FB Twitter

THE SACRISTY WITH LOCH NESS VIEWS AND PRIVATE TERRACE

THE SACRISTY WITH LOCH NESS VIEWS AND PRIVATE TERRACE

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.3


The Sacristy is a luxury two bedroom duplex apartment with uninterrupted views of and direct access to Loch Ness. It is part of our complex situated in a converted Benedictine Monastery set in 20 acres of private grounds in the heart of the Scottish Highlands.

Wonderful Stay with Incredible views

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Sacristy. It is amazing. Very clean and comfortable. Perfect location on the property with easy access to and great view of Loch Ness. Highly recommend it.



Joanne Nicholson replied 54 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted you had a wonderful holiday. This property is the only one with a private terrace overlooking Loch Ness which makes it very special, all rooms within the property look over Loch Ness. It is under new ownership and has been thoughtfully and meticulously decorated with a number of high-end additions such as the music system, intelligent lighting, new terrace and outdoor furniture. It's one of the top places to stay at The Highland Club.

Gorgeous location

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2024
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean and well equipped apartment. I would personally like to see bigger and more comfortable beds. We slept in two single beds put together which was a bit uncomfortable due to clear split in the middle. The other slight issue was that the apartment has an “old building smell” to it. I appreciate it is part of old monastery and it most likely is something you cannot avoid. Saying that you can leave your doors and windows open for fresh air and enjoy great surroundings at the same time.

Great to have access to a spa however we did not get to use it even once as not only do you have to pre-book but the main issue is that it is only available 9-5. You can use it for additional charge in the evening but all spaces were gone anyways.
Other than that this place is in a lovely location with a great view of Loch Ness. Grounds are well looked after and it is very peaceful. I would definitely like to stay there again!




Joanne Nicholson replied 57 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You are correct, this building is historic and centuries of existence gives a certain ambience, although this is the first mention of this sort of smell! The Sacristy has new owners who have painstakingly decorated and refurbished the property last winter and added new soft furnishing and many new high quality items. We are pleased you have mentioned the swimming pool as we urge Highland Club Direct guests to book in advance of their stay. It is possible to book the pool up to 5 days in advance. Guests receive an automated email to book the facilities to enable them to organise their time efficiently. This is why it is important to receive your personal email address at the point of booking (contact details are requested). This is added to our system and these automated emails are able to be delivered allowing guests to access the booking system for all the facilities. To improve the enjoyment of the on-site facilities, guest numbers are limited to 10 for the pool, steam room and sauna area. The twin bedroom can be set up as a twin or super king bed arrangement, we have contacted the property manager to make sure they are ware that there is a mattress topper available when set up as a used Super King. We apologise if this was not added on this occasion. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

Very comfortable place to explore Scotland

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice place to comfortably explore Scotland. Our son enjoyed the lake and the facilities in and around the Highland club.
The appartement itself become home the first day. Directly from the appartement we had some wonderful hikes and visits to the village.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied 351 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The Sacristy has a new owner and they have invested time and effort in raising the standard of what was already a lovely property, adding a few more personal touches. We are delighted you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the uninterrupted views over Loch Ness from the rooms as uniquely The Sacristy has a private terrace over looking Loch Ness.

Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful place to stay, very comfortable, all extras provided. We had a lovely view of Loch Ness, with some bunnies and very tame ducks resident on the lawn! The Highland Club itself is great; set in a beautiful monastery right on the banks of the loch, it is truly wonderful. Highly recommended!



Magical stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property, location and amenities exceeded our expectations! The grounds we so stunning, the building beautiful and we loved watching all the animals (bunnies, ducks, and many other birds).

(The only comment we had is that it can be quite warm, and some fans would have been appreciated.)




Perfect stay

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Idyllic house and external scenery. Includes all required comforts. Highly recommended for families and couples. Includes also amenities and snacking



Amazing location, great apartment!!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Feb 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 4 had a lovely stay at the Highland Club. The location is fantastic and a great base to explore the surrounding area. Service received was excellent with good communication. We would recommend and are looking forward to stay again in the future.



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you were happy with the communication associated with your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in The sacristy as it a special property, having both wonderful views over Loch Ness plus the use of a private terrace. The owner manages this property and places a great deal of emphasis on fantastic customer service. We hope you will book again with Highland Club Direct and take advantage of our repeat guest discount.

We ❤️ You Scotland !

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jan 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful family time. Such a lovely place and people.
Highland Club Direct it a amazing place to stay!
Definitely will be back!




Fantastic Christmas Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We specifically chose the apartment for the Loch/terrace access and weren’t disappointed. It was very warm and cosy We loved the proximity to the village. Had a super Christmas Day lunch at the Lovat Hotel. We used the pool and sauna everyday. Our apartment had everything we needed and we made a happy lifelong family Christmas memory. Thankyou very much



Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you had a memorable Christmas staying in The Sacristy apartment. This property is has wonderful views over Loch Ness and coupled with the beautiful atmospheric Scottish interiors it is probably one of the top choices for a winter break at The Highland Club. We hope you will take advantage of our repeat guest discount and visit again soon. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Fantastic location, very well appointed, but very dark interior with little natural light

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic location, very well appointed, but very dark interior with little natural light. Dark crimson walls in lounge, existing windows bricked up, dark brown bedroom walls and ceilings just made it a little claustrophobic for me. Otherwise very good.



Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and made the most of this fantastic location with all the nearby local amenities and places to visit in this region. However I feel it is unfair to say that you did not appreciate the lack of natural light and dark scheme within the apartment as we provide an abundance of photos which show all the colour schemes within each of the rooms. All guests are privy to this prior to booking as this should be part of their decision process when choosing a property. I agree that the colours are subdued and cosy but this should not have been a surprise as it is not in our interest to mislead. Occasionally properties are chosen for the reason they are perhaps a little different from their own property at home. You know what they say a change is sometimes as go as a rest! Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

Nice place to be

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were warmly welcomed by a very friendly team in a beautiful place. The accommodation very close to the loch is very comfortable. We will come again to the Highland Club for our next stay



Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you had a wonderful holiday and will choose to visit again. We hope you will take advantage of our repeat guest discount. The Sacristy is a special and unique property with a "birds eye" view over Loch Ness. It is one of the few properties at The Highland Club with both Loch views and a private terrace. Recently refurbished it is extremely comfortable the interiors enhance the Celtic experience. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

First time visit

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thia apartment was perfect for us. Had a great patio and two bedrooms as well as a living area for us to all gather at the end of the day. Great location on the shore of loch ness and very short walk to town.



Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely 2 bed ground floor apt with views of Loch Ness .
The highland club is superb with lots of amenities for the family.
We used the heated indoor pool twice .
Would love to go back.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope you will return soon and take advantage of our repeat customer discount. Our indoor swimming pool and varied facilities for all ages the Highland Club can be enjoyed at any time of the year. We are delighted you had a lovely holiday. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

Update your Pictures

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The pictures drew me to the apartment. I loved the clean airy look with the plaid covers and curtains. I esp. loved the outside patio with the table and chairs to have coffee. When we arrived the walls had been painted a dark purple and all of the plaid was gone. There was no table on the patio. The view was beautiful but was marred by scaffolding left out side by the building.
We love Fort Augustus. This was our 3rd year to come here. I just wish the apartment had been like the pictures. Other than that it was comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.





Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologise that your were not informed about the new decoration. The Sacristy has just undergone complete refurbishment under new ownership. Due to the change in scheme we instigated photographs to be taken by a professional photographer. These have now been received and placed on the website. We apologise that you were not aware about the change in scheme however, despite the change in pallet both the new roll top bath and comfortable seating on the patio are all welcome additions. The previous owners provided an outdoor table and chairs however, the new owner felt it more appropriate to provide more informal lounge seating in order to appreciate the wonderful Loch Ness views in comfort. The scheme has been put together by an interior designer and is both immersive and atmospheric enhancing the uninterrupted view out to Loch Ness from all the rooms. This is a real gem of a property due to it's location and private terrace. The owner has put together a challenging scheme that affords guests to stay somewhere a little bit different. The scaffolding has been removed as this was required for window cleaning. The staff are aware that this should be removed as soon as the job is finished. Thank you for your helpful comments. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

Good accommodation in great location

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Most enjoyable stay in Fort Augustus. Accommodation was very good with everything we could need. We weren't able to make use of the patio because the weather was too cold but it's an excellent facility. The restaurant on site was a bonus too.
We will certainly visit again.




Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Sacristy, we are pleased you had a lovely holiday. The Sacristy is a real gem as it is the only ground floor property to have both Loch Ness views and a private terrace. Another point to note is that it is a stand alone property, attached to the Abbey only by the cloisters. The patio doors open onto the private terrace, a large expanse of lawn and Loch Ness beyond. Therefore, this property is particularly suited to families or guests who enjoy sitting outdoors during the warmer months. Kind regards Jasmine Nicholson Customer services Highland Club Direct

Facilities need improvement

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely well appointed apartment but the overall building needs a refresh and felt it was expensive now there is no swimming pool and very unhelpful service at The Boathouse restaurant.



Comforts of home on the shores of Loch Ness.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The flat was well appointed and felt like our home away from home. We had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Amenities like the pool and sauna were very welcome. The location on the shore of stunning Loch Ness can't be beat. Peaceful and quiet and only a short, pleasant walk to the village and the Caledonian canal.



Great holiday location for families!

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the apartment (great space, lovely views from the outdoor terrace) and the Highland Club grounds (swimming pool and games room especially)! We will be back soon, thanks!!



Great experience

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was our first time in Highland Club and although we have not been in other apartments we can totally assure that the Sacristy is a great choice. Located at ground level, it is one of the few apartments that looks directly to Loch Ness, accessing the back garden from the apartment. The apartment itself was clean and pretty confortable. Highly recommended.



Stop over

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Not our preferred type of location but the apartment was great. The agent was the least friendly person I have ever met in Scotland He was polite but as cold as the walls of the building. Not what you like when you reach a holiday destination on a cild rainy day.