night sky while listening to the waves crash was fantastic.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to hear that you had a lovely time at Ketch for your birthday, belated Happy Birthday to you. Suzan is wonderful and glad to hear she was able to arrange another time to meet you when you called to inform her of your delay. Once House Managers get plenty of notice they are usually able to assist guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Christmas Time at JP Ketch

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 3 nights at this gorgeous property just after St.Stephens' Day. It is located at the end of Point Road, about an hour from Newry. The house is beautiful and the welcome we received from Suzan was very warm and kind. We really enjoyed exploring the area and even managed a quick trip into Belfast for the Sales! A great place to unwind and relax. However we did miss not having an open fire or stove and be careful of the upstairs ceilings!! Very low!! Overall a highly memorable stay in stunning location.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful review Tony. It's great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay in John's Point over the holidays. It really is a beautiful property in a special location which it seems you appreciated. If you ever want to unwind and relax some more we have plenty of other unique and beautiful properties to stay in and remember that by staying in an Irish Landmark property you are helping to save and sustain our built heritage.

Staying in Ketch

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We got a lovely welcome from Suzan on arrival and she explained everything we needed to know about our stay clearly and carefully.
The first impression on walking in is calm and sets the tone for a pleasant stay. It was lovely to have fresh flowers in the sitting-room and kitchen to greet us on arrival. The brown bread, tray bakes and home-made jam supplied were a nice touch too.

The Kitchen is well equipped with utensils and saucepans. The nautical theme on the tins is very attractive and appropriate for a lighthouse keeper’s cottage! it is a comfortable pleasant place to stay




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for taking the time to let us know how your stay at Ketch was. We are delighted to hear that you had such a lovely time and that our wonderful House Manager, Suzan, was so attentive during your stay. We are very lucky with our lovely House Managers here at Irish Landmark Trust. Thank you again for your lovely review and we do hope to perhaps welcome you back to another Irish Landmark property in the future.

So good we came back

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a relaxing weekend here earlier in the year and loved it so much we recently returned. Its a fantastic setting and is a great place to escape for a few days. The cottage is in great condition and is kept spotlessly clean.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
So lovely to have you back to stay Peter. Ketch is just a great place to escape from it all. Delighted you had a great return visit. We hope to welcome you back to Ketch, or indeed any of our other 31 properties located around the country.

Return visit to Ketch

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved St.John's Point so much we made a return visit, this time with my husband's parents. There was plenty of room for us not to feel on top of each other and the absence of a telly made the evenings very peaceful and relaxing - reading, chatting and listening to the wind, rain and waves outside. The lighthouse is beautiful any time of the year!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Such a huge pleasure to have you come back and stay again. It is always so lovely to hear that guests really do understand what an Irish Landmark experience is all about and embrace the property and the time spent with loved ones. Ketch is a wonderful property to stay during good and bad weather so lovely to hear you enjoyed the waves crashing on the shoreline whilst you stayed cosy inside! Thank you for continuing to support Irish Landmark and our work.

Weekend break away

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My boyfriend and I along with another couple spent a fantastic weekend away at St John's Point in November. Seeing the lightbeam shining out bright from the lighthouse on the Friday evening as we drove down the path to our house added to the excitement of what turned into a great weekend. Paula met us at the house and we were greeted with a lovely warm house which has been beautifully restored and decorated. The house is very well equipped which made dining in the house easy and the bedrooms were very comfortable which made it hard to peel ourselves out of bed!
We were met with beautiful scenery each morning when we woke up with the sun shining through the front door of the house and from there enjoyed some lovely walks in the area.

We had a brilliant weekend and just enjoyed being in the house. We all would have happily stayed on for another few day and are eager to make a return trip!




Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay in Ketch. It really is a beautiful property in an amazing location! The surrounding coastline is stunning and full of places to explore. Thank you for taking the time to leave this wonderful review and we look forward to that return trip.

Relaxing

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb, out of the way, relaxing stay on the Ulster way House was quaint and superbly furnished with Kitchen, books, games and peace.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your experience and you're very welcome back or to book any of our other beautiful properties in the future.

Rugged rocks and creature comforts

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm, comfortable, all the mod cons in a beautiful setting - it couldn't be better really. And it is within easy distance of plenty of interesting places to visit and lovely walks to have. The views by day and night are so beautiful, rugged rocks and sea, and nothing can compare to the sweeping beam of the lighthouse at night.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
We're so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful setting and surrounding area, all while enjoying the comfort of Ketch. It's a unique experience which it seems you really enjoyed. Thank you very much for the great review.

Magical

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we could see the lighthouse beam flashing in the distance guiding us on the final leg of our journey on arrival on Friday evening (equinox) to our departure on Sunday, we felt we had stepped out of our day to day world into another time - a fantastic alternative reality.

The house itself was warm and welcoming - a real home. Suzan's personal welcome and tips - the scones and homemade plum jam; the cleanliness, the fully stocked kitchen - including assortments like tea/sugar/washing liquid, the linen, the furnishings in keeping with the house/time - everything was perfect.
Henry, the lighthouse attendant, and Goldie (the dog) made us feel so welcome. Henry is a great font of information.
The weather was blustery but clear during the day, and we had great views of the surrounding area and birdlife. We walked along the coastal path to Killough [mucky at times] and found the Ann Boal Inn - a great old style pub with open fire and welcoming ambience. Landlord Malachi, and his customers made us feel so at home, it was difficult to drag ourselves away - especially on discovering there was no taxi service...... But shortly after setting off on our hike home (this time along the road), Malachi came swooping along in his car and delivered us to our door.
We were snug and happy in our home, no draughts, as the wind blew round the house and rain tapped against the windows giving us a flavour of what a true gale might be like during the winter.
Value for money: We all expected a weekend in a lighthouse to be an expensive experience. But truly - great value and a priceless experience




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay. We do hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark property in the future.

Great stay and lovely people

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and accommodation was great and with Suzan's hospitality (and homemade jam) it couldn't get much better.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you had a nice stay at Ketch during your recent visit. Thank you for your support.

Best Place to be

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful Stay at JP Ketch . The location was great
We loved it and we want to come back.
One of the highlights of our vacation beside giant's causeway...




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting us know how your stay at Ketch went. Great to hear that you will be back.

Highlight of trip

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in the lighthouse was the best part of our trip to the west coast. It was very clean and comfortable and a unique experience. When we visit Ireland again we will try to stay at Landmark trust properties again.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
We are so happy to hear that your stay at Ketch was the highlight of your trip to Ireland. Really lovely. Do let us know if you are coming back to Ireland and we would be delighted to recommend other Irish Landmark properties for you (and of course give you a Repeat Guest discount). Thank you for your lovely review.

Fabulous, special place

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful place, with every possible amenity in the house. Stunning location with fabulous sunset. Place was spotlessly clean on arrival with beautiful bed linen, plenty of towels and very nice and cosy. There is an outdoor table and chairs, blankets for the couches and plenty of interesting books to read. There is also salt, pepper and cooking oil in the presses. We will definitely be back.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
So glad to read that you had a great time at Ketch during your recent stay and had a true Landmark Experience. Thank you for letting us know that you had a lovely and relaxing time at this property.

Beautiful stop

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was beautiful at J.P. Ketch. We didn't expect such a big place with so much charme. The house is lovely furnished. We liked it very much there.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you had such a lovely stay at Ketch. Hopefully we get an opportunity to welcome you back.

Wochenende im Lightkeeperhouse JP Ketch

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir hatten das Lightkeeperhouse für ein Wochenende gemietet. Der Kontakt und die Buchung liefen reibungslos und sehr freundlich. Zur Ankunft gab es ein kleines Willkommenspaket und eine sehr herzliche Unterstützung vor Ort schon bei der Anreise.
Das Haus ist perfekt eingerichtet, unglaublich gemütlich und komfortabel. Es ist wirklich an alles gedacht und ohne Einschränkung funktionierend. In den sehr bequemen Betten haben wir sehr gut geschlafen. In dem Haus gibt es weder Fernsehen noch Internet. Auch hatte ich keinerlei Netzempfang in dem ganzen Bereich. Einfach herrlich! Obwohl sämtliche Technik wie Heißwasser und Heizung, Waschmaschine etc. auf dem neuesten Stand sind, fühlt man sich sofort bei der Ankunft in eine andere Zeit versetzt. Der Leuchtturm selber ist nicht zugänglich, aber in Betrieb. Bei Einbruch der Dunkelheit setzt die Beleuchtung ein. Der Leuchtturmwärter wohnt ebenfalls auf dem Gelände. Er ist sehr freundlich und gibt auch gerne Tipps. Sein Hund ist sehr verspielt. Die Anlage, das Wasser , der Leuchtturm bieten unzählige Möglichkeiten für den Fotofan, zu jeder Tageszeit. Wir haben dort ein sehr entspanntes Wochenende verbracht, konnten sehr gut abschalten und würden gerne wieder dorthin fahren. Es fiel uns schwer, wieder abzureisen.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay at Ketch, in Co. Down. I have taken the liberty of translating your lovely review to English for other guests to read (do forgive me but I used the internet so apologies for any translation errors). Glad to hear that you had a lovely and relaxing stay and hopefully got to take lots of photos. please do share on our social media platforms if you can. It is always lovely to see photogrpahs from guests. "We rented the Lightkeeper house for a weekend. The contact and the booking ran smoothly and very friendly. To the arrival there was a small welcome package and a very warm greeting at the arrival. The house is perfectly furnished, incredibly cozy and comfortable. It has really thought of everything and works without restriction. We slept very well in the very comfortable beds. There neither television or internet in the house. Also I had no internet reception in the whole area. Just lovely! Although all the technology such as hot water and heating, washing machine etc. are up to date, one feels immediately in a different time upon arrival. The lighthouse itself is not accessible as it is in operation. The light shining starts at nightfall. The lighthouse keeper also lives on the premises. He is very friendly and also gives tips. His dog is very playful. The facility, the water, the lighthouse offer countless possibilities for the photographer fan, at any time of the day. We spent a very relaxing weekend there, could very well switch off and would gladly again go there. It was hard for us to leave".

Great and unique location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can you say about the chance to stay in your very own working lighthouse - except awesome! From the moment the wonderful Suzan Smyth welcomed us to the spot to the moment we left the Lighthouse was a brilliant experience. The cottages were well cared for and set up - very clean and well appointed - the grounds were great and the view and landscape was second to none - you are right on the ocean with waves crashing onto the rocks and the most beautiful sunrises over the water - we were only there 2 nights - we needed double that!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful feedback , really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Peace and Quite

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice area, nothing you can do about it but the area around the lighthouse was not very clean with rubbish everywhere



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, come back again soon :)

An amazing family weekend!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish, the reservation was easy, clear and amazing!
Suzan and the entire team were professional and so very nice.
Thank you - we will be back!
The entire Salmon family




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.

wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A big thank you to Suzan for her warm and friendly welcome, and all the infos she gave us. It was very helpful.and much appreciated. We immedialtely feel 'at home' . The cottage is very cosy, and peaceful,. Not talking about the situation and the view ...woaw .



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Unique experience

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely stay, we stayed with two small children and they loved it too,such a unique experience and one we will always remember. Lovely area too with loads to see in a beautiful county.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Peaceful

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great holiday. A treat to have no social media or tv. Lighthouse keeper was very friendly. Very relaxing holiday overall with stunning views. The cottage was very impressive with all the old features, it felt like we had travelled back in time. It was a unique experience.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. We like to hear our guests thoughts about their stay at an Irish Landmark property. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the cut off from the business of the modern world and we do hope that you will come back and visit again in the near future.

Great spot on the rugged coast

Review submitted on Thu, 11 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful spot. Renovated house was perfect with all the amenities we needed. Very comfortable but still rugged enough to keep the feeling of being remote and experiencing a little of the life of a "light-keeper." Our house was very flexible and thorough explaining all the workings of our house. Overall a wonderful experience.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

An extraordinary experience

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It had been a long lasting desire to stay in a lighthouse and we were very much positively surprised about the offered comfort and standard. The taste of the equipment fully corresponds to the surrounding and there were absolutely no complaints.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think , would love you to come back and stay with us in the near future.

A magical place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The JP Ketch cottage at St. John's Point, Co. Down is a magical place to stay: right next door to the giant yellow and black lighthouse, at the end of a windswept point, with the sea literally at the end of the garden. The cottage has been beautifully and thoughtfully restored, providing every modern comfort (including central heating, a perfectly equipped kitchen and a great shower) while retaining the quirky character of the original. There were books to read and board games to play. The surrounding countryside is gorgeous: Mourne Walks to suit all levels of fitness; the endless strand at Murlough Reserve; the Strangford-Portaferry ferry ride, after lunch in the Artisan's Cookhouse; an afternoon at Mount Stewart...We'll hope to be back soon.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments, we love to hear our guests feedback, come back and visit again soon.

Sound of the same!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the journey starts with the most helpful lady Suzan who suggested Urban for lunch in Castlewellan ,warm welcome plus daffodils . Lots of local information available .make sure to walk to Dundrum on old railway line.
A special retreat on the rocks !




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, we hope you come back and visit again soon.

Heavenly

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here for 2 nights with my mum and it was absolutely gorgeous. A beautiful location by the sea, we could have hibernated here for months, we didn't want to leave! The house was really cosy and comfortable with absolutely everything we needed, loved all the little nautical touches throughout the house.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you had a nice stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, be great to see you back in the near future.

Sleeping in a lighthouse

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the JP Ketch. The location is beautiful and the house is neat and comfortable, but nevertheless takes you back in time. Great that there is no wifi. Good opportunity to read a book. And at night the stars are amazing.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back in the near future.

Fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at JPKetch with my husband and another couple. We had a fabulous time. Everything was perfect. Such an atmospheric relaxing place to stay. Suzan was such a pleasure to deal with. All very easy and communication was great. Lovely welcome pack on arrival. Beautiful cottage. Cannot recommend highly enough!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the lovely feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.

A fantastic and memorable stay and stunning location.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful stay at St John's Point. The cottage was in an amazingly scenic location and finished beautifully inside. It had all the facilities you would want for a self-catering stay and was incredibly clean and also was cosy even when the wind was howling outside! The views out to sea and of the sunrise were amazing and there were lovely places to explore nearby, with the coastal walk to Killough a real highlight and the nearby sights such as Ballynoe Stone circle, Dundrum Castle, and all the heritage sites relating to St Patrick worth visiting. There are some very nice restaurants down the road in Dundrum and Killough and Ardglass are well worth a visit. Paula, who greeted us when we arrived, was incredibly welcoming and had laid the table for afternoon tea with some of her own baked bread and honey, just what we needed after our journey there on a chilly Autumn evening.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are so delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future :)

Lovely weekend by the sea

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
JP Ketch is a lovely cottage. It is very well finished with careful consideration of original features. The cottage is clean, warm and everything you need for a comfortable stay is provided (towels, etc). The kitchen has all you need and is a lovely space to prepare meals. There is lots of reading material.

We were welcomed by Suzan who provided a detailed tour of the cottage and left some treats :) Thank you

The sound of the waves and the wind was brilliant.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Right at the edge

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's a great feeling to be able to live right at the edge of the sea, watching and listening to the elements!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for this review, come back again soon.

Beautiful property & location!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property has recently been added to Irish Landmarks portfolio and is fantastic, l couldn't imagine a nicer property in such a beautiful location.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear good feedback, come back again soon.

Unique experience at a unique location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the lighthouse was an exceptional experience: the location is stunning, the house in its tasteful simplicity is very warm and all this under the surrounding nightlights of the lighthouse.
Sitting in the warm house a book on your knees, listening to a rainstorm howling around the house, watching the waves getting higher and higher is as beautiful as hiking on the coast-trail to Killough.
Suzan is a very warmhearted, welcoming host, who maintains the house with so much care: fresh flowers in the windows, a nicely prepared table for tea, a good bottle of wine, milk and butter in the fridge, tea and coffee, ... everything was shining, clean and comfortable.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always good to hear such nice feedback, come back again soon.

An escape to a northern light

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in the old lighthouse keepers cottages right next to St. Johns Point Lighthouse is something very special, almost magical. The history of the location surrounds you just as much as the comforts that are tastefully provided by Irish Landmark Trust. If you are looking for some quiet time by the sea , look no further. But dont be shy getting out and meeting the locals. Warmth and hospitality will be plentiful.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the near future.