FB Twitter

14 THE RAVEN WING

14 THE RAVEN WING

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.7
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.3


Click here to view full property details

'GLENWOOD' - THE RAVEN WING - 1 BEDROOM


PROPERTY FEATURES: MODERN INTERIORS
GROUP RESERVATIONS: COMBINE WITH THE CALDER & BOWMORE

A lot of pros but a few cons

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spent 3 nights here & it certainly provided an ideal base for exploring Loch Ness / Fort Augustus area.

The apartment is in a new wing so doesn't have the atmosphere & period features of the old abbey but the grounds and old building is lovely. The swimming pool is in the converted chapel. The apartment has all you need for a S/C stay however the pots & pans & cooking trays could do with renewing. The microwave is in the cupboard and only worked it you unplugged it & plugged it in again...a loose wire? I never did get the bottom oven to work & not sure what I was doing wrong. It has WIFI / general tv / hifi, etc so have thought of everything.

The owners need to insist that the maintenance company clean a bit more thoroughly as the blinds in the bedroom were filthy. Couldn't get the tall windows in the livingroom to close properly just as well we had nice weather.

I would suggest anyone using the pool brings a robe & not use the changing room as it is communal & only has two changing cubicles & a shower and therefore you can find yourself or your children going into get changed & find someone showering naked in there! Take pool towels as they aren't provided.

Unfortunately the Boathouse restaurant wasn't open yet, maybe by Easter? It has a beautiful setting so must be lovely to eat there looking out to Loch Ness.




Joanne Nicholson replied 122 days ago
Dear Mr McKinley, Thank you for taking the time to write a review your comments are extremely helpful. We are pleased you had a lovely holiday and wanted to reply to your comments. As you mentioned the properties are all different in terms of architecture, ambience and style. Highland Club Direct has provided a video walk around and up to date photos to help guests choose the correct property for both their personal taste and budget. The microwave has been repaired thank you for pointing this issue out to us. The owner has instigated a deep clean of the property to include all the areas you raised in your comments. Regarding the changing area for the swimming pool. This is located in a listed area of the Abbey, due to the historical nature of this location the area came with restrictions and consequently we agree that the changing area is limited. Many owners provide towelling robes and pool towels which are included in the cost of the holiday. The provision of these items is included on the property page of the individual apartments and cottages. All of the properties are individually owned, it is at the owners discretion if they decide to add robes or pool towels in the cost of the holiday. Your point highlights to need to provide more clarify to the guest as they may wish to bring robes or suitable attire for their use. We will endeavour to make this point more prominent and clear to the guest. The Boathouse Restaurant is nearing completion in the next few weeks and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. This closure is displayed on the news page of the website and we will also announce when it is officially open. As you are probably aware there are numerous places to eat in the village, all are accessible within a short walking distance. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We very much enjoyed staying in this apartment. It was very clean and well equipped (washing machine, dishwasher etc).
The location is excellent right by the lake and the grounds and swimming pool area are lovely and a great bonus.
Our only gripe is the communication before arrival which was per email and rather confusing. Also the kind and helpful person who checked us in was a little flustered as they had not been informed in good time of our arrival.
Other than that our stay was great and we would go back without hesitation. Would recommend this little apartment.




Great

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The highland club is a fantastic period property with modern amenities in the highlands ideally situated on the Southern shores of Loch Ness.
Lots of trails in the vicinity , nice restaurants.
Inverness is an hour’s drive and Urquhart castle is 30 mins.
Recommend without hesitation, you won’t be disappointed.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted you had a wonderful holiday. The Glenwood has been tastefully furnished with a Boutique feel to the interiors. We hope you will visit again, this is the perfect destination any time of the year. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

We wish we could have stayed longer!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Glenwood was a beautifully appointed 1 bedroom apartment. Comfortable and a wonderful home away from home.



3 day stay

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was an interesting g place to stay...great restaurant.
Checking in was quite a bother, but the staff member who finally greeted us was very helpful and friendly.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Glenwood apartment. We are sorry you had a problem checking in however, pleased once you were received your reception was welcoming and helpful. We try to make arrival as smooth as possible, due to the nature of the building and the small window for check in times on rare occasions the staff will be showing guests to other apartments. To combat delays we ask guests to call in advance of their arrival to limit waiting times. We make every effort to book guests in swiftly. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

Got what we expected. mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 May 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
See title above.------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review this property.

Christmas Getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
For our first Northern Hemisphere Christmas it was ideal. Comfortable, clean and necessary amenities included. Agent was very helpful settling in and answered all our questions.



Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you had a great holiday and a positive experience. Glenwood apartment is well appointed and has been tastefully furnished, therefore a popular choice for many guests. We hope you will visit on another occasion. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Pleasant stay at the Short of Loch Ness

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nicely decotated and well equiped appartement in a wonderfull arrangement of historical and mondern buildings within a park full of stunning trees and beautyful views of loch and surrounding hills. Fort Augustus is a busy little village and the Caledonian canal a major attraction.




Wonderful staff and location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed one week at highland club for the first time. We had a very warm welcome by staff and the location was excellent. The closure of swimming pool was made us very disappointed as it wasn't told on their website. The bedroom and bed lines were very smelly from previous visitor, so I had to wash the pillow covers and bought nice scented candle. We only had one and quarter loo paper for a week so we had to buy from shop as our mobile phones werent working there to call staff.
However we had such a wonderful time at highland club. We will be back when the swimming pool is open again.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you had a good holiday and the staff gave you a warm reception. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Highland Club but wanted to address a few of the points you have made in your review. All guests are warned about the closure of the swimming pool via all correspondence when booking, this is also displayed on our website. We are sorry that this was not apparent to you despite this information being given. I have forwarded your email to the property manager who will address the smelly linen with the cleaning team, thank you for pointing this out as we take the cleanliness of our properties seriously. As the properties are self catering it is routine to add one toilet roll per bathroom, we are sorry this fell short of your expectations. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

5 Nights Glenwood Raven Wing

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location close to the village, excellent condition throughout, the staff were friendly and helpful and the apartment was very well equipped. We would definitely consider returning.