FB Twitter

Blackhead 2 - Lightkeeper's House

Blackhead 2 - Lightkeeper's House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 119 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Blackhead Lightkeepers' Houses are ideally situated on the North Shore of Belfast Lough. The panoramic views from this property are stunning and fill visitors with pure delight and admiration. This magnificent house, in its breathtaking location, is a proud example of Ireland's maritime heritage. Guests can enjoy spectacular views over Belfast Lough from the Lightkeepers' Houses. A popular coastal path leads along in front of the lightouse to the Victorian town of Whitehead.
  • Sleeps 7 people. 1 Double Bedroom, 1 Double and Single Bedded Room, 2 Single Rooms.
  • Pets are not permitted.

Something unique.

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very historic location. Beautiful views from the property and plenty of great options for walking trails in the area. Groceries available in carrickfergus 10minutes drive from the property. Overall great experience.



Birthday celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location - so close to the Gobbins and the beautiful beaches of Port Muck and Browns Bay, not to forget about Whitehead town. The house was very clean and very well equipped. The most comfortable beds ever! Amazing views even from the kitchen sink. Fresh flowers were a lovely gesture.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property lived up to its expectation and more. Good location and very kind and friendly people. Will not hesitate to recommend.



A magical place

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying in Blackhead Lighthouse. The views were stunning and the property wonderfully olde worlde, while also being very comfortable. We are now looking forward to staying in more lighthouses!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 84 days ago
Irish Landmark Trust is delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 2. The views out to sea at the Blackhead lighthouse station really are amazing so it is great to hear you enjoyed your time there.

Beautiful house in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of 6 adults staying here for a long weekend and had a great time in the house. It was really comfortable and beautifully decorated. Kitchen had everything we needed too. The location is obviously fantastic, with stunning views over the sea and of the lighthouse. Plenty of space for a big family to get together or do their own things.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 104 days ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay of House 2 at Blackhead. It is wonderful to hear you had such a nice time and felt the property was spacious for your group of 6 people. The views are pretty special aren't they? Thank you again and hopefully we get the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Enjoyed our visit

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 6 enjoyed our stay. The location was unique and close to local attractions and not too far from Belfast.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 113 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll welcome you back to stay again soon.

Short stay in blackhead

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
8 ppl stayed between the 2 houses and we had the best time. Location, scenery, value for money was excellent. Will deffinatley be booking another stay in blackhead for next year. Pamela is the best very welcoming and nothing is a problem.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 133 days ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely words about your stay at Blackhead. Irish Landmark Trust is delighted to hear you had such a lovely time and that you will hopefully be back to stay again next year.

Surrounded by sea

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A bit nervous about how this would suit the family, we were delighted with our stay. Older kids enjoyed the sea and walks, trip to cafe in Whitehead, younger kids enjoyed the new spaces and bedrooms. Boardgames were used well, baths taken with sea views, and house was warm. It was a great base to explore when the weather allowed (stayed in March); we made it up to Giant's Causeway and Carrick-a-rede rope bridge but the 50mph winds on the bridge had it closed for crossing. I stayed 13 years ago with friends before I got married, and it was lovely to be back this time with the kids. Well done Landmark Trust.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 133 days ago
It is wonderful to hear that all the family, young and older, enjoyed their time at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 2. It is such a wonderful location and magical for anyone who loves the sea, with amazing panoramic views. We really do love to hear when guests embrace the lack of televisions or WiFi and take time out to just stop with family and friends to reconnect and enjoy time to together. Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement, it is always so lovely to receive.

A truly beautiful thing to do

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A spectacular location with a proper 'back in time' feel (no wifi or tv).
Everything was perfect. Self catering with fuel, bedding, towels, etc. provided. Would definitely stay again.
Watching the lighthouse at night is a sight to behold.




Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 137 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your great review. We're delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and hope you return to an Irish Landmark Trust property again soon.

Amazing house and location

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pure bliss , stunning house and location,
We all thoroughly enjoyed our break there. The fact that there was no tv and there was a press full of board games made it even more enjoyable,. Definitely go back for another stay.




Bookings Officer Irish Landmark Trust replied 162 days ago
Thank you so much for the great review and for supporting Irish Landmark Trust. Delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay in Blackhead. We do love when people appreciate the lack of TV and the digital disconnect that we promote in our properties. Pamela is a great House Manager so no surprise to hear you were very well looked after. We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Beautiful house, sea on all sides, mesmerising lighthouse

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would highly recommend a stay here. The house is beautiful, the views calming, the lighthouse very exciting. Great for making dinner and staying in to read, play boardgames. Recommend lying on the grass under the lighthouse to watch the beams panning overhead at night.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 216 days ago
Thank you very much for the wonderful review and the recommendation. We're delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and that you had plenty of downtime to just relax and enjoy the simple things in life. We do hope to welcome to again sometime soon.

Blackhead Lighthouse

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing week, Pamela - the house manager, was very welcoming and the views from each window are fantastic. Lovely touches as well like flowers in various rooms.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 286 days ago
Thank you for your very kind review. It is great you had such a fantastic time at Blackhead and we do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

A very special place !

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd visit to the Lighthouse and it was excellent again. Great for a family get together, fab house and great location. Hope to make it an annual trip !



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 306 days ago
Thank you so much for the continued support for Irish Landmark Trust and the wonderful review! We're delighted you enjoyed your return stay. Blackhead really is a beautiful spot and so close to plenty of attractions and great shopping in Belfast. We'd be delighted to welcome you every year!

Spectacular setting, traditional comfort

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything went so smoothly from booking to departure! Janice welcomed us on arrival and we were settled within minutes. The house is cosy and well equipped. Beds fantastically comfortable. The bath fills up really fast,which is great! The setting is wonderful and endlessly photographable. We found it very convivial with our friends and both refreshing and relaxing.



Irene, Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 337 days ago
Thank you for your fabulous review and ratings for Blackhead Lightkeper's House 2. We are delighted you had such a wonderful stay there and that you found everything was comfortable and your time there relaxing.

A cosy, well equipped house on the stunning Antrim Coast

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have really enjoyed our stay at this stunning lighthouse. Right from the start of the booking process, everyone was very responsive to our needs and made us very welcome. The rooms are spacious and the views spectacular. We used it as a base for our first holiday in Northern Ireland - and as well as a comfortable place to come back to, this property offered a good location from which to discover the Giant's Causeway, Antrim Coast, Island Macgee, Belfast and the Ard peninsula. It is a privilege to stay in such a historic landmark, and the décor and furnishings fit with the period, whilst still being comfortable. We were pleased to have a holiday from the WiFi and TV - though did find a reasonable phone and 4G signal at the property for those who feel they need to be connected.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 351 days ago
Thank you so very much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of our 32 self-catering accommodation properties. It is wonderful to see that you had such a lovely time and truly embraced the Landmark Experience of no external or technical distractions away from quality time spent with family and friends. We do think it is so important in this very busy world for people to just stop and take time to really relax and enjoy their surroundings. We do hope you will come back to try another of our properties in the future.

Amazing house and view !

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed very much our stay , the house is fantastic and the view is unforgettable! Wonderful experience!



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 351 days ago
Great to see that you had such a fantastic time and enjoyed the incredible views from Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 2. Irish Landmark Trust do hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Special location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed the spectacular views of the sea, and fun to be staying in a working lighthouse. House is spacious and comfortable with 2 bedrooms on the top floor and 2 in the basement, with 2 bathrooms. Plenty to see in the local area and quite a lot of facilities in Whitehead which is in walking distance.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied 361 days ago
The views are very special at Blackhead aren't they? Delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at an Irish Landmark Trust property so much and we do hope to welcome you back again to another of our properties in the future.

A beautiful base for touring Northern Ireland or just getting away from it all.

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful property in a very scenic and quiet location. We used it as a base for touring Northern Ireland but the property is so nice I was sorry we didn't spend longer there. Sitting round the kitchen table at night with the moon shining on the sea below and the village lights across on the Ards peninsula is a memory that will stay with me. I will definitely be back here.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Shane for your lovely review of your recent stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 2. It is always so nice to hear how much people enjoy the properties when they stay, and in particular how great it is to just stop and enjoy a slower pace of life that staying in an Irish Landmark property offers guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and remember as a returning guest you get a wee discount so do get in touch directly with us here in Head Office and we will sort that out for you.

peaceful stay in a magical location

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want a peaceful location to stay with incredible views over open water you will love this place. Beautifully restored with alot of fascinating information about the lighthouse and surroundings, it was also warm and comfortable. Arrival and welcome was efficient and very friendly and we even had a mid week change of towels. there's lots of space for sitting out admiring the view and a great walk down and around the cliffs. We even saw some porpoises.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Wow. Delighted to hear you saw some Porpoises off the coast when you were staying at Blackhead Lightkeeper's Houses. What a lovely treat. The view from the Lightkeeper's houses out to sea is pretty special and it is lovely to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

A comfortable step back in time

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Setting is idyllic. Location convenient for regional touring (as long as the narrow entrance roads don't bother you. Nice bonus to have guest membership to the golf club. Upstairs bedrooms are big and bright, quite beautiful. Downstairs bedrooms not of same character but good if have kids.
Fireplaces really complete the ambiance of the past century. Would be nice to be able to use the ones in the bedrooms but I guess some have had smoke problems. Loved the stay and would return anytime. Harold the ghost was nice too.




Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful review. Blackhead is a really stunning location indeed. Between enjoying the ambience of the open fire and looking out at the magical views you hardly have to leave the property. But when you do, it's in such a convenient location as you said and there's loads to do close by! The fireplaces in the bedrooms cannot be used due to fire safety regulations I'm afraid but I'm sure the place was very cosy without them. We'd love to welcome you back to Blackhead or any of our properties in the future!

Perfection

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend this light house. The 3 houses were perfect for a large group we had a ball Comfortable cosy relaxed beautiful scenery and perfect location. Cannot wait to return some day



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to have you stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's Houses Martin and it is lovely to hear that you will come back again someday. It will be great to welcome you back.

Amazing place to recharge the batteries

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a family weekend away. It is a credit to the landmark trust for the work they have done here. Its quite isolated so its a great place to switch off and take some time to relax properly. There is an amazing coastal walk along the cliff just in front of the property and a lovely beach just a few minutes drive away. The apartment itself has good facilities and it was a lot more spacious than we anticipated. We would definitely love to return and would recommend it to anyone.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very kind comments about Irish Landmark Trust. It is wonderful to hear that you had an amazing time at Blackhead House 2 and that you had time to relax and enjoy the local walks and beaches. We would love to welcome you back again in the future.

A Special Place to Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lighhouse Keepers House is a very special place to stay because of the magic of it’s location and it’s history. The house is very cosy and the views and walks are spectacular!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Catherine. Irish Landmark are very happy to hear you had a lovely stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House and enjoyed to location and history of the area.

Serenity and beauty

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were moved to this property after another property developed issues. At first because of the proximity to where we were staying we were slightly disappointed but all was changed on arrival! The house is in a breathtaking location that is an adventure to find. The walking path and views are spectacular! However,it is a well trodden local path so take car when using the upstairs bathroom and admiring the views in the buff. The house is divine, well appointed, comfortable and beautiful. The rooms are spacious and tastefully done. Even the book collection is a joy! This is the perfect place to relax and unwind!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
It is wonderful to see that your move to Blackhead Lightkeeper's House went so well. It is a rather stunning location and the weather you got during your stay was fantastic so it is great to hear that you enjoyed it so much. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust and our continuing efforts to try and save more of Ireland's built heritage. As a non-profit charity your support is vitally important to help us save, share and sustain historical properties.

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely place to stay, nice sea views and very quite area. Rooms are very confortable and the house is clean.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting us know you had a lovely time at Blackhead and that you found the property comfortable and clean, whilst getting the chance to enjoy the stunning sea views and lovely quiet location. I wonder, given your wonderful comments about the property itself, if there is any particular reason for the average marks and would ask perhaps that you get in touch with Irish Landmark directly please? We would greatly appreciate to know any other information.

View of a life time.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only bad thing I can say about my stay at the light house is the road that actually goes to it. VERY narrow, steep, and speed bumps on a single lane road thay you can not do more than 5mph if you wanted to. But the view makes it worth while. Best part of vacation. Very peaceful, clean, and everything you need. This is one place that delivers what they advertise. You will not be disappointed.



A Dream Come True!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our group of 5 had an amazing stay at the lighthouse and we can't wait to return! I can't tell you how much we enjoyed our time there. The bedrooms were roomy and cozy, although the beds were a little hard. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare breakfast before heading out for the day. The living room area with a working fireplace was perfect for ending our evening and planning our next day. There is also a nice walking path below the lighthouse to enjoy the views and get a little exercise!

The lighthouse was a little hard to find....GPS did not recognize the location but with some perseverance we were able to find it. Hint for future occupants - use the Whitehead Golf Course as a location point as that seems to be more common on GPS's.




Best weekend location ever!

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We throughly enjoyed our stay in the cottage. The weather helped by being absolutely gorgeous! The views are stunning, the house itself is very comfortable, warm, beautifully decorated and the lady managing it was lovely. She couldn't have been more helpful. 10 stars out of 5 for this place! Definitely recommend it.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Wow that is a fantastic score thank you so much for you review. It is a fabulous location, perched high on the cliffs, and looked after so well by our Local House Manager. Thank you for your fabulous recommendation to other guests.

A fantastic way to say goodbye

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this property as friends of ours are emigrating, they had stayed here numerous times and it was their top choice for a weekend away. It was fabulous. The atmosphere in the house was so calming and relaxing. The lack of wifi and TV were a blessing as it allowed us to talk as a group without distraction. The cliff walk down to the town was spectacular as we definitely had good weather for it. Having said that I'd love to stay there in the rain with a nice fire going. The house was very well equipped with everything we could need. Will definitely be back again.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 2. Irish Landmark Trust are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time and that you had the chance to enjoy the local area. It is great to see that you enjoyed the lack of TV and WiFi as this is exactly what we want guests to experience; that an escape from the modern pace of electronic distractions is very much worthwhile. We do hope that you have another chance to come back and stay in another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

A magical stay

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Northern Ireland and we have vowed to return. The lighthouses are unbelievable. Their location is breathtaking and the properties themselves retained the original charm and features but not at the expense of comfort. Pamela the manager was helpful and clearly full of enthusiasm about the properties. We reserved 2 lighthouses to celebrate a family wedding anniversary. It was wonderful that there was a connecting door. We will certainly be back.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful review. We're delighted you enjoyed everything about your stay in Blackhead. It's a truly stunning and special location and it's always great to know our guests think the same. Pamela is an amazing Property Manager and full of knowledge! We'd love to welcome you back again soon and thank you again for helping us to save, share and sustain Ireland's built heritage.

Lightkeeper's house

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lightkeeper's house is a nice and charming cottage at the edge of the cliff,
shipshaped and in Bristol fashion.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you had a nice time at Blackhead. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Lighthouse cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant New year stay at the Lighthouse. Comfortable and warm the building oozes character. Plenty of room for everyone board games and books galore to entertain the kids. Great walks round the cliff path and down into Whitehead. Highly recommend and will definitely be back.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We're delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and that you're already planning your return! Every time you stay in an Irish Landmark property, you're helping us save and sustain our built heritage so it's great for everyone!

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd stay already this year and look forward to returning next year again..great value for money with stunning views



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Great to have you back again Gary and delighted to hear that you are already thinking of a return visit in 2018. It is always lovely to welcome back guests who truly understand the work Irish Landmark is trying to do. As a guest you are helping us in our mission to save, share, and sustain Ireland’s built heritage. It might not feel like your holiday is anything but a relaxing indulgence, but when you stay in an Irish Landmark property, you’re part of a community that’s helping to keep heritage alive. Each of our properties has been carefully restored, but it is the guest – and all those who visit – who add the essential heartbeat that gives new life to these properties.

Beyond expectations!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It has been amazing. The pictures on the website don't make justice, even if they are beautiful. From the price, to the personnel that provided us with the keys, to the interiors to the view: everything just perfect! We are already planning to go there again asap!



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 2 was. We are delighted to hear you had a great time and that you found the Landmark Experience an enjoyable one. We are looking forward to welcome you back, and remember, as a return guest you have a repeat guest discount.

A relaxing weekend on a lighthouse!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting .... stunning views all day and great walks. Loved staying in the lighthouse, very privileged to have access to such properties.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you had such a lovely time staying at the lightkeeper's house at Blackhead. We really hope to welcome you back to another Irish Landmark property in the future. Thank you for your support.

A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my second time to visit Blackhead Lighthouse. The first time with my family, this time with a group of friends. I will visit again and again. The house is beautiful. It is impeccable and faultless. The beds are so comfortable, with beautiful bed linen. The house is spacious and every conceivable thing required for a stay away is provided. Pamela is always on hand for advice on where to go and things to do and she is most welcoming. The house, scenery and walks on the door step all contribute to making Blackhead Lighthouse a little piece of heaven.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review. Blackhead lighthouse really is in a beautiful location and we're delighted you think it's as beautiful as we do. It seems you were well looked after during your stay and it's great that you had everything you needed in the house. You're more than welcome back to any of our unique properties in the future. You might discover more little pieces of heaven scattered around this lovely country.

Blackhead Lighthouse stay during Hurricane Ophelia

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had booked our two day stay in Blackhead Lighthouse to show off the diversity of a holiday in Ireland to our Maltese visitors. However, as the day of our stay approached it was clear that we would be there during hurricane Ophelia. We decided not to cancel and we arrived at 1600 hrs just as the hurricane was winding up to full strength. The cars were rocking on the narrow approach road to the lighthouse and some slates were loosened from the roof as we arrived. The power was off when we arrived. Our guests were torn between sheer terror at the howling winds and the boiling seas and a sense of pure excitement at being tucked up in what was probably the safest place to be in the conditions. Pamela, our host, was there to meet us and offered to find us accommodation in the village, but we were happy to be there and stayed. She was absolutely amazing and went off into the teeth of the storm to get us candles. We lit the blazing fires and sipped wine and ate the cold comestibles we had brought in very romantic candlelight. Power came back later and we had two wonderful days in a beautiful, cosy, warm comfortable lighthouse. It was the highlight of our trip around Ireland. Thank you.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! It sounds like you and your friends really embraced the excitement of the weather conditions. As you said, where better to be than cosy, in front of the fire with food and friends in a building designed to weather the storm and has withstood storms for many years. We're so glad you had such an enjoyable stay through the crazy weather. Hopefully you will come back soon, when there aren't any hurricanes.

pleasant stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
an excellent property in a beautiful location. good cleaning. a fabulous stay. Highly recommended. Patricia Madame provided us with excellent assistance.



Darren replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Blackhead and thank you for the very positive review. We hope you can stay with us again in the near future.

A lighthouse to remember

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blackhead Lighthouse and the former lighthouse keepers houses are in a stunning location. Everything about the place takes your breath away. When the mist and rain pound the property and the light swirls around the buildings at night the imagination runs wild. But the place is warm, comfortable and well equipped and when dawn breaks and the mist clears gannets feed below the cliffs and the ferries can be watched plying their cargoes between England and Belfast. The walk into Whitehead down steep steps and along a path that clings to the cliff, with the sea below, is wonderful and rewarded with breakfast at the Old Tea House a genuine Edwardian building in town. Within reach of Belfast by train and the Giants Causeway by car this is a great place to use in any visit to Northern Ireland regardless of the weather. No one in our party will forget the location in a long time.



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review to read, thank you for taking the time to write it. We are delighted you had such a wonderful time at Blackhead and got to experience this rather special location in what sounds like all weather conditions! Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future to Blackhead, or indeed another of Irish Landmark's 31 properties located all around the island of Ireland.

GREAT PLACE , GREAT VIEW , GREAT ATMOSPHERE

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect except the fact that we stayed too short, the view from the rooms is perfect, it never gets bored




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
So glad to hear you had such a great time at Blackhead. Hopefully next time we can welcome you back for a longer stay. Do remember that as a Repeat Guest you get a discount for any returning visits.

Wonderful Experience!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Blackhead! The Lighthouse has all of the comforts, great beds, enough space for two families and most of all beautiful views. I highly recommend this lighthouse to anyone who want to go back in time and experience a vacation is such a marvellous location in Ireland. It may seem distant, but it is close to Belfast, Giants Causeway and major roads that can take you anywhere.
Thank you so much to everyone who helped us book our stay!




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear from you and what a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay at Blackhead Light keeper's House 2 was. Delighted to hear that you had such a nice stay and that you enjoyed the incredible location of this property. We do hope that you can come back again and stay at another Irish Landmark property.

Creating memories

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our trip to Ireland was to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We had also left Ireland right after our wedding to start our new life in USA. We took our two daughters and our two grandsons to share the places of our childhood and where we grew up. We thought Blackhead Light House would be a good start to our visit and was kept as a surprise for the boys. Their delight when they figured out we were staying at a 'real Light House' was beyond anything we expected.
The accomodation fitted our needs perfectly. We had a very positive visit and a great beginning to our trip.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great comments, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, we would love to see you back in the near future.

Stunning location but.........

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is stunning. We had a wonderful week together and weather was much better than we expected. Pamela the manager was most helpful and welcoming. Those are the not insignificant positives of our stay at Blackhead. However this property needs some help! I realise the Trust wants to keep an authentic feel to the Lightkeeper.s house ( we were in no.2) but having said that I think some changes would help create a better holiday experience. A shower attachment in the upstairs bathroom would be a great addition particularly with six people staying! There is a nail sticking up from the floor in one of the upstairs bedrooms which is not good for bare feet!! Cobwebs around light fittings! Dingy furniture in the sitting room. A pedal bin in the kitchen badly broken. The whole place needs a very deep clean. I presume a no television and no wifi policy is deliberate but I wonder about the wifi? Generally I found the dark decor a bit depressing and there are such beautiful colour schemes for sea side properties? Please give it a thought.
Despite the above reflections we had a memorable stay. Martin Delaney




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time for your feedback regarding your stay at an Irish Landmark Trust property. Upon reading your comments I fear that perhaps there has been a misunderstanding about what Irish Landmark Trust is about. As an educational charity, our primary aim is to conserve and sustain iconic buildings. That’s why Irish Landmark properties are living buildings, not museum settings. Irish Landmark always respects the history and architectural integrity of the structures we conserve, but we also ensure they have all the contemporary comforts you want in a holiday home. Therefore, the interior of the property reflects the building’s history. The woodwork throughout this property is stained a dark mahogany to match in with the kitchen dressers (which are the original pieces). The chocolate brown gloss on the hall walls below the dado and the clotted cream colour above is the original colour scheme, evidence of which was discovered during the restoration. These are typically Victorian colours and give an authentic feel to the property. If we were to create a seaside theme at this property then we would lose sight of why this property is a landmark. Regarding your comment about the shower attachment, whilst this would be ideal I am afraid that due to health and safety regulations this is not an option. I do just wish to mention that there is a standalone shower on the ground floor for guests to avail of. The House Manager at this property has been informed of the nail in the upstairs bedroom and has immediately taken care of it. The sofa was renewed in July 2015 and with any luck there will be funds in the budget to replace the fabric of one of the other chairs that is a little frayed. The pedal bin was broken during a previous guest’s visit and unfortunately was not possible to replace it in time due to back to back bookings before your arrival, but the House Manager has done this now. As mentioned, this particular property has had an exceptionally busy season and there has not been time to schedule in a deep clean. Now that the season is slowing down there is time for the House Manager to close the property and arrange this. However, saying this, I have looked at some other reviews and they have given their stay a good mark for cleanliness. I am sorry that you feel that during your stay this was not the case as I know that the House Manager takes great pride in these properties. We specifically do not have WiFi at our properties to ensure that there is a complete escape from the modern day electronic distractions, offering guests the time and space to reconnect with friends and family. We receive so many positive comments and praise about no WiFi at our properties so there is no intention to change this in the future.

Perfect escape. No television no Internet What a treat Will go back if we possibly can

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A magnificient. Location and we were blessed with the weather. The walks were terrific and our grandson counted the steps at 158 This is not for the fainthearted. The house excellent Overall well done to landmark. This is our third house. We have also been to galley head and Ann's grove both also excellent. Myra from Dublin



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, we love to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

May 2017

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant 2 days at Blackhead weather was superb and Pamela was excellent in letting us in early and we got to stay till lunch.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, come back and visit again soon.

Easter at Blackhead

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good location for family aged from 7- 70, maybe the location would not be so good for toddlers. Good having the adjoining houses so the family were together, but apart.....



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, would love to see you back in the near future.

I love Blackhead Lighthouse!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't fault Blackhead Lighthouse, 4th time to stay there and zero complaints! It's a must see, the house, the scenery the lack of wifi! Perfect place to escape



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments , it's always great to hear what our guests think , would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Brilliant

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always, beautiful location and fab house. Irish Landmark Trust do a great job restoring these places. Loved it



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Blackhead lighthouse

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time staying at the lighthouse, it was great each time. Pam was easy to talk to and friendly. We will be back again!
Trisha




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear what our guests think , come back again soon.

100/100

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at Blackhead Light Keepers House. The house was extremely comfortable and we felt like we had travelled back 50 years in time. In the evenings we lit the fire, listened to the radio and played board games together. Tucked up at night we could see the Lighthouse beam sweeping out to sea. There is a lovely coastal path running below the property and all the way into town. Our only regret was that we didn't have more time to spend in the immediate area as we had arranged sightseeing in Belfast, which was only half an hours drive away. We were genuinely sorry to leave such a beautiful restful place and would love to return.





Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, its always nice to hear what our guests think , would love to see you back in the near future.

Great locations

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the location, a real get away from it all. Great walks in the area, we cooked in both nights so it cost us very little. Go to the tea rooms in whitehead, worth a visit



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the future.

Beautiful get away

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the light house cottage as a base for a walking holiday. Gorgeous location and authentic decor
Breath taking local walks and an ideal base to drive from for the north coastal walks
It's a truly unique place




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay at Blackhead Lightkeeper's House 2 was. I am delighted you had such a wonderful time and got to enjoy the fabulous coastal walks in the area. Irish Landmark Trust hope to welcome you back to another of our properties soon.

Lighthouse cottage blackhead

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful exceeded expectations service was excellent when shower hot water system thermostat went Pamela had a plumber there the next day to fix it. We were all very comfortable and would be really happy to live like lighthousekeepers even the kids enjoyed their time without modern distractions and had fun playing the board games and doing puzzles. The fresh flowers and house presentation when we arrived has been the best of all the places we have stayed on our 9 week trek around the UK.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Really delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back perhaps at another lovely Landmark property.

A Few Days in Blackhead

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay in Blackhead and it was just as special as the others. The house is great, with amazing views. We love the cliff walks and especially heading down to Whitehead town for breakfast and a potter around. The people are so friendly. Pamela greeted us as usual, and is always very welcoming and helpful. This is a special house in a special location!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

A really special place in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Blackhead Cutter and Blackhead House 2 Lightkeepers house. Everything about it was so easy and laid back resulting in exactly what we wanted in a weekend away. Pamela was great, and all directions and information provided by her were so clear and straight forward. It also was great to have her contact number as a back-up too, just in case of emergencies.
It is a really special place in a stunning location. Both houses were immaculately kept, with a very well stocked kitchen and bathrooms etc. We particularly loved all the old books in the houses, the old furniture and furnishings, it added to the atmosphere of the place.

The weekend we were there was a lovely mix of calm one evening with about 20 dolphins playing in the waves along the cliff edge, to stormy the next evening when we had the fire lit watching the weather from the comfort inside. We really to appreciate the full lighthouse experience. The beds in all rooms were very comfortable and the communal spaces could well accommodate all of our group. It really was the perfect weekend away.

We hope that is it respected by all visitors to ensure it is kept in the excellent condition it is currently presented in and for the unique accommodation that it is.

Thanks for having us.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Blackhead, thank you for such wonderful feedback, we are so glad you had such a nice time and would love you to come back and visit in the near future.

A very special place, one of the best breaks we have had

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely love it. The location was spectacular and the house was snug and gorgeous. I was there with my three young children and was a bit worried about the no TV and wifi thing, but they were so enchanted with the house that it wasn't a problem. it is handily close to Belfast and we also took the coast road up to the Giant's Causeway. In the evening it was so lovely to curl up with a book with the lighthouse light out of the window. The views from every window were so amazing I have hundreds of pictures. I am definitely going to go back.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write this review, so glad you will come and visit again :)

Excellent experience very beautiful location very quiet and romantic ...I woul Luke to come back the

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I loved stay at the lighthouse ...It was my
first time..but I stayed so much well that I hope to come back as soon as possible ... The house is very romantic and there are 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms...perfect!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back soon.

Our recent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed there a couple of weeks ago and it was excellent. Beautiful location, so relaxing!

Would of been nice to go into the lighthouse but I believe that's something that is going to happen at some point. Overall if you want this kind of laid back experience, away from phones and tv, this is perfect




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear such nice comments, come back again soon.

Carver Visit

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Characterful and special self catering accommodation lots of original features and books etc. Good walks from accommodation

do not like having to put in 150 characters





Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back soon.

not good if you do not have car

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
1.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely place can not fault it but you need car as local taxi does not have a good servic have only 4 taxis and wen i stayed there was only 1 taxi on call and had to wait 2 hours



Our favorite place!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our whole family's favorite place in a 6 week tour of Europe! The location is absolutely perfect, the house is wonderful, our hostess was so friendly and helpful, we were made to feel right at home and cosy with fresh flowers in each room. The views are breathtaking, and we were delighted to learn that the lighthouse actually works! We would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for a unique stay!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Fabulous location, but isolation required

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fabulous location, spectacular views, beautiful area and warm welcome by the house manager with flowers in every room. Unfortunately our noisy neighbors kept us awake till midnight , isolation between the 2 houses would not be a luxury. Thanks for a great holiday in Northern Ireland.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Excellent Family break

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented both cottages for a family break encompassing 4 generations, ranging from age 5 to 85. The houses were clean, comfortable and well equipped, full of character - the location is superb, stunning views from every window. The younger generation was fascinated by the open fire - a new experience for them. Lack of television and wifi was not a problem, rather an advantage. A relaxing and peaceful time was enjoyed by all.



Jeanette & Robert Scott
Sent from our iPad experience for them




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are so delighted you and the children enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear such positive feedback, would love to see you back in the near future.

A beautiful stormy winter retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm, comfortable and sturdy working lighthouse sitting on the edge of Blackhead and over looking Belfast Lough. It sleeps 7 people very comfortably with plenty of space to allow everyone their own privacy. Fascinating history of the building and surrounding areas offering breathtaking coastal walks.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always wanted to stay at a lighthouse and got the opportunity at Blackhead and it did not disappoint! Amazing experience.

Stayed during storm Clodagh and lit the fire just to add to the atmosphere.

Will be back for sure.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Blackhead Lighthouse , it's always great to hear what our guests think, would love you to come back and stay perhaps at another one of our properties.

Bliss!

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed on a wintry weekend at the Lighthouse and it was wonderful! Stormy seas - great sunrise views from bed! So quiet otherwise. It is so cosy with the fire lit in the drawing room. Posies of flowers in the rooms - just idyllic. We walked into Whitehead the next morning - so refreshing. I live locally but was organising a reunion with friends from the mainland - the walk up and around the lighthouse has always been on of my favourites and it was fantastic to be able to stay. I would definitely want to stay again.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay at Blackhead, we love to hear feedback from our guests, come back again soon.

We loved it.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it. A mixture of spectacular outside (inc. the gale force winds) and cosy inside. And beautifully restored inside, without feeling like a film set. Just great.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon :)

Wonderful weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at this house with two couples and had a wonderful weekend. The location is spectacular, with 360 views from the windows and the beam of light from the tower flashing across the sky. The house is both handsome and comfortable. I only wish we could move in.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back in the near future.

Another awesome stay at an ILT property

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay. This is our 4th visit to an ILT property and every one has been a great experience. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and the view was beautiful. The seaside village of Whitehead is small and lovely. Be sure to visit the Tea House. The beach walk extends to a more strenuous climb below the lighthouse, with lots of steps - a great workout. Kudos to Pamela, a great house manager who greeted us, made us feel at home, and shared a wealth of information with us. Oh yeah.. One thing that we noticed was the absolute silence during our first day. Very peaceful and relaxing. We slept like logs.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments, it's always great to hear positive feedback, we hope you come back and stay in another magical Landmark soon.

Northern Lighthouse Tour

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant stay, I very much enjoyed staying there and will continue to stay there as often as I can as it is a great place to stay. I have stayed there many times in the past



A Highlight of the Trip

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful Views, Gorgeous interiors, Friendly people, Pamela was great and The town of Whitehead was great. Go see the Baker and Thursday night music at the Marine Bar.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Blackhead Lighthouse, August 2015

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in the Blackhead Lighthouse, this time renting both houses with family and friends. What a great house, amazing scenery and a magical weekend. Renting both house was excellent for socialising and we had a couple of lovely meals in the house, all together, with the unbelievable views out across the sea.

We had four children with us and they thought the experience was magical too. The small garden was great for playing (and rolling down hills!) and we could sit on the deck chairs watching the children play and the ships go by.

Whilst renting the houses is not cheap, it is definitely value for money, as you will not find a better location. We took a couple of cliff walks down to Whitehead, where we got nice breakfasts and a very friendly welcome. At night we lit the fire, even though it was August, but it is such a relaxing and enjoyable place.

We have stayed in a number of Irish Landmark properties, but this is by far the best we have experienced. We can't wait for our next trip up to Blackhead.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Blackhead, thank you for your positive feedback , it's always great to hear such nice comments, would love you to come back and stay with us again.

A chance to stay in an incredible beautiful spot.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The history and beauty of the place is remarkable. There's nothing quite like seeing the beams of a lighthouse (EVEN JUST OUT YOUR WINDOW) reaching out to sea, and looking across the way toward Scotland.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your time spent at Blackhead , really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, come back again soon.

A fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful place! We were a large party arriving in a big minivan so the narrow. windy road out to the lighthouse gave us a few anxious moments but we loved this place. The house was beautifully prepared for us by a housekeeper who was very gracious and tolerant of our schedule changes. We loved all the little touches fro the beautiful old books to the flowers in every room. The loop walk around the cliffs was a delight and we did it several times.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the positive feedback , it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Beautiful and Relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and the setting stunning. I loved the period furnishings. The beds were very comfy. No TV was also good. We played lots of board games. It was a very memorable stay.

One negative - the 2 bedrooms downstairs were cold.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review and for the nice feedback, would love you to come back and stay with us perhaps at another magical Irish Landmark property.

40th Birthday Surprise

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I had a wonderful time at the lighthouse, the décor is beautiful and authentic, and there is space for everyone to enjoy inside and out. We wouldn't hesitate to stay again, in fact we can't wait for the next excuse!!



Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked both Lightkeepers cottages for a family stay, and we had a great time - the cottages are in excellent order, beautifully kept by Pamela, who could not have been more helpful (thank you Pamela!), and of course the location is sensational. We will definitely come again.



Fantastic, unique getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful and unique opportunity to step back in time. Immaculately maintained (the bedrooms, in particular, were heavenly!) with views to die for. Highly recommended!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Great location!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place to chill out. We stayed four days enjoying the outstanding views - even our children (13 and 15), although there is no TV or internet. We would like to come back to this magic place with history...



Sailors Paradise

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in this Lighthouse Keepers house for 8 days and it felt like home, but with outstanding views
What a location with demanding views over all aspects of Belfast Lough
We were a mixed group of teenage sailors and parents and found the house spacious, comfortable and warm. But it's strengths are it's location. it's views and of course it's history.
It's like stepping back in time but with all you mod cons and some comforts. No TV and no Internet is a challenge with a group of teenagers in any location, but these kids were so tired every evening that they had no need to log in and with what was at our doorstep, the Internet was far from our minds
Fabulous location (although hard to find)
Fabulous accommodation
Highly recommended
Thanks for the privilege of staying in this truly special place
VO'C







Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review , really delighted that you and the kids enjoyed your stay at Blackhead , would love to see you back to stay at another magical Irish Landmark in the future.

A Charming Place to Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family loved this lighthouse keeper's house. It was furnished in the early 1900's fashion with updated amenities. You would have to have a car to get to it, but the views and local village was a treat. The house keeper left flowers around in various rooms, which added to the charm.



Nadine. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

birtday celebrations at a lighthouse

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I stayed for two nights to celebrate a birthday. Pamela the caretaker was very welcoming on our arrival and told us about all the local places to eat and drink, which we took advantage off. We had a lovely weekend one that we will all remember for a long time.



Memories

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent weekend break in a perfect location for all the family.
A holiday made all the better for the friendliness and welcome from Pamela .
Treasured memories..




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Great experience!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location to celebrate a "special" birthday. Spacious rooms furnished in period. Well supplied kitchen. Comfy beds and cosy central heating. Splendid walk around the headland. Just wish the wind had eased up a bit!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed the birthday celebrations at Blackhead, thank you for taking the time to write this review and hope to see you back soon.

We absolutely loved our stay at the Lighthouse keeper's cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 03 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our host was extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was a problem, we needed a couple of things but these were easily arranged. Communication was prompt even though mobile reception can be a bit sketchy along the coast.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, thank you for the feedback and taking the time to write this review.

lighthouse

Review submitted on Sat, 02 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful location, great views. Huge rooms, loads of space. Our toddler loved running around.
Heating was wonky, but coal fire made up for it.
Wouldn't hesitate to go back.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you and the family enjoyed your stay at Blackhead , thank you for the feedback, would love to see you go back.

Blackhead lighthouse

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perhaps sitting room could do with new sofas / chairs but apart from that a lovely experience and stay at blackhead! Beautiful spot to visit picturesque surroundings



Blackhead lighthouse

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perhaps sitting room could do with new sofas / chairs but apart from that a lovely experience and stay at blackhead! Beautiful spot to visit picturesque surroundings



weekend stay with friends

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely location to get away and chill out will be back in the very near future with amazing views over the irish sea and the place was spotless.Roll on May.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, it's always great to hear such nice comments , look forward to your return.

A fantastic weekend with friends!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We usually go to Dublin for a break with friends in January (3 couples) but decided to try something different this year - we had a fantastic weekend catching up, cooking, walking and generally 'kicking back'. The location is second to none and the period features are exceptional. Who wouldn't want to spend the weekend living in a lighthouse? It took me right back to my days of reading 'Famous Five'!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments, delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always great to hear such positive feedback, come back soon :)

A Magical Christmas!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in the Lightkeeper's House was magical. The atmosphere, environment and views made our Christmas as a family both enjoyable and memorable. Truly magical.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your Christmas stay, thank you for the great feedback, would love to see you back in the near future.

Pre Christmas at Blackhead

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and house are perfect.
Please upgrade beds and sitting room furniture 3 piece suite. Yes they are period (1930's), but expectations have changed.
Kitchen and bathrooms are A1*****
Heating is superb. Great open fire in sitting room, not needed as central heating is superb, but the effect is magical.
Nevertheless I am booking again and will return many times.
The experience has no comparison.
Pamela the housekeeper is a treasure and adds to the experience.




Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay at your Holiday Home was. I am delighted to read that you had a nice stay and that property was nicely heated for you and that you enjoyed the Landmark experience. I have passed on your note to the Property Manager for you. We do hope to welcome you back to another one of our properties in the future.

Didn't want to leave...

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All of our group were thrilled with our visit to Blackhead Lighthouse. Our hostess ensured that the house was warm and welcoming, with fresh flowers and fuel for the fire (yes, there is central heating too). She kindly made some local recommendations and advised us on the area. The house has been treated very sympathetically and restored to a high standard. We all agreed that the beds were extremely comfortable!

The setting is very special and the views superb. In daytime, it is an easy coastal walk to the nearby village of Whitehead. Fortunately for us, Whitehead was celebrating its Christmas Fair, so from the lighthouse, we had wonderful views of their impressive fire-works display over the bay.

Although our stay was short, it was deeply relaxing. We loved the characterful house and wished we could have stayed longer.

Stella.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties, would love to see you back in the near future.

Recommended without hesitation.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent across the board and recommended without hesitation. Special mention for Pamela the house manager for her helpfulness, professionalism and pleasant manor.



Great property, amazing views, would recommend it in a heartbeat

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Light-keeper's Cottage,
Great property, amazing views, would recommend it in a heartbeat,
Would love to get back to there again - but there are so many other Landmark properties now to try out now,




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review, it's always great to hear such positive feedback, look forward to your return.

Wonderful stay at Blackhead Lighthouse

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We absolutely loved staying in this property. The location was knockout and the property did, as the Irish Landmark Trust say they aim to do, preserve its integrity while providing all mod cons. The decor was lovely, period character with very comfy beds and fabulous views from all the windows. Seeing the lighthouse's comforting beam at night time was just magical (the bedrooms have shutters so no danger of it disturbing your sleep though!). The handover from the house manager was smooth and friendly



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing Blackhead House 2. We are delighted to hear that you had such a magical experience and hope to welcome you back to Blackhead or another Landmark property in the future.

A childhoods team realised!

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a child i used to walk uphere so getting to stay was a dream come true. Kids played hide and seek for hours while we watched Ganites plunging into the sea for fish. The view from the window was never the same twice and it's the most restful sleep ever. We're coming back



Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and that you were able to enjoy Blackhead. I hope that it was as good as your childhood memories were? We would love to welcome you back again to Blackhead or indeed another of the Landmark properties.

4 nights at Blackhead Lighthouse

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is unique, as well as the 19-th century atmosphere within the apartment. Only the living room would perhaps deserve refreshed furniture..



Astounding place to stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent two nights at this incredible clifftop location. The house is beautifully fitted out with everything you need for your stay including lots of period books and luxurious towels and bedlinens. There are binoculars and deck chairs provided to take in the view. The whole surrounding area was blooming with hedgerow flowers. The caretaker Pamela was incredibly helpful and welcoming and our stay at the property really felt more like visiting a private home. I can strongly recommend a visit! If I literally struggle for something to improve I might say that the sitting room isn't dimensioned/furnished for 7 people to relax in and that the road down so the building could be a challenge for inexperienced or easily shook drivers, it is steep, narrow and winding with no passing room, someone has to reverse if you meet. Luckily we had a great driver and car!



Blackhead Lighthouse family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I picked Blackhead Lighthouse because it slept so many and I wanted a holiday for my teenage daughter and her friends. What hit me first was the staggering beauty of the place.....we also had stunning sunny weather which helped tremendously. The good room proportions, series of bedrooms bathrooms and sitting rooms really helped for us all to have our own space....the kids favourite place in the evening was outside on the walkway under the light itself which lit up every night..we heard fog horns...we saw the passing boats both small and large..a truly amazing experience which I would like to make an ANNUAL family holiday. The housekeeper must work very hard to keep it as nice as it is......it's not small.....if it wasn't for the Irish Landmark Trust places like this would never be available....



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful comments,delighted you and the kids enjoyed your time at the lighthouse,would love to see you back soon :)

Olden Times

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Experience the past with just a hint of today thrown in for good measure. Each ILT property offers a unique experience and before we say goodbye to one we already know where we are booking for our next stay.
Linda & friends, Co. Louth






Blackhead Lighthouse II

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous place! The views, the house (and all of its period furniture), and its location to town made this one of the best places I have ever stayed. It was a magical time for our family. It was hard to leave. Thank you for providing a place like this to vacation.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay,hope you return in the future :)

Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My extended family and I rented both houses at the Light House. The place was out of a dream and better than we could have imagined. It was definitely one of the highlights of our 9 days in Ireland/Northern Ireland. The lighthouse is secluded and the views are unbeatable...but then there is a great path that you can take to walk along the water to the village. It only takes 30 minutes. And the interior is quaint and a bit rustic, but that is part of the charm. I would HIGHLY recommend staying at this location. We stayed for 3 nights and it was perfect; it felt very, very special.

On a side note, there aren't a ton of food options in the village, so I'd recommend getting groceries and utilizing the kitchen (which was well stocked with all the pots/pans and cutlery) you'd need.




Lighthouses 1and 2

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Please copy my review for lighthouse one which I forwarded last week. It would reflect how I felt for both houses. Had an absolutelynwonderful time.




Blackhead House 2 Lightkeeper's House

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jun 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
An incredible location to build some wonderful family memories. Accommodations are in keeping with a light keeper's house, very clean and comfortable.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comment we are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay.Would love to see you back in the near future :)

Remote Lighthouse

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, away from noise, very quiet and peaceful. Even in wind and rain, the lighthouse is comfy and cosy.

Unfortunately there was a power outage in the area on our last morning, handy to know where torches and matches are!
The manager was great, helping us get in the door, calling to check up, and even dropped in a bottle of wine!

Would definitely stay again, already making plans.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great review,would love to have you back in the near future perhaps at another one of our properties.

Wonderful location for Giro weekend!

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay. So different and really atmospheric. Spectacular views. Nice walkway along beach into Whitehead. Bedrooms were cosy and spacious.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

A nice experience

Review submitted on Sun, 18 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was clean, the forniture in good state. Pamela arrived on late but was very kind, she explained us all we needed.Our stay was a nice experience.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback, would love you to come back to stay perhaps at another one of our properties.

Excellent Location, tranquil setting for a relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 16 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In deed a very good bargain, well maintained in an excellent location, easy to find and nothing has been over looked when making sure guest are looked after.




Irene replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Blackhead Lightkeepers House 2. Delighted you had a lovely time and we hope to welcome you in the future to another of our Irish Landmark Properties.

Fabulous.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was incredible, warm, cozy and stunning. we didnt want to leave outside of stunning walk right outside the door. Thanks Landmark - We appreciate your work with extraordinary properties and what hey represent. We will all try and choose landmark homes from hereon.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback, it's always a pleasure to let guests enjoy our properties.

Magical stay

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Northern Ireland. Blackhead House 2 Lightkeeper's House not only proved to be the most charming accommodation but also provided us with an ideal location from which to enjoy spectacular walks, beautiful drives along the Antrim Coast and was only a quick commute to Belfast. The house itself is beautifully furnished in keeping with the period the lighthouse was built. All mod cons (except TV and wifi) are well catered for. The views are breathtakingly beautiful. We never met the housekeeper but the accommodation was absolutely immaculate. Our stay was truly memorable - can not recommend more highly!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the wonderful feedback, it's always a pleasure to let quests enjoy our properties. Hope you come to stay again.

Blackhead Lightkeeper's House - an absolute treat and delight

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Lightkeeper's House was such a wonderful and special experience. The location is incredible, high above the cliffs and staring out across Belfast Lough and beyond. The House itself is so perfectly restored in a subtle and beautiful way so that it feels like home the minute you step in the door. The House itself is warm, comfortable and cosy and the only real problem is that you don't want to leave!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this review, glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back soon perhaps in another one of our properties.

Wonderful stay in a wonderful place

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Six of us spent a weekend here in March. It was one of the nicest houses and locations we have ever stayed. The house was beautifully restored, maintained and decorated, with excellent attention to detail. We loved the old books and the lovely touch of fresh flowers. It is hard to describe the character of the lighthouse keeper's house to anyone who has not been there. The walls had stories to tell, but we had every comfort. Highlights included the night views of the light over the lough, the cliff walk around the base of "our" cliff to Whitehead, golf at the very friendly golf club, long meals and card games at the big kitchen table and sitting in the sun on the bridge linking the house to the light tower. For anyone staying longer, the house is within easy reach of Belfast, but feels a million miles away. A great find.
Maura, Dublin




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely feedback,hope to see you back soon perhaps at another one of our properties.

Three generations of the same family six years of age up to mid sixties.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Mar 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a memorable stay last weekend at Blackhead Lighthouse 2 ( end of February 2014) great walks to the very pretty village of Whitehead, fantastic views over Belfast Lough, great atmosphere at night when the lighthouse lights up, grandsons loved it.
we even managed a trip to Belfast and took in the Titanic experience, overall a most enjoyable weekend!




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback,delighted you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back again perhaps in another one of our properties.

Excellent weekend break only a stones throw from Dublin!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and 4 friends spent a fabulous weekend at Blackhead. Everything was perfect! The accomodation was fantastic, beautiful spacious, warm, comfortable rooms that have been so wonderfully renovated. We hardly left the house except for 2 wonderful walks around the lighthouse and down to whitehead village. It was so cosy, we didnt want to move at all!!! The house was very well equipped with all mod cons, so it couldnt have been more perfect. We had the perfect winter weather too - strong winds, but mostly dry weather, thus creating a nice bit of drama for our lighthouse stay! On one of our walks around the lighthouse we spotted a school of porpoises, which truly was the icing on the cake for this very memorable visit! I would have no hesitation in recommending Blackhead to anyone! We will be back!!!



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback,delighted you all enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back perhaps in another one of our properties.

Unique holiday break location

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay and even better this time. Great location well maintained. Very clean and inviting right down to the cut flowers. Our friends will soon return.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the lovely comments,hope to see you again soon.

Fabulous experience

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Instead of jetting off to the continent, six of us decided to stay a little closer to home this year and picked Blackhead lighthouse looking for a wow factor to our girlie weekend away. What a fabulous time we had. From the warm welcome we received from our host Pamela on behalf of Irish Landmark Trust to the friendliness of the Whitehead people and people further afield in Antrim, it all met and exceeded our expectations. Even the weather was kind to us. The rain came down in buckets and the wind howled, but the lighthouse felt safe and secure and when we did venture out, the rain stopped and the sun shone.

The house was immaculate, well appointed and beautifully presented. The fresh flowers throughout the house were a lovely touch and the bed linen was white, crisp and spotlessly clean.

With the wind so strong, the emergency door in the ground floor bedroom did make a racket at night but we solved that by putting one of our heavy sleepers down there.

The lighthouse is a great place for visiting the north Antrim coast and we spent a lovely couple of days at the Carrick a rede bridge, Giants Causeway and Ballintoy harbour followed by a well deserved drink and a bite to eat at the Bayview Hotel in Portballintrae. Saturday was spent taking the train to Belfast, bit of shopping, Black taxi tour of Belfast with Norman, cocktails in the Merchant Hotel and dinner in the Mourne Seafood bar. All recommended.

The lighthouse is a truly magical place to stay.




Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your wonderful feedback, delighted yous all enjoyed your time at the lighthouse. Hope you stay again soon :)

Blackhead lighthouse

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Blackhead lighthouse is a wonderful place to stay. The location is amazing, the house itself is very well equipped, warm, cosy and tidy. We had a fantastic stay and I would recommend to anyone.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your time at the lighthouse :) thanks for the feedback.

A great weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great break away with friends and family and no tv. Lovely walks along the cliffs to the local town. Close to Belfast on the train,but no storm for us.



Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
thanks for the feedback, glad the entire family enjoyed their stay.