FB Twitter

Blackhead 1 - Lightkeeper's House

Blackhead 1 - Lightkeeper's House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 107 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Blackhead Lightkeepers' Houses are ideally situated on the North Shore of Belfast Lough. The panoramic views from this property are stunning and fill visitors with pure delight and admiration. This magnificent house, in its breathtaking location, is a proud example of Ireland's maritime heritage. Guests can enjoy spectacular views over Belfast Lough from the Lightkeepers' Houses. A popular coastal path leads along in front of the lightouse to the Victorian town of Whitehead.

  • Sleeps 5 people. 1 Double Bedroom, 1 Double and Single Bedded Room.
  • Pets are not permitted.

The most wonderful weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Took my boyfriend here for two nights for his 30th birthday. Arrived at met the lovely Pamela and her little one who gave us a tour of the place. Whole house was spotlessly clean and very warm, even though it was single-digit degrees outside. Pamela also left a bag of coal, turf and kindling for the fire so we had everything we needed. Kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need. Would advise sleeping in the front room as it has the most incredible view of the lighthouse, especially when the sun rises in the morning. Close to Whitehead town but felt very rural too, would absolutely stay again.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 3 days ago
It is so wonderful to hear that you had such a great time at House 1 in Blackhead. And for such a special occasion too! We are very lucky indeed with Pamela as our Local House Manager at Blackhead and we are delighted to hear that she looked after you both so well during your stay. We hope to perhaps welcome you back to one of the other 32 properties in the care of Irish Landmark Trust sometime in the future.

Too short of a stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A one of a kind place to stay.
Authentic, isolated, a great place to relax in the evening, but still close to city.




A beautiful sea retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lightkeeper's House at Blackhead is a beautifully mantained historical property with gorgeous seaviews. House 1 is very spacious and full of light. The rooms are comfortable and tastefully furnished to preserve the feel of the Edwardian era. The place is ideal for anyone seeking an idyllic retreat away from the crowds, but not too far from the city and other sights. Belfast is only a half hour away, Dublin about two hours. The lighthouse is also wonderfully located at the start of the scenic coastal drive to the nine glens of Antrim and the northern shore. The property manager, Pamela Stewart, is excellent.



Peace and Quiet

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peace and quiet overlooking to Sea. Walking trails. No television. Be sure to stock up on food because it is a bit of a drive getting to and from the cottage and once you are there it is tough to leave.



Irish Landmark Trust replied 107 days ago
We are very happy to hear you had a lovely stay at a property in the care of Irish Landmark Trust. Thank you for supporting our work.

Lovely, relaxing time at Blackhead Lighthouse

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My second time at the Lighthouse didn't disappointment. The house had everything we needed for our 2 nights stay. Pamela was very welcoming and made access to the house very easy. It was very clean and the bed was so comfortable. Overall it was a totally relaxed and chilled out break and we had the added bonus of 2 days of sunshine. Thank you ILT!




Irish Landmark Trust replied 120 days ago
Thank you Karen! It is so so wonderful to hear your return visit to Blackhead Lightkeeper's House was so lovely and relaxing. It was lovely to welcome you back and thank you for your continued support.

Lighthouse stay

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Blackhead on the recommendation of friends in Australia and weren’t disappointed. The location and the house were quite special. The house had everything needed for our stay. The view at night with the moon illuminating the light while reflecting off the sea was an unforgettable vision.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 132 days ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark Trust know how much you enjoyed your recent stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1. It is wonderful to hear that you have a great time and that your Australian friends recommended a stay here. We do hope you have these happy memories for many years to come.

Amazing !

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was an unforgettable weekend. We had the impression to go back in time until the beginning of the 20th century. The house was clean, well equipped and we found everything we needed in the village nearby. From the lighthouse, where all is quiet, the view is breathtakingly beautiful. The nearby walking trail leads to the beach beneath and to the village of Whitehead. It is also offering a corridor of greenery and flowers on a large part of the way. For all those who want to spend a quiet weekend, without Internet and near the ocean, it is the ideal place.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 143 days ago
It is so wonderful to hear you had such a great time during your time at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House. We are delighted that you found your stay comfortable and the location perfect for your group. Thank you for recommending the Irish Landmark Trust experience to other potential guests. We do hope to welcome you back to another of the 32 properties in our care sometime in the future.

Lighthouse retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location tranquility at its best and the self catering options really useful as we had small kids who will remember this experience for years to come.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 170 days ago
It is wonderful to hear that your stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property will have great memories for the children and your family. Thank you for supporting the work of Irish Landmark Trust and helping us to try and save, share and sustain more of our built heritage.

Family retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful location that is a real get away! Two things to note: No wi-Fi and no TV, so if this is important to you- take note. Secondly, the drive on the one lane road is quite harrowing so if you have driving issues (opposite side of road and the potential to back up a distance to pull out when another car is coming) then maybe not for you! We on the other hand loved every minute.



Peace and quiet on the edge of the world!

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A step back in time in a beautiful property made for a couple or family retreat. Spectacular views. Great access to the north coast. House Keeper was fantastic. Very comfortable and spotless. Five Stars!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 190 days ago
Thank you so very much for five stars! It is wonderful you enjoyed your Irish Landmark Trust experience. We do hope to welcome you again in the future.

A piece of history!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blackhead lighthouse is a wonderful place to stay. The keepers cottages have been tastefully restored with modern conveniences but without modern distractions (no TV or Wifi, great!). Lovely cosy properties with all the drama of being on a cliff edge, with lovely walks around and into Whitehead. A memorable stay, would definitely recommend and use again.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 190 days ago
Irish Landmark Trust are very happy to hear you had such a great stay at Blackhead and really enjoyed not have the modern electronic distractions of TV or WiFi. We really do feel that without these, family and friends have the chance to really stop, relax and enjoy each reconnecting that is sometime difficult in the world today. We hope to welcome you back again.

Short stay in blackhead

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
8 ppl staying between the 2 houses and we had the best time. Location, scenery value for money was excellent. Will deffinatley be booking another stay in blackhead for next year.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 219 days ago
You are very kind to let Irish Landmark Trust know you had such a lovely stay at Blackhead with your group. It really is a stunning setting and as a non-profit organisation it is just wonderful when guests book a stay with us. Every stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property help us to save more of Ireland's built heritage.

Beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Blackhead lighthouse for the second time on the first weekend in March, this time with two friends. The previous visit was with our grand-daughter. In both situations the accommodation was ideal, and Pamela, who is responsible for the property could not have been more helpful and pleasant.

We look forward to going back at some time in the future.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 247 days ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your continued support of Irish Landmark Trust. It's great to hear you have enjoyed your trips to Blackhead. It really is a special place so no wonder you've been back! Hopefully we will get to welcome you again soon.

0

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had been to blackhead before but this visit was with group of 8 in the 2 houses. It was perfect for a group celebration. The houses were very comfortable and full of character.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 265 days ago
Wonderful to hear that you had such a lovely time at Blackhead Lightkeepers houses. Thank you so very much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in our self-catering properties.

End of the earth views!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous place. Great views, super walks nearby, cosy fire and lovely accommodation that has upheld the integrity of the old property. What a place? A must to visit in Northern Ireland- a wee hidden gem!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 272 days ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the 33 properties in our care. It is lovely to hear you had such a fabulous and cosy stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1.

January at Blackhead

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I spent a much anticipated stay at the Lightkeeper's Houses at Blackhead last weekend and it was just what we had hoped for. Pamela was so accommodating, and the House was glorious. In fact it was all so cosy and relaxing that the only problem was that we didn't want to leave on Sunday! The kitchen is well fitted out, the open fire gorgeous and the beds very comfortable.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 302 days ago
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Blackhead and that it lived up to all the anticipation. It's a wonderful property and Pamela is indeed a great and welcoming House Manager so no doubts you were well taken care of! Thank you so much for the great review and we hope to welcome you to one of properties again soon.

Another World

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The real charm of this enchanted place is the presence of the lighthouse.
And the discoveries to be made as the subtle littoral world reveals itself around coastal walks. The views are astonishing and the surprise is how quickly visitors transition from the edge of the city and small towns and estates into this oceanic space. The house is so welcoming and benefits from the best stocked library of classics, Le Fanu and J. M. Barrie. And the nearby town of Whitehead is full of small outlets for high quality local produce. The only downside: we didn’t stay long enough.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 302 days ago
Wow, what a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. As you said, it's a very special place to stay and to take in the beautiful Antrim coastline but with the bonus of being very close to a great little town. We do hope we can welcome you again in the future. You'll just have to stay a little longer next time!

Great location and house

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 4 nights for a family Christmas. 12 people including children taking both houses 1+2. Age 80-4 yrs. Interconnecting door was great. Houses and kitchens very well equipped- we’re cooks. Enjoyed costal path to Whitehead and being able to cycle around the paths. It was quiet, which was lovely , lots of books on site. Fully recommend .
Note ; for things like limes or spices there are three good supermarkets in Carrigfergus 15 mins away. Small stuff avail locally.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 302 days ago
Delighted to hear you had such a lovely stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's Houses over Christmas. They are wonderful properties for gatherings of family and friends. Thank you for recommending Irish Landmark Trust. We do hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Perfect Weekend Away

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family was visiting from California and wanted to see the Belfast Titanic Museum and Giants Causeway. We were so happy we didn't go with the usual hotel stay because the light keepers house was so perfect for our needs! Quality family time playing boardgames at night and exploring the lighthouse grounds. Would highly recommend. Only regret: not having booked for a few extra nights :) And it made everyone happy we were contributing towards keeping Irish history alive by staying in such a beautiful piece of our past.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 349 days ago
We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1 and that your family from California had a chance to see Ireland from a different point of view. It is great you found the location was good for visiting everything you wanted to in Northern Ireland. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and for your fantastic recommendation.

A fantastic location, historic experience, a joy all round

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A privilege to have the opportunity to stay in a slice of Northern Irish history with an authentic feel, but the luxuries of central heating and a great shower! The views were stunning out over the sea towards Scotland, with the added bonus one morning of a huge pod of dolphin. At night the beams from the lighthouse were mesmerising adding a totally different dimension to this accommodation. All round it was totally stunning and a great base from which to explore the Antrim coast. A fraction of a point lost due to problems with the coal fire (a collapsing fire grate) and I would really recommend arriving in daylight as it was a bit challenging when we arrived in the dark!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your notes regarding your recent stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1. It is lovely to hear that you had such a lovely time and even got to see dolphins. It is a wonderful property for anyone who loves the sea given its location and viewing point. We do hope to perhaps have the chance to welcome you back to another of the properties in our care.

Lovely place to relax

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a perfect place to relax and enjoy the nature! So peaceful and quite and absolutely stunning views. It was worth travelling all the way from Finland. We enjoyed walking, playing golf, watching the views and spotting the dolphins during our stay for two nights.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Blackhead Lighthouse is a truly beautiful place to stay and we're delighted you think so too. We do hope you'll make the trip over again and perhaps stay in another of our unique properties soon.

Short weekend break

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blackhead 1 is an idyllic cottage for an "away from it all" break. Its location as part of the working lighthouse complex is special and sits right on the cliff top looking down on to and across, the Irish Sea. The views are stunning and during our stay we were lucky enough to be able to sit at the windows and watch a pod of dolphins (or porpoise) in the sea below, something typically associated with travel further afield.

The cottage is cozy and welcoming. It is not posh and all the better for it. Typically left well maintained but not changed and nicely appointed with beautiful rugs, comfortable beds and a snug living room. The kitchen is large and functional providing everything required to cook and eat well. There is a real sense of space with beautiful tall windows and high ceilings in all the rooms. We loved it and will look forward to returning again soon.

Pamela the housekeeper was absolutely great, really helpful and accommodating.

If you stay you must visit the Bank House in Whitehead. It is the most friendly deli/shop/cafe with fantastic food served by charming people.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your wonderful review! It sounds like you had an amazing experience while staying in Blackhead. Between the beautiful views, the surroundings, a great House Manager and the wildlife it seems like a memorable stay. We're delighted you had such a great stay and we do hope you can return in the future. The added bonus is that each time you stay in an Irish Landmark Trust property you are helping us save, share and sustain Ireland's built heritage!

A unique place

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fab place for a peaceful weekend. The house is soo comfortable and had everything you need. Great walk in the area in particular The Gobbins.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to hear that you had a lovely and comfortable stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House. It is a wonderful location to explore the local area as well as a base for further adventures. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of our 32 properties located all around the island of Ireland.

one to recommend

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a lovely stay and would recommend.
we found everything that we needed.
personally i found the house much more appealing than from the photos on the website.
beautiful area and we were lucky enough to have good weather.


the only thing i would say was that we didn't feel the heating on the first floor




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for recommending a stay in Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time and that you enjoyed your time at an Irish Landmark Trust property.

fantastic experience!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
it was like living 100 years ago. pamela, the house manager, did a fantastic great at welcoming us! thank you for the flowers



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind comments Thierry. It is just wonderful to hear that you had such a fantastic stay at Blackhead. Pamela is just super with the properties and guests alike, and Irish Landmark feel very lucky to have someone so special on our team.

A room with a view

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse has a fantastic aspect overlooking the Belfast estuary. The keepers cottages built around 1901 are bright and airy, if you want peace and quiet its the place to go.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and our work to try and save, share and sustain Ireland's built heritage. It was wonderful to have you stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House and we do hope to welcome you again to another one of our 32 properties located all around the island of Ireland.

SUBLIME

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

The experience exceeded our expectations, which were not few! everything was perfect. Unforgettable stay at the lighthouse. recommended completely. Thank you!




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust but staying at one of the properties in our care. It is great to see you had such a fantastic time and that you have memories of your stay here that will last a lifetime. It would be wonderful to welcome you to another Irish Landmark Trust property sometime in the future to hopefully add some more good memories.

Very nice historical place

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice spot, nice view , not too far from Belfast. We were fortunate and had outstandting weather, excellent to take some glod picture for the area. We were 2 couples,
We loved it!




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Fantastic to see that your group enjoyed your stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1 and had some of this amazing 2018 summer that we are experiencing. We hope you will come back again.

A wonderful place at the end of the world

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Stay in a Lighthouse was a dream, and, this time, the dream is real!!!!
Wonderful place, wonderful landscape, wonderful building!




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting Irish Landmark know that you had a lovely stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1. It was lovely to have you stay with us.

Weekend on Belfast Lough

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location and a beautiful old building with heaps of character. No TV or WiFi, which was great! Recommend taking train in to Belfast from Whitehead.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear to you embraced Irish Landmark's "escape from it all" policy of no TV or Wifi at our properties. We can't even promise there will be mobile phone coverage at some of properties, but we do promise a better connection with family and friends during your stay. It gives everyone a chance to stop, enjoy the time with loved ones, and just take time to live in the moment. Wonderful you had such a lovely time.

95

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
it was a lovely place to stay, really enjoyed ourselves. I would recommend anyone to stay there
The scenery was beautiful




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for staying at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1 and for supporting Irish Landmark Trust. You are very kind to recommend this property for others thinking of booking a stay here. We hope to welcome yo back sometime in the future to another of our 32 properties located all around the island of Ireland.

Super location and facilities

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved everything about Blackhead Light Keeper's House 1. The drive to the lighthouse was delightful. The facilities and rooms were clean, spacious and had everything one would need for a house stay. The nearby town of Whitehead had great cafes and a fabulous yarn shop. The walk down and along the beach to Whitehead was gorgeous. We took the train in to Belfast for the day (only took 30 mins) and could have done the Gobbins Cliff Walk if time had permitted. The coastal views from the lounge room and main bedroom were amazing. I'm sure we could see Scotland! It really is a wonderful part of Ireland. We hope to return next visit.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful review. It sounds like you thoroughly you stay in Blackhead and I can certainly say, we're not surprised one bit! It's an amazing spot. Great views, easily accessible, loads to do and full of history. You would be very welcome back on your next visit. Maybe you'll get to make it to The Gobbins.

Enjoyable weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 2 nights in April and had a very enjoyable relaxing time. The arrangements for the keys were straightforward and our contact person was very helpful. The renovation of the cottage was well done combining comfort with authenticity. It was nice that there was fresh flowers and tea, coffee, coal etc. Our only complaint was that the fridge was too small for four people. We would definitely go again.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you had a lovely and relaxing time at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1. The Local House Manager is wonderful and really does look after the property and guests so well, I am delighted you had a nice stay with her. I will certainly pass on your comment about the fridge to a colleague who can look into this matter for you.

Family Celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations of our family arrived at Blackhead Lighthouse to celebrate a 55th Wedding Anniversary. The location was jaw dropping. The Lighthouse was very comfortable and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome by Pamela - our house manager. The house felt lived in, a perfect holiday home with board games provided and played! The bedrooms and bathrooms were all clean and the kitchen well appointed. It was fabulous to be able to lie in bed and watch the light beaming across the sea, especially as we had some really stormy weather. I would definitely return. The views were stunning and the people all terribly friendly.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
It's great you enjoyed your stay and wedding anniversary in Blackhead. It really is a stunning location to spent time with friends and family. We are always delighted to hear of our guests appreciating the uniqueness and special feeling that comes with staying in these beautiful properties. You're always in good hands with Pamela, the house manager. She's a star! Thank you so much for the wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Something different

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at blackhead. The house was just gorgeous, really cute and well decorated and really warm. We had 3 teenager daughters with us (20, 16 & 14) who equally enjoyed the everything about the weekend, despite the lack of TV . It allowed us an opportunity to catch up and play cards and board games ! The location is lovely, with ease of access to the giants causeway and surrounding attractions.
I would highly recommend this house as a get away weekend for a family. We had a memorable experience !




Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the great review and the recommendation. We love hearing about people of all generations appreciating and enjoying our unique properties and it's great to hear that you got to spend the time disconnecting from the manic, digital world we live in and get some special family time. Hopefully you and the family will come stay with us again soon!

Lighthhouse trip in November

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic weekend in the lighthouse keeper's house. Brilliant view from an incredible holiday house. Would recommend.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay at Blackhead. Thank you for the great review and the recommendation. It would be lovely to have you back again to another Irish Landmark property in the future.

Stay at Black Head Lighthouse

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location. It was beautiful to see the North Chanel, and how close this place here is to Scotland. I cannot imagine that the sea would ever be as violent as on the South West coast.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great review. Glad to hear you had nice calm seas and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Black Head Lighthouse. You're more than welcome to stay again at one of our wonderful properties.

Fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was one of the best places we stayed during our trip to Ireland. The host was fabulous, the space was very clean, and the setting was absolutely perfect. Our only regret is that we did not book it for a longer stay.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. Since you didn't have enough time I guess you'll just have to come back. Thank you for the great review!

Great Break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was remote and the yet accessible to services and town. The cottage was outstanding with plenty of room for 4 people. It was very comfortable.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to see that you had a nice stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1 and that you found the property had plenty of space for your group. It would be lovely to have you back again to another Irish Landmark property.

Awesome!!

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views and location of the lighthouse were just amazing. During the day you could just sit and watch the sea you can even see Scotland when it's clear! At night you get to see how many stars are overhead and only 30 mins away from Belfast. It was a tremendous place and 100% will be back again.



Bookings Offier replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to hear you had such a great time at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1 and that you will be back. Make sure to book directly with [email protected] to receive you repeat guest discount (only available when you book directly with Irish Landmark). Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location
Lovely accommodation
Great memories
Billy Andy's for dinner
Coffee n cream for lunch
Titanic museum very impressive




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, come back again soon.

A Fab and unique place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Felt like home. Every room has a beautiful seaview. Lovely cliff walks. Great books to read. Pamela was very welcoming. Highly recommend.



The Light Between Two Oceans

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you enjoyed the movie, then you will love this! Beautifully preserved building with a lighthouse out the back door. Old world charm but not short on modern conveniences. Pamela had the fire set in the lounge for our arrival which was lovely. While we were on Islandmagee, we were close & handy to all sorts of local attractions (The Gobbins), major roads to Carrickfergus & the Titanic in Belfast. ILT could not have been more helpful & accomodating. Thankyou



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

A unique and special treat!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family of 6 loved staying in this historic lighthouse. Our host was wonderful and made us feel very welcome. Northern Ireland is amazing and we didn't want Mr to leave.Thank you for having us.



Review

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pamela who checked us in was warm and inviting. We had a lot of fun staying at a real working Lighthouse



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay at blackhead, come back again soon.

Just magical

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I grew up in Whitehead and got engaged during a picnic at the lighthouse so it was the perfect place to stay and to accommodate my Hungarian and American in-laws during our wedding weekend! We were all blown away by how beautiful the lighthouse itself is, never mind the phenomenal views! Beautifully decorated in keeping with it's age, yet very comfortable. We had several family gatherings around the kitchen table and in front of the fire! A really wholesome, heart warming place, which will forever in my memory be filled with the love and laughter of that weekend!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, come back again soon.

Stormy Weekend at Blackhead Lighthouse

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location to watch a swirling storm, great facilities, warmth, history. Excellently restored



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

A Visit to Blackhead lighthouses in February 2017

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Eleven family members took both Blackhead lighthouses for five nights ranging in age from six to seventy -six! The weather was mild during the day and occasionally blustery at night. The children loved playing on the rocks and the adults enjoyed the walks which were lovely. On day two we saw a pod of dolphins going past which was a great delight to all of us and then on day four we saw another pod who played below the lighthouse jumping out of the water from time to time. It was a pleasure we will never forget.
We have stayed in c.17 ILT properties over the years and two members of the party declared this was their favourite property and one of the children said it was their best holiday ever!
Thank you ILT for having this lovely property on your portfolio.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back in the near future.

Smashing place

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location, great walks and views, light keepers house 1 was lovely, really comfortable and cosy with the fire going especially on the one stormy night we had, the beds were very comfortable and I've never seen sheets so white and crisp clean. Kitchen was well stocked with everything you need for cooking which did a lot of as our two year old boy does not do restaurants at the moment. Only one small complaint and I hesitate to even use that word, the mirror on the master bedroom doesn't reflect your image, it's so old I could not actually see myself in it, my suggestion is to replace it with a full length one, it's always good to have one full length mirror. A couple of hooks on the bath room door would be handy. But all in all a lovely wonderful place to stay and a big hit with our boys. Thank you Pamela



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear nice feedback, we love when our guests have a good time, come back again soon.

Great Weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
11 of us booked Houses 1 and 2 for a long weekend. The houses were fantastic - full of character, very comfortable, warm, in very good condition and equipped with everything you could need. Brilliant panoramic views of Belfast Lough during the day and the lights of Carrickfergus, Bangor and the passing shipping by night. Lots of nice walks nearby although the Gobbins is currently closed for repairs with no indication of when it will re-open. The East Antrim coast up along the Coastal Route as far as Bushmills is an easy drive and is really beautiful. Check out Billy Andys for top class pub food - about 15 minutes drive.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, we love to hear what our guests have to say, come back again soon.

Blackhead light house

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful place to stay veiws where stunning,perfect place to unwind and enjoy the peace and quiet.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what out guests think, come back again soon.

Extraordinary

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful time at this extraordinary place. Apart from the magic of the place we liked the spacious rooms filled with sunlight in the morning, and the old books...



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Review

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location for exploring county Antrim. Site itself fantastic with great views and great walks.

iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back soon.

Dramatic House By the Sea

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a choice to stay in a nice hotel or here my wife's 40th birthday with our children. The house was the best choice. We loved the house and living right next to the lighthouse. We have great memories.





Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your lovely feedback, come back again soon.

Blackhead Lighthouse

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent weekend made even more authentic by one night of rain and wind, really made the job of the lighthouse important when the light came on that night. No tv or WiFi so a great escape from things with plenty of walking and sites to see. Nothing better than a roaring fire, good book and glass of wine with the wind gusting outside and the light turning all night.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Wonderful location, great holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderfully atmospheric place to stay with an interesting history.
Very spacious but still cosy.
Superb views and great cliff paths towards Whitehead.
Pamela was welcoming and helpful, no problems with facilities.
Loved it.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your recent stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 1. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Cosy house steeped in history in spectacular location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 2 nights in this cosy house during some wild and windy weather. The house is beautifully furnished and equipped to a really high standard so the raging wind and beating rain made us feel all the more cosy indoors! The level of detail is really impressive - fresh flowers throughout the house, coal and wood for the fire, really well equipped kitchen. Genuine details left from its days as a lighthouse keepers residence gave the house a fantastic sense of history and really captivated the children who were staying with us. During a lull in the rain we did manage to make the most of the coastal walk which starts from the gate of the property and leads down to the sea and either on to Whitehead or following the base of the cliffs below the lighthouse past smugglers caves..... What I loved the most was that although we were only a few miles from civilization and indeed less than half an hour from Belfast it felt as though we were in the wilds, and the house is so well equipped and in such a great location there was no need to go beyond the property during our albeit short stay.... I am hesitating to recommend this property to others because I'd quite like to keep it all to myself !!!!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, would really love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Ideal holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are after a holiday with spectacular views, serenity and very comfortable accommodation I cannot recommend the Blackhead Houses highly enough. We had booked for two nights only and bitterly regretted that we had not booked for a week. Full marks to the Irish Trust and the manager of these cottages.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it's always nice to hear great feedback really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Lovely place

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Blackhead
It was everything we expected and more
Our three children 16, 14, and 11 really enjoyed the experience as did we
We would highly recommend Blackhead for a complete get away from it all
Looking forward to a return visit for a longer stay next time




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this wonderful review, so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Halowwen mid term break at Blackhead House

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a great 4 days at Blackhead House. Pamela and Lexi were great to make arrangements with and very accommodating. The property is another fine example of a well constructed and maintained building. We had 2 stormy and 2 fine weather days. The wind and rain really shock the place but all part of the experience out in the elements. No TV internet or phones meant we also switched off and enjoyed the evenings by the fire. The kids also had a great time exploring the area. The locality has great things to offer. We enjoyed the Belfast Titanic and W5 on a rainy day and we also headed up the coast to Carrig-a-Rede and the Giant's Causeway with beautiful weather another day. We've been to Galley Head Lighthouse in Cork also. The I.L.T. and caretakers really do a fine job of minding these properties as they're really something special. We really enjoy visiting them - We'll be back!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the great feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Amazing Blackhead Lighthouse

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Close enough to do day trips to Belfast but remote enough to kick back and relax. A little piece of heaven on earth. Our welcome was made memorable by the thoughtful touches left by Pamela.
Thank you so much.
The Seymours




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

sunset, sunrise and beaming rays

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is splendidly located with its winding laneway access and magical cliff cavern walk way below. The house is decorated in simple style, reminiscent of the era of construction, spacious and comfortable with no superfluous frills. The Carnegie Bookcase with its interesting library collection was much appreciated for an evening in, by the fire. Why would we choose to go anywhere else? Our return from a late afternoon walk coincided to the minute with the illumination of the lantern as the sun went down. Standing under the strengthening beams of light was like being at the heart of a carousel. We all chose to keep our window shutters open to appreciate our location to the full, through the night, and although it didn't shine into the house to disturb us, we were aware of the steady rotation and the light beaming into the darkness at bedroom level. Lighthouses at Donaghadee, Copeland and the Scottish coast maintained their own flashing sequences until sunrise. What a very special privilege it has been to stay here. Perfect in any weather or time of year.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for the great feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

3 night stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spectacular place to stay. Only issue we had was unable to use washer/dryer to do laundry but this was likely our inexperience with European appliances. The dolphins feeding off the point were an unexpected bonus.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback, so glad you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Northern Lighthouse Tour

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant stay, I very much enjoyed staying there and will continue to stay there as often as I can as it is a great place to stay. I have stayed there many times in the past



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

70

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location and good service. We would like to experience other Landmark Trust sites in the future and we will certainly recommand it to our friends.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback , it's always nice to hear such great comments, come back again soon :)

sleeping with the dolphins

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house was fashinating, for the good care of the interiors and for the choice (or the maintenance) of the fornitures. The vision of the sea from the lighthouse was really suggestive: we saw a school of dolphins jumping just in front of us, a school of whales (at 5 am) swimming towards north and, unfortunately, many clouds... but that is Ireland!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the in the future.

A fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had high hopes for this cottage, having read the description and seen photos of it. I'm pleased to say that these were exceeded.

The house was well equipped, clean, comfortable and in an amazing location.

The house manager, Pamela was very friendly and welcoming. All in all, a wonderfull place to stay.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your review, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

40th Birthday surpise

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and friends had a wonderful stay at the lighthouse, it was such a great experience for everybody, we wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend to others, we will definitely be back.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lighthouse , thank you for this review and feedback , look forward to your return.

Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked both Lightkeepers cottages for a family stay, and we had a great time - the cottages are in excellent order, beautifully kept by Pamela, who could not have been more helpful (thank you Pamela!), and of course the location is sensational. We will definitely come again.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the lovely feedback, look forward to your return.

Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked both Lightkeepers cottages for a family stay, and we had a great time - the cottages are in excellent order, beautifully kept by Pamela, who could not have been more helpful (thank you Pamela!), and of course the location is sensational. We will definitely come again.



Stunning views from every window

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You need some mad driving skills to reach this lighthouse, but it is worth the drive! You have a view of the sea or the lighthouse from every window. - without a doubt the most spectacular bathroom view ever. The woodwork is amazing, the furnishings and beds are comfortable, and the kitchen has everything you need. Our days at Blackhead House were a highlight of our trip to Ireland.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your lovely feedback, come back again soon .

Beautiful stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at the Lighthouse Keepers Cottage! Pamela was very welcoming and the cottage was cosy and even had fresh flowers to make us feel at home! It had everything we needed with the added bonus of some beautiful views and an awesome location! Thanks for a great time!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Don't miss this beautiful spot

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I adored our week at the Lightkeeper's House. The setting is spectacular, and there are brilliant day-trips at hand. We especially loved our excursion to the Glenarliff Forest (be sure to park at the *back* entrance, where parking is free and there's a lovely lodge for tea, drinks, or a meal). Like all the Landmark Trust properties, the Lightkeeper's House has been thoughtfully restored, modernized just enough for comfort and yet respectful of the original aesthetics and building materials. Pamela, the housekeeper, was infinitely helpful.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Don't miss this beautiful spot

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I adored our week at the Lightkeeper's House. The setting is spectacular, and there are brilliant day-trips at hand. We especially loved our excursion to the Glenarliff Forest (be sure to park at the *back* entrance, where parking is free and there's a lovely lodge for tea, drinks, or a meal). Like all the Landmark Trust properties, the Lightkeeper's House has been thoughtfully restored, modernized just enough for comfort and yet respectful of the original aesthetics and building materials. Pamela, the housekeeper, was infinitely helpful.



Blackhead number one

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay exceeded expectations by a mile. Excellent in every respect-particular thanks to Pamela, the housekeeper, who was very helpful. Looking forward to returning.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your positive feedback , look forward to your return.

Blackhead number one

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay exceeded expectations by a mile. Excellent in every respect-particular thanks to Pamela, the housekeeper, who was very helpful. Looking forward to returning.



Truly Special

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is truly a special place and we felt so fortunate to have the pleasure of experiencing it. From the history, the extraordinary setting, to the impeccable décor. The lovely details made it even more wonderful--fresh flowers, fascinating books, nicely equipped kitchen...it was peacefully quiet, comfortable, and welcoming--couldn't have been better. The breathtaking walking path is not to be missed.

Pamela was delightful and accommodating. The only down side was having to leave!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, hope you come back to visit in the near future.

Great old world feeling.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Welcomed by a sky lark singing over the cliff. The house is a step back in time. With modern comfers. the nice touch of fresh flowers. And the views. Make sure you leave the light on.!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, come back again soon :)

lighthouse, whitehead

Review submitted on Thu, 07 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived we could not believe how beautiful it was and how clean the lighthouse was . Lorna was great because we could not be there for the time she arranged and she was more than happy to change for us ,. The rooms were so clean and big and we could not have asked for a better place to stay the weekend.. I will be booking again in the future and also letting all my friends and family know how much of a amazing place it is.



Unusual place to stay; well worth the visit!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Mar 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were traveling with family so the lightkeepers house was the perfect spot for us. Two bedrooms and two bathrooms, our own living room and kitchen. The views from the lighthouse were incredible. We are so glad we found this place! Perfect location to visit both Belfast an the coast (Giant's Causeway, Bushmills, rope bridge, etc.) The only drawback was the laundry. We had planned on using it and discovered it did not work properly. We had to find a laundry service in nearby Larne to get clean clothes for the rest of our trip.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, so happy you enjoyed your stay, sorry to hear about the laundry we will work towards improving it.

Delightful say

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location, on the cliffs north of Whitehead. The lighthouse faces out to sea with the accommodation in the Lighthouse keepers House, directly behind. The lighthouse is seen from all the front windows, even the bathroom. The interior was spacious, and refurbished tastefully with period furniture, books, pictures etc. Full kitchen with everything you may need. Lovely cliff walks, lots of steps down to the sea, and along to Whitehead. We had a delightful few days.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the lovely feedback, hope you return :)

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Blackhead Lighthouse arriving in the middle of a storm which added to the experience. Scenery was stunning, cottage was amazing with Victorian period features. Highly recommended !!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the lovely feedback would love to see you back in the future.

Gorgeous house in stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jan 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at the cottage. Spacious, beautifully decorated, warm and comfy. House manager was super friendly and helpful. Lovely walks nearby.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
I am delighted to hear such a great review, thank you for your feedback and I hope you will be able to stay in another Irish Landmark soon.

Accommodation recommended without hesitation. .

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent across the board and recommended without hesitation. Special mention for Pamela the house manager for her helpfulness, professionalism and pleasant manor.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Wi-fi free haven

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful break at Blackhead Lighthouse. The service was excellent at every stage. The person who took our booking was extremely helpful and flexible. The house is beautifully kept and in a great location. We had our two teenage children with us and they also loved the house. We were delighted that it was a wi-fi free location! Will definitely visit other Landmark properties now.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review,it's always great to hear such positive feedback.

Superb location great house

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Oct 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for a long weekend with University friends from long ago. The house was perfect for us as we wanted to visit Belfast and travel up the Antrim Coast. The house sits in an amazing position and even the swirling wind and the slightly rattling windows made our stay even better. The house was well equipped and had everything we needed for our weekend. We were delighted that we had no TV or wifi! There is just one request though.... please sharpen the kitchen knives!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, it's great to hear such a positive review,would love you to return.

October break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Oct 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very enjoyable 3 day stay at the stunning Blackhead Lighthouse with our two boys (6 and 9). The weather was wild but the house was cosy and comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and beds are very comfortable. We loved the character of the place and had fun looking through the old books. We didn't miss the TV but we did miss having wifi - that would have been very helpful for planning our days out etc. All in all I would thoroughly recommend.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you and the kids enjoyed your stay,thank you for the great feedback :)

A unique experience blending modern standards of comfort with a wonderful restored property.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4 adults spent a very enjoyable October weekend in Blackhead House No 1. Standards of comfort, cleanliness and the condition of the property were excellent.
Prior to our visit Irene at Booking & Pamela the house manager were friendly & helpful. Full details are on the Landmark Trust website. Fresh flowers, kindling & fuel available & beautifully smelling bedlinen greeted us.
On arrival the house was warm & cozy & the preset heat was welcome each day. The location is superb. We were constantly calling each other's attention to the ever changing sky & sea as we sat at the huge windows. Porpoises swam below the lighthouse just for us.
Coming from an Irish Lights family I was delighted to renew acquaintance with the white & green exteriors & the familiar big rooms. Maps, photos,intriguing Carnegie books in each room & wooden furniture from an earlier time all added to the authenticity of the restoration.
We explored the cliff paths, managed the many steps & enjoyed the walk into Whitehead. Informative notice boards & friendly dog walkers told us the history of the place.
We brought food with us & dined at home The kitchen is very well equipped.
We drove north to Giant's Causeway & visited the Titanic exhibition but could equally have spent all our time around Blackhead.
Bring non slip walking shoes...& a camera. Enjoy.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
I am delighted to hear such a great review about ILT,glad you enjoyed your stay thank you for your feedback and I hope you will be able to stay in another Irish Landmark soon.

Great Escape

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A really great place to unwind and get away from it all. The house has beautiful views wth easy access to a nice coastal walk to a nearby yacht club. It takes less than an hour brisk walk to and from Whitehead village. The dining and shopping options in Whitehead are very limited so we recommend coming prepared with all required food and drinks. Larne or Carrickfergus have decent supermarkets. This place is an excellent base for touring in Antrim or Belfast with the added bonus of peace and tranquility at the end of the day. If WiFi becomes essential you can take a short walk to local golf club which offers free access. If you like to enjoy a great bubble bath with sea and lighthouse views the upstairs bathroom will definitely impress!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely review of Blackhead House 1. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely holiday.

A Short Stay at Blackhead...

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fantastic weekend at Blackhead Lighthouse keepers house in February 2014.
Arrival on Friday afternoon was in the midst of a wild storm, with the wind and rain howling around the lighthouse adding to the atmosphere.
Our liaison person - Pamela - was super, and had left a lovely little treat and some fresh flowers for our arrival. The house was toasty and warm so we settled in with a nice glass of red, looking out at the storm, the lighthouse and the wild sea.
Saturday morning dawned bright and breezy so we strolled along the coastal walk to get lunch in the next town and wandered back at leisure to cook up a fab dinner back in the homely kitchen.
Sunday and our departure came around all too quickly - next time (and there will definitely be a next time) it will have to be a long weekend - or maybe a week!
There were only two of us - so it worked out to be quite expensive - need to bring friends next time!
Thanks Pamela - and Irish Landmark Trust for a wonderful experience.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this wonderful review, delighted you enjoyed your stay,look forward to your return.

Exciting visit

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very exciting location, The light sweeps landscape and sea like a giant wand. The building has been restored with great sensitivity and is very well maintained. Only disadvantage I can think of is eating choices are rather limited.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Beautiful and historic place!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a beautiful spot to stay. The lighthouse was amazing. It was like stepping back in time! The scenery was fantastic, the views were amazing. The accommodations were clean and comfortable! I would highly recommend this lighthouse to anyone!



Great Place!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We did spend 4 wonderful days at this property, and it was all so great. Georgeus view, a wonderful house with a lot of cosy old Things and Pamela was so nice and helpfull. Our warmest recomentions!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, Thank you for the lovely feedback,would love to see you back in the near future.

The highlight of our trip

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My extended family and I rented both houses at the Light House. The place was out of a dream and better than we could have imagined. It was definitely one of the highlights of our 9 days in Ireland/Northern Ireland. The lighthouse is secluded and the views are unbeatable...but then there is a great path that you can take to walk along the water to the village. It only takes 30 minutes. And the interior is quaint and a bit rustic, but that is part of the charm. I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this location. We stayed for 3 nights and it was perfect; it felt very, very special.

On a side note, there aren't a ton of food options in the village, so I'd recommend getting groceries and utilizing the kitchen (which was well stocked with all the pots/pans and cutlery) you'd need.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, delighted you enjoyed your stay come back soon :)

Easy and relaxed

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All staff involved were very friendly and helpful. I was particularly impressed with how Irish Landmark Trust were able to accommodate my request. It's nice to know that there are still some organisations and staff who are not tied down to stringent rules and regulations. The house was lovely and I hope some of our future guests will be able to stay there as well. Thank you



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay,come back soon :)

Blackhead Lighthouse Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jun 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the lighthouse cottages. Views were amazing with lovely walks into Whitehead and around the cliffs. It was an ideal base to drive up the coast. The cottage was charming and full of character with old woodwork and was extremely well equipped with everything needed above and beyond our normal experience of self catering cottages. Our only criticism is that there was no outside picnic bench or plastic furniture provided except two deckchairs which was a pity as it made eating outside quite difficult.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review,we are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay.We take into account your remark and will work towards improving it.

Gathering of lavelles at whitehead

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A select group of grandchildren of Peter Lavelle stayed at lighthouse [email protected] 2 for a long weekend of festivities and a big get together at a great lunch at whitehead golf course. The golf course provided great meal for 60 people and the venue, service and staff were all wonderful ... The Golf pro was most helpful and accommodating also.

Many guests took a 15 minute walk to the lighthouses to see where their parents had been born and spent the early years of their life. It was a very special experience for everyone.

My grandfather, Peter Lavelle, was the keeper from 1912 for about 5 years and Blackhead was the first lighthouse that the Titanic passed when it left on its maiden voyage. Family members recall stories of our grandmother and the oldest son seeing the liner leave with all the lights on, and music playing.

The whole experience of walks, views, things to do locally, great scenery made for a fantastic weekend .... A few songs were sung ... AND ... We had good weather on the days we needed it.

Congratulations for keeping such an iconic place available for people to visit and experience.






Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
I am so delighted to hear such a great review about Blackhead house 1,thank you for your feedback and i hope you will be able to stay in another Irish landmark soon :)

review

Review submitted on Mon, 12 May 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was really good. The blow dryer wasn't there and would have been better if it was. Better instructions on the water dryer combo or a new one because wasn't working that well. Otherwise everything else was awesome.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback and letting us know of the issue we will work towards improving it. Hope you come back soon :)

A lovely stay in a fabulously remote location.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Blackhead. Wild, remote and rugged, very original. Would have been nice to have had bigger than standard double beds, the bedroom space allowed it and the option of a TV.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, glad your stay was great.

Chilling out in the Lighthouse!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fabulous few days in Whitehead. It did help that the weather was great, but the house itself was a home away from home. Very warm and lots of space. We would highly recommend and would def. go back.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely photo and review,delighted you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon :)

Blown Away

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a terrific time. The kids loved every minute. Great to get away from TVs IPads etc and reconnect with each other. Make sure you go see the caves.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback,delighted you and the kids enjoyed your stay, Hope to see you back soon ;)

Great time in Northern Ireland

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time. The cottage was well stocked with plenty of kitchen equipment, cutlery and some essentials such as salt and pepper! Also lots of games and books. We were also pleasantly surprised by how spacious the cottage was plenty of room for four adults. You mention in your brochure that it is on the cliff and I would add that it is not at all a location suitable for small children as you could not let them out of your sight. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. We would recommend and may even visit again.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review,delighted you plan on coming back, see you soon :)

Just chill

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay. Views are out of this world. Perfect for recharging the batteries!
Seeing dolphins just off the coast made this a really special place






Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback delighted you enjoyed your stay.

A must stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I wish I could keep blackhead light house a secret but it's impossible not to tell everyone how amazing our stay was. The house is perfectly restored and the location is spectacular ! Outside each window is a breath taking view and wonderful walks. We can't wait to return and bring more people to enjoy this gem



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon :)

Fabulous!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most marvellous time - a lovely property and well managed with good staff! We caught the train to Whitehead and then walked. I would highly recommend you take the coastal walk to the house if you can. The steep path is gorgeous. As we were only there for the weekend, we travelled lightly, so we could walk quite easily. We bought the groceries from the local Spar with free delivery, but there is also a local butcher and bakery nearby.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the great feedback :) glad you enjoyed your stay.

Christmas Break with a Difference

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived Monday 23rd to spend Christmas here and it was just fantastic. The house was really lovely, it was very clean and very warm and had everything we needed for a great Christmas including fresh flowers and some lovely decorations!
I could not begin to describe the great location and views. We absolutely loved it.




Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so happy to hear that you had a great Christmas in Blackhead. Hope you made lots of memories and will return one day! Thanks for sharing your feedback.

A great place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time, it is a unique location with amazing views and bags of character. Probably not the best if you have any mobility issues, steep hills and lots of steps around the lighthouse, but I will definitely be back.



Dairine Bennett - Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for giving us this great feedback. We'd love to have you stay again!