FB Twitter

Drum Gatelodge

Drum Gatelodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 109 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


The Drum is a unique and pretty two storey gatelodge. The Drum is situated on a quiet country road - and its rustic setting makes it an ideal romantic retreat from the stresses of everyday life.

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at the cottage. It was so quaint and different from anywhere we had stayed before. It was like discovering a gem hidden away in the north Antrim Coast!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 5 days ago
Thank you so much for letting us know here at Irish Landmark Trust how your stay at Drum Gatelodge was. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a lovely stay and that you enjoyed your time along the Causeway Coastal route.

Great gatehouse in lovely area

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Drum for my partner’s birthday was delightful. Comfortable bed, well equipped kitchen, quiet location. Bushmills village and The Causeway were lovely. We enjoyed visits to Ballintoy and Raithlin island especially. Thanks.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 12 days ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the properties in our care. It is great to hear you had a delightful stay and for such a special occasion too. Raithlin Island is a fantastic local attraction so it is fantastic to hear you had the chance to visit. We do hope to welcome you to another of our properties in the future.

Perfect base for a stunning part of the world

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy and quiet place to stay, with a lovely welcome from Brenda the house manager. Perfectly placed for a host of amazing places, including Giant's Causeway, Carrick-a-Rede, Bushmills Distillery, and what must be one of the world's most spectacular coastlines.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 12 days ago
Thank you for staying with Irish Landmark Trust and we are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time at Drum Gatelodge.

DRUM GATELODGE

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time at Drum Gatelodge. The cottage was so comfy, warm and everything you needed was there! The underfloor heating was such a comfort too! Capri our little dog also came along with us and this is such an important thing for us as she comes everywhere with us, she had a ball! The area is such a lovely place as their was plenty to do and it was all so close to the cottage! The little town of Bushmills is lovely and friendly! I would highly recommend this property and the location to others! The people who owned the cottage also had a Halloween weekend up at their estate within the woods and it was a fabulous night!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 26 days ago
It sounds like you had a lovely Halloween weekend at Drum Gate Lodge and found the property so comfy and cosy for your stay. The night in the woods sounds very spooky and fun. It is in such a wonderful location that allows guests to head out and explore but also nice and quiet so if you want a quiet day in beside the fire that works too. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the 32 properties in our care. We do hope to perhaps have the chance to welcome you back.

A lovely gem in a great location and a lovely house manager

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very quirky place to stay. It was beautifully maintained and although it had lots of history it also had underfloor heating which was a lovely luxury. Brenda the house manager has made the place beautiful and homely. A real get away from it all location. There is also a peat burning heater which unfortunately it was a bit too warm for us to use.
Overall we loved it. Thank you Brenda and Irish landmark Trust!




Bookings Officer replied 34 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your time at Drum Gatelodge. It is great you were looked after so well by our fantastic House Manager Brenda. She really is a very special person and takes care of Irish Landmark guests wonderfully. Delighted you loved your stay and we hope to perhaps to welcome you back in the future.

Beautiful Stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved the entire drumgate lodge. The house manager was very kind and punctual. The drum was very clean and beautifully decorated. Everything worked as expected. The location is very close to Bushmills town, Portrush, Giants Causeway, Dark hedges and the Rope Bridge. The bed was great, and we look forward to returning the Drumgate lodge.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 40 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your wonderful review. As you said, Drum Gatelodge is a gorgeous property and the perfect base for exploring the surrounding area and all it has to offer. All of our House Managers are really wonderful and full of information. We would love to welcome you back to Drum or perhaps another of our unique and beautiful properties in the future.

Amazing unique and can’t wait to return

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Words can’t describe how much we enjoyed our stay. Irene and Brenda were so accommodating. I was having trouble trying to call in country ( we are from the U.S. ) but we really wanted to thank Brenda for personalizing our stay for our wedding. We love what the the trust is doing for these historical sights and can not wait to return and support them again!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 39 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Drum Gatelodge is indeed a beautiful property with a great House Manager! I'll be sure to pass your thanks on to Brenda. We're always happy to hear our guests showing their support for our cause! We look forward to welcoming you again when you next return to our lovely Island!

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay and we will be back again as this is one of our favourite spots to get away from it all.



Bookings Officer replied 138 days ago
It was so lovely to have you back again and delighted to hear that you will be coming back for a fourth visit to another Irish Landmark property. Thank you for your continued support to help us save, share and sustain more of Ireland's built heritage.

A Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at The Drum recently. We didn’t know quite what to expect, but it was charming and beautiful and exceeded all my expectations! Although it was unusually warm when we there in June, when the windows were open there was a nice breeze. Close to Bushmills, very easy to call a taxi to go in to town for dinner, plenty of cards with their numbers to call. The spiral staircase can be tricky in the dark at night. Not suitable for anyone with mobility problems, unfortunately. A++



Bookings Officer replied 151 days ago
Thank you for staying at an Irish Landmark Trust property and in turn supporting our continued work of trying to save, share and sustain more of Ireland's built heritage. Delighted to hear the Drum Gatelodge was a wonderful experiance for you and that you enjoyed the property and it's proximity to Bushmills Village. We do hope to welcome you back to this, or another of the 31 Irish Landmark Trust properties in the future.

Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gem tucked away down a laneway but near enough to the town of Bushmills and easy access to the Causeway Coast. The Drum was spacious and clean with good self cater facilities, as well as a comfortable bed - a credit to Brenda. Staying at the Drum transports you into the peace and serenity of the environment. While we did not need to light the fire, our evenings sitting outside sipping on a nice drop of whiskey listening to the nature around us, are memories we will cherish. It was worth the long travel time from Australia and if we ever visit the area again we will definitely stay there again - we would highly recommend to anyone else.



A wonderful experience!

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotless, quaint, close to Bushmill. I would absolutely go back! Comfortable bed, beautifully decorated. And Brenda is wonderful with communication.



Darren replied 179 days ago
Thank you for the great review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in Drum Gatelodge. We think Brenda is wonderful too! Hopefully you can come stay with Irish Landmark Trust again soon.

Lovely lodge in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Perfect for 2, the lodge is clean and well appointed and the housekeeper very helpful. The Causeway Coast is stunning and well worth a visit.



Bookings Officer replied 186 days ago
Wonderful to hear you had a nice stay and got a chance to visit the nearby Causeway Coast. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

The perfect retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay peaceful and relaxing highly recommend an escape from it all break but a short drive to Bushmills and the coast



Bookings Officer replied 186 days ago
Thank you for leaving your kind review. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Drum Gatelodge and that you had a change to kick back and relax. We hope you have a chance to come back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Terrific stay at the Drum

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place for a complete getaway from modern life. No phone, no internet, no TV. Just a well lit stove and a glass of wine. What more could you want?! Really interesting building. Our 16mnth old had the time of his life exploring all the nooks and crannies! Comes highly recommended.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you had such a lovely time at Drum Gatelodge. Thank you for choosing to stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property. As a guest you are helping us in our mission to save, share, and sustain Ireland’s built heritage. At our properties guests have an opportunity to experience the best of a former way of life: beautiful architecture, fascinating history and a peaceful relaxed ambiance, where you decide the pace of your holiday.

Bank holiday stay in Drum Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
https://m.facebook.com/ali.sheridan.7/activity/1317897935005025

Please follow the above link for my review.




Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the great review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in Drum Gate Lodge. It's a beautiful house and such a great location. You're very welcome to come stay with us in the future.

MR

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum Gatelodge is a very quaint place to stay. It's well-looked after by the property manager, Brenda, who is very attentive. There are bits that are looking a bit tired hence the OK for condition however I know Brenda has these in hand. We enjoyed our stay very much and the Drum is in a good location to explore the coast.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay at Drum Gatelodge was and also for letting Brenda know whilst you were there. Great to hear the location suited your trip around the North coast of Ireland. Hope yo welcome you back to another one of the 31 properties under the care of Irish Landmark.

10 days at Drum Gate lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
2.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Located on a small road outside the village of Bushmills.(+/- 3 km)
Very quiet.
Ideal for visiting the Causeway.




Booking Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you found the location of Drum Gate Lodge good for visiting some local sights.

A gorgeous place to stay in a beautiful part of northern ireland

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved staying in the drum. Such an idyllic setting with beautiful fields on either side. A Wonderful piece of history beautifully preserved.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, it's great to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back in the near future.

Unique classy country stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum Gatelodge is a unique little gem. It is cosy and quaint. Although the Northern Ireland coastline is hugely attractive Drum Gatelodge will make you struggle to want to leave it to explore more outside.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, come back again soon.

Lovely break

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 2 nights at drum gate lodge and it was so relaxing. The location was great, we loved the silence, the accommodation itself is so gorgeous. We left feeling rested and refreshed. We hope to be back again in the olwibter to light the fire!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Such a wonderful thing to read that your recent break away to Drum Gatelodge was so relaxing, and that you hope to come stay again. Well do remember that as a repeat guest you do get a discount on your next stay so make sure to give us a call here in the Bookings Office and we will ensure your next stay at Drum Gatelodge, or any of the other Irish Landmark Trust properties, has your discount included.

Wonderful Stay Near the Giant's Causeway

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Drum Gate Lodge! Not only was it clean, comfortable and had all we needed, we loved the history of the Drum. Brenda was waiting for us when we arrived and had the Drum warming with a peat fire as it was a cool rainy day in summer and left us milk and cookies :) The heated floors made the whole place toasty. The bed was comfortable, nice linens and towels, and the kitchen had what we needed for tea, coffee and to prepare a light dinner the first night. The Drum was an excellent location to explore the coast. Just a few minutes drive to Bushmills with several nice places to eat. We visited Dunluce Castle, Derry, and Mussenden Temple one day and took the 5 mile coast walking tour with a Gaint's Causeway guide the next! Take the walk! Beautiful.
Things you should know: no shampoo, soap, or wifi. Hard to get around that wifi - we would be out and I would think - oh I want to look at up to learn more when we get back - nope, couldn't. So if your as addicted to the internet as me ... plan accordingly!




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know here in Irish Landmark how your recent stay at Drum Gatelodge was. We are delighted to read that you had such a wonderful stay and found lots of interesting things to do in the local area. We made a conscious decision not to put WiFi into Irish Landmark Trust properties as we wanted to ensure the Landmark Experience included a true get away from all the modern electronic distractions (some of our properties do not even have mobile phone coverage for example). Was there anything in particular that catch your attention that I can try to find out more information for you?

Return stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy little house, our second visit and we will be back again, great location and Brenda the manager is very helpful



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, it's great to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Helpful housekeeper. Good location. Interesting building . Nothing else to say. Message left in visitor's book . .



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review, come back again soon.

Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Will definitely book again, lovely location and house is cosy, welcoming and well setup. Friendly 4 legged neighbours too



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Look forward to your return, thank you for your feedback, it's always great to hear what our guests think.

YOU HAVE TO STAY HERE!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lady who gives you the keys is the kindest woman EVER. The building is so quaint and perfect- absolutely perfect. they provide what you need there. Even the taxis know where to get you and are so nice and friendly. I am going to stay in these trust places again and hope they are all this perfect..oh and the CUTEST donkeys hang out right near your front door across the road and love treats!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, come back again soon.

A great base for our walking weekend at the North coast

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brenda "House manager" met us at Drum lodge with a well needed coffee. Walked us though the essentals heating, fuse board etc. Fresh flowers and underfloor heating on. NB: For us setting the thermostat @ 10° was perfect. A fantastic weekend off beautiful scenery and long walks ending with a glass of wine and the peat burner lit. NB: Light the peat stove 2hrs before you want to sit down. Fantastic location about 2 miles from Bushmills beautifully restored and presented, ideal get away for 2. Hopefully we will make this a yearly event.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

A most enjoyable stay in a very sensitively restored and extended building.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first experience of Irish Landmarks was as enjoyable an experience as our previous visits to English Landmarks. The quirkiness of the property was a highlight, enhanced by the location of our visit to the Causeway Coast.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let Irish Landmark Trust know how much you enjoyed your first stay at and Irish Landmark Trust property. We hope that you will come back to visit again in the future.

great cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Drum gatelodge, it was a cottage with a unique atmosphere and lots of room and space for 2 persons. Very quiet and enjoyable! We would certainly recommend the Drum gatelodge to other visitors to this area in Northern Ireland.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback we love to hear our guests thoughts, come back and visit again in the near future.

Lovely honeymoon location!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This gorgeous, characterful property was perfect for an intimate honeymoon stay! Brenda was fantastic and welcomed us with some tea and biscuits ... this, among other lovely little touches, made us feel right at home. The location was ideal for exploring the coastline and we found everything we needed in Bushmills. We had an amazing time - thank you ILT and thank you Brenda!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear that you had a nice time in Drum Gatelodge and for such a special occasion too. Thank you for supporting the work Irish Landmark Trust do. I will ensure to pass on your very kind comments to the Local House Manager. It would be wonderful to welcome you back to Drum Gatelodge, or indeed any of Irish Landmark Trust's other 30 properties throughout the island of Ireland, in the future. Thank you again for you support.

Stay at Drum

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful spot- a little jewel . Couldn't speak highly enough of helpfulness of Brenda who minds the Drum beautifully.
Perfect spot to come back to after a day of walking and visiting the Causeway coast.
Really missed the comfort and under floor heating when we got home!
Well done ILT.
Ps .Thank You also that the dog could enjoy all of the above.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, come back again soon.

Drum Gate Lodge Review

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We'd a brilliant time in the Drum. Brenda was very helpful and made our arrival so easy to manage. She also had the fire lit which was a lovely touch. Couldn't recommend it enough for a weekend away and so much to do in the area. Thanks Brenda, we will definitely look to come back. Conor & Aimee.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
We are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review, would love to see you bak perhaps at another one of our properties.

Cosy & tasteful accommodation, in a very peaceful setting, yet close to Northern Ireland's top sites

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum Gatelodge is 5 minutes drive to Bushmills, and 10 minutes drive to the Giant's causeway. An hour and a half from Belfast, and just 30 minutes away from coastal route sites west and east of the Causeway, including Carrick-a-Rede rope bridge, Cushendall, Ballintoy Harbour, Dun Luce Castle, Portrush, Port Stewart beach and Downhill Demesne. It's also about 20 minutes drive from the Dark Hedges, a very popular Game of Thrones site. Despite all of this on the door step, the Drum is cosy and very peaceful. The peace and quiet was very very welcome.
The Lodge is beautifully decorated, and has a huge cast iron framed bed with a 19th century wooden headboard. The property is light and airy, warm and comfortable. There is a peat burner but the underfloor heating makes this a lovely feature rather than a necessity. The kitchen is well equipped, and the bathroom has a shower over the bath, so all options are available. It has a fascinating history behind its quirky shape and fabulous gothic windows, which altogether enhance this lovely property.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.

A relaxing stay at the Drum Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was lovely to revisit the Drum Gate Lodge in Antrim, and enjoy old-world style (with some cosy modern comforts too!) It's a great location for exploring the area, with the Giant's Causeway and sandy beaches within easy reach. And you can bring your dog too!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear our guests comments, come back and visit in the future.

Cosy and comfortable

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum gatelodge was a great spot for a quiet getaway - slightly out of the main village (so there was plenty of peace and quiet) but only a few minutes away from the shops, cafes, etc. It was also a great base from which to explore the landmarks of the north coast. The kitchen facilities were clean and modern, and the living areas were more 'old style' and very comfortable. Brenda, the caretaker, was very easy to deal with and had the heat on for us when we arrived. We had a great weekend!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear what our guests think, come back again soon :)

Drum Gatelodge - a unique experience

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum Gatelodge is a unique building which has been beautifully and sensitively restored. It is brimming with character and set in a wonderfully peaceful location. The accommodation was spotlessly clean throughout. The only thing missing was somewhere to sit (and eat) outside. Really loved it.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of properties.

A magical location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eleven nights of quiet sleep and relaxation and as many days hanging out in the remarkable Drum with my books and my own company! Lots of trips and walks along the Antrim coast remind me of how wonderful Northern Ireland is a a holiday destination. The Drum itself is warm, comfortable and has all one needs to 'check out' from the busyness and 'check in' to some time for re-charging energies and creativity. Thank you to Brenda as well for setting the whole place up for my arrival and dealing with my questions etc.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your, stay, come back again soon.

Great Stay Near Bushmills

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a really great stay at the Drum Gate lodge. The house had everything I needed and was extremely comfortable and quietly relaxing. Very close to Bushmills, as well as the Causeway coast and other outdoor activities. The caretaker, Brenda, was very helpful and accommodating, and provided great recommendations on local activities. I will definitely like to return the next time I am in the area!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Wonderful stay in a unique, beautiful, very comfortable property

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful property, located in a very quiet, rural location, surrounded by trees and greenery, but only a few minutes drive from Bushmills. We were warmly welcomed by Brenda, who had the stove lighting, milk in the fridge and biscuits for our tea. It is so cosy, exquisitely furnished and perfectly equipped for a comfortable stay. It was immaculately clean and very well maintained throughout. The restoration of the old building and integration with the modern additions needed to make it suitable for 21st century has been done very sympathetically.

We visited Carrick a Rede rope bridge, Ballintoy Harbour, Giants Causeway, Portrush strands, The Dark Hedges, in glorious sunshine at the beginning of October. All these beautiful places and many more attractions of the Antrim coast are very close by.

We were very lucky to be winners of a weekend away from The Irish Landmark Trust. So thank you very much ILT, we are very grateful for this lovely prize. And thank you so much to Brenda for her very warm welcome to this wonderful historic home she keeps so beautifully.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So happy you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your great feedback, it's always nice to here what our guests think, come back and stay with us again soon :)

Had a wonderful time!

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a lovely time in this cottage on our honeymoon. There was everything we could need and it is a beautiful area to stay in!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, come back again soon.

Drum Gatelodge Bushmills

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time well rested in beautiful surroundings blessed with good weather
and would recommend this to anyone looking for something for someone special!
Thanks to Brenda who looked after us and indeed keeps the Lodge immaculate. We would consider booking another Irish Landmark property for ourselves or indeed as a gift.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

A beautiful, charming property. So glad to have the opportunity to stay here

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I highly recommend staying at the Drum!! It is beautiful and charming and conveniently located. The kitchen was well-equipped and the living room provided many helpful reading materials for the surrounding sites. The bed was the most comfortable of the trip!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

Relaxing stay at Drum lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Drum lodge and yet again it was just perfect. Brenda maintains the lodge to a very high standard and is very helpful and accommodating. The lodge has everything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay and is ideally located close to Bushmills.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the lovely feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

3 day stay in August

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous few days in this unique property. Everything we needed for a great weekend and thanks to Landmark Trust for restoring this amazing property.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review, come back again soon.

The Drum Gatelodge, Bushmills

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Drum for two nights in August. The property is on a remote rural road close to Bushmills. It is in a lovely spot, so peaceful and very relaxing. The house manager is Brenda, a lovely woman, who provided us with a very warm welcome. She has kept the house in a beautiful condition, absolutely spotless and so comfortable. She even had milk in the fridge for us and some biscuits for tea! Really really good. The house has everything we needed for cooking and relaxing and lots of maps and guidebooks for exploring the local area and there is lots to explore. Many Thanks to Brenda for keeping the place so warm and immaculate and to the ILT! We will return to this lovely lodge someday.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback , really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back to visit in the near future.

Romantic peaceful break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time booking with The Landmark Trust and it did not disappoint. The Drumgate is only a couple of minutes from Bushmills town along a quiet country road. The house itself has been beautifully restored and ideal for a couple wanting to get away from it all. Having no TV, Internet was bliss which is surprising these days. The house itself was warm and inviting. We spent our days being tourists and even a trip to Belfast didn't seem far.

Places to eat and drink in Bushmills were plentiful and great quality. Although we also cooked scrumptious breakfasts at Drumgate as the facilities were excellent. Definitely recommend it.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for this review, it's always nice to hear what our guests think.

perfect and unique accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay here and in an Irish landmark trust property and it will not be our last. Communication with the manager of the property was excellent. The accommodation itself was clean and had everything we needed for a very relaxing break. It is such a quirky and unique place that was truly memorable. It was great to find such a lovely place that also allowed you to bring your dog. People commented on not having WiFi however to be honest we loved that there was no tv or WiFi.. complete relaxation from a hectic world and the location.. well.... perfect even in the rain.. we will be back☺



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Rooms

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant cottage, with very good rooms. Kitchen facilities excellent; and cooking there was most enjoyable (we ate all our meals in the cottage). The bedroom was particularly pleasant with a good feeling of space. The location was good for sightseeing, and all the sites in Antrim were within easy reach by car. The heating systems were efficient.
Our main disappointment was the lack of Internet. Although we knew of this before we arrived, we hadn't realised that with such variable weather - we had a series of low pressure systems for the whole of our week - that we needed to keep in constant contact with Met Office reports to decide on our activities. This was very difficult without an internet. If we had had uninterrupted good weather, we may not have missed it so much.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future maybe at another magical Irish Landmark property.

Lovely, quirky weekend getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the Drum Gatelodge. The property itself was full of character and charming. Great location for exploring Bushmills, Giants Causeway and other coastal areas. Brenda who gave us the keys and showed us round was extremely friendly and helpful.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

Sunny June stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage which, as an outdoor sunloving person, I feel is better enjoyed as a holiday cottage in winter/cold weather when one could appreciate the snugness of the roundel sitting room with the peat stove alight. We had the good fortune to be staying during the hottest days of summer, and there was nowhere to eat outside other than on the slightly overgrown lawn, and the views were restricted. However we did enjoy watching the farmer at work in the adjoining field while he was baling his silage, but this view was best while standing at the kitchen sink.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Charming, historic and remote Gatehouse near Bushmills

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying in the Drum Gatelodge and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet retreat. I was so charmed by the pictures and reviews that I did not notice until days before our trip that there was no TV, no internet and no phone on the property. Cell service was really only reliable outside the house. It is also more remote than I originally understood, basically in the middle of farm land, not really walkable to anything in Bushmills. With those expectations in mind, it is a spectacular retreat - spacious for 2 people. A fully equipped kitchen. There is no closet/wardrobe anywhere, but there are drawers in the bedroom that were enough for us. The property is beautifully kept, all you can hear are sheep from time to time and the occasional car passing. It's a quick drive into Bushmills and we never struggled to find parking nor had to pay for parking. All materials to build a fire were provided, but it really wasn't necessary because the heated floors were so effective that it was also cozy. Bushmills is a really perfect base if you're exploring the Antrim coast, and this is the perfect retreat if you're looking for somewhere removed and quiet.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear good feedback from our guests, come back soon.

Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Charming building, perfect size for a couple.

Calm, private and cosy.

Ideally situated to explore the beautiful North Coast.

Price may seem very high compared to non-Landmark Trust properties but this is explained in the context of the conservation work undertaken by the Trust.





Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay at Drum Gatelodge was. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the property along with the wonderful North Coast of Ireland. There so much to see and do up there and Drum makes a great base. We hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Drum gate lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully kept property and fantastic base for exploring the Antrim coast. Restaurant options in Bushmills are limited but good facilities for cooking in at Drum gate. Warm, cosy and very relaxing.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Drum Gatelodge. Delighted to hear that you had a nice stay and enjoyed the local village of Bushmills. Would love to welcome you back in the future.

Cozy place to stay off the beaten path

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our short stay at the Drum. It was on a quiet road but still within a good distance from all the places we wanted to visit. While we stayed it was cold, but the house was well heated and cozy and always a delight to return to at the end of a busy day sightseeing.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you had a nice stay at Drum Gatelodge. We hope to perhaps welcome you to another Irish Landmark Trust property sometime in the future.

Our Wonderful Stay at Drumlodge

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a magical few days here- a truly wonderful, splendid part of the world. The Lodge itself was beautiful- the perfect romantic getaway and we truly wanted for nothing. Very much look forward to going back



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback so glad you enjoyed your stay,look forward to your return.

Spring serenity

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 3 nights at this special property! We thoroughly were impressed by the sparkling clean interior, merging of old & new, and the peacefulness of this place. We were greated with views of the daffodils each morning & appreciated the under the floor heating! The location is perfect to investigate castles & the coastline and of course the Giants causeway!!! There are so many terrific things about this property which makes it extra special - if you are tempted - book it! We would be thrilled to return



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of properties.

A lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a very nice stay at the drum gatelodge for 3 nights and enjoyed it very much.
It was clean, tidy and well equipped. I found that Brenda was very helpful with checking in and out. It was a peaceful place
to stay and also not far from anywhere, with lots of scenery. It was nice to sit at the fire in the evening. Maybe I will come
back some time.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

A relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a three night stay in this lodge with our toddler. We were delighted to find such a a beautiful lodge, lovely and warm on arrival with under floor heating, a fire was laid ready to light in the stove, and milk in the fridge, very welcome after a long drive.
The lodge is perfectly situated to explore the local area, although it was equally as nice to rest up in the comfortable surroundings of the lodge.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

A cosy restful break in Drum Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely restful comfortable stay at DrumGate Lodge. I was lucky to have won the weekend break and it was a real treat. The accommodation met all our needs and it is located in a beautiful part of the country which is well worth exploring.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love you to come back and stay with us :)

We didn't want to leave.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We received a warm welcome from Brenda and felt instantly at home. The Gatelodge is situated just a short 5 min drive from Bushmills, where there are plenty of shops, pubs and the famous Bushmills Distillery. We visited The Giants Causeway, The Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, The Dark Hedges, plus a few other beautiful spots on our check list. All were easy to find and a short drive from Drum Gatelodge. It's an absolutely perfect spot for exploring the North of Ireland. The Gatelodge itself is like something from a dream, we had such a wonderful time there and didn't want to leave. The abundance of books, local tourist information leaflets and board games kept us entertained in the evening. We had such fun playing drafts and sharing a bottle of wine instead of staring at a television.
Don't be put off by no wifi or television... It turned out to be a major plus point for us. There is signal for a mobile phone and 3G in most parts of the property if needed.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this wonderful review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back in the near future :)

Warm and cosy cottage in lovely Bushmills

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum Gatelodge is a lovely little cottage in a great location in Bushmills. The cottage is warm and cosy and has all the amenities you could need for a self-catering break. It's very convenient for the Bushmills Distillery, Giant's Causeway, the Dark Hedges and lots of other Antrim coast sites. The only downside is the shower which isn't particualrly powerful, but everything else was perfect!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Drum, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back in the near future perhaps at another magical Irish Landmark.

Don't think about it - book!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tucked away on a country road, surrounded by green fields and silence, Drum Gatelodge was the perfect option for us! We arrived to a warm welcome from Brenda. She highlighted some of the local attractions and we were left to enjoy the lodge. It has real character - with a roaring stove, beautiful furnishings, packed bookshelves and a lovely sense of history. The local sights are spectacular and it was lovely to return to somewhere as picturesque as Drum at the end of the day. Drum is a real escape from everyday life and after a few relaxing days, it was hard to leave. Go, be charmed!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Drum Gatelodge, would love to see you back in the future :)

Lovely, cosy retreat in good location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay in an Irish Landmark property (had stayed in English Landmarks) and we were really impressed. Our main reason for choosing it was because of its location in the area of Ireland we wished to visit. In all regards we were more than happy - peaceful setting, plenty of space for two adults, well equipped, cosy and warm. Met by Brenda, the housekeeper, and made to feel very much at home. We would definitely return and recomend.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So Glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear what our guests think, look forward to your return.

Warm welcome, peace and quiet, dog friendly, with beautiful Causeway Coast minutes away by car

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House Manager Brenda is a credit to the Trust- lovely welcome and a pleasure to deal with throughout. Drum is a great spot for peace and quiet and very handy for touring the spectacular Causeway Coast. Bonuses are a really well equipped kitchen and it's fab that canine guests are allowed!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful comments, it is always a pleasure to read such a positive review, we are glad to hear you had such a great experience.

A relaxing stay at the Drum Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Drum Gate Lodge is the perfect place for a short break. Close to the town of Bushmills, but set well in from the main road, you won't hear anything apart from the birds! Tastefully converted, it combines an old-world feeling with modern comforts (including underfloor heating and a wood stove). Thanks again to Brenda for making us so welcome.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your positive feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Delightful gatelodge, beautifully presented.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum gate lodge, originally a simple 2 storey round building, has been transformed into a delightful space by the addition of a kitchen & bathroom linked to the Drum by a novel foyer area/entrance porch. One side of the porch is a stone built curved wall which reflects the shape of the original building, while the other side is made up of glass door & windows which give an open, welcoming feel from outside & a sensation of spaciousness when inside.
We were very impressed by the attention to detail in the furnishings and fittings. The under floor heating was wonderful.
The lodge in well located for visiting Bushmills, the Giant's Causeway and the North Coast.
Brenda made us very welcome & looked after us during our stay




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

Drum Gatelodge

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Drum Gatelodge has been extended to provide modern facilities - a kitchen and bathroom - but it has been done in such a way that you can still sit in the old two roomed tower building and wonder what life was like for a family growing up in it in times gone past. In the complete stillness of the night you suddenly realise that all the distractions, noises and 'lack of time' of modern life are well worth putting behind you just to spend some time contemplating and meditating. When you have finished take a wander into Bushmills and watch the salmon leaping in the river. Refreshed, you can then explore the countryside which has so much to see you could write a book about it - but then someone probably already has!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear nice feedback , would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Lovely!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Drum GateLodge between 4th-6th of Aug 2015. I must say we were absolutely blown away by the place. Brenda the house manger was so warm and welcoming and couldn't do enough to make sure we had a nice time.

The property was impeccably clean and the underfloor heating was so inviting.

I was definitely apprehensive at first when I was told I was going somewhere with no TV or Internet however there was plenty of welcome distractions in the form of books and lovely walks around the place and I definitely did not miss the tv and it was so nice to be shut off from the world for 2 nights. I honestly could not recommend this lovely little GateLodge enough. We have recommended it to a lot of friends and family.

I definitely hope to stay here again and look forward to visiting many other Irish landmark properties if this is the standard I should expect.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay , thank you for the positive feedback it's great to hear, would love you come back in the future.

Wow a place to stay that leaves memories!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely excellent- Brenda so friendly & welcoming and property was amazing. Spent six days and loved every single minute of it. Can't believe I never found this property before but will be my first choice in future. Quiet with local amenities a short drive away and all the great north coast to explore- cannot recommend highly enough. Great restoration and keep up the great work!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay , come back again soon :)

Charming cottage for two

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to escape to and recharge the batteries. Whilst being hidden away on its own in the country, Bushmills town is only a short drive away.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really glad you enjoyed your stay , come back again soon :)

Superb cottage - would highly recommend!

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic short break and wish it was for longer! The property is stunning in beautiful surroundings and had everything we could have asked for.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

The Drum Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I wish we had discovered the Irish Landmark Trust before our trip to Ireland was almost over! We had a very positive experience from booking the Drum with Irene, to Brenda going out of her way to prepare the Lodge for our last minute stay. It was exactly what we needed! A beautiful and serene location, the Drum allowed for complete relaxation. The Lodge was quaint and comfortable - we will definitely be back! I have already booked another ILT property for my In-Laws and have shared our experience with many. Thank you so much for a lovely stay Brenda.

Rachel & Stephen
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
April 2015




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear that you had a nice stay. It would have been lovely to have you stay more during your trip but now that you know about Irish Landmark Trust next time you come to Ireland you must let us know so we can have you stay in a few more of our properties. Fantastic news about the booking for your in-laws ... we will ensure to take good care of them. It was wonderful to chat with you and I really hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark property in the future.

A relaxing stay at the Drum Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Drum Gate Lodge is a cozy, charming place to stay. The original round building has been carefully restored, and a kitchen and bathroom added to it - there's also underfloor heating. It's well away from the main road, in a quiet rural location, but not far from shops and restaurants in the town of Bushmills. It's a great base from which to visit the Giant's Causeway and other parts of Antrim, including some lovely beaches.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear such positive feedback.

Wanted to stay longer

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful and cosy- the drum lodge was perfect for us. Loved the underfloor heating which kept the place toasty but we still managed a fire! It was near enough to Bushmills for easy access but far enough away to feel like we were in the middle of nowhere.... Appreciated the basics (milk, tea, coffee etc) being available as it's not always the case with self catering...



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so happy you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Wanted to stay longer

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful and cosy- the drum lodge was perfect for us. Loved the underfloor heating which kept the place toasty but we still managed a fire! It was near enough to Bushmills for easy access but far enough away to feel like we were in the middle of nowhere.... Appreciated the basics (milk, tea, coffee etc) being available as it's not always the case with self catering...



Drum Gatelodge

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay.

Brenda welcomed us warmly to a beautiful clean house just out of the town.

It was everything we could have imagined. A beautifully restored cottage with everything we required. Cleant, tidy and warm

Katie and Brian




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, it's always great to hear such positive feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Everything was excellent for our stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum Gatelodge is a unique living space providing the perfect setting for a great "get away from it all" weekend. It is warm with under floor heating, good kitchen and bathroom. It is a perfect location for visiting all the tourist spots on the north Antrim coast. Brenda the caretaker was very welcoming and very helpful for everything we needed.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your get away , thank you for this review , it's always great to hear such positive feedback.

Magical and cosy. Perfect for relaxation.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was just wonderful. Quality furnishings, extremely cosy, immaculately clean and tidy, full of interesting books and items and very homely. The Drum is so intriguing and authentic in every way, so beautifully maintained throughout. Waking up to only the birds singing and enjoying the silence of the darkness outside at night, was bliss. That said it's only minutes from Bushmills and a short driving distance from the fantastic coastline of Antrim. Our dog loved it and made himself at home so easily as well. I'll definitely come back and dying to try more of the ILT properties now :-).



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, look forward to your return.

Perfect for a romantic weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum Gate Lodge is a beautiful place to stay. Brenda, the house keeper met us when we arrived and was extremely helpful! If you plan on visiting Giants Causeway, Carrick-a-Reed rope bridge, the Dark hedges etc Drum Gate Lodge is central to all of the main attractions on the northern coast of Norther Ireland. Drum Gate Lodge was easy to locate and is a 5 minute drive away from Bushmills. We would love to return for another stay in the future. I would highly recommend Drum Gate Lodge to everyone.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, it's always great to hear such positive feedback, look forward to your return in the near future.

Drum Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful restoration of a lovely old gate lodge. The house combined charm with comfort. Great location. Warm and welcoming. Highly recommended.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again in the near future.

Great stay at Drum!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this stay at at Drum. Perfect location, really comfortable, especially loved the underfloor heating! Everything you need is available. Brenda, the caretaker was very welcoming and it is obvious that the property is very well minded. We met friendly neighbours and enjoyed visiting the nearby attractions, of which there are many. Standout places were, the Giant's Causeway, Glenariff Forest Park, the gorgeous beaches and more. We would love to visit other ILT properties, having experienced the quality accomodation in Drum.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Drum, would love to see you back in the future :)

Long weekend in the Drum

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All round fantastic stay - amazing accommodation in a great setting close to all the jewels of antrim.

....................................................




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, delighted your stay was fantastic, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Cosy and comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and cosy accommodation. Perfect for a couple seeking quiet time alone. Within 2 min drive of Bushmills village and short drive to Giant's Causeway. Clean, warm & cosy with welcoming homely ambience.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love you see you back in the near future.

drumlodge- a wonderful experience!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
if you need a couple's getaway,want the cosiest imaginable place and have never experienced the antrim coast, drum lodge is the place for you!,

the experience was greatly enhanced by the kindness, thoughtfulness and welcome provided by brenda mc clarty who takes such care of this wonderful property.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such positive feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay, come back soon :)

anniversary getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were given a brochure on Irish Landmark properties and were amazed at the different locations available. We looked at Drum Lodge online and though it looked great, so we booked it. We arrived and were totally blown away by the location, setting and presentation of the property. We were made feel very welcome and nothing was too much to ask from the house keeper. I would highly recommend a stay at this property and we will definitely be back.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties,would love to see you back in the near future.

Brilliant place

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely time we had on our first visit to Ireland and how nice we found Drum Lodge to be - what a great, quirky, well looked after place, sympathetically furnished, well attended to by Brenda, and well situated for visiting the north coast. Sorting out accessibility to the wifi would be our only point of feedback to resolve, otherwise please keep it just as it is!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know of the issue and will work towards improving the situation,would love to see you back in the near future :)

What a place!!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place! Quiet. Secluded. Amazingly renovated. No TV. No phone. Exactly what the doctor ordered!! We will definitely be back! Far exceeded our expectations.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Drumgate Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall great accommodation. However the wifi wasn't working for our 3 day stay and although I made this know on arrival, its still wasn't fixed when we left



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Drum Gatelodge. We are glad to hear you had a nice stay. I wanted to respond to your comment about WiFi. We do not advertise the availability of WiFi at Drum Gatelodge on our website. I do apologise if you were misinformed about WiFi at this property and if this impacted negatively on your stay.

Drum Gatelodge

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is beautiful, comfortable, and a one-off. Peace and quiet guaranteed. Just a shame that Landmark Trust are taking a while to refund our deposit, when we left the property in perfect condition. Please can you sharpen up your admin in this respect. Otherwise perfect, thank you!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Drum. I am delighted to hear that you had a nice time there. I just wanted to let you know that your refundable deposit was returned to your card 4 days after departure. We process the refundable deposits between 5 and 7 days after departure once we receive the weekly House Manager report. I am sorry you feel there has been a delay but I can assure you this was returned 4 days after you departed. Please email me at [email protected] if you have any queries.

Beautiful getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to run to when running away from home for a complete break from the rat race. Everything you could need supplied and lovely restaurants close by. Surrounded by beautiful scenery.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review,it's always a pleasure to let guest enjoy our properties.

Loved it!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay, cosy, relaxing and peaceful.
Loved the cottage feel and range of books.
Far enough out of the way to relax but close to beaches & fantastic local scenery and walks.




Fab place to stay close to the Giant's Causeway

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a super little place to stay in. It's very close to all that is beautiful about Ireland but far enough away to enable one to relax in 'the middle of nowhere'.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for taking the time to let us know how your holiday at Drum went. Delighted to hear that you had a good time. Hope to welcome you to another of the Irish Landmark 25 properties throughout Ireland in the future.

A romantic bolt hole

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect romantic location for a three night stay to celebrate our anniversary. Although very close to bushmills, drum lodge feels very remote located on a little country road and surrounded by beautiful mature trees. Drum lodge is very well equipped with everything you could possibly need for your stay. Brenda who looks after the property is very helpful and was flexible with us about our arrival and departure times. The bed is the most comfortable we have ever slept in! The only negative point is that one of the several security cameras looks right into the property with a view of the glass corridor between the bedroom and bathroom! This camera should be relocated. Otherwise a perfect place for a relaxed romantic get away.



I just put good for Location!!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the weekend, the Lodge is great and extremely comfortable. I just put good for Location as all I had was a colour print out with picture of Lodge, but it just said Bushmills, Co. Antrim. Got to Bushmills no problem, but took us HOURS to find Lodge. Not one person in pubs, shops etc knew or recognised it. Even an PSNI man! Couldn't get Wi-Fi to get exact address and battery had died on phone on trip. Luckily enough the manageress of the Smugglers Inn was able to check on her PC on Google Maps.

Could I just suggest maybe 3 signs, sign posts which would be of great benefit. Maybe one in centre of Bushnills pointing up the road past Bushmills Distillery. Can't remember name of that road, but woman for Smugglers Inn told us to look for right turn for the Riverside Road. Maybe a biggish signpost there to say this is the right way for the Lodge. And lastly driving on the Riverside Rd in the dark it is very very easy to drive by. Maybe another sign outside saying 'You've Reached Drum Gate Lodge, part of Irish Landmark Trust'!

Apart from that everything is fine, the Causeway Coast and Carrick-a-Rede Bridge were gorgeous and we had Spanish weather. Also enjoyed distillery. Bit wary of centre of Bushmills centre, not so much Union Jacks on EVERY building, but lot of UDA and LVF which I wasn't expecting for a tourist town.




A great stay in the Drum Lodge.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Drum Lodge for two nights in late June and had beautiful sunny weather for all of our stay. The location was perfect as there were numerous attractions in a 20 mile radius and the Drum Lodge was a great base from which to visit the rope bridge, Giant's Causeway, Bushmill's Distillery, Dunluce Castle and the many lovely coves, harbours, beaches etc.
Drum Lodge, itself, is down a quiet country road about 1-2 miles outside Bushmills. The underfloor heating made it very cosy and it felt very much "lived in", and not a bit musty as I had thought might be the case. The living area was really homely and the kitchen was adequate for what we needed when we cooked dinner. We really enjoyed our stay at the Drum Lodge and would recommend it to others who are looking for something a little different.
We received a voucher for €150 and I did feel we had to put a lot towards it to book the Drum for the two nights. Anyone with a voucher in euro should take into consideration the conversion of the voucher value from euro to sterling, a charge of €7.50 to do this, extra light & electricity charges etc. The voucher value wasn't long about dwindling! I felt the Landmark Trust should have a system in place whereby there is no charge for converting euro to sterling, and I presume vice versa, as it is dealing with properties both north and south of the border. That being said, we really enjoyed our stay at the Drum Lodge and would recommend it to others.




Irene replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sinead for your lovely words about Drum Gatelodge and the surrounding attractions. I am glad the weather stayed nice for you. I am afraid that as we are a non-profit organisation the conversion charges from one currency to the another is settled by the person exchanging the voucher in order to ensure we are able to continue putting all the funds we can towards maintaining and conservation of these interesting and unusual buildings.

Lovely romantic getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum Gatelodge was perfect getaway for a long weekend, exploring Antrim. It is a lovely restoration and the kitchen is well stocked. Very happy with the trip all round.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay. Would love to see you back in the near future.

Quirky hideaway for two.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Intreresting,quirky property well presented.Bit of a problem with arrival instructions mentioning a road that doesn't exist but got there in the end.Understand the need for CCTV to watch for lead thieves but didn't like the fact that one of the cameras could look into the connecting corridor.ILT ask that we respect the privacy of the estate owners.What about respect for our privacy?Overall however we spent a very pleasant three days in Drum Gatelodge using it as a base to explore Antrim's beautiful coastline.



Perfect get away

Review submitted on Wed, 28 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Drum Gatelodge provided the perfect get away for my husband and I, our 8 month old baby and our dog over the NW200 weekend. With the kitchen equipped with all you could need, it made for a relaxing time and with the beaches of the N coast so close at hand, there was plenty for me to do whilst my husband was looking at the bikes.

In particular, Brenda was so accommodating and helpful - she clearly puts a lot of hard work and dedication into the Lodge to keep it to such high standards. Thank you




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, delighted you and the family had a nice time,would love to see you back in the near future.

Restful break at Drum Gatelodge

Review submitted on Sun, 11 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have lately returned from a short break in Drum Gatelodge. The house was exceptionally cosy, the warmest ILT property yet, particularly on returning from a walk along the Causeway Coast. The living room and bedroom are in the Drum with the kitchen and bathroom in a modern addition, the connecting glass corridor was a lovely place to sit and read, bright and looking out to the countryside; the kitchen is well equipped with plenty of utensils for self catering; We were not expecting any wi-fi, but when told it was available, were then disppointed to find there were some problems with the connection and it was not sorted during our stay. A hook or some way of hanging clothes in the bedroom would be a good addition. Bushmills on a Bank Holiday Weekend is busy and I suggest booking ahead for Dinner if you wish to eat out; All in all a lovely location to explore the area.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this feedback and for letting us know of this issue we will work towards trying to improve it. Hope you return in the near future.

A weekend in Antrim

Review submitted on Thu, 01 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a wonderful weekend in Antrim, staying at the Drum Gatelodge. The location was perfect for enjoying drives and walks along the Causeway Coast, Rathlin Island and the Antrim Glens. The Drum was a lovely cosy base, well equipped and very comfortable, and being able to bring our dog was a definite bonus. Brenda, the caretaker, was friendly and helpful, with recommendations for local shopping and places to visit. We were lucky enough to have fantastic weather - didn't expect to have to buy sun screen in Ireland in April - and there were so many nearby places that we wanted to visit that a weekend just wasn't long enough! Think we'll need one or two more visits to see a bit more of Antrim!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties. Look forward to your return.

Fab Wee Drum.....

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd time staying in this wee property...1st time nearly 10 years ago and it hasn't lost its appeal!
We have stayed in most of the ILT properties both North & South cos they are really unique and fabulous.
Whether its for a romantic getaway or with a group of girlies....I cannot recommend highly enough any of these locations.
Looking forward to new ones coming on board!!
Tina :)




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this wonderful review, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties. Look forward to your return.

Review following stay

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found the place as charming as ever - it was my third visit and certainly not my last. The location is absolutely fabulous and a short drive in almiost any direction takes you to very interesting places and beautiful scenery.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you came back to visit,thank you for the feedback. Look forward to your next visit.

lovely quiet break

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Apr 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely quiet weekend at Drum Gate Lodge. We loved the quaintness and homliness of the lodge. A bright but cool weekend helped us really appreciate the underfloor heating. Had it been cooler we might have lit the peat stove.
With so many great attractions nearby like Bushmills, Giants Causeway, Carrick-a-rede rope bridge we had a great time.
Lastly we had a beautiful (albeit expensive) meal in the Bushmills Inn. So we highly recommend this lovely place!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for this great review. Hope to see you back soon.

Drum Gatelodge

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Drum Gatelodge. It is a unique property and was very comfortable and cosy. It is in a lovely secluded location but within easy distance of Bushmills, the Giants Causeway and the stunning Antrim coast.





Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful comment its always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Cosy Causeway Gate Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Mar 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Drum Gate lodge was our base for a weekend trip to the Giant's Causeway and surrounding area.
The house if very warm, comfortable and cosy. It's small size adequately provides a comfortable kitchen, bathroom, living room and studio double bedroom.
The lodge is about 1/2 mile off the main road to Bushmills, which is the closet town (about 2 miles away).
We found it to be perfect accommodation for two away from hustle and bustle and close great local amenities.
Recommended




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback,hope to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

perfect peaceful gettaway

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we just love this place this was our fourth time staying at the drum and the tranquile atmosphere of this place is just perfect.
its like a step back in time ,and the lay back life style of bushmills village really creates a welcoming relaxed holiday feeling.
thankyou irish landmark trust for providing this idilic beautiful holiday destination ..




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you came back and enjoyed your stay,thank you for the feedback. Come again soon :)

Cosy and Quiet

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days at the Drum Gate Lodge. So cosy and quiet, with beautiful surrounding area's to go exploring! Great private location near the picturesque village of Bushmill's.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon.

Drum Lodge Short Break

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Feb 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself & my husband stayed here in December for a short break & it was one of the nicest breaks away we've had. The lodge is so comfortable (particularly the bed - super comfy!) & the area is so quiet. Its a place to totally relax and unwind. The lodge is about a mile outside Bushmills so you do have to drive to go for a meal / drinks. The Giant's Causeway & Carrick-a-Rede rope bride are in easy driving distance so plenty to do in the area. Would definitely recommend.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted yous enjoyed your stay, come again soon :) thanks for the feedback.

Christmas stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brenda had decorated the Lodge for christmas which was lovely and we could feel the heat when we came in which was nice . We all had a good time over the few days away despite the gales we felt snug and secure . This is the second christmas break we have done with the trust and we were not disappointed and we love the fact that the dog can come too .





Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Hello and thank you for this review! I'm glad you had snug Christmas in the Lodge! We hope you will visit again soon. :-)

Amazing!!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very beautiful romantic place to stay!! Irish landmark trust have simply got it!! We almost don't want people to know about these places for fear of never getting to book again because who would not want to go and stay in them!! We have stayed in several and are hooked!! Booked again for sligo in march can't wait!!!



Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Hello and thanks for your great review! Glad to hear you enjoyed it so much and we look forward to having you stay with us again in Sligo. :-)