FB Twitter

2 THE MONASTERY

2 THE MONASTERY

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Click here to view full property details

'CALADH' - THE MONASTERY - 1 BEDROOM


PROPERTY FEATURES: WiFi - FULL SKY - SPACIOUS EXCEPTIONAL INTERIORS - VIEWS OF LOCH NESS
GROUP RESERVATIONS: COMBINE WITH THE SACRISTY & THE CHAPTER HOUSE

Great place in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After two postponed attempts, due to the world falling apart, we eventually made it and are we glad we did. We were astonished by the size and quality of the apartment which on their own would have been perfect but with the availability amenities on site this was beyond expectations. We were sorry to leave but hope to return in the future.



Perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited the highlands every year for 20+ years, and this is the best place we have stayed. The apartment was clean, updated and very comfortable even for a week long stay. We would definitely return.



WOW!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were absolutely blown away with our stay at Caladh!! We will definitely be back again, and plan to stay for at least 1 full week. The facility was beautiful, and out unit could not have been any nicer!



Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. and your positive response to this special property. Caladh apartment is Visit Scotland 5 star accredited with sumptuous interiors and the views over Loch Ness are spectacular. We hope you will take advantage of our repeat guest discount and visit us again soon. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

Luxury and peaceful holiday home with fantastic views of Loch Ness... look forward to coming back

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Luxury, peaceful and spacious holiday home. Fantastic views of Loch Ness and a 5 minute walk into Fort Augustus.



Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. As you kindly pointed out we are ideally located for exploring The Highlands of Scotland and situated in the thriving village of Fort Augustus where there are a wide range of places to eat and all amenities. Caladh is the only 5 star Visit Scotland accredited property at The Highland Club. Its luxury interiors and views over Loch Ness make this an a wonderful choice for a holiday. We hope you will visit again and take advantage of our repeat guest discount. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

A lovely apartment in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our one-week stay at Caladh was very nice. As a family of three (two adults and an eight year old) we found the apartment to be very spacious and well equipped. It's very quiet at night and the thick curtains provide good coverage to keep the room dark during early dawns. Our son slept on the sofa bed, which was comfortable and set in a private snug off the mezzanine level, which was more like a second bedroom separated from the main bedroom by a short corridor containing large wardrobes. It was a bit annoying to be charged an extra £35 for sofa-bed linen after paying such a high price for the apartment and we were also disappointed that we didn't get the welcome pack or champagne that other holiday makers staying in this apartment have mentioned. These niggles aside, the kitchen had everything we needed to self-cater and there were other nice touches, such as books, a drawing pad and pencils etc. which our son appreciated. The long entrance hall also provided a good space to leave our wellies and wet coats. We used the pool most days, but found it difficult to book at a convenient time if going out for the day. It is open from 9 am to 9pm, but you can only book one (one-hour) swimming slot per day, and the pool is limited to 16 people per hour so the slots fill up quickly at peak periods (there are a lot of apartments at the abbey). We would have appreciated the option of booking earlier slots from 7am. The abbey grounds are lovely and Fort Augustus has a fair number of shops and places to eat. It took us an hour or so to look around everything and just a few minutes to walk in to the village from the abbey. We would consider visiting and staying at the Highland Club again, but for a shorter stay as the drives between locations of interest in the highlands are very long. We thought it would be a great base, and it was, but by the end of the week we began wishing we had spent 3 to 4 days at the Highland Club and moved to the west coast for another 3 or 4. The estimated travel times to Inverness, Fort William, and other locations like Eilean Donan Castle were approximately one hour on google maps, but in reality, the twisty Highland roads take longer to drive (roughly 1.5 hours to Inverness and Fort William one day, with return trips of 2 hours and 1 hour respectively because of traffic). There are motorhomes and coaches everywhere slowing down traffic. In sum, this is a great apartment, perhaps a little over priced for us because of the extra bedding charge, lack of a welcome pack and difficulty getting good pool access. Just be prepared to drive if using Fort Augustus as a base for exploring the Highlands.



Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Caladh apartment is special, it has been meticulously furnished with great attention to detail. The owner is extremely proactive and personally makes it their priority to ensure all their guests have a positive experience. Thank you for pointing out all the positive aspects of this wonderful property. Naturally the Highland Club Direct team are always disappointed when we fall short of customer expectations. We are currently working on next years pricing, the owner has decided not to charge for sofa bedding as they have taken onboard your comments. Historically Champagne was provided as a part of the welcome pack however it is not always popular as some guests do not drink. We have an international audience and therefore it has been decided to provide another welcome pack to reflect the region and it's traditional specialities. I will raise your comments at our next meeting regarding extending the opening times of the swimming pool. For the comfort of guests we restrict the number of people using the pool as we prefer that you have a relaxing experience when using the sauna, steam room and pool. The charm of the Chapel Pool is that it is built in a historic part of the Abbey which sadly comes with a compromise on space. We hope people appreciate this facility and that their hour slot is relaxing. On a positive note the swimming pool is perfect for all the family as it is a single depth which is perfect for children and adults alike. Fort Augustus is the perfect location for visiting many tourist destinations in the Highlands if you perfect not to tour and wish to have a comfortable base. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Highland Escape

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful, spotlessly clean apartment in stunning surroundings. We have stayed at Highland Club before. The Boathouse restaurant was very good and represented good value for money.
The village of Fort Augustus has a lot to off and I would happily recommend the Highland Club. I’ll be staying again in the future.

Only one tiny criticism. Could do with a tv in the main bedroom.




Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you had a wonderful holiday. I is great to know you were happy with the cleanliness of your property as we take this seriously and this kind of feedback is extremely helpful. As you mentioned the location is ideal as there is plenty to do in the village of Fort Augustus and an abundance of wonderful day trips. The bed has wonderful views over Loch Ness with electronic curtains to frame a beautiful vista at the press of a button. This is a tranquil space which doesn't have a wall in which to place a TV, only to embrace the outstanding view. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Fantastic stay on Loch Ness

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really excellent place to stay.Top notch accommodation couldn’t fault anything didn’t get a chance to use all of the facilities because the location was central to everything we were too busy.



Fantastic property in a stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a wonderful stay in a lovely place. It is a great base in which to explore the Highlands. The accommodation was amazing and great to have facilities to relax after long walks.



Jan 19

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an excellent location. Views across the lake to wake up to. Loads of info in the apartment on local activities. Was so quiet that we had the pool and spa to ourselves on consecutive days. Couldn’t recommend it any higher even allowing for the terrifying drive home in a blizzard



Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to reply, we are delighted you had a wonderful holiday in Caladh apartment. Our facilities, swimming pool, sauna and steam room, tennis court etc have been recently refurbished and so everything is top notch. Caladh apartment is 5 Star Visit Scotland accredited combined with owners who are passionate about facilitating a premium guest experience. We all work as a team to make sure everything is perfect for our guests. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Romantic birthday treat

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm welcome and fantastic first impressions. Loved Caladh, great open plan space, warm, first class furnishings and a terrific view.

Can't say anything that hasn't already been said about the Abbey. Awesome building and history.

Really enjoyed the pool and sauna time, particularly the fact you can book a private slot, great idea. Sets you up for the day ahead.

We found only one thing a little disappointing and that was the food in the local restaurant. It just felt very basic with below average food and not a dining restaurant, although the staff were friendly if not a little anxious to get home! Maybe harsh, but that's what we found.

Would we return to Caladh? Absolutely, we would and also recommend it to family and friends. The wooden board game and Roberts journal was a terrific alround effort.

There is something we would like to ask - could whoever reads this send a photo of the supplied board game box to us! It's first class and we forgot to take a photo of it before leaving. we'd love to source that particular one if possible!







Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you had a superb holiday and you feel that you can recommend Caladh apartment to friends and family. Thank you for pointing out that the allocated slot times for the swimming pool, sauna and steam room work well and that you appreciated the ability to enjoy this tranquil area to the full. The owner has forwarded information on the board game you mentioned and I hope you are able to replicate your enjoyment in your own home. We hope you will return and take advantage of our repeat guest discount. Thank you for writing an eloquent and comprehensive review. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Lovely stay at The Highland Club

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay in the Caladh, which once again didn’t disappoint. Such a beautiful location, and an amazing apartment which provided us with much needed peace and quiet.
Will definitely be back to stay soon.




A slice of Hogwartsian heaven!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am overwhelmed with wonderful things to say about our glorious stay at Caladh at The Highland Club, so I will just say this: it was brilliantly perfect. Wish I was still there. A true highlight of our trip to Scotland.



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you had a wonderful holiday. There are not many things in this world that can be described as perfect but I have to say Caladh apartment is pretty close. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Letting Agent

Relaxing break on the Loch

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where to start , the apartment was everything it said on the website, spacious with everything we needed for a week. Lots of character and books added by the owners. We used the pool spa and sauna which was spotless and very quiet.The tranquiality of the Highland Club was wonderful , the building the facilities and the view! Already planning our return.



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Caladh apartment. We are delighted you had a wonderful holiday. This property is very special. The furnishings and spacious interiors are extremely comfortable and welcoming. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Home away from home.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at the Caladh apartment was part of the joy of being back in Scotland. It felt like home immediately and we hated to leave! After a day of touring or walking, coming back to Caladh was the perfect end to perfect days. Comfort, amenities, and charm were all part of the reason I chose Caladh above all the other apartments. If I am lucky enough to return to Scotland, I would not hesitate to book Caladh again. Three weeks were not enough!



Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Caladh apartment. This apartment is the only 5 Star Visit Scotland accredited property at The Highland Club and fully deserves this accolade as it is truly exceptional. The owner maintains a keen interest in their property, overseeing every detail. All owners receive a copy of your review and I am sure they will be delighted to hear you found your stay both relaxing and comfortable. We hope you will visit again soon and take advantage of our loyalty discount. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Great Accommodation in a Great Location

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit, the first 2 years ago under previous owners. We were pleased to see that nothing had changed and that the standard of the apartment was still exceptionally high. It is a very cosy home-from-home which is a pleasure to return to after a day's walking. The location is fantastic on the south shores of Loch Ness in a beautiful building that was formerly a monastery.
Just a couple minor points that could be improved - the first concerning the coffee machine which came with no pods this time and the local shop doesn't sell them so that was a shame.The second concerns the TV for which there are no instructions and it wasn't easy (initially) trying to work out what you had to d, so some simple instructions would be really useful. Otherwise, a fantastic place to get away from it all in a beautiful environment which I would thoroughly recommend.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you had a lovely holiday. We are always thrilled to hear people have decided to visit us again as this makes us feel we are doing things right for our guests. Caladh apartment has been awarded a 5 star rating by Visit Scotland as it is extremely comfortable with luxury fixtures and fittings and so we are pleased it lived up to your expectations. However, in your review a few things have been brought to our attention and these have been passed on to the owner and property manager. TV instructions should have been available as they are located in the property and therefore we will make sure they are in an obvious place for our guests. There should have been Nespresso capsules provided and so this has been addressed and a amount will be left out for each set of guests. We were not aware that this was not in place and was probably an oversight on this occasion, nevertheless thank you for bring this to our attention. It is probably worth mentioning that our property manager are on hand during your stay and if there is anything you need that should have been provided please call or email them and they will be happy to assist. We hope you will visit on another occasion. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

A beautiful place

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very clean and comfortable place to stay. A lot to do in the Highlands. There are quite good places to eat in Fort Augustus.



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you had a lovely holiday. As you mentioned Caladh apartment is extremely comfortable as the owners are proactive in making sure everything is perfect for their guests. Thank you for pointing out that although we have a restaurant located in the grounds of The Highland Club there are also a number of good pubs and Bistro's within walking distance. We hope you will visit again soon. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Absolutely awesome

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hard to describe how fantastic this place actually is. I loved every single thing about it and can't wait to return



Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you had a wonderful holiday and that Caladh apartment exceeded your expectations. Our aim at Highland Club Direct is to provide a first class holiday for our guests. Caladh apartment is under new ownership and a number of extra items have been added to this property which will enhance the whole holiday experience. Here is the response from the new owners of Caladh who are fully engaged in both maintaining and taking Caladh forward in the future. "we are very pleased that our first guests so much enjoyed their stay and that they are thinking of returning." Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Great location at Loch Ness

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Luxury appartment with great view. It contained everything you can think of. Downside was the non-availability of the pool and the spa area. We don't know if we were informed prior to booking.



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Caladh apartment. We are pleased you had a wonderful holiday and the apartment had everything that you required. Naturally I was concerned to read that you may not have been aware of the non availability of the pool, sauna and steam room. This should not have been the case as it is not in our interest to mis lead people. The lack of pool facilities is advertised on our website also on all the booking information. I have checked all correspondence sent to you and this information was forthcoming. I am sorry that you have overlooked this but hope you will visit again soon once our pool is up and running. Kind regards Joanne Highland Club Direct

A very cosy place

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at the Caladh property. It really felt like home, with all necessary facilities for cooking, washing, etc. It is a very spacious property with a large lounge and kitchen, another small area with a sofa, and two bathrooms. Very comfortable!



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you had a wonderful holiday and found this property comfortable. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Caladh : a unique living space within a former Benedictine monastery

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a delightful 8 days in Caladh (appropriately named as a haven). The first impression is one of space. You are immediately drawn to the high windows with their view across gardens to Loch Ness. The furnishings throughout perfectly complement the layout, featuring a tartan design. There is plenty of space in which to relax in the lounge. The kitchen/dining area is very well equipped. The sleeping area is situated on the Mezzanine, a short distance from a corridor that leads to a pleasant relaxing space with a sofa that can be converted into a bed.
There are plenty of facilities in and around the Abbey itself, with its large grounds. The village of Fort Augustus is just 5 minutes walk away. It has a fine butchers, grocery store and pubs. The Lock Inn is the best pub, whilst The Bothy has the widest range of beers. The finest resraurant can be found in The Lovat House Hotel. The village itself is dominated by the confluence of the Caledonian Canal and Loch Ness. There is always plenty of activity which makes for interesting viewing by landlubbers. A one hour informative cruise on Loch Ness is recommended.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had a lovely holiday and thank for your informative advice on restaurants in Fort Augustus. The apartment is as large as some of our 3 bedroom properties and has been decorated to an extremely high standard, we are pleased that you appreciated the spaciousness and comfort of the surrounding. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

An outstanding property in an excellent location.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It doesn't get any better than Caladh. This property is amazing, the layout is perfect for a couple or even a family. Wish e could have stayed longer.



Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing Caladh apartment, it is wonderful to hear you had a great holiday and hope you will return soon. Many thanks Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

A tranquil location

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing views and fabulous accommodation. So quiet and peaceful. The location and setting couldn't be any more perfect to explore some of Scotland's finest gifts from nature. Am so glad we took the scenic route from Inverness as that was a treat in itself. It's wonderful how so much of the abbey's features remain unchanged.

The accommodation, the Caladh, was spacious, comfortable and clean with all mod cons except a microwave which was no big deal. We spent our waking hours snuggled in the window seats admiring the morning views, the birds and the rabbits. We enjoyed the glimpses of deer as we walked through the abbey grounds.

This was one break we were incredibly reluctant to end.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You have encapsulated all the gifts we are blessed with here at the Abbey. We hope you will join us again soon. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Beautiful apartment in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a fantastic long weekend away in Caladh. The apartment is beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean, with incredible views over Loch Ness. There's lots of great walking to do in the local area and Fort Augustus makes an excellent base. The staff at Highland Club Direct were very helpful and accommodating and we definitely plan to return.



Jasmine - Customer services replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback on Caladh apartment and for pointing out how fantastic this location is for all different levels of walks from easy strolls to more demanding longer walks. As you mentioned the apartment is extremely comfortable and I'm pleased you had a wonderful holiday.

Road trip with Nessie

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Never had such a great stay during my holiday. The view on the loch Ness was just awesome. The apartment was so comfy ! As many things, our stay had an end and it was hard to leave the abbey!



Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Caladh apartment. We are so pleased you had a wonderful time in this unique and special property and hope you will book with us visit again.