FB Twitter

12 THE OLD SCHOOL

12 THE OLD SCHOOL

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.3




'THE CALEDONIAN' - THE OLD SCHOOL - 3 BEDROOMS


PROPERTY FEATURES: STUNNING ARCHITECTURE - SPACIOUS - WIFI
GROUP RESERVATIONS: COMBINE WITH TALISKER & LIVINGSTONE

A fantastic apartment to use as a base for visiting the Highlands

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An extremely comfortable apartment with everything you need for self-catering. The nearby Londis has a good range of food, including vegan produce, essential for my family. Everything was in good order, with a great amount of crockery, glasses etc. Tea-towels were also included, as well as all linens needed (which were changed between weeks - in fact the staff were great coming back a day later as I was washed out having a lazy day). The pool, sauna and steam room were wonderful, and they helped me unwind after days walking and unexpectedly almost climbing in the Cairngorms. The location of the former Abbey is perfect for exploring the Highlands and is central to Fort Augustus with its locks over the Caledonian Canal, and is very close to the boats taking trips on the Loch. We have so many fantastic memories from this holiday, it has been truly restorative for me, body, mind and spirit.



Highland Club Direct replied 64 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The information given is extremely helpful for future guests. We are delighted you had a wonderful holiday and hope you will take advantage of our repeat guest discount on another occasion. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson

95

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The heater didn’t work well a couple of days, but Simon was there to repair it. Fantastic&kind person.
But the apartment&the area were excellent and had a fantastic time.




Winter Break - Loch Ness

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our trip.
Spacious and functional accommodations.
Location was ideal, we appreciated the grocery store nearby.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you had a lovely holiday and hope you will take advantage of our repeat customer discount. The Caledonian apartment is one of our largest properties and has a beautiful feature cathedral window, this makes the living accommodation feel extremely bright and spacious. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Gary’s from co. Londonderry .

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Really enjoyed the stay... the apartment could have done with a coat of paint throughout however.. also the drawers in one of the bedrooms need replaced otherwise very good all round. Small criticism in an otherwise lovely spot ..



Fantastic stay in the abbey

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in the abbey and didn’t want to leave. Charles was very helpfull. The abbey and appartement were both lovely, as were the swimming pool and the community room. We definitely wish to come back to the abbey



Highland Club Direct - Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you had a wonderful holiday. We hope you will take advantage of our repeat guest discount and return again soon. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Abbey stay, excellent location

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just as the others explained: superb stay at an excellent location. The amenities are good and the staff was super. Meanwhile if you can improve a little on the heating. :)

Looking forward to come back again.




Joanne Nicholson - Highland Club Direct replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Caledonian. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay in The Caledonian apartment and that you hope to return in the future. Kind regards Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct

Rejuvenating stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
St. Benedict's Abbey was rejuvenating. Stunning views, remarkable accommodations and fun areas to explore made for the perfect holiday get away. We loved the sausage rolls and cheese and onion pasties sold at a nearby butcher shop. There was something very healing about the abbey and Ft. Augustus.



Joanne Nicholson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and pointing out that we have a very good traditional butcher in the village within walking distance from the Abbey. The Caledonian apartment is one of our largest properties which has the added bonus of a double height ceiling in the lounge area and a beautiful cathedral window overlooking stunning scenery. The Abbey is a special place and as you say has a real air of tranquility and peace even during the busy summer periods. We hope you will visit again. Many thanks Joanne Nicholson Highland Club Direct