FB Twitter

EF Garrison House

EF Garrison House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Elizabeth Fort dates to the early seventeenth century. The fort has played a hugely important role in Cork city since then. The walls of the fort offer a fantastic and panoramic view of the city below.

  • Sleeps 3 people. 1 Double Room and 1 Single Room.
  • Pets are not permitted.

Stunning Property

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house in the heart of the center but sooooo quiet. Very clean with all mod cons (bar mugs for tea - were Irish!) . beds very comfy. Location is fab and to be in a fort even better. Can seem pricey if its only 2 people but i cant begrudge it as it was a great experience.
Did not miss the TV one bit as radio was excellent.




Highly recommended

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful, as always! The house is really centrally located, spotlessly clean and very cosy, comfortable and peaceful.



Irish Landmark Team replied 56 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend. We're delighted you enjoy staying at Elizabeth Fort and your review is important to us. We hope your next visit will be even better than the last!

An Historic Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful spot and a real sense of being steeped in history whilst staying in this quaint cottage. Super to have the fort to explore as well and the lovely little museum on site, so many interesting stories from the time when it was a women's prison. Very central, easy to walk everywhere, a visit to Nano Nagle's Place nearby is a must- we enjoyed a superb brunch in the Good Day Deli and another interesting museum visit which tells the amazing story of Nano Nagle. The tour guardians of the fort were so friendly and helpful.



Irish Landmark Team replied 76 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of staying at Elizabeth Fort. We're so glad you enjoyed the property and the other amenities that are within walking distance. We hope you will return as guests in the future and thank you so much for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Weekend in Cork

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Garrison House last minute for a weekend break with our 13 year old son. The location is just fantastic, minutes walk from Patrick Street and from the back of the house you can see St Finbarr's Cathedral. We loved staying someplace that had so much history attached to it. The guys working at the Fort are a dream and gave us lots of tips including good fishing spots which we took on board and discovered places we would never have found. The pub outside the main gate was also very welcome and welcoming. This is a house of character, it reminded me of an old aunt's house. It is super comfortable and had everything we needed. If you are into something a little quirky and not looking for nouveau riche luxury, this is great place. It would have been wonderful if we could have parked in the grounds of the Fort, maybe that is something that could be looked in to - that is a suggestion and we managed perfectly without that. Would definitely go back!



Stay in Elizabeth Fort.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in Elizabeth Fort. The accommodation is very comfortable and has everything you’d need. It’s in a great location and despite being so near the city is very quiet and peaceful.



Irish Landmark Team replied 114 days ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Elizabeth Fort. We're glad you enjoyed your trip and found the property to be quiet and comfortable. We do hope you will return again.

Really special place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed staying in this incredible residence -the feeling of being 'inside' the fort is quite special.



Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Elizabeth Fort and that you found the property spacious and special. We hope to welcome you back as an Irish Landmark guest again in the future.

The issue of parking

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I previously stayed in Elizabeth Fort and parking on site was allowed. The current loss of parking is an inconvenience. There is ample space and an agreement could be be reached with Cork city council re accessing the fort with due regard to fellow visitors. One full day in a Qpark cost €25, I’d prefer to give that money to ILT or Cork city council. Having to move your car/update your ticket between 08:30 and 18:30 every 2 hours is not conducive to a relaxing holiday.





Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip. We are sorry to hear that the issue with parking affected your stay and we hope you did enjoy your time there despite this. Unfortunately it is beyond our control that Elizabeth Fort will remain a car free zone in the long term. We will ensure that the wording on our website reflects this going forward.

A most enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We greatly enjoyed our stay in Garrison House. The house was clean, comfortable, and with easy access to the city. The view from the ramparts around the Elizabeth Fort was spectacular. Liz Hughes (who looks after the property) was away for the w/e, but left good instructions about getting into the Fort at times when it wasn't open to the public, and even went so far as to give us her husband's telephone no, in case we had any problems with the heating. The shower worked well, as did the cooking equipment. Our only (slight) grouse was that we weren't able to open one of the bookcases in the sitting room, but otherwise all worked very well. The two chaps in the Admissions hut were also most helpful when we asked them about places in the city, etc.. It can be warmly recommended.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your kind review of your recent stay at Garrison House in Elizabeth Fort. It is so wonderful to hear that you had such a lovely time.

A truly wonderful stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really had a wonderful stay. It's in great condition and has a lovely, calming atmosphere. It's just great to have your own, unique house in the middle of the city! There are fantastic bars nearby (Tom Barry, The Oval Bar) and cafes (Alchemy). Liz Hughes is a lovely person and a great house manager who gave us really useful tips for our stay in Cork (which is a great city). We cannot wait to return. Thanks very much Irish Landmark for another great property.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Niall for such a wonderful review of your recent stay at Garrison House in Elizabeth Fort. Your support of Irish Landmark Trust is very much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed your time in Cork and found the location of Garrison House perfect for seeing the city. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Utterly charmed by our couple of lovely days at Garrison House.

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The refurbishment of these two houses is marvellous ... and I have seen the "before" photos! ...and the furnishing and equipping of the house was first class. It was a pleasure to work in the kitchen - we self-catered so well for Breakfasts & one Dinner. Previously unfamiliar with the area of Cork city, we were thrilled to discover the area. So close to everywhere on foot, as we always enjoy the English Market but we liked being "off the beaten track". and that we surely were. in Elizabeth Fort, with its 16th century origins. We explored the fairly new Nano Nagle Centre; how delightful this place is with its Good Day Deli. Garrison House was so very comfortable, warm in what was a very cold weekend, Such a great place to spend, reading and listening to radio and having a leisurely dinner. The guided tour of the Fort which we took on Sunday was excellent. Yet again, we experienced a terrific House Manager in Liz.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Mary you are very kind to leave such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at Elizabeth Fort. It sounds like you had a great stay and enjoyed your time in Cork. It is such a wonderful location in Cork city but yet so convenient to everything.

Very enjoyable stay in a quirky central location. Would definitely recommend!!

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although we are both locals from cork we really enjoyed our weekend break in garrison house. Loved having the whole fort to ourselves (highlight was seeing the locked gate from the inside!) and house itself was very well equipped and so central to everything. Incredibly quiet too which I didn’t expect , those fort walls must be VERY thick ! Would definitely recommend.



Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
It is so wonderful to hear that you really enjoyed your time at Elizabeth Fort and would recommend a stay at Garrison House. The location is fantastic for anyone wishing to visit the city as you are very central but yet feel so set back from the hustle and bustle in your very own fort for the evening. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust.

Just perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely break in Garrison house in the middle of Cork City. Everything was on our doorstep it was just perfect



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you found your stay at Garrison House in Elizabeth Fort in Cork so lovely. Its location is just perfect for anyone who wishes to visit Cork city and stay in a very special location. Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust. We do hope to perhaps welcome you back in the future.

Garrison House

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house manager Liz had biscuit cake for us when we arrived, it was delicious. The house was very comfortable and cozy, and absolutely spotless. The house its self-has such atmosphere, all rooms were beautiful. The decoration is outstanding, wonderful colors in each room, it's really like stepping back into the past. Beautiful views of the wall and cathedral from the upstairs room in the back of the house.



Bookings Officer for Irish Landmark Trust replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for supporting Irish Landmark Trust by staying in one of the 32 properties in our care. It is fantastic to hear that you were so well looked after during your time at Garrison House. We do hope you will come and stay again.