FB Twitter

Railway Crossing Cottage

Railway Crossing Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


Railway Crossing Cottage, which sleeps 2 in a standard double bedroom, is located just 6 minutes drive from Donegal Town. This beautiful cottage is full of character and has a long garden that follows the course of the old rail tracks.

  • Sleeps 2 people. Double Room.
  • Welcomes 1 pet.

Quaint Railway Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in Railway. It is a quaint, traditional cottage which is well equipped with all modern conveniences. Liaison with, Gerard, property manager, was great and with easy access and departure. Location near Donegal town on the Killybegs Road was good, with easy access to South Donegal, including Sliabh Liag, stunning. Cottage well equipped - only addition I would recommend would be, perhaps, an outdoor table and chairs (maybe wrought iron in keeping with the traditional style of the cottage?). All in all, we enjoyed our 3 night stay and look forward to experiencing further Irish Landmark Trust properties.

Mary from Co. Galway stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in September 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 190 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and it sounds like you made the most of exploring the local and surrounding area. Your suggestion is very kindly thought of and we will take this into account.

Lovely cottage with basic facilities

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 3 days in the railway cottage. It’s a great location to base your stay in Donegal from if you’re driving. Taxi into the town was between 6 and 8 euro and not hard to get. The facilities are basic in the cottage, we had trouble getting the temperature just right in the shower and you have to sit in the bath to use it. There is no tv or couch, just two armchairs, books and a radio but in the end it was a really enjoyable stay! The place was spotless and had a really old, quaint feel to it!

from stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in August 2020


Irish Landmark Team replied 215 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We're glad that you enjoyed the cottage and taking time out to enjoy the peace and quiet of an old way of life. We hope we will be welcoming you as an Irish Landmark guest again in the future.

Delightful Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was very lucky with the weather, and spent a long afternoon reading in the beautiful garden. The cottage is cute and comfy, and the bathtub superb! Also a great location - just a short drive from Slieve League. Throughly recommend a stay here, you won't miss the internet at all :-)

Maree from Ballsbridge stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in August 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 218 days ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Railway Crossing Cottage. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and we're very glad to hear you were lucky with the weather. We hope to welcome you again for a future stay.

Feedback Railway Crossing Cottage Donegal

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All good but should amend in the notes as to the location of the hot water switch so that hot water does not run out in the first 24 hrs!

Nicholas from Edinburgh stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 4 nights in August 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 219 days ago
Thanks for your feedback! We hope you enjoyed your stay and we will look into this suggestion you've made. Irish Landmark Team

Charming Setting

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great ambience and comfort. The place could use a bit of a clean-up. The lighting in the kitchen can be a bit better (especially on the cooker). The bed is very comfortable.

Guest from Galway stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 6 nights in July 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 215 days ago
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will take your comments on board. We hope you enjoyed your holiday and would love to welcome you as a guest in the future.

Beautiful, peaceful place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we’ve been to Railway Cottage and it certainly won’t be the last. The property is beautifully maintained with the lovely traditional exterior and very tasteful touches of modernisation inside. From the moment you step into the garden and hear the birds singing there is a real sense of peace and tranquility. It’s also a convenient location for exploring the surrounding beautiful beaches and is extremely close to Donegal town. Highly recommended. It is a real privilege to have access to a property like this.

Sarah from Belfast stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Irish Landmark Trust replied 231 days ago
It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed your second stay at Railway Crossing Cottage. We're glad you enjoy the tranquility and the location of the property. Thank you, we really appreciate your continued support. Irish Landmark Team.

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for having us at the Railway cottage. Our stay was superb. The cottage itself was beautiful, and the grounds were lovely. We had fantastic evenings in front of the fire and the underfloor heating was a welcome touch in the mornings and helped keep the cottage lovely and warm.

The location was superb as well. 2 KM into Donegal town centre, and an hours drive to a host of Donegal's best attractions.

We added on an extra night, as we were so delighted with our stay.

Thank You


Kieran from Dublin stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 4 nights in March 2020


Wonderful visit to railway crossing cottage to celebrate a railway enthusiast's 75th birthday

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our time in the railway crossing cottage. It is a beautifully restored cottage in a wonderful location - a very pleasant place to spend a significant birthday, especially sitting by a blazing fire in the evening listening to music and sipping a glass of champagne. We had a great time in Donegal too, visiting the castle and the railway museum. Although the latter was closed for renovation they kindly invited us in and told us all about the museum. On a very rainy day we visited Killybegs and learned lots about Donegal carpets and the fishing industry at the museum set up in the carpet factory.

Andrew from Dublin stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in February 2020


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
So wonderful to hear a very special birthday was spent at Railway Crossing Cottage and that you thoroughly enjoyed your trip to Donegal. Delighted you got the opportunity to visit the museums too. thank you so very much for choosing Irish Landmark Trust for such a special occasion.

Another well spent weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a splendid time as usual and would certainly recommend it to our friends. As we have stayed in Railway Cottage on a number of occasions and have always enjoyed it immensely.

Guest from Blackrock stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in November 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your continued support John. It was just fantastic to welcome you back and delighted you had another great weekend at Railway Crossing Cottage.

a lovely long weekend in railway cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
nice quite spot near donegal town Some lovely restraunts in the town which were easily acsesed by taxi The cottage is very well mantained with a beautiful garden

Charlie from stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in August 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is lovely to hear you had a nice stay at Railway Crossing Cottage. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust. We hope to welcome you back in the future perhaps.

Quaint, Cute Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mary and her sons were wonderful when they let us in the cottage. We absolutely loved our stay and highly recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Megan from Newington stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in July 2019


Great Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 3 nights and had a very relaxing time and were well looked after. Location is great (although don't think it's completely secluded, it is in a small residential area). Less than 5 minutes drive from Donegal town. Property was exactly what we hoped for and expected but it may be smaller than you think from the photos. Bed, although small, was perfect.
All I would say is, if you plan on bringing a pet, the garden's great but not completely secure; dogs could get out and dogs will come in (although friendly).
Would recommend this for a couple's retreat!


Stephen from Lurgan stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in July 2019


Would book again.

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We appreciated the small library and local information. Friendly neighbours and great garden. Would book again.

Alexander from Avoch stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, delighted you had a nice time during your stay at Railway Crossing Cottage.

Lovely cottage for two

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This a charming cottage for two with a fabulous and beautifully kept garden. It has everything two people might need and is in a quiet and secluded location though only 2 km from Donegal town with all its shops and restaurants. We would strongly recommend it to other couples looking for a quiet and attractive self catering location.

Martin from London stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in June 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is so wonderful to hear you had such a great time during your time at Railway Crossing Cottage. We are delighted that you found your stay comfortable and the location perfect for you both. Thank you for recommending the Irish Landmark Trust experience to other potential guests. We do hope to welcome you back to another of the 32 properties in our care sometime in the future.

MAGICAL

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On a summers evening sitting in front of a turf fire, with a glass of wine in one hand and my girlfriends hand in the other this little cottage took on a movie like moment. It was just sublime!!! I will be back !


Lochlainn from stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in June 2019


Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you so very much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Railway Crossing Cottage. The location was idyllic with a stunning garden constantly filled with birdsong. The property itself is beautifully maintained. It’s like stepping back in time but with some great modern touches for comfort and convenience. Highly recommended for a peaceful break.

Mattias from Belfast stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in May 2019


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
You are very kind to leave your lovely review and let us know in Irish Landmark trust how you enjoyed your time at one of the 32 properties in our care. Thank you for supporting our work by staying with us. It is so great to hear you had a lovely time and enoyed the peaceful and relaxing setting of Railway Crossing Cottage.

Donegal

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi, we stayed in Railway Crossing Cottage for two nights. The place is very pretty and well presented. Gerard has contacted us re key, and access was grand. He had put underfloor heating on before we arrived, but explained that it was hotter in morning. There was plenty of fuel, so we enjoyed old fashioned nights in front of roaring fire, listening to ‘wireless.’ Also put hot water
Bottles In bed well ahead of bed time. There wasn’t enough hot water for a bath, not a big deal. We had a gift voucher, and were happy it was accepted. Had to put money to it, so really not great value for the cost at all. About 300 for two nights, when there are lots of offers available that include dinner. We enjoyed our stay, the cottage was presented beautifully. Trish


Patricia from stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in April 2019


Beautifully restored Railway Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is restored to a very high standard with an old world charm. It is steeped in history. It is set in a tranquil garden where you can imagine the trains once running. It is ideally situated close to amazing beaches and cliffs of the Wild Atlantic Way. Donegal town is only 2 km away with lovely pubs and restaurants.

David from Shankill stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It sounds like you did have a lovely stay at Railway Crossing Cottage and that is just fantastic to hear. The cottage itself, although in a wonderful countryside setting, is close to Donegal town which is great for those whom wish to venture out during their stay. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the properties in our care.

Little Gem

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is just beautiful. You feel at home from the minute you walk in. I could not praise it enough.

Mairead from Longford stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in August 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you felt at home Mairead at Railway Crossing Cottage. It was wonderful to welcome you and we do hope that you will come back to stay at another Irish Landmark Trust property in the future.

Delightfully restored cottage 30 mins walk from Donegal town

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Railway Crossing Cottage is carefully and authentically restored and provides an accurate insight into how people lived 100 and more years ago. Modern amenities (running water, hot showers, electricity for light, refridgeration, cooking and heating) take the edge off what must have been what we'd regard today as fairly harsh living. The small cottage windows remind us how light modern dwellings are, and encourage us outside where the cottage grounds are beautifully kept. It is a haven of peace.

Tim from County Dublin stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in July 2018


Beautifully restored cottage with lovely well kept garden

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights midweek on a special officer which was great value. The one bedroom cottage is quaint in a lovely setting with a big well kept garden at the back. It is well located about 3km from Donegal Town but feels like you are in the middle of the country. We had two very wet days which was a pity but we looked around Donegal Town and took a very good tour of the Castle, visited Killybegs with it's beautiful large fishing trawlers and visiting cruise ship, went to Slieve League which is out of this world even though the clouds covered the tops of the cliffs etc. Hopefully we will return when the sun shines as so much depends on the weather.

Lydia from stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Donegal is one of the most incredible places on earth when the sun shines and I am very sorry to hear that the weather was not kind to you during your stay. It is lovely to hear though that the proximity of Railway Crossing Cottage to Donegal town gave you an escape from the bad weather for a while and that you were able to experience some of the wonders of this fabulous County. Hopefully Irish Landmark Trust will get the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future in better weather for your stay.

Great !!

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always we had a splendid time. It was, of course, greatly enhanced by the glorious weather, and the spacious surroundings. The cottage was as charming as ever. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

John & Win O'Grady.


Winifred from Blackrock stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 5 nights in July 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
It was just wonderful to have you back to stay John and Win. Your continued support of Irish Landmark Trust is very much appreciated and it is always so lovely to hear that you had a good time at one of the properties in our care.

Railway Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing few days at the Railway Cottage. It's a stunning little cottage just a few minutes from Donegal Town
a great location beautiful grounds so cosy so peaceful we had beautiful weather and spent the days on the beach. It is so well cared for the House Manager is amazing. We intend to go back in the winter and light the fire. Thanks to Irish Landmark Trust.


Miriam from Co. Wicklow stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 4 nights in May 2018


Bookings Officersa replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fabulous review of Railway Cottage and your stay there. It is great to hear that you had such a lovely stay and that you enjoyed your time there and exploring the wonderful Donegal beaches. There are lovely ones nearby so glad you had a chance to spend some time there. It would be great to welcome you back again and please do remember, every time you stay you help Irish Landmark continue to save Ireland's built heritage.

A journey back in time

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days in Railway Crossing Cottage, a step back in time but with all the comforts you need for a relaxing break.

Majorie from stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in April 2018


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to see you had such a nice time at Railway Crossing Cottage. As a guest you are helping us in our mission to save, share, and sustain Ireland’s built heritage. It might not feel like your holiday is anything but a relaxing indulgence, but when you stay in an Irish Landmark property, you’re part of a community that’s helping to keep heritage alive. Each of our properties has been carefully restored, but it is the guest – and all those who visit – who add the essential heartbeat that gives new life to these properties.

Cosy & comfortable in beautiful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had three lovely nights in the Railway Crossing Cottage in September. It's so cosy, comfortable, quiet and restored beautifully too, with colourful flowers in the window boxes adding a perfect touch for photographs! The setting is great, we had several long walks on the country roads around it, and it is a perfect base for further exploring of beautiful Donegal. The caretakers Gerard & Mary, and Irene in the Irish Landmark Trust office, were all so helpful to deal with too.


Monica from Dublin 9 stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in September 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for letting us know how your recent stay at Railway Crossing Cottage was. Great to hear that you had a nice stay and thank you so much for the fantastic photos you posted up on social media too. It was lovely to see you enjoying your stay at the cottage, in particular the flower boxes on the windows. Really looking forward to welcoming you back to Irish Landmark again.

Very cute cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The railway cottage is in a great spot being just out of town but in a quiet location. The views from the cottage over the large garden are lovely. The fireplace was wonderful. We greatly appreciated the armchairs ( not shown on the photos Irish Trust have on their website) to sit by the fireplace in. The bathroom was very cute ( and the hot water was adequate) and there was space next to the bedroom we could put all our bags in so we didn't feel crowded.The bed was small but was fine for a couple of nights. Someone has decorated the cottage in a very tasteful way. We found exploring Donegal county was one of the highlights of our trip around Ireland as it is full of natural beauty and with relatively few other visitors. We had a lovely time here.

Peter from Marrickville stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in August 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful to hear you had a nice stay. Thank you for mentioning the armchairs, we have not had the chance to update our photographs yet so lovely to hear you enjoyed sitting in from of the fireplace. Great to hear you had the chance to explore Donegal. It really is one of the most beautiful unspoiled counties in Ireland and Irish Landmark are delighted to have 4 properties in this marvelous part of the country. We do hope that you let friends and family who will be visiting Ireland in the future know about Irish Landmark properties and the work we do to save, share and sustain some of Ireland's built heritage.

3 nights in the Railway Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights in the Donegal railway cottage. The cottage is truly beautiful. Our experience was so relaxing and extremely enjoyable. The cottage has been wonderfully restored with everything needed for a memorable stay. A lovely location, just outside Donegal Town. We will return.

Tony from Bray stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in August 2017


Bookings Officer replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you had a great time in Railway Crossing Cottage and that you found your stay relaxing and enjoyable. It was wonderful to welcome you back and we do hope to see you again at another Irish Landmark Trust property.

Heavenly retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in quite a few ILT properties. 3 days. This was 7 days. It was amazing. Secluded but not isolated. The cutest cottage with beautiful grounds. Wonderfully laid out inside and out. Perfect for a couple wanting to tour Donegal and come home to something cosy. We were very sorry to leave. Thanks to Ger. Could not recommend it higher. Well done.

Vincent from Clonmel stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay, we love to hear what our guests think, come back again soon.

Charming cottage in beautiful Donegal

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is tiny but very charming, everything was spotlessly clean and the house manager Gerry was great.
A lovely base for exploring the wider area, just outside the town of Donegal on the road to Killybegs / the Atlantic coast.
The house is beautifully restored with everything you could need for a few days break.


Gillian from Dublin 14 stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in July 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Beautiful Cosy Cottage near Donegal town

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my husband really enjoyed our stay in this beautiful Cosy Cottage just 2km outside Donegal town.
Every part of the cottage was beautiful.
The house is perfect for two. The bed as very comphy but we did think it might be too small for some.
It's an easy 20-30 min walk into town. There are loads of lovely places to eat/drink and plenty of taxi's to get home.
We stayed in one night and lit a fire. I wouldn't do this again as it got very smokey.
One disappointment was that the bath cannot be used for a full bath. As there's not enough hot water.


Mary from Dublin 11 stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in June 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you you for feedback, we always love to hear what our guests think, we would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties.

Beautiful Funky place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As is the case with all the Irish Trademark Trust places we stayed in recently, this one was outstanding. Gerard was gracious and the house was perfect for our needs. We only wish we could have stayed longer.



Ernest from Aiken stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in June 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay thank you for your great feedback, come back again soon.

a very cosy cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we injoyed the stay very much, even the small double bed.very relaxing, nice surrounding including sleave league.

Johannes-friedrich from Oppenheim stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 16 nights in May 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

A wonderful break in a cosy cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent three cosy nights in Railway Crossing Cottage just outside Donegal town. It was easy to find and it's just perfect for a couple. We loved how steeped in history and how beautifully restored it is. The location is great, just on the edge of town but really rural once you stroll away from the cottage up the hill where there are beautiful views to be had. The facilities are basic but exactly what you need and it was lovely to sit in by a real fire every night listening to music, chatting and reading.

We went to explore Donegal County as we had never been before so the location isn't exactly ideal for that, but it was fine, a little more driving than we might have liked, but if you were just exploring the area, including Sligo, Lough Erne and North Mayo, then it's perfect.


Richie from Dublin 13 stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 3 nights in April 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, it's always nice to hear what our guests think , would love you to come back in the near future.

Great Spot.

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful little cottage, perfect for exploring Donegal, Gerard was a bundle of local knowledge and told us some wonderful spots to visit. Never realised just how beautiful Donegal is.

Anne from Dublin 9 stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in April 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay , we are really delighted you enjoyed your stay, come back again soon.

Super

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If your looking to get a feel for what it was like to live in a real traditional Irish stone cottage (but with subtle modern creature comforts) this is for you.

The location and history of the place is great, it's close to Donegal town (€6 taxi trip) and an ideal base to try the marked local cycle routes (outside the door) or to head up the coast along the fantastic Killybegs coastline and hiking up Slieve League (recommended).

We eat in The Olde Castle Bar (Fish restaurant) and we'd recommend The Forge pub, a proper cozy old school buzy country bar.

Final big mention to Gerard, your local friendly host and a mine of local information and tips.


Colm from Edenderry stayed at Railway Crossing Cottage for 2 nights in January 2017


Nadine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it's always so nice to hear our guests comments, would love to see you back perhaps at another one of our properties in the future.